Are words such as "fight" and "slain" not used in a metaphorical sense; and is this the Classical Arabic Transliteration? Translation gets interpreted through the mores and wisdom of contemporary meanings - ontological study of language.

There is a mixture of of violent words by the author with words like "fight" (jihad) or being slain (losing the fight). All the "fight" and "Jihad" and  so on are not war and militaristic in the literal sense. You have war of ideas - that doesn't mean you fight with guns and bombs.

That source submitted by Yuji is not scholarly at all; and I do not see the leap from that article and asserting that ISIS is doing what Islam says to do.

All that you say might be all well and glad, but here is teh difference.

There are not any sizeable groups of Christians who take the Old Testament literally to its fullest extent.

There are sizeable groups of Muslims who do.  It isnt just the Islamists who engage in "honor killings", and other behaviors which arent not acceptable to most modern societies.  I doubt that it is only the Islamists who threaten that Somali female, who has a vendetta against the Muslim religion.  In fact it was a mainstream practise which ended up radicalizing her, when she was threatened by mainstream, even if conservative, Muslims.

If Christians behaved like Muslims much of the Bible Belt of this country would be in full fledged warfare, with slavery reinstated. But that is not the case.  While there are anti Muslim bigots, and there has been violence directed against its adherents since 9/11, Muslims in the West suffer NOTHING as do Christians in almost every Muslim country. 

Given that Muslims suffer most from the extremists, even Obama had to wonder today, why the moderate element are not more vocal against the nutcases, and when they will stop the Wahhabization of the religion by the Bedouin Saudis.

You just make life easy for bigots like Bill Maher, who must have had orgasms about the events in Paris, even as he no doubt said nothing about Lebanon.

You all really need to snatch your religion away from the Arabs.  Just as Christians no longer pray in Hebrew, or Latin, not praying in Arabic might be a good start.

AT one time, white folks used the Bible to justify slavery...it's all interpretation and some people love to interpret stuff to suit their agenda

We do not look at the world through the lens of yesteryear. We look at it from where we are and where we intend to go. 30 years ago we did not have computers and cell phones and cable TV and communications medium as ubiquitous as we do now.  We only have to go back 100 years and air travel is gone and cars yet to be conceived as mass transportation. We are in a different world and has to view the world as we know it and envision it to be.

There is something wrong with Muslims from the modern viewpoint. They are stuck in a stultified absolutism that is not only backward but barbaric and brutal. Contact with the modern world does not seem to invite them to newer understanding. They are anti modern and terribly anti other people. Only a muslim can feel comfortable in a muslim world. It is not for other people and constructed and construed to be so because of course...the religion say they are perfect.

Are words such as "fight" and "slain" not used in a metaphorical sense; and is this the Classical Arabic Transliteration? Translation gets interpreted through the mores and wisdom of contemporary meanings - ontological study of language.

There is a mixture of of violent words by the author with words like "fight" (jihad) or being slain (losing the fight). All the "fight" and "Jihad" and  so on are not war and militaristic in the literal sense. You have war of ideas - that doesn't mean you fight with guns and bombs.

That source submitted by Yuji is not scholarly at all; and I do not see the leap from that article and asserting that ISIS is doing what Islam says to do.

All that you say might be all well and glad, but here is teh difference.

There are not any sizeable groups of Christians who take the Old Testament literally to its fullest extent.

There are sizeable groups of Muslims who do.  It isnt just the Islamists who engage in "honor killings", and other behaviors which arent not acceptable to most modern societies.  I doubt that it is only the Islamists who threaten that Somali female, who has a vendetta against the Muslim religion.  In fact it was a mainstream practise which ended up radicalizing her, when she was threatened by mainstream, even if conservative, Muslims.

If Christians behaved like Muslims much of the Bible Belt of this country would be in full fledged warfare, with slavery reinstated. But that is not the case.  While there are anti Muslim bigots, and there has been violence directed against its adherents since 9/11, Muslims in the West suffer NOTHING as do Christians in almost every Muslim country. 

