India’s PM calls off visit to Guyana

By Vahnu Manikchand

The much anticipated visit to Guyana by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in December has been called off, sources have confirmed to Guyana Times.
Government had disclosed in September that Prime Minister Modi was scheduled to make his first-ever visit to Guyana in early December and would have taken part in the commissioning of the Indian Indentureship Monument in Palmyra on the Corentyne, Berbice, which is a US$150,000 gift to Guyana by the Government of India to symbolise the country’s cultural celebration.
News of the Indian Leader’s visit was first announced back in April by President David Granger while in New Delhi for the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Founding Conference and Solar Summit.
During a bilateral meeting, President Granger and Prime Minister Modi pledged to strengthen the historical ties between the two countries through increased cooperation. In fact, Modi told the Guyanese Leader that India is willing to do whatever it can to support Guyana’s development and pointed out that there are many areas for cooperation, particularly in the sugar and oil sectors, and the two leaders were expected to reviewed the scale of Guyana-India relations and continue discussions during his visit to Guyana.
He was scheduled to attend the 2018 G20 Summit to be held in Argentina on November 31 to December 1 before leaving for Trinidad and Tobago to attend a special Caricom (Caribbean Community) Heads of Government meeting on the Caricom Single Market and Economy (CSME) set for December 3 and 4.
However, Guyana Times was reliably informed that Prime Minister Modi will no longer be making a trip to Guyana, or to the Caribbean as a matter of fact, during his current tour.
“Due to current domestic compulsions, he’s not coming anymore,” a reliable source confirmed to this newspaper on Thursday, while assuring that the visit will be rescheduled.
Over the past weeks, there has been an air of uncertainty of the Indian Prime Minister’s inaugural visit to Guyana. In fact, this publication understands that local non-profit organisations that are involved in sustaining the Indian culture and tradition were being assembled for a possible visit to Trinidad.

Persons attached to those organisations indicated that this was the first sign that the Prime Minister might no longer be coming to Guyana since they were being told that they would meet with him in the twin-island state the day after his meeting with the Caricom Heads of Government.
In the meantime, the Guyana Government, through its Foreign Affairs Ministry, has since been informed of this change in the Prime Minister Modi’s itinerary.
With the last high-level State visit of an Indian leader to Guyana being in 2006 when then Vice President of India, Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, visited, it was anticipated that the impending trip of Prime Minister Modi would further solidify bilateral relations between the two countries.
The high level visit was expected to cover overall bilateral relations with engagements in areas of politics, commercial, cultural and so on.
More importantly, however, major highlights of the visit would be continued, with ongoing discussions on Guyana’s emerging oil and gas sector as well as its heavily indebted and cash-strapped, and now downsized, sugar industry.
The Indian Government has long indicated its willingness to assist with Guyana’s ailing sugar sector. However, Government is yet to formally take the emerging Asian power-house nation up on its offer.
But Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge, had told Guyana Times earlier this year that interest is brewing amongst Indians on the assets from the local sugar industry that are up for divestment. Greenidge had led a high-level ministerial delegation to India back in January and during that visit, he said that more tangible than the State-offered technical assistance is interests expressed by private companies, which have massive and expansive capacities.
On the other hand, with Guyana being a new member of the oil club, India had also offer downstream, midstream and upstream assistance, while at the same time indicating its interest in exploration activities here as well as intention to buy Guyana’s oil in the future. Currently, Latin America accounts for around 20 per cent of India’s oil imports with sellers including Venezuela.
Guyana and India established Diplomatic ties in 1965 and has since maintained a strong bond on the bilateral and multilateral fronts given the similarities of not only its democracy and colonial background, but also its multiracial and multicultural societies.
Over the years, Guyana has become the beneficiary of several loans and line of credits from the Indian Government towards infrastructure, healthcare and education development, including the cricket stadium, traffic lights in Georgetown and supply of 14 irrigation drainage pumps.
Currently, there are seven projects that the Indian Government is either fully or partially funding in Guyana. Among these are the US$50 million East Bank Demerara-East Coast Demerara bypass road; the US$17.50 million modernisation of the Bartica, West Demerara and Suddie Hospitals; the US$18 million acquisition of a passenger ferry and the setting up an IT Centre of Excellence in Guyana.

Perhaps, he felt it's not safe to come.

"Due to current domestic compulsions...," says a GT reliable source. Something to do with India.

Disappointing...and shows why coolies are destined to struggle for survival.

Did he call off the trip to the G20?

"Due to current domestic compulsions...," says a GT reliable source. Something to do with India.

Too close to Guyana's LG election.

LGE is Nov 12 th,

Modi planned visit is in December.

According to the GT report above, Mr Modi will attend the G20 summit in Argentina but will not move on to the Caribbean as previously scheduled.

It was tongue and cheek.  I did not expect him to miss that!

Shows India feels little vested interest in Indians from that region!

LGE is Nov 12 th,

With Guyana's history of rioting after a contested election,why take the chance.

LGE is Nov 12 th,

With Guyana's history of rioting after a contested election,why take the chance.

Who riots after LGE ??

LGE is Nov 12 th,

Who riots after LGE ??

The Vatican 

LGE is Nov 12 th,

Who riots after LGE ??

The Vatican 

The Pope seh it's time for you & Django to call it a day. Goodnight guys.

Keffer is probably jumping up for joy. His hate is not coming. 

