Information on Wismar massacre

By Annesha Das Gupta 

Heard of Guyana? It is a country in South America, bordered by Brazil, Suriname and Venezuela. Spread over an area of 83,000 square miles, Guyana has a population of approximately 750 thousand (7.5 Lakh). 43 percent of population is formed by people of East Indian ancestry (Indo-Guyanese), followed by Afro-Guyanese ancestry who form about 30 % of the population.

Wismar is a locality in Guyana.

Wismar massacre culminated on the day of 26th May, 1964. This date is special for the people of Guyana, as it is celebrated by them as the Guyana Independence day. Though there is another side to this coin, rather a dark one. Something which was kept well-hidden, for almost four decades, in the archives of the Guyana Government and also in the minds of the Indo-Guyanese.

Yes, the side which denotes the day of the Wismar massacre. A day when more than 3000 Indo-Guyanese where murdered, severely injured, burned and raped by 18000 of the African population. An incidence, which the African government continue to deny.

This article is constructed by garnering and processing through the sources available on the internet. Especially from the blog known as Guyana under Siege. In the blog, one will find the Wismar Report prepared back in the days of 1964 under the order of the then British Guiana governor, Sir Richard Luyt.

The surprising part is that the report saw the light of the day as late as 2004 and was published by GNI Publications. It took special effort of Dr. Odeen Ismael, who was the former historian-ambassador for the government of People’s Progress Party, though the report is only available online.

Another thing is that one will not be able to secure much resource on the topic, no matter how much they trawl through the cyber world.  Perhaps, it is not as astonishing as it sounds after all the histories are always written by the victorious ones.

How? One will ask.

Because sometimes battles are won and sometimes they are not. And the one who lose, do not often get to tell their side of the tale.

The Wismar Massacre

Wismar and Christianburg were the villages where the bauxite mining communities used to live, surrounding the region of the upper Demarara River. It was mixed community where both the members of the Indo-Guyanese and African-Guyanese used to reside. With the population for the Afro-Guyanese being as high as 90%.

Unrest started growing up in the month of May, 1964 around the areas of Wismar, Christianburg and Mackenzie. The workers in the sugar industries started holding strikes, demanding the recognition of the workers as bargaining agents.  And it is known that the strikes were initiated by Guyana Agricultural Workers Union (G.AW.U).

The committee who were responsible for the preparation of the Wismar Report regarded these strikes as essential to include in their report because the participants in those strikes were segregated as East-Indians who mostly supported People’s Progress Party by Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan, whereas the African majority were on the side of People’s National Congress of Mr. Forbes Burnham. Therefore, indicating a racial as well as a political tension.

While in the beginning the strikes were of a more peaceful nature, it did evolved into a violent one as clashes started between the strikers and the non-strikers, with the Africans being employed as the strike breakers. Some people were killed incidentally and both the sides claim them as their very own ‘martyrs’.

Later these clashes intensified into a pandemonium which took part in the greater portions of the East and the West coasts of Demerara. On 21st May, an African couple, were killed when a bomb hit their house. After that the situation went out of hand and a state of emergency was declared after three days.

The massacre in the Wismar-Chistianburg and Mackenzie area lasted for a total of 38 hours; between 24th May, Sunday to 26th May, Tuesday – 1964.

According to the committee, over 230 Indo-Guyanese homes and houses were destroyed, a person was even set on fire. Mr. Ramajjattan, a supporter of the PPP was found decapitated and a 15-year old girl was raped and apart from receiving physical injuries, went through a terrible mental shock. The thing is that these are just some of the instances mentioned among hundreds which have gone uncounted. The Africans who took part in the violence entered into the houses of the Indians hitting and molesting them while they shouted “kill de coolies”.

The people, who managed to escape from their villages, remained hidden in the forests nearby. Unfortunately, the African mob followed them are hunted them down like animals. In the process over 1500 people became homeless.

In the following days of 26th, 27th and 28th May, more than 500 of the Indo-Guyanese came out from their hidings in the forest and were taken to the refugee camps in Georgetown.

Two river streamers were commissioned by the government to take the first batch of the Indo-Guyanese to Georgetown where the Africans pelted them with bricks, jeered and used shabby language at them, on their arrival. About 300 of the total number of Indians found shelters with their relatives while the rest had to sleep on the concrete floor of the pier warehouse.

