NO PASSPORT REQUIRED, New Six-Part Series Hosted by Chef Marcus Samuelsson, Premieres Tuesdays,

July 10-August 14, 2018 on PBS

Explore America Through the Culture of Food in Six U.S. Citiesβ€œQueens, NYC” - Tuesday, July 31, 9:00-10:00 p.m. ET

In New York, Marcus learns about the Indo-Guyanese community. This double-diasporic community from Guyana and the Caribbean has roots in India, influences from Africa, China, Portugal, and has now settled in Richmond Hill, Queens. Marcus eats Trinidadian roti and doubles, visits a cross-cultural bush cook, plays cricket and learns how to make a traditional Guyanese chicken curry in honor of springtime festival Phagwah.

http://www.pbs.org/about/blogs...gust-14-2018-on-pbs/

ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana

Thanks for the heads up

I am sure PBS had its reasons to choose the progressive and cultured Community of RICHMOND HILL. PROUD to be a member of the Community!!!

And loud music progressive? Hey hey hey...

Yes, music is vital in our Culture, who dont like it go live elsewhere!!!

I am sure PBS had its reasons to choose the progressive and cultured Community of RICHMOND HILL. PROUD to be a member of the Community!!!

You are so correct,out do your neighbor with a bigger boombox and selection of music.

Quite a unique culture.

Thanks for the heads up

Hey hey hey...meh hope de police start charging and tek away dem boom box. Hey hey hey...

I watched Samuels and Dre Russ (my favorite T20 player) put lash pun Bangladesh last night. I’ll watch that show tonight as I recorded it. Any of you GNI’ers featured on the show? I’d be very much surprised if Vishnu didn’t somehow push himself in for a cameo.

They didn't cover the Muslims...Chief like he slack off

Liberty / Lefferts Blv....reminds me of Guyana... walking down Lefferts towards Liberty is music galor and cuss down by neighbors or husband and wife , you guys bad fo days lol ... I enjoy those crush ice cart .

walk in a few bars on Liberty, everyone wants a drink ... I does mek a U turn 

Them wedding  house is like back home.. love it. 

I watched Samuels and Dre Russ (my favorite T20 player) put lash pun Bangladesh last night. I’ll watch that show tonight as I recorded it. Any of you GNI’ers featured on the show? I’d be very much surprised if Vishnu didn’t somehow push himself in for a cameo.

I watched the most anticipated show " No Passport Required" Cricket took second place, it was that good. Richmond Hill ROCKS. PBS has eyes for progressive, cultured and intelligent Communities.

Thanks for the heads up

he deals with the Afro Caribbean by featuring Haitians in Miami. Afro Guyanese are a subset of the English speaking Afro Caribbean population so do not dominate those parts of Brooklyn the way that Indo Guyanese do in RH and its environs.  Where Afro Guyanese live there are usually large populations of Jamaicans, Haitians, Trinidadians (usually more numerous).