We collaborate  with Indian college teachers and Indian historians  who are writing about Descendent of Indian Indenture Labourers  in Guyana and other countries. The Indenture Labourers program is not well known in India by the general population  and the Indian Ministry of Education plans to implement programs in school  to educate students, regarding this part of their history. 

There are also Chinese and Japanese university home-stay students  who read GNI often, regarding  studies in different cultures.

A question that comes up often and  would benefit  the teacher and university students is :

Which region  in Guyana has the highest academic achievement  of Indians and what is the reason for this achievement. They know these regions to be, Berbice, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, West Coast Demerara, Essequibo  and the interior of Guyana.   

Please,  this is discussion for  international students and teachers  who will read our comments. The  manner  we portrait our self, will determine how they see us as Guyanese.

Later, they  also plan to ask similar questions regarding Afro Guyanese.

Thanks for your comments.   

Basdeo Mangru wrote many books on this.

Leonora, 

Thanks. I grew up with Basdeo and his wife  at Albion and met them a few times in NY. He also used some of my pictures for his books and gave us dozens of Indians In Guyana for distribution in Guyana schools, during a project.

I was told, the books were for the previous government who placed an order, but after the books were printed, they changed their mind and the guy was left with thousands of dollars of printed books. Many  books were given to the  MOE in New Amsterdam, but they did not even had the courtesy to write him a TU letter, after I asked.  

I have his books, but I wanted the opinion of the some experts on GNI, who seem so intelligent with many subjects. Who also seem well versed in garbage writing, other than useful things.

If this thread was bashing someone, there might have been  pages of negative supporting each other.   Strange people, compared to those I visited in other developing countries.   

Tola posted:

Basdeo Mangru wrote many books on this.

.....I was told, the books were for the previous government who placed an order, but after the books were printed, they changed their mind and the guy was left with thousands of dollars of printed books. Many  books were given to the  MOE in New Amsterdam, but they did not even had the courtesy to write him a TU letter, after I asked.  ...   

Tola Banna, datt mek no sense wah so evva. Fussly;

1. A PO is a binding instrument enforceable in a court of law.  You cannot just issue and walk away. 

2.  He should have had a Letter Of Credit ensuring the funding for the order

3. He should have requested a security deposit when he initiated the printing. 

Dah wah yu seh deh nah mek no sense wah so evva!  None none none!

dah Banna blow smoke up yuh batty!!

Tola posted:

Which region  in Guyana has the highest academic achievement  of Indians and what is the reason for this achievement.

They know these regions to be, Berbice, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, West Coast Demerara, Essequibo  and the interior of Guyana.

The answers to the questions have to be based on statistics. I have browsed the Ministry of Education of Guyana Website looking for results of  Examinations taken by students,will provide the info later to your students.

Perhaps some of the "Shitposters" can also take the task to speed up the information.

Tola posted:

Which region  in Guyana has the highest academic achievement  of Indians and what is the reason for this achievement.

They know these regions to be, Berbice, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, West Coast Demerara, Essequibo  and the interior of Guyana.

The answers to the questions have to be based on statistics. I have browsed the Ministry of Education of Guyana Website looking for results of  Examinations taken by students,will provide the info later to your students.

Perhaps some of the "Shitposters" can also take the task to speed up the information.

Django Bhai, lemme know if you see me name in de list.

Tola posted:

Your name will be on paper at MOE archives,mine will also be there.

Tola posted:

So what exams they will be listed there: School Leaving, School Gardening, PTA etc.?

Tola posted:

So what exams they will be listed there: School Leaving, School Gardening, PTA etc.?

What kind of question is that, you are older, will know the Examinations written during Colonial times and after Independence.In my time i know about PCE,CP ,GCE and City & Guilds.

Help out and list some.

Tola posted:

Thanks Django,  I really appreciate your efforts.  MOE could give stats, but what caused the academic achievements ? Better health care or parental/teacher concerns, etc ?  What was the motivation ?

For example in the 1960s in Berbice, after Jagan told farming families to educate their children, there was a surge of Indians graduating from UG, who went on to higher education. Many were my friends, who worked their rice fields on weekends.