Seventy-five members of the Mackenzie Police and Volunteer force, who were all Africans, did not take any step to prevent the massacre. Even some of them were found to have themselves being part of the looting, beating and killing of the Indo-Guyanese. The volunteers did not help in any way to stop two women from being raped and they were ultimately saved by the members of DEMBA. In other instance, a young East-Indian was shot when he refused to go by their command.

The committee for the Wismar report, concluded that the disturbances were politically and racially inspired and that it was be said to be a pre-planned massacre.

Aftermath to the present

As mentioned by the committee themselves, hardly anything was done by the Police and Volunteer force and the British troops arrived late in the evening when all over 3000 Indians were evacuated and most of them were re-settled in the coastal areas.

Whereas, on 6th July in the same year a passenger launch named the Sun Champ which was en route from Georgetown to Mackenzie was hit by a huge explosion killing about 36 Afro-Guyanese. This incident was assumed by some Africans, to have the hands of East-Indians behind it. They became enraged and attacked the community, injuring many and killing about 5 people.

Mrs. Janet Jagan, who was then the Minister of Home Affairs resigned from her position concerning the atrocities that has been done. She stated of the non-corporation from the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Owen, who did not follow her orders that were given early on 25th May for reinforcement and the dispatching of the British troops to the areas for the protection of life and property.

In the contemporary times, as mentioned by Rakesh Rampertab, editor of the blog, Guyanese under Siege, mentions a quote where it is cited that the descendants of the Indo-Guyanese people who were involved in the massacre refused to even pass on the information to the other generations either vocally or as a written record.

Though not every part, of it is true. In the recent era some of the people have been seen to write to the newspapers demanding the reimbursement or the compensation to the victims who have gone through such violent times. They want the African government to confess and open up the files on the massacre which have been a well-guarded secret for so many years.

Rampertab, also talks about how Mackenzie was renamed to Linden by Burnham. He cited that Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, named the town after himself to mark it as his greatest political victory. He intended to stamp the massacre and show off his superiority. Burnham also made 26th May, 1966 as the Independence Day for Guyana. In reality, he wanted to register his own name on the massacre and sent a message to anyone from the Indo-Guyanese community who will dare to challenge him, will receive the same fate as that of the Wismar massacre. It is further mentioned that the whole event was used as a tool of racial violence by Burnham’s PNC and Peter D’ Aguiar’s UF  to bring down Dr. Jagan’s PPP, exactly when it was at its zenith.

Therefore, the quote from Mr. Raymond Ali might perhaps ring as true in one’s ear:

“The massacre of Indo-Guyanese in Wismar and Christianburg has remained a well-hidden and well-guarded secret. Not only have Guyanese failed to record and seriously document part of our history but also the older generation of Indo-Guyanese have not passed on this information even orally. Up to today there is no accurate figures on the number of Indo-Guyanese that died during the Wismar massacre”.

Here is an article Wismar Massacre click on link.

http://www.guyanaundersiege.co...ar/wismar%20page.htm

Annesha discredits herself by using the words African government. There is no such thing. We have a Guyanese government, no matter which party is in power. I would never accept being governed by anyone other than a Guyanese president.
As a direct victim of that massacre who still experiences the fall out from opportunities lost I am in a unique position amongst other Guyanese on GNI to express my opinion with eye witness account direct from the battle field. I spent all my life trying to forget the horrors that I saw and the dead bodies of friends and neighbours. I have no time for those who wish to rewrite history, or traitors like Demerara guy who accused me of murdering his uncle, when Demerara guy himself was a PNC follower during the days when many Indians were butchered to death by his then pals. Some things I won't forget, and won't forgive Burnham for.
But the current crop of PPP representatives are just as evil and vile as Burnham, but far more corrupt. They promised prosperity in the even of an election victory, but that prosperity was limited to just a few friends and their family. The choice between the murderous PNC and thieving PPP is clearly insane. But still many Guyanese cling on to the notion that those two parties are the only options. The fact is however that the PNC and the PPP are the problem, not the solution.

T, as a pnc affiliate, you were spared and did not lift a finger to help your Indo neighbors.  I don't see how your viewpoint matters as you were the perpetrator and not the victim of Wismar. 

