The country’s Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan Wednesday afternoon suggested he was stumped in addressing security at the prisons, following the escape of three prisonersfrom Lusignan and another riot at the same facility.

“It is an extraordinarily difficult circumstance.

“I don’t have any other suggestions that could better that for their security – for the citizens’ security – as to what we can do there,” Ramjattan stated at a press conference at the headquarters of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Party he chairs.

“I am scared because all [the prisons] are wooden structures. …wicked people can do something and you have another conflagration,” Ramjattan declared.

“So look, the thing gives me headache every night,” he added, emphasising that he doesn’t know what else to do, unless, he said, if someone comes up with an idea to put the prisoners in a vessel and place them in the ocean.

But then, he quickly added, there wouldn’t be money for that.

He admitted the facilities at the Lusignan Holding Bay are not the best, but said the authorities were trying their best.

Hundreds of prisoners were transferred to the Lusignan Prison after an unrest sparked a fire that destroyed the main prison at Camp Street in Georgetown in July 2017. They were placed in three holding bays in the prison compound at Lusignan.

“It is a half-scald situation. But in my circumstances, I don’t know what better I can do,” he stated.

Ramjattan said that the new facilities at the Mazaruni Prison will accommodate 300 prisons and works at the Camp Street site will hold another 100 prisoners in “beautiful” steel cells.

At Lusignan, Ramjattan said the authorities will “try to do better” in providing an improved quality of water “because they are saying all manner of things about the water.”

He said that prisoners in the holding bay have also been provided with palettes to rest their mattresses, but they have now burnt half of the palettes and mattresses provided.

The Minister said the prisoners also destroyed the walls which separate the holding bays.

He said since international funding is not available to build prisons, the government is forced to improve these facilities using public funds, but he said there are other priorities, such as severance pay for sugar workers and increased salaries for teachers.

Ramjattan said if resources were to go to prisons instead of paying workers, others would start “cussing” and say he is going crazy again.

https://newsroom.gy/2018/10/17...on-citizen-security/

• mceclip0

The country’s Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan Wednesday afternoon suggested he was stumped in addressing security at the prisons, following the escape of three prisonersfrom Lusignan and another riot at the same facility.

“I don’t have any other suggestions that could better that for their security – for the citizens’ security – as to what we can do there,” Ramjattan stated at a press conference at the headquarters of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Party he chairs.

“I am scared because all [the prisons] are wooden structures. …wicked people can do something and you have another conflagration,” Ramjattan declared.

“So look, the thing gives me headache every night,” he added, emphasising that he doesn’t know what else to do, unless, he said, if someone comes up with an idea to put the prisoners in a vessel and place them in the ocean.

He admitted the facilities at the Lusignan Holding Bay are not the best, but said the authorities were trying their best.

Hundreds of prisoners were transferred to the Lusignan Prison after an unrest sparked a fire that destroyed the main prison at Camp Street in Georgetown in July 2017. They were placed in three holding bays in the prison compound at Lusignan.

“It is a half-scald situation. But in my circumstances, I don’t know what better I can do,” he stated.

Ramjattan said that the new facilities at the Mazaruni Prison will accommodate 300 prisons and works at the Camp Street site will hold another 100 prisoners in “beautiful” steel cells.

At Lusignan, Ramjattan said the authorities will “try to do better” in providing an improved quality of water “because they are saying all manner of things about the water.”

He said that prisoners in the holding bay have also been provided with palettes to rest their mattresses, but they have now burnt half of the palettes and mattresses provided.

The Minister said the prisoners also destroyed the walls which separate the holding bays.

He said since international funding is not available to build prisons, the government is forced to improve these facilities using public funds, but he said there are other priorities, such as severance pay for sugar workers and increased salaries for teachers.

Ramjattan said if resources were to go to prisons instead of paying workers, others would start “cussing” and say he is going crazy again.

WOW!

I am totally amazed at this moronic, cockeyed nincompoop, who, by his own public admission here, is essentially telling the entire nation that he has no answers as to how to deal with the problem....mind you...with the crime situation being what it is...and a pre-election promise by the coalition to fix this problem.

...its another reason for the coalition to minimize the AFC bargaining power within the coalition.

No wonder Guyana is like dem other banana republics...Ramjattan should do the right thing...resign, but this level of political decency is not a norm in Guyana...and so we wait for another prison disaster....

WOW!

I am totally amazed at this moronic, cockeyed nincompoop, who, by his own public admission here, is essentially telling the entire nation that he has no answers as to how to deal with the problem....mind you...with the crime situation being what it is...and a pre-election promise by the coalition to fix this problem.

...its another reason for the coalition to minimize the AFC bargaining power within the coalition.

No wonder Guyana is like dem other banana republics...Ramjattan should do the right thing...resign, but this level of political decency is not a norm in Guyana...and so we wait for another prison disaster....

A new one for you Mr. Vishy. Dis barachoda should really get off the rum bottle and be sober for a while. He needs to do the peoples' business for which he received a 50% raise even before he lifted a finger to do anything. If he is unable to comprehend what his job is, he should resign his ministerial position and live at the rum shops at #48 village.

Hey Minister Ramjattan, you don't know what else to do? Tek a tip from stupiddy Gilly: "borrow" money from that US$18M ExxonMobil signing bonus which I understand is in an escrow account earning interest. Use the loan to build fit & proper jail. Mek sure yuh pick decent incorruptible contractor like yuh new police chief. Wish you luck.

What are you asking the man to do? He is an attorney. Like my buddy the esteemed Yuji said, "money talks; bullshit walks".

alena06 posted:

Security is top priority in any country, this Gov’t needs to step down NOW

Not going to happen. Too much money to lose from oil. They are stitching huge money bags(called thilee).