Given that Muslims suffer most from the extremists, even Obama had to wonder today, why the moderate element are not more vocal against the nutcases, and when they will stop the Wahhabization of the religion by the Bedouin Saudis.

You just make life easy for bigots like Bill Maher, who must have had orgasms about the events in Paris, even as he no doubt said nothing about Lebanon.

You all really need to snatch your religion away from the Arabs.  Just as Christians no longer pray in Hebrew, or Latin, not praying in Arabic might be a good start.

caribny, there are indeed some countries and some populations in other countries that are majority Muslim that we're talking about here. Indonesia, India, Pakistan, Nigeria, are among the countries that make up half a billion Muslims. Egypt is another sizable one. These countries have no beheadings, Sharia law, female mutilation, etc. The Arab countries of the Middle East constitute about 250 million Muslims. Why do people see Islam as just these Arab countries? Why do I hear this myth about moderates not calling out these barbarians? Why are the majority of Muslims being blamed for the atrocities of this tiny minority of one and a half billion people? It is a vacuous, specious and intellectually lazy argument to put forward. I'm still waiting to hear how the majority of Muslims should exercise this "calling out". Should we all take up arms and fly to the Middle East? Should we stop work and spend all day on social media just pumping out anti-ISIS stuff? Tell me caribny, what is it about all this that Bill Maher from? I like Bill Maher and I look at his Real Time religiously (he would not like that term), but he is just an anti-religion zealot whom Reza Aslam and Ben Affleck took to task.

Quote by Kari:

"The Arab countries of the Middle East constitute about 250 million Muslims. Why do people see Islam as just these Arab countries?"

I honestly did not know this. 

This raises the question as to why a smaller fraction of Muslims are making like miserable and are the cause of terrorism ?

I am quite interested in Kari's response since this massive truth has been hidden in all the noise.

Quote by Kari:

"The Arab countries of the Middle East constitute about 250 million Muslims. Why do people see Islam as just these Arab countries?"

This raises the question as to why a smaller fraction of Muslims are making like miserable and are the cause of terrorism ?

I am quite interested in Kari's response since this massive truth has been hidden in all the noise.

What's this 'massive truth" that's "hidden in all the nose" you speak of? What noise?

I believe you missed this earlier in this thread.

These verses seem very violent and are quite disturbing.

Can someone who is impartial to all of this comment on these verses.

Didn't you paste that piece many months ago and I decided back then that it was not worth wasting my time with it? Why would you think anything has changed since then? Secondly, when would you be ready to discuss the Qur'an from your own knowledge instead of cut and paste piece by someone else? 

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Didn't you paste that piece many months ago and I decided back then that it was not worth wasting my time with it? Why would you think anything has changed since then? Secondly, when would you be ready to discuss the Qur'an from your own knowledge instead of cut and paste piece by someone else? 

The very notion that Islam does not allow free speech and free thought is breeding radicalism in the middle east and the world.

Criticize or question the the Quran and you can be beheaded in places like Saudi Arabia etc.

If the Quran is taken as quoted from those verses then there is clear evidence of calling for murder, violence and holy war etc.

Let free thought prevail. 

The very notion that Islam does not allow free speech and free thought  

And where did you learn that Islam does not allow free speech and free thoughts?

Try criticizing the Quran or question Islam in the heart of Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Try to open a Hindu Temple in Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Try to take pictures at certain places in Mecca and see what happens to you.

Free speech does not exist in most middle east countries. That is what breeds radicalism.

Tolerance for other religions and opposing views do not exist in the middle east. This is at the heart of all debates.

Unless the Middle East allow for free speech and tolerance for other religions and opposing views, Islam will forever be viewed as intolerant and Islamist radicalism will continue to grow like and epidemic.

Try criticizing the Quran or question Islam in the heart of Saudi Arabia and see what happens to you.

Free speech does not exist in most middle east countries. That is what breeds radicalism.

Yuh change yuh tune now?

Islam and the middle east cannot be separated, they follow the Quran.

Yuh change yuh tune now?

You really felt the need to embarrass yourself this way?

Yuh change yuh tune now?

You really felt the need to embarrass yourself this way?

