Congress Place, the headquarters of the People’s National Congress Reform.

The People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR)- the major partner in the governing coalition- on Friday admitted that it had failed to aggressively go after information that had been circulating that one of its lawmakers would have voted for the opposition-sponsored no-confidence motion that could see fresh general elections by March next year.

PNCR Central Executive Member, Aubrey Norton indicate that government was careful about violating the human rights of citizens by being too intrusive in persons’ affairs.  He said from the time Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo filed the no-confidence motion in late November, information had been circulated that someone would have been bribed but could not pinpoint who would have been the defector.

“Obviously, there was information. People knew that something was afoot but to say that ‘this was the individual’. Some people argue that there were some signs that we missed. For instance, I don’t know how true it is- he sold his car, he was doing a number of things- from that standpoint I think we could have put things under watch-more scrutiny.

But you know when you want to operate in a democratic society, you have to be very careful how you accuse people or else you might be accused of being a State that isn’t democratic,” he said.

Asked whether government was being to careful, Norton remarked that “sometimes it is good to err on the side of caution”.

Norton now alleges that Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo was at the centre of bribing Persaud to vote ‘yes’. Jagdeo has already rubbished such claims and Persaud has denied being paid. However on a Facebook video post from Canada, he questioned what was wrong if he was paid.

He pointed to Persaud’s recent praise of government in his contribution to the 2019 National Budget debate. “One of the things about betrayal is that it has to be cloaked in deceit and he has mastered that,” Norton, a seasoned Guyanese politician said.

“We did have information that suggested what was happening but you’re operating in a coalition in which the AFC (Alliance For Change) said that their supporters would be with us. They, themselves, were shocked and so I cannot say to you that anyone would have been able to decipher that this is the person who will do it but it happened,” he said.

The PNCR Executive member would not be drawn into comment on whether the PPP won the no-confidence motion, as has since been document by the Parliament Office and dispatched to the Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo and the Minister of State, Joseph Harmon in the form of a positive resolution. However, Norton said legal opinions suggest that the vote could be interpreted by the court that it is 33-32 or that it should be 33 plus 1. “What we have seen out there are a number of legal opinions which can carry it in any direction. We cannot decide which direction it will go; we can say at this stage we are disposed to looking at all options and if checking the mathematical numbers in the Law Court then so be it,” he said.

The coalition only have themselves to blame. All they did was give H. Greene a pay raise, give H.Greene a gold medal, fire H.Greene enemies, gave themselves a pay raise and lay off sugar workers for an uncertain future. Granger is a weak and non existent leader who is led by his nose by Harmon and Felix.

He likely cannot go back to Guyana or get involved with politics or even a position with the PPP.  I don't see why he would do any favors to BJ/PPP for nothing in return.  There is a rumor range of 5 mil to 1 mil.  A million is a bargain!

Nagamootoo didn't think anyone would defect. He told reporters that the PPP will lose the motion. 

I just watching BJ's confidence and thought, this banna did not play this shot without the boundary in sights!  Nagamootoo was always into himself, he don't look left or right...so he got broadsided!

Nagamootoo didn't think anyone would defect. He told reporters that the PPP will lose the motion. 

I just watching BJ's confidence and thought, this banna did not play this shot without the boundary in sights!  Nagamootoo was always into himself, he don't look left or right...so he got broadsided!

There is no substitute for confidence and Jagdeo does have a lot of it.

KSAZMA,

For a guy who is a cane cutter ..you have been fast and furious with your posts of recent

...and as a person who does not seem to be living in Guyana you seem to know a lot about what is going on these......sounds like you bating really hard for the PPP

.... like you got some investments in the oil economy...

Seems like he also have a lot of $$$$$$....'cept today he could be about 1mil short.

Both Burnham and Hoyte passed on Granger being the head of the military.  Instead, they went for Mclean and  Singh.  Now we see why.  The man is too soft-spoken, shy, never says much and is too nice to certain people.  When you have certain PNC vultures around you then they will take advantage of you if you have that type of personality. That is exactly what happened to him.

All of this would be unnecessary if there were direct constituencies and members were voted in by competing in t hose constituencies. This idea of spying or monitoring behavior just to bring conformity speaks to the broken system. If the fellow had the right to vote his conscience and was required to do so by his constituents then no one would have to bribe him or be suspected of bribing him. 

Both Burnham and Hoyte passed on Granger being the head of the military.  Instead, they went for Mclean and  Singh.  Now we see why.  The man is too soft-spoken, shy, never says much and is too nice to certain people.  When you have certain PNC vultures around you then they will take advantage of you if you have that type of personality. That is exactly what happened to him.

Prash,

there are reasons why two individuals was chosen, do some reflection during  the tenure of Burnham and Hoyte you would find out why Granger was by passed.

KSAZMA,

For a guy who is a cane cutter ..you have been fast and furious with your posts of recent

...and as a person who does not seem to be living in Guyana you seem to know a lot about what is going on these......sounds like you bating really hard for the PPP

.... like you got some investments in the oil economy...

Banna, I have to recover all those lost posts from my recent absence from GNI. 

Nat tek worries. Me ah wan canecutta so nah have no money tuh invast. 

Seems like he also have a lot of $$$$$$....'cept today he could be about 1mil short.

My man Cain, with oil ready to flow soon, there will be a handsome return on that investment. You gotta spend money to mek money. 

My man Cain, with oil ready to flow soon, there will be a handsome return on that investment. You gotta spend money to mek money

That can only happen if the electorate gives them the opportunity. Last evening i was catching up on some news from different media in the homeland, from my observation their chances are slim to recover their investment.

One politician loudly declared, this time they will win by more than one seat. Another one encouraged their supporters to get their ID cards, make sure their names are on the voters list and come to vote also have discussions with their families especially the young voters.

My man Cain, with oil ready to flow soon, there will be a handsome return on that investment. You gotta spend money to mek money

That can only happen if the electorate gives them the opportunity. Last evening i was catching up on some news from different media in the homeland, from my observation their chances are slim to recover their investment.

One politician loudly declared, this time they will win by more than one seat. Another one encouraged their supporters to get their ID cards, make sure their names are on the voters list and come to vote also have discussions with their families especially the young voters.

I agree. No one knows who will prevail after the elections are over. But you can't blame them for taking a chance. You will miss 100% of the shots you don't take. 

Why I have a feeling it was not the home country media, you were reading ?

Bhai, your feelings are incorrect, lots of  current happens from the homeland on you tube.The TV stations are high tech.News papers are hustling to get their breaking news on the web.

You hear what Prak, said ?

I know someone who knows him well.  They said he tries not to ruffle feathers however, in so doing, comes across wishy washy and indecisive!  Then the hydra forms!

KSAZMA,

You never met a real cane cutter.   Them fast and furious!

I know someone who knows him well.  They said he tries not to ruffle feathers however, in so doing, comes across wishy washy and indecisive!  Then the hydra forms!

But then he still operate underhand as in the case of appointing old man Patterson. Is Patterson still in the hospital or is he able and fit to move into high gear for the next elections? 

KSAZMA,

With the mighty 22, dem fast, furious and vicious. 

KSAZMA,

With the mighty 22, dem fast, furious and vicious. 

And Vish, that 22 is not a colt. Samajhe?