Wismar massacre remembrance on May 26 in Queens

http://guyanatimesgy.com/wisma...on-may-26-in-queens/

Dear Editor,

Reference is made to Ms Rhyaan Shah’s commentary (May 21 edition of Guyana Times) on the Wismar Massacre of Indians and letter (GT May 13) on groups in Brooklyn, NY in conflict over the celebration of Guyana’s Independence anniversary, the date of May 26. Guyanese Americans will commemorate this day in Richmond Hill, Queens as a day of “reflection and remembrance” as it was the date of ethnic cleansing of Wismar. The date is used to pay tribute to the victims of the “Wismar Massacre” and to those who fought for Guyana’s independence.

The 100th Anniversary Foundation, NY, a non-governmental organization (NGO), has issued a release promoting its commemoration of the 1964 Wismar massacre at a special “Remembrance & Reflection ceremony in Richmond Hill slated for Friday evening (May 26)”.

The NGO said that “May 26th should not be a day for celebrations”.It notes that during May 1964, “some 3000 Indo-Guyanese were victims of a massacre in Wismar” and neighbouring communities. There are countless reports of the massacre in the international media and on the Internet. It was reported and came to be known and referred to as the “Wismar massacre of Indians”. Some media reports stated that “May 26 was deliberately chosen as Independence Day to celebrate the expulsion of Indians from Wismar”.

Some describe it as among the first acts of ethnic cleansing in the West. Some of the media reported that “it was a pre-planned annihilation of Indians – many Indians were murdered, many Indian men were beaten and brutalised, hundreds of Indian women were raped, many females were stripped naked, children were terrorised and traumatised, countless Indian homes and business were burned down, and with all fleeing Wismar for safety elsewhere”.

The media (local and international) reporting on the incident described the 1964 Wismar Massacre as “an orchestrated orgy of violence against peaceful Indians”. Some reports quoted officials and the then British Guiana Police as saying the act was one of a “terrorist group X13 Plan”.

Right after the massacre of Indians on May 26, 1964, the People’s National Congress (PNC) held its party congress in Mackenzie that adjoins Wismar. The PNC eventually came to power in coalition with the United Force in 1964. Burnham urged that May 26 be the date for Guyana’s independence; Dr Jagan and the PPP opposed the date.  But the PNC insisted on May 26 and the British acquiesced.

The May 26 attack at Wismar left an indelible scar on Guyanese who witnessed or experienced it; it remains a trauma to those who are still alive. It affected all Guyanese and several of them will describe their experience at the remembrance ceremony. The 100th Anniversary Foundation and other Guyanese groups in New York feel “May 26 cannot and should not be a day for clebration” alone and is inviting the public to its memorial programme in Richmond Hill, New York.

The groups say Guyanese must embrace history and be willing to learn from its varied lessons so as to avoid a repeat. The 100th Anniversary Foundation, NY, says “Guyanese must not separate themselves from their history”. And as such, it is commemorating the sacrifices and contributions made by and paying tribute to the victims of the Wismar Massacre. It will also reflect on the independence struggle.

Yours truly,

Vishnu Bisram

Bisram twisting the facts,

what are these people trying to achieve???

Why are you fetching the PNC slop can this early morning? You were not even born yet when this happened. You should have lived thru the 1962 Black Friday riots. It is possible that 3000 Indo-Guyanese were brutalized in Wismar, Mckenzie and the surrounding areas. No wonder Forbes designated May 26 as Independence Day. Indepence day should now be renamed "Coolie Massacre Day". 

Bhai, wha wrong with you early marnin,i was 11yrs old, knew something was not right,by the way there are lot of information on GNI where i research for my self.

Tell that to Drugb and Yugi,they parrot what they are told,can't find out for themselves.

I checked the information and sites given by Django some time ago. Not sure where the 3000 number came from either, but the reports did confirm that Indos were massacred and driven out of Mackenzie. I was able to ascertain that much. Bisram may be exaggerating the number, but he may be referring to the number of Indus who lived in that area at the time. Some people told me few Indus live in that area now. There are apparently some people who are still alive who were victims.