BOOSIE FOR BRAINS.   Just like I said on my earlier post, know-it-all  'shitposters' are like  the main bottle-washing politician in Guyana and their Mahatma Trump,  who seem to have BOOSIE FOR BRAINS, by making statements  without knowing all the facts. Every time they open their mouth, only boosie flows.

Its  no wonder they fall on their ass in disgrace [in other countries] and might die in their negativity. For this reason, Afros in Guyana might always do better than some  Indians, who look for the first opportunity to stab another  Indian in the back.  Instead of building them up for the betterment of all.    

Tola posted:

Thanks Django,  I really appreciate your efforts.  MOE could give stats, but what caused the academic achievements ? Better health care or parental/teacher concerns, etc ?  What was the motivation ?

For example in the 1960s in Berbice, after Jagan told farming families to educate their children, there was a surge of Indians graduating from UG, who went on to higher education. Many were my friends, who worked their rice fields on weekends.

Big job, me thinks we can get there, will take some time.

What kind of question is that, you are older, will know the Examinations written during Colonial times and after Independence.In my time i know about PCE,CP ,GCE and City & Guilds.

Help out and list some.

Bai, these are before your time. PCE replaced School Leaving I think in 1963. PTA was abolished in 1963 I think. 

Help out and list some.

Bai, these are before your time. PCE replaced School Leaving I think in 1963. PTA was abolished in 1963 I think. 

PCE was written at 4th Standard, i can recall writing something like that.

Tola posted:

BOOSIE FOR BRAINS.   Just like I said on my earlier post, know-it-all  'shitposters' are like  the main bottle-washing politician in Guyana and their Mahatma Trump,  who seem to have BOOSIE FOR BRAINS, by making statements  without knowing all the facts. Every time they open their mouth, only boosie flows.

Its  no wonder they fall on their ass in disgrace [in other countries] and might die in their negativity. For this reason, Afros in Guyana might always do better than some  Indians, who look for the first opportunity to stab another  Indian in the back.  Instead of building them up for the betterment of all.    

"boosie".......haven't heard that since I left Guyana.

Help out and list some.

PCE was written at 4th Standard, i can recall writing something like that.

Except PTA and City and Guilds, I passed them all. Never wrote PTA.

Tola posted:

Help out and list some.

In the 1950s/60s, I believe the mission primary [Albion Canadian Presbyterian] schools certificates were called : EDUCATION DEPARTMENT BRITISH GUIANA : PRIMARY SCHOOL CERTIFICATE. Signed by Director of Education with name of student, DOB, Date of Exam and Exam number.  I have a few for my family.

City and Guilds was GUYSUCO training centre, right  ?

General Certificate of Education [GCE] was also from the 50s and 60s.   

Hugh Jorgan posted:

I pass both my Junior Cambridge and Senior Cambridge, so I’m good.  

Is that CPE and GCE ?

GCE >>> University of London.

Junior & Senior Cambridge >>> University of Cambridge. 

Remember growing up and hearing " she graduate from Cambridge".

The one that was once located on Main Street? 

Hugh Jorgan posted:

Is that CPE and GCE ?

Same.

HJ
Hugh Jorgan posted:

Is that CPE and GCE ?

That was a famous girls school!!

Tola posted:

There are also Chinese and Japanese university home-stay students  who read GNI often, regarding  studies in different cultures.

And they must think very little of Guyanese when grown men, some even grand fathers, behave like primary school kids with their endless vulgarity.

Mitwah, Tola, Cain, Mars, ronan, django and warrior come to mind. Maybe you should give these boys a lesson in social media etiquette. 

Tola posted:

And they must think very little of Guyanese when grown men, some even grand fathers, behave like primary school kids with their endless vulgarity.

Mitwah, Tola, Cain, Mars, ronan, django and warrior come to mind. Maybe you should give these boys a lesson in social media etiquette. 

Insanity steps in.

I bet that they think highly of your obsession with black baigan entering Indian male orifices.

A google search will reveal that you are the only one using this terminology. Apparently an obsession that you can't control. Baigan happens to be a popular food across the world. 

Tola posted:

On Point!

