As I have mentioned before, I stumbled upon GNI through sheer happenstance. However, I was happy to find it as it gave me the opportunity to share stories, memories and thoughts about Guyana with other Guyanese. While not a perfect environment it was quite enjoyable and I believe I made quite a few online friends along the way. There were also occasions where we strongly disagreed. I used to be dogmatic in the early days so that didn’t help. Unfortunately over time things got ugly. I got ugly. Very ugly. So ugly that I didn’t recognize myself anymore. It was mostly because if this that I took time off back in 2018. Unfortunately when I returned we were dealing with the NCV so it was right back to the battlefield littered by landmines. Recognizing the need to step away again, I decided that I will completely leave GNI after the elections but after that continued to linger so did I in extending my stay but I maintained that I will definitely leave no later than my anniversary which happens to be on Saturday. That is still my goal.

Most important though, I would like to acknowledge my culpability in the many ugly situations that I have been involved in. To that extent, I would like to apologize to everyone whom I have offended over the past 15 years. I am certain that I understood what I was doing at the time was wrong but I allowed myself to take cover in the argument that I am in a war. The truth is that there was really no war. The only war was the one which was destroying who I really am. That war I definitely need to end. That end will start with be fully apologizing for my countless infractions on GNI.

In closing, I would like to thank Amral for allowing me the freedom to participate on GNI over the past 15 years. Your generosity to all of us is immeasurable. I would also like to thank the many posters who have helped me with varying situations over the years. I would also like to wish Django success in his venture with this forum whenever it begins. Good luck to you. Lastly, good luck to everyone.

@Former Member, I understand your situation. You're not alone. I shall leave GNI which will be renamed GDF.

When results of a transparent and credible recount are officially declared I shall bow out of here with malice towards none. I have always believed that there's more to Life than politics.

Thank you, Kaz, for your contribution here.

Kaz, we all get carried away and become someone else we are usually not especially when in our minds we are standing up for something we believe is right. Like you I would stay away on occasion because of this.

Banna, this place reminds me of as a child I saw adults have a conversation as the day/night got older (especially if liquor was involved) the conversation would turn into arguments, next thing you know, fight bruk out. This is what happens on GNI.

What I also notice is when we meet each other as I have with many here, it seem we get to understand where the other person is coming from and somehow we are able to carry on as old buddies. Yes, there were some instances where this was not so but all in all I found that I got along with everyone I met. The first being General, Amral, Jester to name a few. I also met some from Caribbean Style and  Coco T's group. I also remember when Amral first saw me in the Chinese restaurant he told me he was keeping his eyes out for a Guyanese banna ..hehe.

Should you decide to come back I am sure you will find the same arguments, maybe different people...or just different nics..yugi should be on his twentieth by then. You were/are a cool person especially when we were on Social, that's where most of us got along much better. I never ventured into Political at that time..I found it an awful place.

Good luck to you.

Ksazma ... very thoughtful information you provided to us.

I hope that you continue with your contribution and as things settle down, you will also enjoy being a long-standing member of the forum.

I just looked through some of this person's posts to see what he's talking about...He's the infamous "Blacks are the scourge of the earth" chanter...He called all non-PPP Indos "Crabdag coolies"...He went on vicious rampages against Iguana, Ronan, Leonore, Totaram, Mitwa, Tola, Rochelle, and many others who are no longer here...He told members to lay down and wait for the Angel of death...Now he comes begging for sympathy...The Angel of death should visit him...

Casablanca posted:

He told members to lay down and wait for the Angel of death...Now he comes begging for sympathy...The Angel of death should visit him...

The Angel of Death actually attempted to "visit" Kaz but turned back after the Angel of Life affirmed: "Da bai Kaz only shooting de breeze. Go find yourself another candidate, you devil."

Good Luck Ksaz. Like others, I will dearly miss you. Hope you have a pleasant journey through life. If you come back and I am still here(which I doubt), we will catch up again.

I will always consider you a friend.

gheez.

no wonder guyana is a troubled country. 

sitting behind a keyboard ppl get offended.

really.

opinions is nah supposed to challenge nobody.

it is different points of view.

i know guyanese doan reason anything.

choose dem sides and stay dey forever. iz like the indian fella seying since he ketch sense he know the PPP.

they doan unlearn, relearn, learn and learn.

I been here a along time and I will be here when Django tek over fully. Some nasty ppl been here in the past, some nasty ppl recently been here, some nasty ppl is presently here. It is life, we will survive.  

Kaz...yuh gaffo do like me frenemy family from south wess Florida. He does keep it academic and doan get personal. Me de Labba does invent terms foh taunt and crank dem bais like Mars and Ronan, etc, hey hey hey...

gheez.

no wonder guyana is a troubled country. 

sitting behind a keyboard ppl get offended.

really.

opinions is nah supposed to challenge nobody.

it is different points of view.

i know guyanese doan reason anything.

choose dem sides and stay dey forever. iz like the indian fella seying since he ketch sense he know the PPP.

they doan unlearn, relearn, learn and learn.

I been here a along time and I will be here when Django tek over fully. Some nasty ppl been here in the past, some nasty ppl recently been here, some nasty ppl is presently here. It is life, we will survive.  

Siggy, unlike you not everyone has rhinoceros thick skin and mongoose bold guts. We is ardinary. 😉

Casablanca posted:

I just looked through some of this person's posts to see what he's talking about...He's the infamous "Blacks are the scourge of the earth" chanter...He called all non-PPP Indos "Crabdag coolies"...He went on vicious rampages against Iguana, Ronan, Leonore, Totaram, Mitwa, Tola, Rochelle, and many others who are no longer here...He told members to lay down and wait for the Angel of death...Now he comes begging for sympathy...The Angel of death should visit him...

