Iconic Indian Arrival Monument completed

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

AFTER some hiccups in construction, the iconic Indian Arrival Monument has been completed and is expected to be officially handed over to Guyana by the Government of India.

The monument at the T junction, Palmyra Village, Corentyne, Region Six, was built through funding from the Government of India. It is a tribute to the Indian indentured servants who arrived on these shores, then British Guiana, in 1838.
The mounted bronze memorial consists of artistic sculpted metal, depicting the lives of Indians in their routine everyday life.

Each of the figures carry something of importance – their jahaji bhandal (ship bundle) loaded with food, spices, herbs, clothing, jewellery, their gods, religious texts, drum, karaahi (cooking pan) taawa (flat circular metal for cooking roti), grass knives (scythe), cutlass and rice plants.

The figures are presented in a straightforward realism with the human factor ever present.
Guyanese sculptors, Philbert Gajadhar and Winslow Craig, designed the statues, which were then sent to India where a world-renowned artist was employed to cast the figures.
Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson, in a facebook comment, hailed the completion of the Arrival Monument a success and praised the ‘skilled workers for an amazing job’.

Public Telecommunication Minister Cathy Hughes was also in awe.
“Well done, David. You get things done. For the naysayers, talk is cheap and criticising is easy,” she said.
Many were high in praise for the work done on the monument and others suggested a maintenance team be assembled to keep it in top shape.

On May 5, 2015, during an Indian Arrival yearly pilgrimage at Plantation Highbury, East Bank Berbice, Indian High Commissioner Venkatachalam Mahalingam, announced the proposed erection of the monument which was greeted by loud applause from those present.

He described the sculpted artistry as a fitting tribute to the ancestors who came to the then British Guiana.

Modi did not want to endorse the PNC after he read about Indo discrimination on GNI. 

Word is that Granger will do the honours and boast about how talks with Jagdeo and GECOM were “fruitful” and there is no crisis in Guyana.

He will also boast about PNC’s biggest achievement in closing down the Indo  dominated sugar industry and how Moses is greater than Jagan. 

Modi did not want to endorse the PNC after he read about Indo discrimination on GNI. 

Word is that Granger will do the honours and boast about how talks with Jagdeo and GECOM were “fruitful” and there is no crisis in Guyana.

He will also boast about PNC’s biggest achievement in closing down the Indo  dominated sugar industry and how Moses is greater than Jagan. 

Are you Granger's speechwriter? 

Modi probably realized that Keffer was planning to show up to heckle him so he backed out

Narendra Modi was supposed to unveil that monument but something happened to cancel the visit. May 5 coming up. Let's wait and see who will have the honour.

Being a Guyanese historian, "do you think those headwear was around in 1838?"

The Nehru cap in particular.

Old photographs shows all the men wearing turbans (phagri).

In 1838 many of the men wore Pagri and the women wore Romal and Horny.  Not sure of correct spelling.  It was considered disrespectful for a married woman to leave her home without wearing either of those two headwear.

Modi probably realized that Keffer was planning to show up to heckle him so he backed out

You mekkin trouble!

In 1838 many of the men wore Pagri and the women wore Romal and Horny.  Not sure of correct spelling.  It was considered disrespectful for a married woman to leave her home without wearing either of those two headwear.

I tried finding the proper spelling, but "horny" not giving me good options!!  Me can't post what popping up!

Exactly. 

His preference is for Imran to do the honours. 

It would be good if both Imran and Modi come to open the monument.  They both can learn from the Muslims and Hindus of Guyana.

Narendra Modi was supposed to unveil that monument but something happened to cancel the visit. May 5 coming up. Let's wait and see who will have the honour.

Phagri/turban was the fashion. Nehru caps came in the early 20th century with the independence movement. The last batches of indentured immigrants might have worn them.

But let's overlook that. The monument, the monument --- our ancestors' "murti" is the whole idea. Remember and revere.

Hi Bibi - It's - 'Rumal' and  'Orhni'.

Correct Randolph. 

I actually saw a few older Guyanese women wearing the Rumal in NY when I visited Richmond Hill last summer. Orhni are generally worn when attending Mandirs or religious function.

Our women fore parents would have generally worn saris and their heads covered. Men would generally worn Dhoti and Kurta. This would apply to mainly Hindus. Chief can chime in on what our Muslim brothers and sisters wore when they arrived. 

Are you Granger's speechwriter? 

Ah notice you always run fuh defend Granger and PNC.  

randolph posted:

Not sure why Bibi would come up with horny!?

Anan posted:

is it 'odhani?'

You know the word "larki" (girl), right? In India they write "ladhki". I gather that the "dh" has an "r" sound. So "odhani" would sound like orhni.

Right. ओढनी {oDhani}

Correct Randolph. 

I actually saw a few older Guyanese women wearing the Rumal in NY when I visited Richmond Hill last summer. Orhni are generally worn when attending Mandirs or religious function.

Our women fore parents would have generally worn saris and their heads covered. Men would generally worn Dhoti and Kurta. This would apply to mainly Hindus. Chief can chime in on what our Muslim brothers and sisters wore when they arrived. 