Vulgar like a "Grandma" age (Cambridge) homan posting the picture of an Afro penis in an otherwise benign discussion over the status of a township!

Tola posted:

True Carib, they question the motive of the poster and whether  their home-land reflects  what they read on GNI. Sadly, I say its worse and its embarrassing as few Guyanese, living in this area.

It no wonder Guyanese is the laughing-stalk around the world, because their nature is to continue destroying their pride as a nation.   

Tola posted:

We collaborate  with Indian college teachers and Indian historians  who are writing about Descendent of Indian Indenture Labourers  in Guyana and other countries. The Indenture Labourers program is not well known in India by the general population  and the Indian Ministry of Education plans to implement programs in school  to educate students, regarding this part of their history. 

A question that comes up often and  would benefit  the teacher and university students is :

Which region  in Guyana has the highest academic achievement  of Indians and what is the reason for this achievement. They know these regions to be, Berbice, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, West Coast Demerara, Essequibo  and the interior of Guyana.   

Please,  this is discussion for  international students and teachers  who will read our comments. The  manner  we portrait our self, will determine how they see us as Guyanese.

Tols, the head of my company, a global health leader, recently asked me where I'm from. I said Guyana. He said 'my friend Dr. Srinath in Mauritius, his Indian ancestors were shipped there.' I said 'the Europeans took my ancestors from India to work on sugar plantations. Much good came from it. The Indians in Guyana worked hard and suffered many abuses, but their future generations have all excelled, many are in foreign countries, got a good education and are working side by side with the world's greatest minds.'

Tola posted:

Tols, the head of my company, a global health leader, recently asked me where I'm from. I said Guyana. He said 'my friend Dr. Srinath in Mauritius, his Indian ancestors were shipped there.' I said 'the Europeans took my ancestors from India to work on sugar plantations. Much good came from it. The Indians in Guyana worked hard and suffered many abuses, but their future generations have all excelled, many are in foreign countries, got a good education and are working side by side with the world's greatest minds.'

Leonora, thanks for this information. There is conference soon in  Europe regarding Documenting Descendants of Indian Indenture Labourers and reps from Mauritius will be attending. If possible,  I would like to contact Dr. Srinath.

We need to document our history or others will continue to take advantage of us as a people. Our family future generations need to know where they came from, or similar to Canada First Nations People who were in residential schools and lost their culture, like the British did to us in Guyana.     

This morning I made contact with another GNIer, who will be contacting my college teacher friend and also a college history teacher in India   regarding the book she is writing about Descendent of Indian Indenture Labourers and to find his ancestors tribe or caste in India, because documents don't show it clearly.    Mauritius and Fiji will also be places the documentation team will be visiting.

What I found interesting while researching my ancestor's  history :  When they were recruited in India , they were designated for specific sugar cane plantation in BG. Mine went from Odessa directly to Albion in 1872. Where our family in Guyana started.  

BTW, I lived in Guyana for only a year after independent [1967].During my years in British Guiana, I witnessed many abuses and suffering created by the overseas plantation managers. I personally  experienced many verbal abuse for things beyond my control at work  and a hand gun was once placed on my head for something also beyond my control. In Susan Wassermann's film Thunder in Guyana [I believe on Utube] , Janet Jagan's cousin said, Janet even said 'The British were like dogs'.  The change for Indians began,  when ordinary farming families start educating their children. 

I have documented many of my Guyana experiences  for my friend's book  in India and also for our Canadian children/GC to better understand my life in BG/Guyana.     

A google search will reveal that you are the only one using this terminology. Apparently an obsession that you can't control. Baigan happens to be a popular food across the world. 

It will reveal that it was introduced by you and that I only refer to it when dealing with your compulsive obsessions.

Tola posted:

True Carib, they question the motive of the poster and whether  their home-land reflects  what they read on GNI. Sadly, I say its worse and its embarrassing as few Guyanese, living in this area.

It no wonder Guyanese is the laughing-stalk around the world, because their nature is to continue destroying their pride as a nation.   

They probably query why a tiny island like Barbados still has a higher GDP than does Guyana, despite being in a recession for almost 10 years.

When the compare the behavior of Guyanese on GNI and Bajans on Underground they will see why.