When did I ever say that I hate anyone, you monstrous dumb-ass shithouse cleaner ? I told you several time in the past; you are nothing but an uneducated ka-ka-head ! You writings are all of absolutely no value so get lost, you pestilent dingbat !! I need to remind you of the saying 'it is much better to shut your foul-smelling, cavernous mouth and let others believe you are a jack-ass than to open it and remove all doubt ! 

Last edited by Keffer

Modi will visit after 2020 if there are free and fair elections.   The Indians are reading GNI.

Yeh, an' they probably sayin dat yall is some rale rale canta Indian rass.

Keffer hates East Indians to his very core.  There is only one solution for someone with such hate.

Vote him to rule the proposed Indian State of Guyana, with you as opposition leader.   

Jan I'm heading to Calgary to take care of my boy's home and their pets...I seem to go out there in winter mostly.h

A warm winter is predicted in Western Canada this year, so a warm blood Guyanese like you should be okay in Calgary.

Near future plans, a presentation in France and Florida  to enhance me tan wid friends. Maybe TO for a weekend in Jan.  

Next summer, annada try to have tea wid de queen.  Dat gyal Meghan betta come thru wid dis colour ting wid de royals, me depending on she wid a good word with 'HIGH' Royal Highness fa a cuppa. Me hear she coming to check out our BC bud. How come you not de tour guide ?  

But rass, maybe Meghan na  even know whea Guyana dea.

MIND DE GAP.    

TPrashad posted:

Keffer hates East Indians to his very core.  There is only one solution for someone with such hate.

Prolonged inhalation of the fumes of the countless dirty US army outhouses that you clean from sun-up to sun-down has evidently finally taken its toll on your under-developed little brain, you dingbat! Now that you have posted your usual quota of trash for the day, run along ....your masters are calling for you; there are more filthy latrines waiting for you to caress .....Gwan da side !!!

Tola posted:

Jan I'm heading to Calgary to take care of my boy's home and their pets...I seem to go out there in winter mostly.h

A warm winter is predicted in Western Canada this year, so a warm blood Guyanese like you should be okay in Calgary.

Near future plans, a presentation in France and Florida  to enhance me tan wid friends. Maybe TO for a weekend in Jan.  

Next summer, annada try to have tea wid de queen.  Dat gyal Meghan betta come thru wid dis colour ting wid de royals, me depending on she wid a good word with 'HIGH' Royal Highness fa a cuppa. Me hear she coming to check out our BC bud. How come you not de tour guide ?  

But rass, maybe Meghan na  even know whea Guyana dea.

MIND DE GAP.    

Tola, I hope the winter forecast for Calgary is accurate. I know you will enjoy being there again.

Keffer posted:
TPrashad posted:

Prolonged inhalation of the fumes of the countless dirty US army outhouses that you clean from sun-up to sun-down has evidently finally taken its toll on your under-developed little brain, you dingbat! Now that you have posted your usual quota of trash for the day, run along ....your masters are calling for you; there are more filthy latrines waiting for you to caress .....Gwan da side !!!

At least I am getting a pension all you can look forward to is a kick in your butt by your Arab master.

Prashad, why do you insist on embarrassing yourself with such ridiculous trash, you Jackass ?? It will serve you much better if you stay with your  usual toilet cleaning !! 

Bai Prash,

I see that you are cranking up The Radical Extremist Keff. 

Uneducated bigots and hatemongers like you and Prashad can barely  crank up the plate of rice that you are lucky to receive daily so keep your prejudice and ignorance to yourselves ! It will be in your interest to read up about Vietnam before someone else nails your hide to the walls of the stable in the next time you expose your dismal ignorance ! The only thing Prashad can crank up is the number of toilets that he cleans each day; apart from that he is a just another dumb k-k-hole like you !

Last edited by Keffer
Keffer posted:
TPrashad posted:

At least I am getting a pension all you can look forward to is a kick in your butt by your Arab master.

The word is not pension, you hard-headed dumbo; it is a hand-out of a few dollars that they throw in your general direction every so often in recognition of the number of toilet bowls that you so lovingly caressed and cleaned after the US government agreed to rescue you from starvation in Guyana ! Hand-outs are provided to reduce the risk of the nation being embarrassed when outsiders see the dire straights that no-good bums,  shitheads and reprobates like you and your buddy Yuji are forced to live in ! 

Hey, Prashad ! I guess you now know why your idol Modi had to cancel his visit, eh ! After finding out about the number of 'down and out' bums like you and Yuji, his people, who are doing menial jobs like cleaning latrines and toilets and living on subsistence level public financial support, he was unable to deal with the embarrassment and therefore decided to call off his visit and rush back to India post haste !

Vish M posted:

Besides the personal attacks, what is the official reason

Can someone solicit a response from the Indian Consulate and the Foreign Affairs Office

you are a very stupid man. NEW DELHI informed the Ministry of Foreign affairs that Modi has pressing matters at home to attend to. Why don't you, Vish M, pick up de phone and call new delhi and tell dem yuh calling from de Republic of Richmond Hill and that you demand an explanation. We pass the explanation point fool.

Modi will visit after 2020 if there are free and fair elections.   The Indians are reading GNI.

Yes, and they see you professing to follow Bramananananananana teachings while yuh lying, defaming women and engaging in discussions on buggery.

Nehru, named after de great Nehru, starting thread on man dick size and you piling in oooohing and aaaaaahing, Demerara guy shitting in he diapers and de thought of Trump dick.

Modi is wan indian superman, not interested in visiting wid alyuh disgraces.