Indian brides told to reduce mobile phone use

NEW DELHI (AFP) – An Indian state has told newly-wedded women to avoid talking too much on their mobile phones for the first two years of marriage in case it provokes jealousy from their husbands.

The Punjab State Commission for Women (PSCW) issued an official advisory last week urging brides "to focus on their domestic life instead of having long conversations on mobile phones".

Commission head Gurdev Kaur Sangha told AFP on Monday that the advice was designed to avoid suspicion between new couples as they adjust to their new life together.

"I found that almost 40 per cent of women consider seeking a divorce on the grounds that her husband and in-laws do not like her talking on mobile phones," said Sangha, 70, from Chandigarh, the state capital of Punjab.

"Most husbands said their wives are always on the phone and they doubted their character as they suspected them of talking to ex-boyfriends."

Sangha said she had seen a rise in complaints from women about domestic violence, sexual harassment and family discord due to arguments over brides being constantly on the phone.

The advisory said most newly-married women were actually ringing their parents not former boyfriends, but warned that passing on hourly updates about their new home was damaging.

It added that for at least two years brides should make "small adjustments" to help build a solid foundation for a marriage.

oh pleaseeee Roll Eyes clever

how about the men, did them reduce their mobile phone use.

In laws will be in laws,

Been by my in laws yesterday and since I marry, this is the first Mother's day I received so many phone calls from nieces, cousins and friends,and that make me feel special. Big Grin

I notice I was getting the looks from a couple of my in laws, because is only my sister usually called. I don't care, Big Grin partybanana
Originally posted by sita:
oh pleaseeee Roll Eyes clever

how about the men, did them reduce their mobile phone use.

In laws will be in laws,

Been by my in laws yesterday and since I marry, this is the first Mother's day I received so many phone calls from nieces, cousins and friends,and that make me feel special. Big Grin

I notice I was getting the looks from a couple of my in laws, because is only my sister usually called. I don't care, Big Grin partybanana

Based on what you wrote seems like you and your in laws are not living good? dunno
Originally posted by Riya:
Originally posted by TI:
Yu sure you guyanese?
Everyday when I use the train I overhear Guyanese talking. Can they talk name!Big Grin

I does ask my mom the same thing! Big Grin

I missed eavesdropping on the A train. I does pretend that my book is so interesting but does be batting meh ears Big Grin Good stories!

lol
sometime me is forget what part a the paragraph me reading in the book. Big Grin
"Most husbands said their wives are always on the phone and they doubted their character as they suspected them of talking to ex-boyfriends."

Suspicious minds. Those Punjabi men (and others like them) need serious counselling. But it appears as if marriage counsellors are as rare as Martians in the Punjab. I sympathize with those Punjabi wives.
B
Originally posted by Riya:
Originally posted by TI:
Yu sure you guyanese?
Everyday when I use the train I overhear Guyanese talking. Can they talk name!Big Grin

I does ask my mom the same thing! Big Grin

I missed eavesdropping on the A train. I does pretend that my book is so interesting but does be batting meh ears Big Grin Good stories!

Once on the A train, dis Guyanese girl was rubbin up she leg against mine...cell phones weren't popular then