And our Fore Parents brought with them the great epics of the Ramayan, Bhagvad Geeta, the Vedas and the Koran.

Anan posted:

is it 'odhani?'

You know the word "larki" (girl), right? In India they write "ladhki". I gather that the "dh" has an "r" sound. So "odhani" would sound like orhni.

Right. ओढनी {oDhani}

Sometimes they also say "Dupatta", Chunari, Chunariya… can be easily worn as the Hijab.

And our Fore Parents brought with them the great epics of the Ramayan, Bhagvad Geeta, the Vedas and the Koran.

..and our foreparents brought with them, gyalik poke.

In Bali, the majority is from the Islamic religion, followed by Hindus. Pork seems to be everywhere. In Denpasar, they were serving suckling meat. They called it Babi Guling. There seems to be no restrictions. Sow what?

randolph posted:

That's right. The Rumal was made out of a medium heavy type of plaid material. My mother always wore one when she left the house.

Historical misrepresentation in Indian Arrival Monument

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...an-arrival-monument/

March 11 2019

Dear Editor,

I believe that the picture shown in the Indian Arrival Monument at Palmyra in Berbice does not give a true reflection of the actual event in several aspects including the head-wear of the male immigrant.

The male immigrant is shown wearing a head-dress reminiscent of what India’s first Prime Minister, the late Jawaharlal Nehru, initiated and popularized as the “Nehru cap”; I do not think that cap existed  when the Indian immigrants came to British Guiana from India.

As far as I know the male immigrants wore a piece of cloth which they tied around their heads.

Yours faithfully,

Nowrang Persaud  

Siege you are the man, Nowrang also mentioned about  the "Nehru Cap"

Historical misrepresentation in Indian Arrival Monument

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...an-arrival-monument/

March 11 2019

Dear Editor,

I believe that the picture shown in the Indian Arrival Monument at Palmyra in Berbice does not give a true reflection of the actual event in several aspects including the head-wear of the male immigrant.

The male immigrant is shown wearing a head-dress reminiscent of what India’s first Prime Minister, the late Jawaharlal Nehru, initiated and popularized as the “Nehru cap”; I do not think that cap existed  when the Indian immigrants came to British Guiana from India.

As far as I know the male immigrants wore a piece of cloth which they tied around their heads.

Yours faithfully,

Nowrang Persaud  

Siege you are the man, Nowrang also mentioned about  the "Nehru Cap"

I use to see a lot of Indians(original) who wore "langhoti" too, especially when they went to the trenches to take a bath.

randolph posted:

Thanks for the correction.  I love that elegant look of these women.  I remember my great grandmother and her sisters, one of which is Dr. Balwant Singh’s mom wearing a white Orhni and white skirt and top all the time. 

At least the monument doesn’t look like a Dicktater.

What does a Dicktater look like?

We go from horny to dick, all on the same thread.  People sound obsessed!

Fool the Hindi word for that garment is Odhani.  

@seignet

The Nehru cap is also called Gandhi cap because it was the Mahatma who first wore it in South Africa during his civil resistance struggle between 1907 and 1914. See https://www.quora.com/Why-is-t...hen-he-never-wore-it

Also, google "Gandhi cap" and it will lead you to an informative Wikipedia article.

So why did you write Horny? 

Freudian slip?

Phagri/turban was the fashion. Nehru caps came in the early 20th century with the independence movement. The last batches of indentured immigrants might have worn them.

But let's overlook that. The monument, the monument --- our ancestors' "murti" is the whole idea. Remember and revere.

The Nehru cap was definitely a minor error in the planning of the monument but it does not diminish the importance of  it. 

Guyana’s history of errors is quite evident. Cuffy appears to be pumping something in his hand ! 

Thanks. I guess male posters will comment on the Pig and Dog thing.

From some angle, it looks funny but I didn’t want to post controversial pictures.

We have one poster who will post what you think you see!

Mistake at this monument ?

What is Cuffy pumping ?

...In his hands he holds a pig and a dog, each being throttled, the pig representing ignorance, and the dog covetousness and greed.

https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/1763-monument

Eyepass to pig and dog!

M

Why not?  After all the PPP was closing down the Demerara estates and turning them into gate communities and destroyed the Berbice industry by the squandermania that was the Skeldon fiasco.

What is Cuffy pumping ?

I suggest that you get glasses as his hands are no where near his crutch.

PPP chastised Yugi for this and his other racist posts. That's why he disappeared.      Watch for some others to get it too.  

What is Cuffy pumping ?

PPP chastised Yugi for this and his other racist posts. That's why he disappeared.      Watch for some others to get it too.  

Why should Yuji be blamed when the racism started from the top.  Jagdeo sent his Head Negro stooge to tell us that blacks aren't qualified to lead.

I rather the racist like yuji than the racist like Jagdeo.  Yuji is powerless but Jagdeo can destroy lives, and he did destroy lives.

What is Cuffy pumping ?

Why should Yuji be blamed when the racism started from the top.  Jagdeo sent his Head Negro stooge to tell us that blacks aren't qualified to lead.

