March 27 ,2021

Kaieteur News – The Irfaan Ali led administration is steadfast in its plan to land a multibillion dollar pipeline at Wales, West Bank Demerara, for the proposed gas-to-shore project despite the widespread criticism it has faced from industry experts.
Many share the same concern that Government is moving too fast and should pump their breaks, at least until a thorough plan is laid out to show exactly how the project will benefit Guyanese.

Vice President, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo

Vice President (VP) and local oil boss, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, has touted a reduction in electricity costs as one of the most crucial benefits to be had. On this premise, no financial feasibility study will be conducted, as according to the VP, that aspect is “a no-brainer.”
But International Environmental Lawyer, Melinda Janki is taking him to task on his comments, and is now challenging Dr. Jagdeo to present irrefutable evidence in support of his claim.

International lawyer, Melinda Janki

“Vice-President Jagdeo claims that the gas-to-shore project will benefit the Guyanese. Where is the Vice-President’s evidence?” Janki asked, in her comment to Kaieteur News.
“If gas is such a good thing, why can’t ExxonMobil sell it on the open market? Why doesn’t anybody want to buy Guyana’s associated gas? (It’s) because it’s worthless,” she continued.
Janki also alluded to statements made by Tom Sanzillo, Director of financial analysis at the Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis (IEEFA), that the intended gas-to-shore project could prove financially damaging to Guyana.
Sanzillo had made the point that although he can appreciate Government’s inclination to respond to the rising demand for electricity while addressing black out woes, Guyana’s modus operandi when negotiating the lopsided oil contract gives no evidence that it can do right when bringing gas to shore.
Janki then asked, “IEEFA says this gas project could bankrupt Guyana. Can the Vice-President answer IEEFA’s financial assessment? Whom do the Guyanese people believe? A Government that has no experience of gas or the expert analysis of an international energy body that is decades old.”
The International Lawyer also pointed to a World Bank report titled ‘Energy Markets in Latin America Emerging disruptions and the Next Frontier,’ which stated, “In countries such as Suriname, Guyana, Ecuador, Paraguay, and most of Central America and the Caribbean, natural gas demand is small or non-existent.”
With that said, Janki opined that Guyana ought to be moving in a different direction – solar.
She backed up her statements pointing to the International Energy Agency’s (IEA) World Energy Outlook for 2020. Janki noted that the IEA had offered a highly influential annual outlook with four “pathways” to 2024, all of which see a major rise in renewables. She noted that the IEA’s main scenario has 43% rise in solar power output by 2024, over wind energy and hydro power with solar presenting itself as the cheapest option.
While natural gas is known as the cleanest burning fossil fuel, it is not cheap to produce, as millions of dollars are needed to secure gas pipelines and infrastructure to covert the natural gas into useable power.
Presently, the crude estimation for Guyana’s gas-to-shore project stands at US$500-800 million, depending on the design, pipeline size and surveys.
Janki had taken Government to task regarding the gas-to-shore project before. On that occasion, she had called on President, Irfaan Ali, to provide to the nation, evidence that the project was economically sound.
Janki asked the President to present a Natural Gas Business Plan, which provides a comprehensive, quantitative and qualitative presentation of the Guyana natural gas project.
The presentation, she outlined should include, but not be limited to, a brief description of the major facilities to be constructed (drilling and extraction, offshore and onshore pipelines and natural gas power stations) including capacity, size, estimated start and completion of construction and anticipated lifecycle; comprehensive, estimated construction costs of each facility and an aggregate cost assessment and construction cash flow from ground breaking to commercial operation; and a comprehensive 30-year business plan of each individual facility and, if integrated, the plan should specify the operational assumptions.
She had requested that President Ali provide, as well, an Energy Plan outlining Guyana’s electric utility’s resource needs to meet expected demand over the next 30 years and the assumed additions and retirements, cost and performance assumptions used in the plan. This is yet to be done.

Ramaji  could you please produce the PPP's Energy Plan outlining Guyana’s electric utility’s resource needs to meet expected demand over the next 30 years and the assumed additions and retirements, cost and performance assumptions used in the plan?

@Django posted:

Int’l lawyer challenges VP Jagdeo to show evidence that gas-to-shore project will work

March 27 ,2021

Kaieteur News –

Vice President (VP) and local oil boss, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, has touted a reduction in electricity costs as one of the most crucial benefits to be had. On this premise, no financial feasibility study will be conducted, as according to the VP, that aspect is “a no-brainer.”
But International Environmental Lawyer, Melinda Janki is taking him to task on his comments, and is now challenging Dr. Jagdeo to present irrefutable evidence in support of his claim.

