Jay, we have to be fair to Arthur Chung. He was just a constitutional president 1970-1980. A figurehead, according to Cheddi Jagan. He didn't make policy.

Burnham was not a constitutional but an executive president. Burnham made policy.

When all is said and done, the historical fact remains that Arthur Chung was the first President of the Republic of Guyana. Naming a conference centre for him is a small honour, in my opinion.

Jay, we have to be fair to Arthur Chung. He was just a constitutional president 1970-1980. A figurehead, according to Cheddi Jagan. He didn't make policy.

Burnham was not a constitutional but an executive president. Burnham made policy.

When all is said and done, the historical fact remains that Arthur Chung was the first President of the Republic of Guyana. Naming a conference centre for him is a small honour, in my opinion.

JB, I have to agree with Gilly.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Those who served as PNC functionaries during the rigged years should not receive honors and naming rights (1968-1992).

Can someone generate arguments to say why the dictatorship era people such as Arthur Chung deserve such naming honors?

I think that's wrong.

I can assure you that Arthur Chung did far less damage to Guyana than did Cheddi Jagan, and yet the latter has a whole airport named after him.

Those who served as PNC functionaries during the rigged years should not receive honors and naming rights (1968-1992).

Can someone generate arguments to say why the dictatorship era people such as Arthur Chung deserve such naming honors?

I think that's wrong.

I can assure you that Arthur Chung did far less damage to Guyana than did Cheddi Jagan, and yet the latter has a whole airport named after him.

He actually did far more damage to Indians than the Brits and PNC combined.  You should kneel and thank him, it's due to him Afros were elevate to the top.  C00lies stupid then, stupid now.

But that's a set up to name something after our beloved Burnham.

Appointees of the dictatorship through rigged elections should not be honored. They were enemies of a system that oppressed people. They got their positions through fraud and illegality.

Jay, to save yourself anxiety and shock, start getting used to the idea that Burnham will be idolized in appropriate fashion by the new government.

Not to forget, August 6 this year will mark Burnham's 30th death anniversary. 30th!!! You know what that means?

Some possibilities: a Forbes Burnham Research Centre at Castellani House, his Residence.

Ogle Airport may become Forbes Burnham Regional Airport.

The Appeals Court could be the Burnham Court of Justice.

Demerara Harbour Bridge will be strengthened with Burnham-Demerara Bridge. Etc etc.

Whether right or wrong, can you stop it? Get yourself some peace of mind.

I think that's wrong.

Could this have something with Mrs. Granger being Chinese?

Originally Posted by Observer:

I think that's wrong.

That's a simplistic thought. President Granger is a certified historian with a strong sense of history, as his GUYANA REVIEW journal had shown.

Arthur Chung served as Head of State for 10 full years. His name deserves some marking. Far lesser than he are named in landmarks throughout Georgetown.

I think that's wrong.

This should not be Grangers purview alone. It should be a parliamentary decision. His first act was as authoritarian as the PPP.

Appointees of the dictatorship through rigged elections should not be honored. They were enemies of a system that oppressed people. They got their positions through fraud and illegality.

Well tell your Lord Moses to tell Granger to name it the Cheddi Jagan Convention Center.  So how loud the laughs are.  They might then change the name to the Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham Convention Center just for spite.

I warned you about the various factionalism within both the PNC and the AFC and how they would manifest once the election was over.

Jay, to save yourself anxiety and shock, start getting used to the idea that Burnham will be idolized in appropriate fashion by the new government.

Not to forget, August 6 this year will mark Burnham's 30th death anniversary. 30th!!! You know what that means?

Some possibilities: a Forbes Burnham Research Centre at Castellani House, his Residence.

Ogle Airport may become Forbes Burnham Regional Airport.

The Appeals Court could be the Burnham Court of Justice.

Demerara Harbour Bridge will be strengthened with Burnham-Demerara Bridge. Etc etc.

Whether right or wrong, can you stop it? Get yourself some peace of mind.

