Illinois Institute of Technology Researchers File a Provisional Patent for New Inhalable Drug that Shows Promise as a Frontline Therapy for Individuals Infected by COVID-19

CHICAGO—March 4, 2021—Researchers at Illinois Institute of Technology (Illinois Tech) have filed a provisional patent for CROWNase—a new drug that has the potential to treat COVID-19 infections, including its new international variants, by cutting the spike glycoprotein so that it can no longer infect cells.

The new model coming out of Illinois Tech works by removing the protective coat of the virus, stopping the virus from infecting human cells and exposing the vulnerable part of the virus to the human immune system. Whereas current vaccines seek to boost the body’s preemptive immune response to the virus entering the system, CROWNase aims to serve as an effective treatment for patients who have already been exposed.

“We have found a human enzyme that inactivates COVID-19, and we have found a way to deliver it to patients in a safe and effective way,” says Associate Professor of Biology Oscar Juarez, the overall lead on the project.

Spike glycoprotein gives the SARS-CoV-2 virus its crown-like exterior, enabling the virus to attach to the human angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 (ACE2) and infect human cells. The spike glycoprotein is covered by a coat of human-derived molecules, which help the virus evade the immune system and infect the individual. CROWNase includes a human protein that removes this coat. It also includes the ACE 2 receptor, which helps it bind to viruses.

Researchers at Illinois Tech specifically designed CROWNase to be used in an outpatient setting. The therapy could eventually be developed as an inhalant or nasal spray, but it can be also used as a tablet, injection, suspension, drops or ointment for the eyes, or orally—which has the potential to improve access and delivery.

In addition to Juarez, Illinois Tech Associate Professor of Chemistry David Minh and Research Assistant Professor of Biology Karina Tuz are working to provide advanced molecular modeling, in addition to molecular biology and therapeutics testing. The collaborative effort coming out of the South Side campus hopes to publish preliminary results in a scientific journal shortly while the team concurrently pursues federal grant funding to optimize the stability and activity of the enzyme. If funded, the researchers believe their treatment could enter preclinical trials shortly.

“We would like CROWNase to treat other coronaviruses in future outbreaks,” Minh says. “We would also try to make the drug effective against influenza and other respiratory viruses.”

As new mutations continue to pop up across the globe, Illinois Tech researchers look to play a role in helping to combat these new SARS-CoV variants that experts warn could impact the global health community for years to come.

“Our research opens a novel avenue to use human-derived proteins as therapeutic agents against COVID-19 and infectious diseases, in general,” Tuz said.

stewwwpppsss...such nonsense. We have a Guyanese man who already developed a cure. He wrap he legs around he head and tek a deep whiff of he beetie. Do it 10 times. All cured. Novel indeed. @Django please tell these Illinois tech research that we bai hay mo novel dan dem.

@cain posted:

HHaaaaaa!

doan laff. Ah tryin' to get he fuh do a commercial and show de world dat it suh easy to cure Covid he kyan do it wid he dog restin' pon he chest while he legs behind he head.

But ah kyant get he to de studio. He come out de house and gravity pull he down badam pon de sidewalk. Pure cuss. He run inside pon all fours blaming some Jinn or something.

@Django posted:

The spike glycoprotein is covered by a coat of human-derived molecules, which help the virus evade the immune system and infect the individual.

How the heck the virus get the above ?

ask dem chinee man in Wuhan

stewwwpppsss...such nonsense. We have a Guyanese man who already developed a cure. He wrap he legs around he head and tek a deep whiff of he beetie. Do it 10 times. All cured. Novel indeed. @Django please tell these Illinois tech research that we bai hay mo novel dan dem.

Dat sung like dat chap........but me ent saying anyting.

@Former Member posted:Pro- Suction business

doan laff. Ah tryin' to get he fuh do a commercial and show de world dat it suh easy to cure Covid he -okyan do it wid he dog restin' pon he chest while he legs behind he head.

But ah kyant get he to de studiotwill enhance both your  He come out de house and gravity pull he down badam pon de sidewalk. Pure cuss. He run , huh?inside pon all fours blaming some Jinn  something.

You seem peevish! Has the Covid19.been affecting your Lip-o-Suction business lately? You must be missing the various scents of your customers' rectums, huh? Offer to cure the virus at the same time.as your lips suck! Tell them to assume.the position.that you now ungratefully mock, N! You could apply the other suction as well, easily! It will enhance both.your.lips and profession!

