Originally Posted by antabanta:

A new dawn is on Guyana, the youths voted for change and and here a pack of old men discussing something that failed some 40 years ago. 

Our apologies. Perhaps we should accede to your superior intellect and allow you to dictate what we should or should not discuss.

Chief you do know that national service did help some folks, who without it, might have become bandits.  They got some discipline, and learned some skills.

Not to say that it didn't fail, but there were enough positives in it to make its reconstitution worthwhile.  Given that communism is done the excessive militarism and brainwashing will not be part of it.

Biggest Challenge

The freaking Hot SUN!!!

You joking. I loved the sun boss... the most important thing I miss.

Marching in 90 degree weather was not good for my skin

Oh man that's terrible ... must a been rough on your nails too.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

How did the National Service help Guyana?

Whwn national service is reintroduced we will have learned all the negatives and focus on the positives.  I mentioned the positives as I saw it.

I saw Kimbia, Tumatumari, Konawaruk, and Papaya.  All paid for by tax payers.  Eco adventure tourists pay thousands for that exposure.

Thanks to that the only part of Guyana I didn't see was the Rupununi.

Nothing that you pointed out above helped Guyana. You talked about discipline which Guyanese did not have back then and still don't. You talked about bringing people together which Guyana still don't enjoy. You stated that it gave you an opportunity to see Guyana. How does that help Guyana. Again, how did the National Service help Guyana?

I have met several people I knew from national service and they have become quite successful.  Not sure if that would have been the case otherwise, based on what I knew of them when they joined.  Some came from troubled families.

Any way you are a miserable person so why am I trying to explain this to you.

Took youths off the street. Built character. Provided a para-military source for the military. Built nationalist ideology.

If more Indos did it, maybe some of them wouldn't be so timid

Indos are neither more timid nor braver than anyone else by virtue of being indos. The timidity displayed by Indo Guyanese came from behavioral manipulation - the big bad black man guh kill abie nice nice coolie people. There are many who fall outside the stereotype.

Took youths off the street. Built character. Provided a para-military source for the military. Built nationalist ideology.

Indos are neither more timid nor braver than anyone else by virtue of being indos. The timidity displayed by Indo Guyanese came from behavioral manipulation - the big bad black man guh kill abie nice nice coolie people. There are many who fall outside the stereotype.

got yuh

What GNS did is to take people ought of their natural environment and forced them to develop survival skills. Nothing wrong with that.

In a dorm one could find the son of a PNC minister, the son of a doctor, the son of a big businessman, rubbing shoulders with sons of single mothers who were vendors, sons of fishermen and cane cutters, and sons of people who subsisted growing ground provision, or who were handymen.

I don't see how this isn't a good experience, even if it came with negative aspects.

So Guyana could have been worse than we know it? And I thought that Guyana was bad.

Guyanese today are more violent and less disciplined now than they were in the mid 70s.

. The timidity displayed by Indo Guyanese came from behavioral manipulation - the big bad black man guh kill abie nice nice coolie people. .

I even wonder when this stereotype came about as in the 60s the image of the Indian among many black people was that of a violent hot tempered cutlass wielding person. 

I think that in that era fear was equally shared on both sides.

What GNS did is to take people ought of their natural environment and forced them to develop survival skills. Nothing wrong with that.

In a dorm one could find the son of a PNC minister, the son of a doctor, the son of a big businessman, rubbing shoulders with sons of single mothers who were vendors, sons of fishermen and cane cutters, and sons of people who subsisted growing ground provision, or who were handymen.

I don't see how this isn't a good experience, even if it came with negative aspects.

Again, how did any of this help Guyana? Where during the years 1974 and 2000 did any of the enrollees did contribute to the development and advancement of Guyana?

Myself and two others from my family were going on our

own free will,change our mind when other employment

opportunity came by.

So Guyana could have been worse than we know it? And I thought that Guyana was bad.

