India Strikes Pakistani Village In Retaliation For Attack In Kashmir

The head of India's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, Amit Shah, tweeted that the attack demonstrates that India is "safe and secure under the strong & decisive leadership" of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Chandan Khanna/AFP/Getty Images

India says its fighter jets crossed a disputed border as they headed into Pakistan before dawn Tuesday, conducting airstrikes on a militant training camp and killing "a very large number of terrorists."

Pakistan confirmed by tweet that Indian planes entered its airspace. But the spokesperson for the Pakistan Armed Forces said that the planes were forced to drop their payload in an open field after Pakistan scrambled its own jets and that there were no casualties or damage.

What actually happened in the Pakistani area of Balakot may be known only to local villagers, who told Reuters they heard four loud bangs overnight. They said only one person was wounded by bomb shards.

Still, Pakistan's foreign minister denounced what he called "Indian aggression" and threatened "a befitting response."

Tensions between nuclear-armed neighbors India and Pakistan have seldom been higher — even before Tuesday's incursion. After a suicide car bomb earlier this month in disputed Kashmir, the two countries recalled their envoys from each other's capitals and vowed to use military firepower if the other attacked first.

Indian officials were quick to herald the bravery of their air force pilots, even before full details of Tuesday's airstrikes were known.

"Each time you attack us, be certain we will get back at you, harder and stronger," India's minister of state for external affairs, Vijay Kumar Singh, tweeted early Tuesday, amid reports of the strike but before officials had confirmed it.

The head of India's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, Amit Shah, tweeted that the attack demonstrates that India is "safe and secure under the strong & decisive leadership" of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Modi is running for re-election in polls expected this spring. At a rally in Rajasthan later Tuesday, Modi told the crowd that he salutes Indian soldiers and promised to "take India to new heights."

"I promise all citizens that the country is in safe hands," he said in reference to the military operation hours earlier.

The latest row began on Feb. 14, when a suicide car bombing killed some 40 Indian troops in a convoy on the outskirts of Srinagar, one of the largest cites in Indian-controlled Kashmir. It was the deadliest such attack in three decades in Kashmir, a Himalayan territory that's split between Indian and Pakistani zones.

A Pakistan-based militant group, Jaish-e-Mohammed (Army of Mohammed), a U.S.-designated terrorist group, claimed responsibility for the bombing. The group is banned in both countries, but India accuses Pakistan of tacitly supporting the group. Islamabad denies that. The bomber himself was a local Kashmiri man.

The Feb. 14 attack prompted a diplomatic dispute between India and Pakistan, and fears of a backlash against the Kashmiri people themselves. In recent weeks, there have been reports of evictions and harassment of Kashmiris, who are mostly Muslim, across Hindu-majority India. Several of the funeral processions for the Indian soldiers and police killed in that attack morphed into nationalist rallies, with mourners chanting for revenge against Pakistan.

India said Tuesday's airstrike targeted a Jaish-e-Mohammed training camp run by a brother-in-law of the group's chief. "A very large number of JeM terrorists, trainers, senior commanders and groups of jihadis... were eliminated," the Ministry of External Affairs said in a statement.

But the exact location of the alleged camp was still unclear. Both countries said the airstrikes happened in an area called Balakot. But there are two such villages: One is in Pakistani-administered Kashmir. Another is deeper inside Pakistan, in the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province. Only in the latter case, would Indian jets have crossed a recognized international border. Pakistan contends that the Indian jets crossed the Line of Control, the de facto border between Indian and Pakistani sides of Kashmir. At a news conference in New Delhi, Indian officials refused to answer questions.

India's foreign secretary, Vijay Gokhale, told reporters that "credible intelligence" suggested Jaish-e-Mohammed "was attempting another suicide attack."

"In the face of imminent danger, a pre-emptive strike became absolutely necessary," Gokhale said.

He accused Pakistan of taking "no concrete actions to dismantle the infrastructure of terrorism on its soil" and added that such a massive training camp "could not have functioned without the knowledge of Pakistan authorities."

Tuesday's events bear an uncanny resemblance to what happened in 2016, when India announced that it had conducted surgical strikes against militant launch pads in Pakistani-controlled Kashmir. It claimed the strike killed dozens of militants. Pakistan confirmed that an operation had occurred but disputed that it was successful and said the death toll was much lower.