@cain posted:

Hahahaaa you 🐈..you scared he sends over his koala bear or mermaid to attack you?

You, of course cain, are exempt! Unless you're now free.of your.scent of decay and rot!

@cain posted:

Hahahaaa you 🐈..you scared he sends over his koala bear or mermaid to attack you?

Na.....maybe we thinking of different people. The other one might call up he space buddies and I might be transported to another planet.

cain, I must tell you something which.might upset.you in the future! I'm writing a book of all that I've experienced since 2005! You.and your friends will be featured.in a.small part of it with real.names given! Hope you will.live with the shame!

So you're a writer now, eh? Well next time you're constipated, you can say you have writer's block. LMFAO

Could be, bird shit! But writer not gourmandizer of shit, bird shit! Stupid N! Go do your doodoo business!

@GTAngler posted:

Na.....maybe we thinking of different people. The other one might call up he space buddies and I might be transported to another planet.

You talking we bai Ron...he doan get on bad an cuss up everybody including himself like this one here.

@cain posted:

You talking we bai Ron...he doan get on bad an cuss up everybody including himself like this one here.

I think Ron lives in a mental institution and is on meds. Your friend shally shitabatty should be as well. Both are mentally unbalanced, and both hate black man. Ever read Ron's posts? Black man is pure evil, the same shit espoused by yuh fren shally shitabatty.

To his credit Ron doesn't attack anyone, the other arse hole started cussing people from his opening post.

You are a.dirty shit guzzling.lying.N! Perhaps, jangles.or DG.would care.to.produce my initial.posts.and the reasons for my 'attacks' on lying vermin.like.you! .N!

Being an N, you just can't.help  crying race when others.respond to your shit, huh? Have you painted yourself cream as yet, N? It will help.your troubling inferiority complex!

cain is NOT your fing friend! Someone who claims he is putagee to hide the little N he inherited from his mulatto mother could ever be the friend.of a.N with a racist inferiority complex? Gimme a fing break, fool!

But then, you're just shit! N! Looking for love of Ns in all the wrong places! Hahahahahaha...

You are a.dirty shit guzzling.lying.N! Perhaps, jangles.or DG.would care.to.produce my initial.posts.and the reasons for my 'attacks' on lying vermin.like.you! .N!

Here 'tis you lying dog. You joined in December 2020 and begun cussing black people unprovoked since then. nuff nuff racist shit spewing.

Your words - inherent n.igger stupidity.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/p...7#660821345148085907

Thank goodness you're close to expiry date.

yawwwwwnnnnn...boring, sophmoric ranting. time for the RCMP to get the straight jacket ready

I'M ready! Seems THEY.are not, but.are afraid! I don't see why not? After all, only a madman would constantly ask them to kill him knowing that they can easily do that as proved by the murder of my wife, 5 dogs, Judge McDonald, Jack.Layton, Jim.Flaherty, several of my helping friends or a relation, maybe many others! If you.have the power to kill silently and unseen, why not?.You.can threaten people, anonymously, telling them you.can see.everything they do, and unless they do what you tell them to do, well, they will die! The judges are scared judging by their fraudulent dismissal of three of my lawsuits because I may use the sums I claimed to hire a fing mangler of the English language they call a lawyer! Judges, like everyone else, value their lives before the interests of any fing petitioner! Uh, you were saying something? Anything? Then fk off, dirtbag!

Here 'tis you lying dog. You joined in December 2020 and begun cussing black people unprovoked since then. nuff nuff racist shit spewing.

Your words - inherent n.igger stupidity.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/p...7#660821345148085907

Thank goodness you're close to expiry date.

Now jackass N, read cain's accusation and go back to those posts of mine in which he claimed I had attacked others! But I'm mad, am I not?!! After all, he IS related to you by a bit of 'race' isn't he, though.he is ashamed of his inheritance from.his mulatto mother! Gosh, ah.dun fuhget ah.iz.parshully waan two! Mus bee de N in me datz sow damn chupid! Shit! Naow ah gat fuh.clame ruhlayshun tuh chupid yu two! Iz nat fing fare! Dese fing chupid Ns ar ebbryware!

Hahahahahahaha...