A few days ago after telling my crying relative that I had to free my phone for a doctor's call  Thirty  minutes later than the appointed time, the doctor's secretary called to cancel the appointment. My crying relative was upset because an older relative was very sick with the virus and she died that night. This delay caused me to go later to the  grocery store, when  it was more  crowded. 

I quickly got all my groceries and after paying, I discovered that I was charged for 12 bags of avocado, instead of two. I was told to stand in line to see the checkout lady, who told me to see customer service in another line, to correct the mistake.

By this time I was boiling for interacting with more people in the store than I planned for quick shopping and social distancing.

Due to my raised voice another lady told me to leave the store and after calming down at home I tried to call the manager. The man who answered the phone will not tell me who he is or his name, so after not connecting with him I wish him well and hang up.

Today I sent a letter of apology to the store for my behaviour. Because I believe the female workers at the store must be scared like hell to be there, due to the virus.  I did not mentioned who was wrong, but I apologize for my actions.

I had one of the most heated personal interactions with Ksazma, but during one of his post regarding him leaving. 'something' told me send him a funny message of apology. He responded in a positive manner and this relieve me from a burden of not getting along with another human being.

I believe what Kas has done with his message above is very commendable. I now see him in a different light as a friend and another human being in my world. Plus I was sincere about inviting his family to visit us in Canada. 

If anyone here is without sin, I will send them freely to Boro Bora, Tahiti  for a two week vacation,  with all the Corona they can drink, without falling in the ocean. But come back to say positive things for building others on GNI, like Ksazma did in his apology.     

August 20, 2020 I will contact you for my tickets. Always wanted to go to Tahiti. Drinks would be magaritas, hope they mix it there.

Sins are washed with the blood of Jesus. I am renewed continually, suh me sinless.

I give my opinions without any worries. Get some nasty responses for them on some occasions.

Basically, igornance of a subject leads to misuse and abuse. This site gat some ppl like dat. Like the fingers of the hand, dey different but works well together. Ppl are different.

Kaz...yuh gaffo do like me frenemy family from south wess Florida. He does keep it academic and doan get personal. Me de Labba does invent terms foh taunt and crank dem bais like Mars and Ronan, etc, hey hey hey...

An yuh doing a great job. Dem one love social cohesion bais can't resist the crank.

Watch Mars show up.

An yuh doing a great job. Dem one love social cohesion bais can't resist the crank.

Watch Mars show up.

Me tired cussin that creep Labba even though the man stalk me like DG use to stalk dem young ting pun this forum.  

As for Kas apology, it doesn't fly so easily with me. The man evidently has deep seated hatred for black people and that will not go away with one sorry on an internet forum. You can't cuss an entire race in a nasty manner and then just say sorry and think that it washes away everything. That's why I don't agree with the religious notion that you can do bad your entire life and then just confess your sins and go to Heaven. 

Gentle Jesus told dah tiefman hangin pon a  cross beside him everyting irie, as long as he say something, I forgot what he spose fo say but anyway, he tell the tiefman he gonna meet him in heaven, right after that a soldier man jouck im with a spear in his side. Gentle Jesus ask the soldier watderass he do, then he died. 

Reeper posted:

More the reason why we should use our real names here.  How many of us would write the things we write without anonymity? 

How would you enforce that? Would you require us to provide proof of our identity when we register? It's not practical and social media generally do not have those requirements.

Reeper posted:

More the reason why we should use our real names here.  How many of us would write the things we write without anonymity? 

How would you enforce that? Would you require us to provide proof of our identity when we register? It's not practical and social media generally do not have those requirements.

You can voluntary use your real names.

You wanna voluntarily start the ball rolling?

Sad to see you go Kaz and I think your apology is genuine.

Now that you will have extra time on you hands please use it to read the Holy Quran. This will enable you to better understand your noble religion.

GNI is not for the faint- hearted.

Reeper posted:

We can get close enough, use facebook login to create an account here.

Reeper posted:

There are posters here who are using pseudonyms on Facebook.

Reeper posted:

You can create fake accounts on Facebook so that is not reliable.

Reeper posted:

There are posters here who are using pseudonyms on Facebook.

No problem, part of admin's due diligence before granting membership is to go to facebook and verify that there is a history of friends(couple of years at least), comments etc. Just like some employers do when interviewing prospective employee. It is very doable if the intent is to verify a person's identity.  No friends, no history, or blocking admin will result in no membership. Case closed. 

Reeper posted:

You can create fake accounts on Facebook so that is not reliable.

See my comment to Mitwah,  first the person must accept admin as a friend, giving access to view facebook profile, comments, friends etc. Admin will then permit membership based on years on facebook, a clear history of pictures, family/friends connections.  This is very doable, even many employers today, especially those with need for thorough vetting, will demand a facebook review before employing persons. 

Reeper posted:

See my comment to Mitwah,  first the person must accept admin as a friend, giving access to view facebook profile, comments, friends etc. Admin will then permit membership based on years on facebook, a clear history of pictures, family/friends connections.  This is very doable, even many employers today, especially those with need for thorough vetting, will demand a facebook review before employing persons. 

My wife goes by a made up name and so do many of my Facebook friends so it's not reliable.

It's not going to happen anyway. Forums the world over do not work like this. People prefer the anonymity. It's not a job we're applying for here or submitting a thesis for a doctorate. Feel free to set the trend if you so desire by changing to your real name but don't expect that everyone else will do it.

Its really not necessary for members to be using their own names. I never enforce it nor encourage it. However an Admin or Moderators will command more respect from fellow members if they were to use their own name when posting. That's my take only. 

Amral