Melanie Fiona Hallim (born July 4, 1983) is a Canadian recording artist from Toronto, Ontario. She was born to Guyanese immigrant parents (mixed with black, Indian, and Portuguese ethnicities) and grew up in the inner city of Toronto.[1] Living in a music filled household, Fiona says she always knew music was her passion. Her father was a guitarist in a band and would allow her to sit on the stage when she was younger as he practiced, and remembers her mother playing music at home; everything from The Ronettes to Whitney Houston.
Amral
Originally posted by Freaky:
Melanie Fiona Hallim (born July 4, 1983) is a Canadian recording artist from Toronto, Ontario. She was born to Guyanese immigrant parents (mixed with black, Indian, and Portuguese ethnicities

wow Melanie is almost D2like, 33% of three ethnicities only thing she's missin is the 33% Buckish Big Grin

Don't know Melanie Fiona but the artist below her that I posted. She ( the Guyanese girl) looks like a clone of my sister, ( only my sister is older and a bit more slant eyed!)

Of the artist I posted; I remember the day she got hit by the car while biking. We were on our way to Kelly drive for our usual ride when we heard of this kid getting slammed by a jeep. It was her because one of the guys that rode with us knew her. I met her a couple times since then and last year when she was really breaking out. I was trying to find out what she was up to but cannot find any tour dates or appearances by her. She seemed to have disappeared.I hope it is not because she is sick. She is a frail girl with lots of residual pain and discomforts from her accident. I am waiting for a note from our my friend to know what is up.
Originally posted by chameli:
Originally posted by D2:
Melanie Fiona Hallim

so D2, this pic is not Melanie Fiona? Confused
I got that pic from her bio here. I was commenting I do not know her. Amral post was the first indication that she was out here. She has a catchy tune above that under normal circumstance would have made her a star. Lets hope it does.
okay De2, so now I am even more confused (u gotto excuse me, u know me slow) WHO had an accident???? dunno
I said, I know the artist below her. the white girl who is a successful artist and a star.

I do not know the Guyanese artiste She is absolutely divine. Her song also has that forget me not hook and I hope her management is able to capitalize on it. I will try to listen to more of her songs in my free time.
okay De2, so now I am even more confused (u gotto excuse me, u know me slow) WHO had an accident???? dunno

Melanie Gardot duh Big Grin Big Grin

Big GrinBig GrinBig Grin u mek me giggle loudly and me still a grin me teeth demBig Grin

u know i totally missed that melanie gardot post and picEek
Well, we do some times have a single focus on our own. Melanie is a unique talent and a star that will be around for ever if she can stay healthy.

I have to listen to more of the Guyanese girl who is like any other of a hundred pop singers. She has talent but of the kind that has lots of competition.
np i couldn't resist Big Grin
That is no dig to me bro. I appreciate the uniqueness of people's gift and as a consummate musician, I can recognize where that exists. The Guyanese is good looking and a talented pop singer. The Philly girl is a jazz singer of a special kind that comes once in a life time.
Originally posted by D2:
D2 check out this link of Melanie's music

there's an acoustic piece u might enjoy

http://www.singersroom.com/vid...iew--Performance/950
She is definitely a star. She has the looks, personality, the technical savvy and most of all the talent. I like her tone. I will have to listen some more to get a real feel for her music.

Freaky, you should know her father.
We all used to hang out at Linco'sBig Grin