Now jackass N, read cain's accusation and go back to those posts of mine in which he claimed I had attacked others! But I'm mad, am I not?!! After all, he IS related to you by a bit of 'race' isn't he, though.he is ashamed of his inheritance from.his mulatto mother! Gosh, ah.dun fuhget ah.iz.parshully waan two! Mus bee de N in me datz sow damn chupid! Shit! Naow ah gat fuh.clame ruhlayshun tuh chupid yu two! Iz nat fing fare! Dese fing chupid Ns ar ebbryware!

Hahahahahahaha...

Rambling sophmoric bilge from a bigot now cornered when exposed with the evidence of the racist shit he's been posting since day one. His pretense at "serious" conversation about Guyana from Stabroek news to KN now going up in smoke as his toxic racism is exposed, eh?

This has nothing to do with Cain you demented ass hole! You could have cussed him without racist remarks. He is not black either.

You perceive yourself as white, having taken your slave master's white name and light skin complexion as well as your slave master and bigot Rajput father's view of black people. It's Ingrained in you.

So fire away about n.igger this and n.igger that, our thick lips, bad smell, shit about aloes and so on while you yuk it up with your fellow Indians here.

Let Ilum take you by the hand and lead you to his forum. Commiserate with him along the way as you two have a lot in common, he believes "black people are the scourge of the earth". Arrive at his forum and let the racists there welcome you and shower you with praise for cussing up black man.

This nonsense from shitabatty shally is what black people have to put up with in Guyana. Wonder why they keep holding on to the PNC?

The stench here is too odious for me. @Rochelle take note.

@cain posted:

I don't mess with Ron. Guy has problems and issues but he's not pretentious like the space cadet.

Ohhh Gawddd! Naow daarz too uv dem Ns! Woe iz mih!.Ah iz sow friken ah tink ah gun shit! Pun dem, korse!

Cease your incoherent rambling you racist ignoramus. Obviously you have trouble understanding written English. I am East Indian. You on the other hand are pretending to be. Ashamed of your own insignificant background or not sure what you are?

@GTAngler posted:

Cease your incoherent rambling you racist ignoramus. Obviously you have trouble understanding written English. I am East Indian. You on the other hand are pretending to be. Ashamed of your own insignificant background or not sure what you are?

You go know your fing place, dalit! I.KNOW all my heritage! You won't.ever! Too fing nondescript and accustomed to eating kaka! Puppy dog!

I know you know half of your ethnic composition. I on the other hand know both my parents. Try Ancestry.com. You'll at least have some idea.

East Indian? Where in the East? So, tell me! I'll be.patient! Fing.dalit.ignoramus!

I could try to explain but it would be a waste of time. You probably don't know what a map is.

@GTAngler posted:

I know you know half of your ethnic composition. I on the other hand know both my parents. Try Ancestry.com. You'll at least have some idea.

How stupid can a dalit.get? I'll reference you! I wouldn't.know both my parents? Is that meant to be.an.insult? You.must really be.an Australian.aboriginal, East of Guyana, expert in.the use of.the boomerang! Why.even your insults come right back to you, stupid!

I think.I just mapped the length.and breath of.your stupidity! Its density or depth, that is, remains to be.plumbed!

How stupid can a dalit.get? I'll reference you! I wouldn't.know both my parents? Is that meant to be.an.insult? You.must really be.an Australian.aboriginal, East of Guyana, expert in.the use of.the boomerang! Why.even your insults come right back to you, stupid!

I think.I just mapped the length.and breath of.your stupidity! Its density or depth, that is, remains to be.plumbed!

Have you any idea what you write? This is the best you can do? Go change your pampers and try again.

East Indian? Where in the East? So, tell me! I'll be.patient! Fing.dalit.ignoramus!

East Indian, was the first identity of children of Native Indian women and the European men. Later, these men and women of mixed blood grouped themselves as Anglo-Indians. It was easy for them to be employed by Railroad company.   

@seignet posted:

East Indian, was the first identity of children of Native Indian women and the European men. Later, these men and women of mixed blood grouped themselves as Anglo-Indians. It was easy for them to be employed by Railroad company.   

East indians in the Guyanese sense are natives of  the Indian subcontinent. You probably meant the East Indies which would be East of the Indian subcontinent where that practice was common.

@GTAngler posted:

East indians in the Guyanese sense are natives of  the Indian subcontinent. You probably meant the East Indies which would be East of the Indian subcontinent where that practice was common.

Yeah? What are you doing in Guyana? Begging like other dalits?

@GTAngler posted:

Have you any idea what you write? This is the best you can do? Go change your pampers and try again.

The.stupid posts again! Must be.a reflex action!