As per Django's query about what is the point? I believe everyone, Amerindians, Afro and Indus have to document our history. I have Indus and Afro in my family. People need to know their history and who they are, even though they are all Guyanese.

I read that Granger is determined to establish a monument about Sun Chapman. Perhaps Django might want to ask the same question to Granger. 

I checked the information and sites given by Django some time ago. Not sure where the 3000 number came from either, but the reports did confirm that Indos were massacred and driven out of Mackenzie. I was able to ascertain that much. Bisram may be exaggerating the number, but he may be referring to the number of Indus who lived in that area at the time. Some people told me few Indus live in that area now. There are apparently some people who are still alive who were victims.

As per Django's query about what is the point? I believe everyone, Amerindians, Afro and Indus have to document our history. I have Indus and Afro in my family. People need to know their history and who they are, even though they are all Guyanese.

I read that Granger is determined to establish a monument about Sun Chapman. Perhaps Django might want to ask the same question to Granger. 

Vish,

I have no problem with recording of history,let the truth be told,don't twist what has occurred,

who gains from the untruths??

According to the Wismar report, only a handful of Indians died.

http://www.guyana.org/features/wismar_report.html

ACCOUNT OF NUMBER OF DEATHS, EXTENT OF INJURIES, LOSS AND DAMAGE

(a) Deaths

When one considers the number of East Indians evacuated, the large number of Africans in the area and the negligible opposition which the attackers encountered, the number of fatalities was indeed very small.

There were two East Indians who died on the 25th May, 1964. Richard Khan, aged about 18 years, died at the Mackenzie Hospital two hours after admission. He had been attending high school in Georgetown. The other, Pau1 Mirgin, who operated a tug, was married and lived with his wife and four sons in the Valley of Tears.

Gussie English* an African was shot on the 25th May, 1964. He died the same day.

On the 28th May, 1964, Isaac Bridgewater was killed. He was the father of Senator Christina Ramjattan and lived at Section C, Christianburg.

On the 27th May, 1964, Byron Wharton*, an African, died because of extensive burns suffered when he was trapped in a burning building.

Following the Sun Chapman disaster the bodies of 35 persons were taken to Mackenzie and 12 others were listed as missing or unidentified. All of these were Africans. The Sun Chapman incident resulted in five East Indians being murdered at Mackenzie.

There are no official records of the deaths of these persons as no entry has been made in the Register of Births and Deaths. The dispenser who is also the Sub-Registrar for Births and Deaths left for Georgetown on the 24th May and never returned. His place was looted. The present dispenser did not even prepare a temporary list of deaths from the Police record pending the report from the coroner. He did not attend at the Inquiry in order to be of some assistance to the Commissioners. The Assistant District Commissioner who supervises the Sub-Registrar has done nothing to regularise the position. Up to the time when evidence was being taken at the Inquiry the coroner's court had not started to enquire into these deaths.

T, as a pnc affiliate, you were spared and did not lift a finger to help your Indo neighbors.  I don't see how your viewpoint matters as you were the perpetrator and not the victim of Wismar. 

If there is one thing I hate most is to be accused of being PNC. Another thing I hate is when *******s like you make up stories like those that I didn't help my indo neighbours. It is not for me to say who we helped, and who helped us. But maybe you are of the opinion that we were spared by the PNC and managed to remain in Wismar. Nothing could be further from the truth. We fled for our lives after escaping out of the house that the PNC had put ablaze in order to roast us to death into the jungle and crossed from Watooka into MacKenzie, before ending up in one of the ferries that took us to Georgetown.  More than a decade later my granddad went back to Wismar to try and claim back whatever land was ours, but he did not succeed. He and my grandmother stayed in Watooka however until they passed away. As we are partially buck, there was no issue with my grandparents living in the Amerindian village where the blacks would not dare to come and look for trouble in those days.

So again, stop posting that ***king nonsense that I am PNC. I would shoot your mouth off if I ever got the chance to do so for saying shit like that.

I checked the information and sites given by Django some time ago. Not sure where the 3000 number came from either, but the reports did confirm that Indos were massacred and driven out of Mackenzie.

Only Indians in Wismar and Christainbourgh were murdered. The Indians in MacKenzie were save. That's partly because MacKenzie had a defence setup to protect the white people who lived and worked there.

