BAGHDAD/WASHINGTON,  (Reuters) – Iran launched a missile attack on U.S.-led forces in Iraq in the early hours of Wednesday, hours after the funeral of an Iranian commander whose killing in a U.S. drone strike has raised fears of a wider war in the Middle East.

Tehran fired more than a dozen ballistic missiles from Iranian territory against at least two Iraqi military bases hosting U.S.-led coalition personnel, the U.S. military said tonight.

Iran’s Revolutionary Guards confirmed that they fired the rockets in retaliation for last week’s killing of Qassem Soleimani, according to state TV.

“We are working on initial battle damage assessments,” Pentagon spokesman Jonathan Hoffman said in a statement, adding that the bases targeted were al-Asad air base and another in Erbil, Iraq.

U.S. President Donald Trump has been briefed on reports of the attack and was monitoring the situation, White House spokeswoman Stephanie Grisham said.

“We are aware of the reports of attacks on U.S. facilities in Iraq. The president has been briefed and is monitoring the situation closely and consulting with his national security team,” Grisham said in a statement.

Earlier on Tuesday, U.S. Defense Secretary Mark Esper said the United States should anticipate retaliation from Iran over the killing in Iraq of Soleimani, commander of the elite Quds Force.

“I think we should expect that they will retaliate in some way, shape or form,” Esper told a news briefing at the Pentagon, adding that such retaliation could be through Iran-backed proxy groups outside of Iran or “by their own hand.”

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...-iraq-pentagon-says/

• mceclip0

Yes, the Banna whom he ordered exterminated was not a smart chap anyway. 

Based on what I read, the US wants to test some now hardware so they will now have an opportunity to use them.

Sadly, nobody wins in these types of unnecessary wars.

Iran attack: US bases targeted with ballistic missiles

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

(BBC)-At least two airbases housing US troops in Iraq have been hit by more than a dozen ballistic missiles, according to the US Department of Defence.

Iranian state TV says the attack is a retaliation after the country’s top commander Qasem Soleimani was killed in a drone strike in Baghdad, on the orders of US President Donald Trump.

The Pentagon says at least two sites were attacked, in Irbil and Al-Asad.

It is unclear if there have been any casualties.

“We are aware of the reports of attacks on US facilities in Iraq. The president has been briefed and is monitoring the situation closely and consulting with his national security team,” White House spokeswoman Stephanie Grisham said in a statement.

You target their top Commander, what do you expect them to do?

ISrael and Saudi Arabia cheering US on...

Now people young people will die for no reason...except for one dotish ass President

You target their top Commander, what do you expect them to do?

ISrael and Saudi Arabia cheering US on...

Now people young people will die for no reason...except for one dotish ass President

I agree!  I hope Trump step back!

Crisis is over. Trump was clever to sense the Iranians were measured and wanted no escalation.  He could have been hard headed as Obama was with Libya and messed up!  He amped down the temperature.  Also kudos to the Iranians for not overdoing.

I believe you will see a new opening with Iran. 

Power to Declare War -- United States

Source -- https://history.house.gov/Inst...elopment/War-Powers/

“The Congress shall have Power To . . . provide for the common Defence and general Welfare of the United States.”
—U.S. Constitution, Article I, section 8, clause 1

Origins

Like many powers articulated in the U.S. Constitution, Congress’ authority to declare war was revolutionary in its design, and a clear break from the past when a handful of European monarchs controlled the continent’s affairs.

The framers of the Constitution—reluctant to concentrate too much influence in the hands of too few—denied the office of the President the authority to go to war unilaterally. If America was going to survive as a republic, they reasoned, declarations of war required careful debate in open forums among the public’s representatives.1

“The provision of the Constitution giving the war-making powers to Congress, was dictated, as I understand it, by the following reasons,” a young first-term Congressman named Abraham Lincoln wrote in 1848 during America’s War with Mexico. “Kings had always been involving and impoverishing their people in wars, pretending generally, if not always, that the good of the people was the object. This, our [Constitutional] Convention understood to be the most oppressive of all Kingly oppressions and they resolved to so frame the Constitution that no one man should hold the power of bringing this oppression upon us.”2

Source and rest of article -- https://history.house.gov/Inst...elopment/War-Powers/

Don’t worry with that. A president has broad power to act in an imminent threat.  And what you know, Congress approved the invasion of Iraq.  Sanders, Warren, Trump as a private citizen did not agree.  Biden and Hilarious agreed.  The mess in Iraq is theirs.

Anyway, great the Iranians were measured and Trump seems to have pulled back.  No one wants another war.

Was a limited response.  Let's hope the US don't respond.

Through diplomatic channels it must have went this way. Iranians to Trump, look here Mr. President, we have to show face to the ppl. Let us make a measured response to klling Soleimai. We know you were going to kill him eventually. He escaped American wrath for 25 years and during those years he did killed several Americans. Through his gang of terrorist worldwide.

Was a limited response.  Let's hope the US don't respond.

Through diplomatic channels it must have went this way. Iranians to Trump, look here Mr. President, we have to show face to the ppl. Let us make a measured response to klling Soleimai. We know you were going to kill him eventually. He escaped American wrath for 25 years and during those years he did killed several Americans. Through his gang of terrorist worldwide.

I agree. One US military expert said the missiles are much more accurate.  The Iranians wanted to send a message but not escalate.  And yes, pacify at home. 

Base going to fix you rass. Try deh.

Bai, me backing Trump but me don't drink no cool aid. DJ has a whole big bottle of PNC cool aid for sale, only cain and D2 drinking.

Trump speech was for the Redneck audience and the cool Aid drinkers.

Trump wins again, you going back to Guyana, until?

Trump skont cant touch me but Melania can do the touching

Iraq and Iran fought for eight long years and finally took a break. Trump doesn't want a long drawn out unnecessary war. America should exit Iraq and watch dem start another Mahabharat war for another eight years.

I must admit that Trump had to put his tail between his legs and run away.

Politically Live to see another day. 

Nice deflection from the impeachment though. Very nice.

Trump is a Chicken, Iran crossed his RED line.

Banna, shut yuh rass!  Bush/Powell were not chickens, so we Fowled up Iraq and beyond!

Three back channels reported to POTUS the Iranians said they are done, not wanting a reaction.  They aimed the missiles off so no major damage or casualties.

Guess what!  Iran lost a top general and the US/Trump got away with it!

He got away with it thus far but those guys probably planing for down the road when things settle down. The downed jet seems a mystery now and I wouldn't be surprised if it was a hit but by whom?

Unfortunately while fools play war games innocent people suffer and die.

indeed

I agree.  And yes, that jet might be collateral damage.  Could well be Iranian air defense accidentally shot it down. If so, it raises a lot of questions about their command and control!