Wake up at 5AM and run about 3 - 5 miles.

Eat Breakfast

Clean up the compound

Drills...marching and other stuff similar to military (no guns)

Political Ideology lecture (more like a chance to sit down and relax)

Lunch

A little break...about an hour or so

Work...farming the land...feeding couple thousand chickens...plucking chickens...transporting plucked chickens to businesses

RUn down to the creek to bathe (this was fun)

Hang out at the canteen

Check schedule to see what time during the night you on security detail

Bed---arouund 9pm I think

Do it all again next day

Eat Breakfast

Clean up the compound

Lunch

Work...farming the land...feeding couple thousand chickens...plucking chickens...transporting plucked chickens to businesses

Hang out at the canteen

Do it all again next day

Yeah, Ray. My cousins from berbice who went, told me something pretty much like this.

Eat Breakfast

Clean up the compound

Lunch

Hang out at the canteen

Do it all again next day

That is not national service. That is political indoctrination and regimentation to condition acquiescence. I hope if National Service is re instituted, it is done as a  voluntary service and  and has enough of a lure to enter by it's rich offering of ways to gain real knowledge and serve in areas that the young person can use on a resume as beneficial workplace experience. We need biologists, geologists, historians, agriculturists ( in non traditional areas), engineers, social workers, medical specialists etc.

Once a week, we marched about 10 miles up and down Linden Highway with full gear

Which center was that?

Loo Creek

That had to be bad as that highway in daylight would be terrible.  I thought that Kimbia was bad.

Papaya was like a cruise ship by the way.  Best of every thing.

I was only 16 btw...this was done during summer break from high school,,I don't remember the age requirement...but my father got me to do it (he was second in command at the center)

He was not doing me a favor, which 16 yr old want to do this stuff...but I got to like it...had some really tough days

One night, as punishment, we had to stand security whole night....

Once a week, we marched about 10 miles up and down Linden Highway with full gear

Which center was that?

Loo Creek

This was not National Service. This was YSM CADRE.

yuh know...yuh right....dat was not National Service

Which center was that?

Loo Creek

That had to be bad as that highway in daylight would be terrible.  I thought that Kimbia was bad.

Papaya was like a cruise ship by the way.  Best of every thing.

My cousin told me kanawarouk was not bad either. Don't know , never been.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

What? No coolie women raping in the schedule?

That was done after dinner, and also before lunch outside of the mess hall.  Raping UG students was a priority.

This was a group orgy by the way.

This is the Type of $kunt

talk that will hold Guyana Back

CaribJ

tel us about your experience...

Tell us what you can prove

I am not saying

advantage was not taken on UG Students...

Ray told us about his experience

That was done after dinner, and also before lunch outside of the mess hall.  Raping UG students was a priority.

CaribJ

I am not saying

It's sarcasm... just not the same if you have to explain it.

A new dawn is on Guyana, the youths voted for change and and here a pack of old men discussing something that failed some 40 years ago. 

Our apologies. Perhaps we should accede to your superior intellect and allow you to dictate what we should or should not discuss.

That is not national service. That is political indoctrination and regimentation to condition acquiescence.etc.

That was the negative model.  GNS was definitely patterned after the communist system.

However it turns out that a paramilitary model is also the best way to teach discipline, which some people need, and also to administer thousands of people under those conditions.  The extreme physical activity and the ideological brainwashing could have been left out.  In any case the brainwashing didn't work. 

I feel confident that many of those who attended became fervent WPA supporters.  Forced brainwashing never works.

Having said that, for those with enough insight, it was a wonderful way to get exposure to parts of Guyana which most Guyanese never get to. And to be exposed to the problems of the interior. 

It also forced people from very varied backgrounds to be exposed to each other as equals.  How often does the child of Gtown elite mix with the kids of people from impoverished villages like Hopetown, West Berbice?  Those who will lead a country need to have first hand exposure of the life of the average person and a full range of exposure to the very varied environments which exist.

I consider my national service experience as a net positive, despite the negative aspects.

CaribJ

I am not saying

It's sarcasm... just not the same if you have to explain it.

Don't worry with Jalil.  His mother accidentally dropped him on his head when he was a baby.

I was only 16 btw...this was done during summer break from high school,,I don't remember the age requirement...but my father got me to do it (he was second in command at the center)

He was not doing me a favor, which 16 yr old want to do this stuff...but I got to like it...had some really tough days

One night, as punishment, we had to stand security whole night....

I know the Kimbia area and all along the Berbice river ( Demerara too). On a visit to Guyana in 78, I met a classmate who was doing her   NS requirement. She did not like it. She did not complain about abuse just, hard life and being away from parents.

I took her to Canada when I left. Most people did not know how easy it was to leave. Canada give you 5 weeks visa on landing at Pearson if you had a place to live and people to support you. Her name is Nalini and she stayed with my sister a few months and then got a job with   family and never went back. I know hundreds of people who did the same. My brother in law always had guyanese working for him who came and stayed. He brought out  lots in his immediate family and they were like shrimps...numerous and poor.

Biggest Challenge

The freaking Hot SUN!!!

You joking. I loved the sun boss... the most important thing I miss.

Marching in 90 degree weather was not good for my skin

On that highway with that white sand 90 degrees was a cold day.  You got the sun on your head, and the heat radiated back from the sand!  Kimbia red earth was more forgiving.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

How did the National Service help Guyana?

Whwn national service is reintroduced we will have learned all the negatives and focus on the positives.  I mentioned the positives as I saw it.

I saw Kimbia, Tumatumari, Konawaruk, and Papaya.  All paid for by tax payers.  Eco adventure tourists pay thousands for that exposure.

Thanks to that the only part of Guyana I didn't see was the Rupununi.