Guyanese today are more violent and less disciplined now than they were in the mid 70s.

National Service did not start until 1974. Guyana was bankrupt in 1992. How come the National Service could not save the country from bankruptcy then?

Again, how did any of this help Guyana? Where during the years 1974 and 2000 did any of the enrollees did contribute to the development and advancement of Guyana?

I think that EVERY one who actually did national service told you of how it was a net positive experience, even though it had its negative aspects.

You might as well argue that the educational system should be shut down as it has failed, using your criteria.

People who came from broken  families learned skills, and discipline.  Others gained a broader exposure to the diversity of Guyanese people and places.  Some who were functionally illiterate received some training.

In fact one of my duties as a pioneer was to teach basic literacy.  I then learned the difference between absolute illiteracy and functional illiteracy.  We had to design programs to help the two groups.  We also had to deal with the self esteem issues which adult functional illiterates, in a country which those days had high literacy levels had to deal with. Not bad for a group of 18 year olds.

Yes much of it was a waste, but it was a net positive and a new GNS would learn from the good and the bad of the old.

In fact your rants indicate that you live in your world, cannot empathize with others who don't, and so YOU would have benefitted from this experience.

I have  friends and classmates; I will give their last names not their first...cantabury, Alexander, Simon, Rarguber, Singh, They went, they also got to go to cuba after.  I can only say as an observer they did well because of where they went and what they did. They were all poor and had no option but the cane fields if they stayed at home, NS did help a bit. My friend Jacob Boyah...very bright ( I think the one among us with the most potential)...went into the canefield...you can find him in the local rumshop on afternoons

National Service did not start until 1974. Guyana was bankrupt in 1992. How come the National Service could not save the country from bankruptcy then?

I think that your angry self centeredness indicates that GNS would have helped you.  How did QC and Bishops help Guyana from bankruptcy?

In fact your PPP was fast taking Guyana right back to where Burnham left it.  And all without national service.

What? No coolie women raping in the schedule?

That was done after dinner, and also before lunch outside of the mess hall.  Raping UG students was a priority.

This was a group orgy by the way.

This is the Type of $kunt

talk that will hold Guyana Back

CaribJ

tel us about your experience...

Tell us what you can prove

I am not saying

advantage was not taken on UG Students...

Ray told us about his experience

Jalil, Carib is just being cynical. Take his post as a tongue-in-cheek remark.

I think that EVERY one who actually did national service told you of how it was a net positive experience, even though it had its negative aspects.

You might as well argue that the educational system should be shut down as it has failed, using your criteria.

People who came from broken  families learned skills, and discipline.  Others gained a broader exposure to the diversity of Guyanese people and places.  Some who were functionally illiterate received some training.

In fact one of my duties as a pioneer was to teach basic literacy.  I then learned the difference between absolute illiteracy and functional illiteracy.  We had to design programs to help the two groups.  We also had to deal with the self esteem issues which adult functional illiterates, in a country which those days had high literacy levels had to deal with. Not bad for a group of 18 year olds.

Yes much of it was a waste, but it was a net positive and a new GNS would learn from the good and the bad of the old.

In fact your rants indicate that you live in your world, cannot empathize with others who don't, and so YOU would have benefitted from this experience.

You can believe that as much as you wish. The National Service was no more than another paramilitary wing of Burnham's totalitarian machine in his quest to militarize and indoctrinate everyone to his PNC nonsense. It was imposed on people who sought higher education of which Political Science was obligatory. That Political Science class was an indoctrination for Socialism, Communism and Burnhamism. It was intended to turn everyone into a PNC hack. None of that helped developed Guyana. Rather it placed an economic strain on the country. No net positive there bai.

I have  friends and classmates; I will give their last names not their first...cantabury, Alexander, Simon, Rarguber, Singh, They went, they also got to go to cuba after.  I can only say as an observer they did well because of where they went and what they did. They were all poor and had no option but the cane fields if they stayed at home, NS did help a bit. My friend Jacob Boyah...very bright ( I think the one among us with the most potential)...went into the canefield...you can find him in the local rumshop on afternoons

How did the National Service help them as opposed to they going directly to where they went without wasting that time being militarized in the National Service?