There's even a Bollywood film about the 2016 strikes, Uri, currently showing in Indian theaters.

https://www.npr.org/2019/02/26...or-attack-in-kashmir

Well, either they join civilized Nations and help rid their Country of Terrorists or they continue to condone and harbor Terrorists. The Terrorists that is responsible for the Mumbai attack is still free in Pakistan. One of the biggest CRIMINAL from India Daewod is free in Pakistan and many more. Enough is enough India is saying.

Last edited by Nehru

The US and China has warned Pakistan about terror attacks against India. Trump is also holding back financial aid in an effort to punish Pakistan. 

Pakistan needs to become a part of a civilized group of nations and stop harbouring terrorists. 

India will continue to attack terrorist bases in Pakistan with the blessings of USA, Russia and China.

Abu Jihad posted:

Ray, that may be so BUT why should India continue to be the victim while the Pak Govt condone, assist, encourage Terrorism?? It will only stop when India decides enough is enough. I never heard of an Indian attack in Pakistan.

Read the bloody tile of this topic 

Bloody tile.

And the tile man is dancing too. 

This conflict between Pak and India will outlast the Palestinian-Israeli conflict! There is no real end in sight.  Pakistan is playing off the USA and China to their advantage vis-a-vis India.  Then there is the Terrorists Wahabs in Saudi who support the terrorists in Pakistan and funds the ISI!

A Bosnian doctor told me the exact thing. Kashmir will outlast the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. It will never be solved. What is pissing me off is these people are killing their own genetic race for religion. For example; I saw an  interview with Musharaf on TV. He said that he killed many enemy soldiers in war. I think to myself. Dumbbell it is your own genetic race that you killed there. People whose ancestors have the same experiences as your ancestors.

It is an election season in India and the BJP is in deep trouble and they may lose. 
Stirring up nationalistic trouble is one way to get your people worked up so they vote for you

Stuff in Kashmir did not just start. The people in Indian controlled Kashmir look at the Indian army as invaders. They don't like them, plus there has been lots of cases of human rights abuse. 

People in Kashmir view the terrorists/militants as freedom fighters, Indian army view them as terrorists. 

On the other side, Pakistan militants groups are hardened, lots of their victims have been fellow Pakistanis.
It is easy to say they are working with Pakistani Govt, but it's more complicated than that

....The people in Indian controlled Kashmir look at the Indian army as invaders. They don't like them, plus there has been lots of cases of human rights abuse. 

People in Kashmir view the terrorists/militants as freedom fighters, Indian army view them as terrorists. 

Thats Bull Crap! Many Kashmiri prefer Indian rule.  Many in Pakistan proper want access to Indian universities.  

There are parts of Jammu-Kashmir are Muslim majority and other places Hindu majority.  Many Muslims prefer Indian rule but cannot express or they and family get harassed and even killed. This is what happens to Trump supporters in the USA. The difference, voting time they can stick it to the haters!

Most of the terrorism in the region are from Pakistani trained terrorists who cross into India.  Why do you think all the Bombay terrorists were out of Pakistan.

You fall for Islamic Terrorist propaganda!!

It is one of the most STUPID conflict. Just like Guyana/Venezuela. The Ehiteman drawn the lines and that is waht it has been and will always be. As I said many times before, the Muslims in Indian controlled Kashmir need to go to the other side and find Paradise. The Indian Army needs to give those who try to cause trouble the Israeli treatment!!

Look at this Swine Nehru.

Suggesting to give Muslims the Osraeli treatment.

People like you who support state sponsored killings will end up losing your children here in safe NY . God clock turns slowly but surrlylly

All of you who are supporting murderous Modi and the Hindu party are a pack of skonts.

Look at this Swine Nehru.

Suggesting to give Muslims the Osraeli treatment.

People like you who support state sponsored killings will end up losing your children here in safe NY . God clock turns slowly but surrlylly

All of you who are supporting murderous Modi and the Hindu party are a pack of skonts.

Shut yuh poke.  Didn’t Pakistani terrorists kill 40 soldiers?

The MIGs are considered "flying coffins" in India. Almost 500 have crashed in India in the last 50 years. The IAF is phasing the MIGS and replacing them with Dassault Rafael and other indigenous ones built by Hindustan Aviation.  

I want to know if a PAK F16 was really downed by a MIG 21.  The Pakistanis are denying it.  They are aslo denying that India succeeded in attacking the JeM training camps in Balakot.  How do we know who is telling the truth.  We know for sure the IAF lost one aircraft.