Oneidge Walrond

November 20 ,2020

-will continue to serve as MP

Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce Oneidge Walrond today said that she has done “all that is within her power” to renounce her American citizenship prior to being sworn in as a Member of Parliament (MP) and as a result she will continue to sit in the National Assembly.

“…I am confident that I have done everything that was in my power to act morally [and] that the attempt to demerge my character has not gone unnoticed by the public. I am convince that I have full legal right to sit in the National Assembly and that I have done nothing illegal and that I will continue to sit in the Assembly as a legal representative,” Walrond told reporters at the sidelines of an event held at the Marriott Hotel.

According to Walrond, the fact that she received her renunciation certificate two days after being sworn in cannot support that argument that she was illegally sworn in as an MP.

“My position has been and always has been that the act of renunciation is one that is a unilateral act that when a citizen has done the legal standard, is when a citizen has done all that is within her power to renounce, which is what I did on the 18th ……The fact that I received my certificate two days after swearing in, in my opinion, cannot support the argument that I was there illegally,” Walrond added.

The main parliamentary opposition APNU+AFC has argued that Walrond was fully aware that she was still a citizen of the US when she took the oath of office as an MP on September 1st.

Walrond had publicly stated that she had renounced her United States (US) citizenship since August 27th before taking the oath of office as an MP on September 1st and had subsequently received the Certificate of Loss of Nationality.

Her certificate of renunciation, which was made public, however, showed that Walrond voluntarily performed the act of expatriation to relinquish her US citizenship on September 4th—after she was already sworn as an MP and minister. Two days ago, APNU+AFC filed an action in the High Court against Walrond seeking a declaration that she was illegally sworn in as a MP.

I think the reason APNU/AFC is so adamant regarding this issue is because of jealousy. The woman is getting on the good side of the PPP and that is a big no no to them. I don't care for the PPP but that is no reason to be stupid on this issue, they should leave the dam woman alone. Will they take care of her if she is let go?

@cain posted:

I think the reason APNU/AFC is so adamant regarding this issue is because of jealousy. The woman is getting on the good side of the PPP and that is a big no no to them. I don't care for the PPP but that is no reason to be stupid on this issue, they should leave the dam woman alone. Will they take care of her if she is let go?

That goes for Tota, Mitwah, Django, and Tola. Leave the woman alone.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Leave her alone?  Wha me go do wid she?  As a lawyer , if she broke the law she should pay the price, whatever that may be in this case.  Why is she insisting she did nothing wrong when the facts clearly indicate otherwise.  It matters not to me if she is minister or a jackass but don't be wrong and strong. 

@Totaram posted:

Leave her alone?  Wha me go do wid she?  As a lawyer , if she broke the law she should pay the price, whatever that may be in this case.  Why is she insisting she did nothing wrong when the facts clearly indicate otherwise.  It matters not to me if she is minister or a jackass but don't be wrong and strong.

It is now water under the bridge.  You cannot deter her from speaking her mind.   

@Ramakant-P posted:

Connivance !!!! Waldron as Lawyer should have refused to swear in until her Citizenship was settled.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You should shut your mouth.  You are a communist pig.

Look dis coolie jackass how e a talk.  Like you bex because me tell you bout how a man goadee go splat.  Chupidness na gat cure.

Last edited by Totaram
@Totaram posted:

Look dis coolie jackass how e a talk.  Like you bex because me tell you bout how a man goadee go splat.  Chupidness na gat cure.

he he....Rama should change his name to "chupidee na gat cure".

Anyway, de woman cute. People should leave she alone.

All the PPP have to do is have her resign, then Irfaan reappoint her to the position.

@cain posted:

If she was let go we would have seen complaints " they getting rid of blacks" now she's kept on they complain. It's sheer shit.

The complaints are breaking the LAW.  Well they getting rid of lots of blacks .

The PNC is so vindictive,  they complain about the PPP hiring one of their own and for bonus she is black. You just can’t please the opposition,  I guess their job is to Complain. Man, give the women a break.