I rather the racist like yuji than the racist like Jagdeo.  Yuji is powerless but Jagdeo can destroy lives, and he did destroy lives.

That’s a lie. Jagdeo loves black and Dugla girls!!

What about the racists like Granger who told blacks that they are lazy? 

Guyanese always had a deficient sense of proportionate reality. Back before the PPP modernized Guyana, they used to make an ornamental wicker dining room set. The coffee table was bigger and higher than the sofas. 

Back in the days, folks used to sit on the steps, benches, hammocks or floors and eat. 

Now under the Coalition government, they gat nothing tuh eat. Just messing around bai. 

Watching the Today show right now. There are a bunch of bagpipe players from the NYPD on the show. They all seem to have huge bellies. Is that where they store all the air they need to blow those bagpipes? 

7 Piece Signature Oval Wicker Dining Set, White or Brown - TEAWASH

Product SKU: WS7DS

$2,299.95 was

$1,849.00

https://www.wickerwarehouse.co...oval-dining-set.html

Bhai, check the price for the ornamental wickers.

$2,299.95 was

$1,849.00

No doubt. But Guyana can't mek wan like dat. 

$2,299.95 was

$1,849.00

No doubt. But Guyana can't mek wan like dat. 

Don't be jokey,bhai.

check here  https://www.facebook.com/Samue...ure-504092163126699/

So did many slave masters. Where you think all those red people came from.

Freddie K called Jagdeo an institutional racist because he removed blacks from decision making positions. Jagdeo sued Freddie K for character defamation. 

In the trial Nigel Hughes, who represented Freddie K a number of questions about which blacks headed state owned agencies, commissions, committees or were heads of overseas missions.  The Head Negro couldn't name too many. When asked why this was the case th Head Negro opined that this is because blacks are unqualified.

After the elections the Head Negro screamed that black PPP officials were being abused by the Coalition and yet the PPP only screamed about the Indians who lost their jobs.  The Head Negro finally had to admit that black PPP supporters are poorly regarded by Jagdeo and are only there to be tokens, or to perform unpleasant tasks, usually involving covering up PPP abuse of blacks.

And now he deeply regrets this when blacks didn't show up to vote as this encouraged Jagdeo to pull off his NCV stunt.

In fact when David Hinds attacked him on this Granger stated that he didn't just mean black people. He meant Guyanese as a whole!

Now under the Coalition government, they gat nothing tuh eat. Just messing around bai. 

23% of the population of region 6 abandoned that area between 1991 and 2012.  Those still living there live off the remittances sent by those who left.

The way you put this like only antiman only live in region 6. Peeple nah mek moe pickney since then? How do you know they abandoned the region? What if they migrated? Your paintbrush is painting outside the lines.

So did many slave masters. Where you think all those red people came from.

Freddie K called Jagdeo an institutional racist because he removed blacks from decision making positions. Jagdeo sued Freddie K for character defamation. 

In the trial Nigel Hughes, who represented Freddie K a number of questions about which blacks headed state owned agencies, commissions, committees or were heads of overseas missions.  The Head Negro couldn't name too many. When asked why this was the case th Head Negro opined that this is because blacks are unqualified.

After the elections the Head Negro screamed that black PPP officials were being abused by the Coalition and yet the PPP only screamed about the Indians who lost their jobs.  The Head Negro finally had to admit that black PPP supporters are poorly regarded by Jagdeo and are only there to be tokens, or to perform unpleasant tasks, usually involving covering up PPP abuse of blacks.

Why yuh fretting. Granger said that blacks are lazy and you have no problems with Granger. 

And now he deeply regrets this when blacks didn't show up to vote as this encouraged Jagdeo to pull off his NCV stunt.

In fact when David Hinds attacked him on this Granger stated that he didn't just mean black people. He meant Guyanese as a whole!

How do you know he deeply regrets it? Did he tell you that he deeply regrets it?

People from all over Guyana does abandon it when they can go elsewhere. No Guyana government can stop people from migration. It is part of the fabric of Guyana and has been that way from time immemorial. 

The way you put this like only antiman only live in region 6. Peeple nah mek moe pickney since then? How do you know they abandoned the region? What if they migrated? Your paintbrush is painting outside the lines.

They took their kids with them too.  This is a NET decrease of 23%. How come under Jagdeo if the PPP was so good for its support base?

How do you know he deeply regrets it? Did he tell you that he deeply regrets it?

If he wanted to retire he would have announce elections for next week. He is playing a PR game to allow him to extend his deadline, and making Jagdeo look like a thug with his screams of "chase dem out".

Granger needs time to beg his base for forgiven and is busily buying votes from them.

PNC voters aren't like those of the PPP. When they get insulted they show their anger as they did with the LGE. Anyway Jagdeo helped him regain their support as Jaggy paid off an Indian to dislodge a majority black govt.

People from all over Guyana does abandon it when they can go elsewhere. No Guyana government can stop people from migration. It is part of the fabric of Guyana and has been that way from time immemorial. 

And yet the biggest net decline of any region was in the PPP stronghold.  PPP supporters do a "vote and run".  They vote PPP and then rush to board a LIAT plane so that they can cut grass and cane in Bimshire!