Thanks to 22 years when most Afro Guyanese felt that they endured a "slow holocaust", and were treated as if they weren't Guyanese a mythology surrounding Burnham developed.  This because of the belief that he represented an era when black people had power.  Of course this is encouraged by Burnhamite elites who are still very much around.

I said this when Kari and others were screaming that the PNC, and not the PPP, should apologize, the implication being that only Indians mattered.

Well this is the challenge that some folks will have to learn how to deal with.

I think that's wrong.

This should not be Grangers purview alone. It should be a parliamentary decision. His first act was as authoritarian as the PPP.

Arthur Chung is deserving, and the honor is long overdue.

however, i must strongly protest how this was done by Granger

Stormborn is absolutely correct!

I think that's wrong.

Arthur Chung is deserving and the honor is long overdue.

So you are now getting a clue about how Granger operates.  He is an army man.  He gives orders after consultation with his narrow clique, and then he issues orders, and expects them to be followed.

How many PNC people from outside of his clique are now within his power structure?  That should be a clue.

This is exactly why people within the PNC, AFC and the other parties have to begin to signal to Granger that this is a country and not an army.

I think that's wrong.

Arthur Chung is deserving and the honor is long overdue.

So you are now getting a clue about how Granger operates.  He is an army man.  He gives orders after consultation with his narrow clique, and then he issues orders, and expects them to be followed.

How many PNC people from outside of his clique are now within his power structure?  That should be a clue.

This is exactly why people within the PNC, AFC and the other parties have to begin to signal to Granger that this is a country and not an army.

dude, i don't need u to tell me about David Granger

i know a shitload of former GDF officers who served above and under him

this is a fairly small matter . . . all i am saying is that a parliamentary committee ought to have the responsibility

This is the bane of Guyanese people. We criticize everything. Jesus Christ its been 7 days including 2 Saturdays and a Sunday.

So the man issued a name change to some building to honor the first President of the Republic. And to note the presence of our Chinese citizens and their historical mark on Guyana. I see nothing to criticize there.

As for the manner of doing it by decree, this is not odd for a Government that has just come to power and is eager to fill some initial press releases. Nothing revolutionary there.

When we observe a distinct pattern of rule by presidential edict, especially on major issues, then we have a problem on our hands.

Even then Guyana is such a lawless country that there is a case for a brief period of enlightened despotism.

So for now let's give the man some breathing room for a number of reasons. He has the makings of a great man. Sometimes great men can't sit in a talk shop all day without being fatigued especially over small stuff.

Originally Posted by Observer:

I think that's wrong.

When Janet Jagan ordered that Timehri Airport be RENAMED to Cheddi Jagan Airport, did that have anything to do with her sleeping wid a coolie man?

WTF does Sandra Granger's Chineseness have to do with honoring the only Chinese President of a sovereign nation outside of China?

Even if he did it for Sandra Granger alone. Guess what? We have a President who apparently likes his wife and far from abusing her, he does things to show his affections for her. That's a welcome change from you Indian cretins in the PPP.

This is the bane of Guyanese people. We criticize everything. Jesus Christ its been 7 days including 2 Saturdays and a Sunday.

So the man issued a name change to some building to honor the first President of the Republic. And to note the presence of our Chinese citizens and their historical mark on Guyana. I see nothing to criticize there.

As for the manner of doing it by decree, this is not odd for a Government that has just come to power and is eager to fill some initial press releases. Nothing revolutionary there.

When we observe a distinct pattern of rule by presidential edict, especially on major issues, then we have a problem on our hands.

Even then Guyana is such a lawless country that there is a case for a brief period of enlightened despotism.

So for now let's give the man some breathing room for a number of reasons. He has the makings of a great man. Sometimes great men can't sit in a talk shop all day without being fatigued especially over small stuff.

you have zero credibility to comment regarding "breathing room" with your antiman, apocalyptic, fearmongering hysterics of the past week, especially given that David Granger and the new govt haven't even had time to sit down

g'wan daside u mealy-mouthed PPP bum

you have zero credibility to comment regarding "breathing room" with your antiman, apocalyptic, fearmongering hysterics of the past week, especially given that David Granger and the new govt hasn't even had time to sit down

You mean I have to support Granger 100pc or not at all?