International lawyer, Melinda Janki

“Vice-President Jagdeo claims that the gas-to-shore project will benefit the Guyanese. Where is the Vice-President’s evidence?” Janki asked, in her comment to Kaieteur News.
“If gas is such a good thing, why can’t ExxonMobil sell it on the open market? Why doesn’t anybody want to buy Guyana’s associated gas? (It’s) because it’s worthless,” she continued.
Janki also alluded to statements made by Tom Sanzillo, Director of financial analysis at the Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis (IEEFA), that the intended gas-to-shore project could prove financially damaging to Guyana.

Allude ==> mention something without discussing at length

Perhaps, the learned Lady is simply expressimg her belief that Guyana's gas is worthless without providing irrefutable data.

She probably figure it's also a "no brainer"

@cain posted:

She probably figure it's also a "no brainer"

Perhaps, indeed her rambling is a "no brainer".

Jagdeo is repaying Exxon for help with the riggers by buying the gas which Exxon normally has.to.waste! Never mind it's Guyana's money not his to waste!

Jag.is an honorable schemer!

Melinda was formerly in-house legal counsel at BP’s head office in London.

http://www.justiceinstituteguyana.org/who-we-are.html

Melinda Janki can school Jagdeo.  Jagdeo is a pseudo-intellectual.  Janki is a real one.  It is irritating that the news agencies refer to Jagdeo as Dr.  His is an honorary doctorate.   

Exxon expects Jagdeo to be an honourable conspirator and buy its gas before they have to waste.it!

It's like they said in the Napoleanic wars! "England expects every sucker to play with.himself"!

@Django posted:

March 27 ,2021

The presentation, she outlined should include, but not be limited to, a brief description of the major facilities to be constructed (drilling and extraction, offshore and onshore pipelines and natural gas power stations) including capacity, size, estimated start and completion of construction and anticipated lifecycle; comprehensive, estimated construction costs of each facility and an aggregate cost assessment and construction cash flow from ground breaking to commercial operation; and a comprehensive 30-year business plan of each individual facility and, if integrated, the plan should specify the operational assumptions.
She had requested that President Ali provide, as well, an Energy Plan outlining Guyana’s electric utility’s resource needs to meet expected demand over the next 30 years and the assumed additions and retirements, cost and performance assumptions used in the plan. This is yet to be done.

Ms. Janki is absolutely correct. Anyone with a modicum of knowledge on large scale projects  knows that the above is the most basic justification for a project of this magnitude. How can ANYONE make a decision without the information Janki referenced?

Anyone except the genius Rat Man who looked in the air, twirled his fingers twice and then decided in his mind "ah tink suh" before unequivocally stating this is a "no brainer".

The best part is President Fat Man is a allegedly a Project Management Professional (PMP) where all of this is stressed!!!!!!! And here he is, ready to stake billions on the word of ONE MAN who says "ah tink suh".

Incredibly stupid people or criminally negligent. What a fking pack of jokers we have here.

Oh, and if they ever do a plan, one of the major assumptions is from Rat Man - that we only got 20 years more for oil and gas. stick that assumption in the works and see if this is a "no brainer". LMFAO.

Somebody order these fokkers some clown suits.

@Totaram posted:

Melinda Janki can school Jagdeo.  Jagdeo is a pseudo-intellectual.  Janki is a real one.

It is irritating that the news agencies refer to Jagdeo as Dr.  His is an honorary doctorate.   

That's is to fool the followers .

Oh, and if they ever do a plan, one of the major assumptions is from Rat Man - that we only got 20 years more for oil and gas. stick that assumption in the works and see if this is a "no brainer". LMFAO.

Somebody order these fokkers some clown suits.

What will they do with the Gas plant after twenty years ?

Ms. Janki is absolutely correct. Anyone with a modicum of knowledge on large scale projects  knows that the above is the most basic justification for a project of this magnitude. How can ANYONE make a decision without the information Janki referenced?

Anyone except the genius Rat Man who looked in the air, twirled his fingers twice and then decided in his mind "ah tink suh" before unequivocally stating this is a "no brainer".

The best part is President Fat Man is a allegedly a Project Management Professional (PMP) where all of this is stressed!!!!!!! And here he is, ready to stake billions on the word of ONE MAN who says "ah tink suh".

Incredibly stupid people or criminally negligent. What a fking pack of jokers we have here.

There's your trouble, madman! From  Jagdeo decides in his mind, "ah tink suh", you go on to Fat Man ready to stake billions on that! I'll bet.you.dance to any tune you're humming, too!.Hahahahahaha...

@Django posted:

What will they do with the Gas plant after twenty years ?

That's the point. Rat Man is willing to spend BILLIONS for something that is only needed for 20 years (according to him). No more gas after that. The bonehead logic of dakta dakta dakta.

I alluded to his simplistic analysis of this on another thread. I couldn't believe what I was reading emanated from a dakta dakta dakta.

