Originally posted by Lucas:
People in the world want to purchase their Iphones at any cost, and they are so crazy bout it that they wouldn't care if Chinese slaves are force to produce them.

dude..its called free enterprise....if those workers do not want to do it...then there are others lined up and waiting to do it...I am not saying what is right or wrong....but none of us are without sin when it comes to exploitation....

no individual...no corporation..no country...so blame the US or american corporations all you want..but they are not alone in this..
Originally posted by politikalamity:
People in the world want to purchase their Iphones at any cost, and they are so crazy bout it that they wouldn't care if Chinese slaves are force to produce them.

dude..its called free enterprise....if those workers do not want to do it...then there are others lined up and waiting to do it...I am not saying what is right or wrong....but none of us are without sin when it comes to exploitation....

no individual...no corporation..no country...so blame the US or american corporations all you want..but they are not alone in this..

There is no such freedom in that part of the world. You cannot resign because you are tied by a contract with many unfair clauses or because you are indebted to your employer who is charging you a fortune for the training he gave you and you cannot leave the company until you have paid it back.
Lucas..yes there are some conditions in China (not Taiwan) which we in the west would consider inhuman..but many of these people go in with their eyes wide open...

But I would like to see one of these contracts you speak of..because I work for a multi-national corporation...we hire and train Chinese and Taiwanese engineers..but they can quit when ever they want and many have because the nature in China and to a lesser extent Taiwan right now is to move across the street for an extra 1000.00 dollars..when they leave they owe my company nothing for the training we provided..

I do not think you have ever been to Taiwan or China or wroked with them in anyway...if you have you would be speaking in a more informed way..
Originally posted by politikalamity:
Lucas..yes there are some conditions in China (not Taiwan) which we in the west would consider inhuman..but many of these people go in with their eyes wide open...

But I would like to see one of these contracts you speak of..because I work for a multi-national corporation...we hire and train Chinese and Taiwanese engineers..but they can quit when ever they want and many have because the nature in China and to a lesser extent Taiwan right now is to move across the street for an extra 1000.00 dollars..when they leave they owe my company nothing for the training we provided..

I do not think you have ever been to Taiwan or China or wroked with them in anyway...if you have you would be speaking in a more informed way..
I have but do not understand their motivations that well. Unlike their western counterparts, Far East Asians have a different attitude towards work. I do not know if it is their religion or what. They do everything their bosses tell them to do even if it is not related to the jobs. If they are asked to do unpaid job they do it for fear to lose the job. It is more like a master slave relation. Even if they have the chance of moving to other jobs they will still be more obedient than a slave. Also, their social life is developed around work, with co-workers. There is a strong feeling of shame for not doing something or for disobeying an order, because this would also affect their social life. So I can say that social pressure is very strong.

However, this is not working well with youngsters, who are loud in demanding the same rights and benefits than their western counterparts and who threaten to leave for Western countries where their work and skills are more appreciated.
Originally posted by caribj:
I take it lucas that you dont own any electronix gizmos. You also dont understand that as badly off as these workers might be they represent an elite in China.

Guyanese would love to have those kind of jobs.
Caribj,
Many times I wonder if you are not a CIA propaganda agent.

OK so you own just about every single devise manufactured by slaves in China. Why is that? Why not pay 10X the price to have union workers in the USA?
I take it lucas that you dont own any electronix gizmos. You also dont understand that as badly off as these workers might be they represent an elite in China.

Caribj,

OK so you own just about every single devise manufactured by slaves in China. Why is that? Why not pay 10X the price to have union workers in the USA?
Mine is a Galaxy 2S manufactured in Korea, my TV is also Samsung.

Bai, diss time yuh right. Dem Chinee gon tek care ah demself. Wha abie talking bout, we ah plant lil edoe and dashine, we nah ga time foa dem prablims. Mi New Year resolution is foa teach Buxton how foa plant, sell, mek money and buy dem Nike and Adidas, no need to tief from da Coolie and Chinee man.
Originally posted by antabanta:
So you think the absence of Apple would improve their lives?
Yes! A big deal.
They wouldn't be slaves anymore?

Caribj,

Point well taken. We demand cheaper goods and as such we feed capital greed. Nike and others do the same by mfg. overseas.
Originally posted by yuji22:
Caribj,

Point well taken. We demand cheaper goods and as such we feed capital greed. Nike and others do the same by mfg. overseas.

Alyuh waan cheapness but nuff salary. Well, how da goa wuk, ah Chinee and Coolie di ansa. Down hay dem dozz try nah fa wuk but want am foa free, so Coolie ah di ansa....again. Mi Indo bros, nah mek worries, Chinee ah come fa join abie soon.