What a strange notion you have of democracy for a supposedly educated person.

I can support him while noting his Machiavellian moves vis a vis the AFC and Uncle Mose. Frankly, if he's a nationalist as I suspect he is I'm ok with him neutering the AFC. But I'm still going to point it out here.

dude, i don't need u to tell me about David Granger

i know a shitload of former GDF officers who served above and under him

this is a fairly small matter . . . all i am saying is that a parliamentary committee ought to have the responsibility

This is not the issue.  The issue is about management style.  Granger doesn't work well with people who think differently, and this was evident in the problems at the PNC Congress last year.

If folks don't understand that Granger needs to learn that running a nation is different from running the GDF then they will be expressing more concerns than a boat loads of ministries with mystery objectives.

you have zero credibility to comment regarding "breathing room" with your antiman, apocalyptic, fearmongering hysterics of the past week, especially given that David Granger and the new govt hasn't even had time to sit down

I can support him while noting his Machiavellian moves vis a vis the AFC and Uncle Mose. Frankly, if he's a nationalist as I suspect he is I'm ok with him neutering the AFC. But I'm still going to point it out here.

let me assure that i am not talking about your support (or lack thereof) of David Granger

but you already knew that, rite?

let me assure that i am not talking about your support (or lack thereof) of David Granger

Look chap if you're looking for Nehru, you know where to find him.

I'm probably the lone PPP supporter on this site who is harshest on the PPP, pretty fair on the PNC, and the one who has taken great pains even during the campaign to not criticize David Granger. And not because I want David Singh. I don't. But because I want a Guyanese nationalist in power who can make us great again.

Guyanese are a very small polity. We need to fight, lose honorably, compromise, and still remember we're part of the same team though we're a team of teams.

I'm probably the lone PPP supporter on this site who is harshest on the PPP, pretty fair on the PNC, and the one who has taken great pains even during the campaign to not criticize David Granger. And not because I want David Singh. I don't. But because I want a Guyanese nationalist in power who can make us great again.

Guyanese are a very small polity. We need to fight, lose honorably, compromise, and still remember we're part of the same team though we're a team of teams.

Shaitaan, Nehru ah yuh Daddy??? Wha yuh gat to bring Uncle Nehru in for.  ??????????

your multiple straw men littering this exchange is noted

Redux was hoping for Minista wuk but Winston Felix brighter than he so Granger gave it to Winston.

The real surprise is that I didn't see Minister Jalil or is he the new Consul General, the wuk that I was after

Rumour is Caribj in the sort list for this.

Redux was hoping for Minista wuk but Winston Felix brighter than he so Granger gave it to Winston.

The real surprise is that I didn't see Minister Jalil or is he the new Consul General, the wuk that I was after

Were you not the racist buffoon that you are you would be reading through the lines and noting that I am as liable to be as severe a critic against APNU as I was against the PPP.  They don't want people like me around.

Uncle Arthur was a good man and his tenure as president during a period when the PNC was in government is irrelevant. Chung, and the thend position of president, was above party politics. On his passing it took the PPP some time to figure out what to do as far as giving the former president a state funeral. To then see some of these PPP eggheads trying to suggest that Arthur Chung is not deserving of recognition only reinforces my perception that the PPP is a dangerously racial party. It is not just anti blacks, it is anti everything that is not PPP and Indian. The non-Indian supporters of this party should seriously consider if they wish to continue supporting such a bunch of racists.

Were you not the racist buffoon that you are you would be reading through the lines and noting that I am as liable to be as severe a critic against APNU as I was against the PPP.  They don't want people like me around.

That's because you are always complaining, and the  constant negativity issuing forth from you; it seems that you are always seeking sympathy and emotional validation.  What's the task at hand?