There's your trouble, madman! From  Jagdeo decides in his mind, "ah tink suh", you go on to Fat Man ready to stake billions on that! I'll bet.you.dance to any tune you're humming, too!.Hahahahahaha...

well shit fuh brains, Fat Man is down with the plan. Rat Man seh no brainer, Fat Man seh "done, leh we eat".Do you see Fat man cautioning otherwise?

What are you missing other than a few synapses?

well shit fuh brains, Fat Man is down with the plan. Rat Man seh no brainer, Fat Man seh "done, leh we eat".Do you see Fat man cautioning otherwise?

What are you missing other than a few synapses?

Suppose.YOU tell me, bird sh*t! You forget that's YOUR scenario,.madman! That makes.it.true, huh? Hahahahaha...

Put your fetid imagination to work, bird dung!

Piss a bed, why you trolling me, eh? Ah hurt yuh feelings too much? Yuh like wan scorned homan.

@Prashad posted:

Guyana is a sovereign country it does not have to answer to any foreign-based lawyer.

Wtf yu tawkin.bowt, Prash? We.is.tawkin bowt Jag's.iggerunce pertendin e kho whuh e brayin bowt! Dah.iz wha.we iz cornsarnid bowt! Yuh tink e.kno mo dan dis.lawyur.woemun who iz ah rayl.o & g lawyur! Wha de f jag.kno.bowt.o & g, eh? I.kno.mo.dan.e, ah bet! De onlee ile e cud kno bowt iz kastur ile.an kokonut ile an de gas frum e.two enz!

@Prashad posted:

Guyana is a sovereign country it does not have to answer to any foreign-based lawyer.

Janki is a Guyanese.  I watched Jagdeo the other night on Globespan saying that even if you have just one ounce of Guyanese blood you are welcome to participate in the development of the country.  Of course, he was lying as usual.  If he beleives that he should remove the residency and citizenship requirements to hold elected office.  However, even if some believe that Guyana doesn't have to answer to a foreign based lawyer are Guyanese in Guyana so darn dumb that they are buying a project that has the potential to squander all the oil money without a proper feasibility study just because Jagdeo thinks it is good idea?  Gimme a break.

@Totaram posted:

Janki is a Guyanese.  I watched Jagdeo the other night on Globespan saying that even if you have just one ounce of Guyanese blood you are welcome to participate in the development of the country.  Of course, he was lying as usual.  If he beleives that he should remove the residency and citizenship requirements to hold elected office.  However, even if some believe that Guyana doesn't have to answer to a foreign based lawyer are Guyanese in Guyana so darn dumb that they are buying a project that has the potential to squander all the oil money without a proper feasibility study just because Jagdeo thinks it is good idea?  Gimme a break.

What? Remove.the residency and citizenship.requirements and.have Big.Mouth.and.Bigger.Ass.Motley.  come.here.and try to be elected as President?.Tell.mih yuh.jokin!

Jagdeo doesn't have to discuss his plans with the press.  Jagdeo only repeats what his advisers agreed upon. 

The plans will be implemented as soon as it is ready. The experts are working diligently to put everything in place before work is started.

Most critiques don't understand how Government works, especially those on GNI who are nothing but jokers and comedians.

Most Guyanese are negative people. They talk a lot but when you give them a job to do, they failed miserably. Look at the PNC Leaders. When they have the Government, they don't know what to do, but when they are in the opposition, they give the impression that they know everything. They are like empty vessels.

If you criticize the government then you must know what you are talking about, not just repeat what someone else said.  Janki didn't do a feasibility study.  She thinks that because it didn't work for another country it wouldn't work for Guyana.

Jagdeo cares about Guyana and is not motivated by self_interest. He is an intelligent person. 

There is always someone wanting the Government to fail and that is what we have on this forum. 

@cain posted:

KN's article said dem guys got to pump their "breaks"...the paragraph deh jus above BJ ballhead.

KN just wants the government to fail because they are becoming very progressive and moving full trottle ahead.

@Ramakant-P posted:

KN just wants the government to fail because they are becoming very progressive and moving full trottle ahead.

Yep !!! three major drug bust ,one world record amount 11.5 tons out of Guyana ,shady deals , hit killing back ,road crumbling before opening ,no handle on COVID -19 ,death increasing.

@Django posted:

Yep !!! three major drug bust ,one world record amount 11.5 tons out of Guyana ,shady deals , hit killing back ,road crumbling before opening ,no handle on COVID -19 ,death increasing.

You don't know anything about the deals, so you called them shady. 

COVID-19 is not the government's fault.  The road was built by the coalition.

Look at the bigger picture. Not everything is in the grey.

If you like it or not, Guyana now has a booming economy. They have a progressive Government.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You don't know anything about the deals, so you called them shady.

COVID-19 is not the government's fault.  The road was built by the coalition.

Look at the bigger picture. Not everything is in the grey.

If you like it or not, Guyana now has a booming economy. They have a progressive Government.

Still promises, promises!