Losing weight is discipline. I lost 30 lbs in a summer two years ago and last year during the biking season I was eating 3500 calories and still was not gaining weight. This is the first winter I am coming out of in a long time with less weight  than I started. I am going to have to eat  a really lot to keep up with my activities. I am at a ridiculous 15% body fat and I have not even begun to ride. I want to stay within 12 to 15 percent body fat so I have to eat a lot as I begin to ride and do my other warm weather stuff.

I walk or run almost every day for 3.5 miles. It is easy to do Walking I take 50 mins and running I take about 32. It feels really good to be in shape. I got in shape quickly by eliminating the breads, rice etc and processed foods. Stay away from the empty calories as in sodas etc and other sugary drinks.

I suggest you go to weight watchers for 6 months. It is only around 45 a month and you will learn good habits and how to keep track and discipline yourself. Plus you will get support in community (and behave around the fat girls even if they are easy pickings!).

Originally Posted by raymond:

rice is the killer for me...

ray:

If you want to successfully lose weight---like anything in life----you have to decide that you will be disciplined.

* Cut the sugar from your coffee or tea

* No more soda or beer---drink water only---arrite maybe a can of coke/soda once ever 2 weeks.

* Reduce the portion of your meals----if you usually have 2 slices of pizza----have one---if you have a whole basin of rice---cut that by half.

* Cut the rice you eat by half and increase the veggies

* Use Metamucil---ornage flavor---your digestive track needs fiber.

* Go walking every day---don't over exercise---it makes you hungry.

* Take your Mom's advice---start using vitamins.

CONCLUSION:

DONT WASTE MONEY ON DIETS---just eat half of what you usually eat---drink lots of water---cut out sugar---OK have a sundae once in a while.

Good luck!

For Raymond; weight watchers is not a "diet" company. It is a support group

Raymond don't need no support group---unless he is a mental weakling---all he has to do starting today is follow the Rev's instructions above.

GUARANTEE:

In one year Ray's pot belly will be gone and he'll be enjoying satisfying physical relations again.lol

my wife suggested I join

I am 5'7"...205 pounds

I need to lose like 20 pounds

You can do it ray!

You keep saying it's too much rice---it's more than that---you eat too much---cut your portion---everything you eat by half---drink a lot of water---and start walking.

By the way---get your thyroid checked out.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

Rev, How important is it to drop Beers from your Menu????

Nehru:

Most guys given a choice between drinking beers and having a pot belly---or giving up beers and losing the pot belly----most guys would keep the pot belly and beers.hahahahaha

Beers during the Summer is a MUST. Winter could be Jack Daniels.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

my wife suggested I join

I am 5'7"...205 pounds

You can do it ray!

You keep saying it's too much rice---it's more than that---you eat too much---cut your portion---everything you eat by half---drink a lot of water---and start walking.

By the way---get your thyroid checked out.

Thyroid is an issue

Originally Posted by Stinger:
Ray based on those numbers ur BMI is 32.1 An Overweight person is btwn 25 - 29.9 BMI An Obese person is >=30

Sting:

I see you are quite informed.

For those not informed about Body Mass Index click on the link:

http://nhlbisupport.com/bmi/bminojs.htm

* Ray says his goal is to lose 20 pounds----that means he will be 5'7 and 185

* But according to the BMI calculator Ray's BMI would be 29 @ 185 pounds---he would still be overweight

Ray can play around with the BMI calculator.

http://nhlbisupport.com/bmi/bminojs.htm

Thanks Stinger.

Originally Posted by alena06:

Ray - eat small portions regularly to keep your metabolic rate going.  Pull the skin off the chicken and other meats.  Avoid too many fried foods.  Don't eat late at night.  And most of all exercise, start with basic little things and increase it. 

I currently do like 45 minutes of insanity 5 days a week...I need to get meds for my thyroid

my wife suggested I join

I am 5'7"...205 pounds

You actually need to lose about 45 lbs to be in healthy range. You are already pre diabetic and possibly can see that in the darkening of your cheeks and the dry scaly accretions on your feet. You are also possibly thirsty all the time and go to the bathroom to pee frequently. You need to go to your general physician for a physical and check your pressure and Cholesterol levels You are also likely vitamin D deficient. I tell you this because I m at your height and was at your weight  only two years ago and had all those things on by "Bad" list.  That is too much weight.

Originally Posted by chameli:

I am 5' 7.5 "

and y'all know what i weigh

NO DOOOOOOOOOON'TTTTTTTTT

oww cainstah...dat time when u pinchd me batty in walmart i was 274lb!!!

i lost a lil bit since...

hey i walked over to/fro the cantire this morn

Yeahh, dat was a BIG pinch I tief deh. Canadian Tire on Egl you went to? That's a long walk, I tink u lie.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

Being a toner guy you'd think this dude would be well "toned"

aye buddy...why yuh don't state yuh weight

I'm 5' 11" and 178 lbs. There you have it.

And I'm in shape. I got a six pack. Hidden by six layers of fat. 

I would have framed the statement differently; "I got a six pack. Hidden Protected by six layers of fat.