For being in accounting, you do ask asinine  questions. Why are you so vacuous? Is it that you cannot fathom the defeat of the PPP?

In what way is national service supposed to prevent national bankruptcy? It's not an economic institution. The question doesn't make sense.

Last edited by antabanta

In what way is national service supposed to prevent bankruptcy? It's not an economic institution. The question doesn't make sense.

It is not supposed to prevent bankruptcy. However it did play a role in bankrupting the country. And it had no role outside to assembling people to indoctrinate them. It was a total waste of time and resources.

In what way is national service supposed to prevent bankruptcy? It's not an economic institution. The question doesn't make sense.

It is not supposed to prevent bankruptcy. However it did play a role in bankrupting the country. And it had no role outside to assembling people to indoctrinate them. It was a total waste of time and resources.

How do you know this? Were you in GNS? It's military role was similar to any other para-military plus additional roles. If it was a waste of time, so were all the other para military entities.

Last edited by antabanta

A well thought out GNS would be good for Guyana.  Not everything could be "hard-lined" to a specific economic outcome.  However, a well disciplined and trained populace pays dividends in many ways.

Kaz is a miserable man.  He should have done national service.

Nah bai. I never liked Burnham. I even refused to sing at the National Cultural Center when it opened up because I saw it as celebrating Burnham. Didn't care for him then and don't care for him now. Actually I don't really care for any politician in Guyana. I did liked Jagan. It is my right to like and dislike whomever I choose. Not like Mitwah who cannot even acknowledge the fact (not make believe) that PNC supporters rioted Guyana after past elections. 

. And it had no role outside to assembling people to indoctrinate them.

Well it didn't indoctrinate them, and I guess you would rather some of those who learned discipline and acquired skills hung out on the streets with bandits and then became career thieves.  Because that is where some of them were headed.

There are largely two types of people at GNS.  Those who were forced to be (UG students and scholarship awardees) and the others, many of whom thought that it was the best for them with 3 square meals, some access to discipline, and for the smart ones, a chance to learn a skill and boost their literacy.

. I did liked Jagan. It is my right to like and dislike whomever

Jagan=Castro=forcing people to cut cane and be indoctrinated.

So you liked Jagan?  Why? Race! 

Because Jagan would have introduced national service and it would have mandatory for EVERY ONE, as in Cuba, not just university students benefitting from gov't support.

For being in accounting, you do ask asinine  questions. Why are you so vacuous? Is it that you cannot fathom the defeat of the PPP?

You see my question more troubling than your refusal to acknowledge that PNC supporters resorted to riots and violence after past elections?  

Ksaz Irfaan is now weeping because the PNC have now taken all that he worked so hard to steal.

. And it had no role outside to assembling people to indoctrinate them.

Well it didn't indoctrinate them, and I guess you would rather some of those who learned discipline and acquired skills hung out on the streets with bandits and then became career thieves.  Because that is where some of them were headed.

There are largely two types of people at GNS.  Those who were forced to be (UG students and scholarship awardees) and the others, many of whom thought that it was the best for them with 3 square meals, some access to discipline, and for the smart ones, a chance to learn a skill and boost their literacy.

A total waste of resources. Guyana was still dangerous and hooliganism still ruled the day. It was Burnham's little mind game. Nothing more.

All those who daily fear gunmen in today's Guyana will think you chat pure foolishness.

We have MORE crime and more ruthless banditry than ever before and yet no national service!

Teachers are now robbed IN FRONT OF THEIR STUDENTS!

You see my question more troubling than your refusal to acknowledge that PNC supporters resorted to riots and violence after past elections?  

Ass hole, it was your PPP that resorted to agents provocateurs.