Answer the 109 Murderous verses quoted here then you will have some credibility.

There is nothing to answer there. That is all nonsense posted by someone who does not care for the Qur'an. There is no verse in the Qur'an without context (contrary to the claim made by your cut and paste bilge), background or purpose. Go read the Qur'an for yourself and then come back and ask your own questions. I speak about the Bible all the time and before I did, I actually read it as well as took lessons about it.

I read an Authorized translation of the Quran and those verses are there.

Image result for you lie

Is this what you have reduced yourself to ? You run when the facts are posted.

Hmmm, hmmmm, hmmmmm..... may I interject?

When I was growing up I was warned: never argue about politics and religion.

I ignored the warning about politics at my peril.

But I ent getting involved in no argument bout religion, period.

Suffice to say that I have copies of the Gita, Ramayana, Upanishads, Holy Bible and Holy Qur'an, all of which I read bit by bit.

I don't intend to find fault with any of them because they are by and large allegories, not to be understood literally.

Also, their contents reflect the era when they were written and I cannot judge them by modern-day standards.

That's all I'll say on this topic.

Hmmm, hmmmm, hmmmmm..... may I interject?

When I was growing up I was warned: never argue about politics and religion.

I ignored the warning about politics at my peril.

But I ent getting involved in no argument bout religion, period.

Suffice to say that I have copies of the Gita, Ramayana, Upanishads, Holy Bible and Holy Qur'an, all of which I read bit by bit.

I don't intend to find fault with any of them because they are by and large allegories, not to be understood literally.

Also, their contents reflect the era when they were written and I cannot judge them by modern-day standards.

That's all I'll say on this topic.

I am not finding fault. I am stating the fact. 

Pakistan, Nigeria,. These countries have no beheadings, Sharia law, female mutilation, etc.

Sharia law exists in northern Nigeria, where Christians are routinely slaughtered. And this isn't Boko Haram either. 

Honor killings are a scourge among Pakistanis in the UK, and surface even among those in the USA, though that might be a kidnapping to Pakistan, where they deed is then done.  So imagine what happens in Pakistan itself.

Malala's problem isn't merely Islamists.

In fact there is a reason why India has moved ahead of Pakistan, even though they were roughly on par at independence.

Indonesia Christians attacked again.

Note that Muslims in the Christian dominated parts of southern Nigeria live relatively safe lives, and there appears to be limited revenge killings when Muslim enter Christian churches and slaughter who they can find.

There must be a problem when the behavior of people from one religion have changed our lives to the point where we might soon have to walk through naked at TSA, with our asses spread open.

Your hero Obama said today that moderate Muslims need to work harder.

Quote by Kari:

Kari until you tell me that there is no Arab used in your mosque I think that your question is quite stupid.  Arabs DOMINATE the religion, and the Wahhabis have now become a force turning that religion back to the Medieval era.

Like I said, you all need to de Arabize it!

Yugi with "all due respect" as the late Haji Ballie( you know him) loved  to say, you are behaving like and uneducated bigot.

This is the problem. Non Arab Muslims need to be snatching the relgion away from the Arabs, as they let the Wahhabis take over.

Instead you all duck your heads in the sand and pretend as if this is a minor problem.  Tell that to the kids who live in northern Kenya who are now afraid to go to school.  148 Kenyan kids killed, and this is now becoming quite routine.

There is rot in your religion, and you all need to fix it!

This is terrorism to me.

A non-believer has no chance according to this verse.

read the whole chapter and try to understand it. That was during a particular battle and not any open ended invocation. How come this frightens you and this doesn't?

You are scraping the barrel. Please answer the 109 Murderous Verses.

Kali is demigod. Yuji does not pray to or worship demigods.

So explain the Sharia law in Nigeria where a female who had sex out of wedlock was stoned to death. This long before Boko Haram and ordered by a Sharia court.

Look at Pakistan and Saudi Arabia and once again the religion is used to commit barbarity.

Do Muslims protest in large numbers about how the religion is being used?  We tend to hear more about "its not me, don't blame me". 

Now when Christians order the death of some one, based on the bible, we can chat.