Feb 19 2019

http://guyanachronicle.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Irfaan-Ali.jpg

Presidential Candidate of the People’s Progressive Party, Irfaan Ali

…Irfaan Ali tells Annai residents

PRESIDENTIAL Candidate of the People’s Progressive Party, Irfaan Ali, on Monday declared that if he “is a rubber stamp, the whole PPP family is a rubber stamp too.”
Ali was at the time addressing a meeting at Annai, Region Nine. His meeting fell on the same day government ministers wrapped up a three-day outreach in the Rupununi. Ali spoke about several issues during his meeting, but during the question and answer segment, Councillor of Annai Central, Michael Williams, stood up and bluntly asked Ali to respond to comments that he was a rubber stamp. “Mr Ali are you a rubber stamp?”
Ali responded promptly “I am part of the PPP family, so if I am a rubber stamp the whole PPP family is a rubber stamp too.”

Grassroots supporters of the PPP had expressed outrage over the selection of Ali as the party’s presidential candidate, and even called the ex-government minister, who is facing some 19 fraud charges in court, to step down, contending that his ‘baggage’ will ‘sink’ the party’s chances at General and Regional Elections. Moments after it was confirmed that Ali was elected PPP presidential candidate over former Attorney General Anil Nandlall, supporters expressed profound disappointment as they flooded the Internet to register their concerns. They had blamed Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, for orchestrating the selection of Ali. Ali is on record pledging allegiance to Jagdeo.

On Facebook, Naresh Singh, a known supporter of the PPP, had said that he no longer has faith in Guyanese politics. “Can you imagine Irfaan Ali being PPP presidential candidate??? Like damn!!! Seriously!!!”. Those were the immediate thoughts of Singh as he made a bold call for Ali to step down in an effort to increase PPP’s chances of winning the elections. In response to the Facebook post made by Singh, Jaipaul Persaud said: “Do you see what I see? This is the end of the PPP/C. I am in a state of shock. I never voted in Guyana but I feel sorry for the PPP/C supporters.” Celrose Caravaio, a relative of the former Minister of Local Government under the PPP regime, Norman Whittaker, questioned why Ali was elected over former Culture and Sport Minister, Dr. Frank Anthony and other candidates who have cleaner slates. The Government of Canada also recently told Ali not to travel to that country due to the fraud charges.

ALI ON PRESIDENTIAL GRANT

Meanwhile, in his presentation at the meeting, Ali erroneously told residents that the coalition government had stopped giving out presidential grants. However, a few minutes before his meeting, Adviser to the Minister of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs, Mervyn Williams, handed over a cheque of $1M to Senior Councillor of Annai Central, Zita Enrico, for the rehabilitation of the village’s restaurant. The money is part of the presidential grant to the community. Besides, on Saturday, Minister of Communities, Ronald Bulkan, handed over another cheque to residents of Rupertee village in the North Rupununi for some $800,000. Councillor Suresh Andries received the village’s presidential grant of $800,000 for 2019. The money is part of the $235M Presidential Grant Fund for 2019 and the village is among the very first to receive its allocated sum.

When the proposal was submitted last year, the money from the grant was to be used to improve water storage and distribution in the village. However, the councillor of the village explained that on Friday, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Water Incorporated (GWI), Dr. Richard Van-West Charles and a technical team visited the village. During that visit, the GWI team made a commitment to address the water-storage and distribution issue. It means that the residents can now utilise their presidential grant on another project which will enhance village life.

In this regard, residents will meet shortly and according to Andries, they will have to collectively decide how the $800,000 grant will be utilised, given the unexpected intervention of the GWI. Presidential grants are issued through the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs and are between $500,000 and $2M. The grants are geared towards boosting economic and social development for Indigenous peoples in their villages and communities. More importantly, the grants are awarded on the basis of population size and are also based on requests and proposals submitted by the respective villages.
Several hundred villages and satellite communities benefit from the annual initiative, which saw some $215M distributed in 2017, following from $280M which was distributed in 2016, the year in which Guyana celebrated its 50th independence anniversary. Villages use the funds for various projects, including the upgrading of sport facilities, supporting women-groups’ initiatives, construction and expansion of village benabs and hostels, among others. Almost $1B has been allocated to the Presidential Grant Fund initiative from 2016 to present.

PPP supporters are like the Democrats. Because they are reasonable people, they sometimes cut their own noses. The PNC are like the Republicans. They do whatever they want regardless because they are usually unreasonable. Plus the PNC supporters are usually violent. Being unreasonable and violent are a deadly combination.

Bunch of Socialist , not good for progressive societies. Used to support, changing that slowly.

Violent, animalistic and uncivilized!!!

We know that's your perception for Blackman [ Africans] You don't  have to hide it.

Were you one of the people jumping up, tearing down PPP supporters signs and shouting we gun kill Al Yuh????????????

We know that's your perception for Blackman [ Africans] You don't  have to hide it.

Were you one of the people jumping up, tearing down PPP supporters signs and shouting we gun kill Al Yuh????????????

So that one person action blanketed all ???

Dummy, what blanket, the one you put Granger shit in to take to the Dump??  Why dont you try starting at LIL ABC and work your way up. Cleaning SHIT should not be all you wish for!!!

The post tough for pea brains. One of the reasons avoiding interaction on GNI.

Guyana rass become boring with PPP/PNC episodes every damn day. I don't care who win or lose or who is a rubber stamp. Guyana politics is just damn boring. You guys need a different hubby.   

BTW, Irfaan Ali shouldn't have responded in the manner which he did. He need advise on how to speak in public and answering questions. His answer confirmed that all member are puppets under Jagdeo. He needs to be himself and don't let the PPP dirty laundry get on him. 

Irfaan trying to prove he is his own man, fumbles on the way to prove such.

What he is saying is that all of the members cannot be puppets of BJ.

Irfaan trying to prove he is his own man, fumbles on the way to prove such.

You should be proud of your fellow villager.

You hold your noses to pick a dummy.  Now how often have Democrats voted for a dummy as president?

Its more accurate to describe the PPP supporters like the Trump supporters.  Gullible, used and led by their slave master who runs the entire party as if he owns it.

And to show how much of an idiot he is he poses that question.  Those who think that he is a rubber stamp think the same of those who facilitated Jagdeo selecting him.

Now even die hard PPP supporters like Bibi cry in their sleep.

And then he screams  "black man stupid and lazy and ungrateful" when seeing this PPP racism they refuse to support that anti black party.

The man is mentally challenged so what do you expect.

You hold your noses to pick a dummy.  Now how often have Democrats voted for a dummy as president?

Its more accurate to describe the PPP supporters like the Trump supporters.  Gullible, used and led by their slave master who runs the entire party as if he owns it.

And to show how much of an idiot he is he poses that question.  Those who think that he is a rubber stamp think the same of those who facilitated Jagdeo selecting him.

Now even die hard PPP supporters like Bibi cry in their sleep.

Regardless of what we think about Irfaan the PPP is still the better deal for Guyana.

Ban Flour yesassa, Massa dont give we 14 a day minimun wage, tek the money and guh ah England for your Dental wuk Massa. Massa we gun weed and clean yuh drain at Hope Estate Massa but Massa make sure when yuh whip we asses must whip both side of the ass to keep the pain equal. Gullible I heard