I just came across this photo on Facebook. I hope the PPP didn't have a hand in creating this sign, seeing that the party boycotted the flag-raising ceremony. Whoever made this sign, defacing the Guyana flag in the process, is out of his/her mind.

Image may contain: plant, tree and outdoor

I just came across this photo on Facebook. I hope the PPP didn't have a hand in creating this sign, seeing that the party boycotted the flag-raising ceremony. Whoever made this sign, defacing the Guyana flag in the process, is out of his/her mind.

Those houses in the background are not in Guyana. How many house have sewer vent through the roof and how many fences have ivy growing on them.  That being said, everyone is entitled to their opinion. Independence day as celebrated by the jackass is not really the correct date. However the Wismar massacre did occur on the 26th of May 1964. So keep your opinion to yourself and let our brothers and sisters express their discontent with the jackasses in power. 

Mr.T posted:

If there is one thing I hate most is to be accused of being PNC. Another thing I hate is when *******s like you make up stories like those that I didn't help my indo neighbours. It is not for me to say who we helped, and who helped us. But maybe you are of the opinion that we were spared by the PNC and managed to remain in Wismar. Nothing could be further from the truth. We fled for our lives after escaping out of the house that the PNC had put ablaze in order to roast us to death into the jungle and crossed from Watooka into MacKenzie, before ending up in one of the ferries that took us to Georgetown.  More than a decade later my granddad went back to Wismar to try and claim back whatever land was ours, but he did not succeed. He and my grandmother stayed in Watooka however until they passed away. As we are partially buck, there was no issue with my grandparents living in the Amerindian village where the blacks would not dare to come and look for trouble in those days.

So again, stop posting that ***king nonsense that I am PNC. I would shoot your mouth off if I ever got the chance to do so for saying shit like that.

You are a pnc supporter, please who are you trying to fool? Black mix with Amerindians were spared, so please don't try to fool us.  They must have mistaken your house for an Indian dwelling.

Those houses in the background are not in Guyana. How many house have sewer vent through the roof and how many fences have ivy growing on them.  That being said, everyone is entitled to their opinion. Independence day as celebrated by the jackass is not really the correct date. However the Wismar massacre did occur on the 26th of May 1964. So keep your opinion to yourself and let our brothers and sisters express their discontent with the jackasses in power. 

You missed my point. They defaced the Guyana flag to 'express their discontent'.

Flag was not defaced, it is just a background image. The people's voices must not be stifled by gilly or any other. 

Of course not. Tell me, please, which "people's voices", who are they? Bisram people? Gilly curious.

Jagdeo and the rest of his Indo KKK gang are very interesting.  Under the PNC Republic Day was emphasized.  

When the PPP came in they shifted the emphasis to May 26th.  Now suddenly they scream that May 26th is Indo Holocaust Day.

I will also like to see documentary proof that Jagan objected to May 26th being selected as Independence Day.

I suspect this is just the PPP in its new manifestation of being ROAR II.  Like the idiots don't look at an age adjusted population census and note that fastest growing segment of the population are mixed identified. And that 80% of this population support the PNC and/or the AFC and aren't amused by this "coolie people party" tactic adopted by Jagdeo since the 2015 election campaign.

The Wismargenocide is the Porajmos of Guyanese East Indians

What genocide??

Mass movement of East Indians from the area ...yes.

Take a closer look,there are more people killed during the PPP rule 1997 - 2015.

What genocide??

Take a closer look,there are more people killed during the PPP rule 1997 - 2015.

That's true. Ever asked yourself why? PNC attempts to destabilize the country? Kick down door bandits were taken care of? PNC drug dealers?

What genocide??

That's true. Ever asked yourself why? PNC attempts to destabilize the country? Kick down door bandits were taken care of? PNC drug dealers?

You usual twist of events to suit your taste,hate can be detrimental to one sense of reasoning.

What genocide??

You usual twist of events to suit your taste,hate can be detrimental to one sense of reasoning.

Django bhai, hate is not a word I reserve to refer to the people I dislike. My dislike for people comes from their scorn for the poor and unfortunate.

What genocide??

Django bhai, hate is not a word I reserve to refer to the people I dislike. My dislike for people comes from their scorn for the poor and unfortunate.

Ok cool.