How much does a length of rope cost? Just dispose of the cold and calculated murderers, and work your way down. This is a prime example as to why the AFC is unfit to be in government. 

Mr.T posted:

How much does a length of rope cost? Just dispose of the cold and calculated murderers, and work your way down. This is a prime example as to why the AFC is unfit to be in government. 

No need to buy rope. You can make a rope from a Manicole tree.

Mr.T posted:

Easy there T-bone...Guyana na Saudi Arabia.

WOW!

A new one for you Mr. Vishy. Dis barachoda should really get off the rum bottle and be sober for a while. He needs to do the peoples' business for which he received a 50% raise even before he lifted a finger to do anything. If he is unable to comprehend what his job is, he should resign his ministerial position and live at the rum shops at #48 village.

IF????? This idiot can't even speak intelligently at a PRESS CONFERENCE. He shouldn't be allowed to resign. FIRE his incompetent ass. Wooden buildings? Has he ever heard of concrete????

This dude has had a sheltered life. His father was a headmaster at #48 primary school. He doesn't give a rat's ass about anyone. He is all about himself. In Guyana these days, it is cheaper to build with concrete than with wood. 

This may sound Draconian but I think under the circumstances and until better and more secure facilities are available, concrete ones, the best way to increase security after firing this jackass is to have a detachment of GDF Soldiers assist in patrolling the prison with orders to shoot anyone trying to escape. Model prisoners won't have anything to worry about. Also rotate prison personnel to avoid familiarity and complacency.

Ever thought some of the GDF might have friends and relatives as tenants in the prison population?

Good observation. That's why you're rotating the regular prison personnel and putting the GDF to patrol outside. Run it like a military prison. Watchtowers, barbed wire etc. I am sure Ramjattan can at least come up with some barbed wire.

You need to electrify the wires with low voltage(a good severe jolt w/o maiming or killing them) or use those razor wires. It's not hard for the dudes to get cutting pliers. If they can get drugs, cell phones etc in, there is nothing stopping them from getting anything they want.

The AFC campaigned that they will stop the crime, secure the country. Today they can't manage to keep people in lock up.

In this case, I blame Ramjattan. Look at that Press Conference. He doesn't know what to do???Had he been competent AND this was still happening, then I would have blamed his superiors.

This sounds like a temporary plan that might work in the short term. But the government had plenty of time to fix this problem, even after the Camp Street incident. They have not seriously addressed the issue even in the face of serious crime in the country. It does not take a rocket scientist to figure out that if this government is lackadaisical about law and order, investors and prospectors will be deterred from risking their investments in Guyana.

It sounds like the government is reacting, not being pro-active, when it comes to security. If like Ramjattan says “this thing gives me headaches every night” it should have motivated him many nights ago to explore possible solutions.

The irony of it all is that banana republic is being rum by men with many years of military experience. 

HEHEHE Just another Namakaram Crabdaag enjoying the goodies on the sweat of the POOR.  These people are lower than HAG!!!

He needs to be replaced immediately. What qualification does he have for Minister of Public Security. You need someone with a Law Enforcement or Military background.

HEHEHE Just another Namakaram Crabdaag enjoying the goodies on the sweat of the POOR.  These people are lower than HAG!!!

He needs to be replaced immediately. What qualification does he have for Minister of Public Security. You need someone with a Law Enforcement or Military background.

I know some knuckleheads here might suggest Roger Shaheed Khan for the job.

The man(Ramjattan) is basically saying that he is F**king brain dead. Wonder how he got by in school.

Ramjattan is a square peg in a round hole. He is better suited for Attorney General. 

After that "Press Conference" you suggest Attorney General? He is an idiot. Probably be better at running a rumshop. Then again, he'll drink out the profits.  

Requests to fund prisons rejected by international bodies – Ramjattan

—says “not much can be done”

October 18 2018

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, has said that not much can be done at this point to rectify the situation at the Lusigan Prison and added that though he sought help from various international agencies, he was turned down.

At an Alliance for Change (AFC) Local Government Elections (LGE) press conference yesterday, Ramjattan spoke on the steps being taken to improve the conditions at the Lusignan Prison, which fuelled recent rioting and saw the escape of three prisoners who are still on the run.

“We can’t put them in circumstances outside of Lusignan…Its 558 prisoners we are talking about and that is caused, of course, by the inmates burning down Camp Street. But, as best as possible, in the circumstances, we are trying. We did facilities at the Lusignan holding bays to ensure their security and of course it is not the best. It is, at most, a half-scald situation but in my circumstances, I don’t know what better I can do,” Ramjattan said.

He further explained that he has reached out to many international organisations and has made them aware of the circumstances but said his funding requests for the construction of prisons were rejected.

“We know the difficulties we have… I went internationally too to ask for a loan. [The] IMF (International Monetary Fund) said they don’t give loan for prisons. World Bank said they not giving loans for prisons, IDB (Inter-American Development Bank) said no way they don’t give loans for prisons. So I had to tell them, you are making my police force better to increase the people that we arrest and put in prisons and you are not helping out by giving me a loan for prison,” he added, while highlighting that they had to take money out of the treasury to fund the Mazaruni Prison repairs, despite having other more important priorities to attend to, such as the severance payment for sugar workers and the increasing of teachers’ salaries.

Ramjattan said that the Mazaruni Prison, once completed, will increase inmate capacity, while the Camp Street Prison, with its steel cells, will be able to accommodate another 140 prisons once rehabilitated.

Ramjattan admitted that the situation is very difficult but said the only thing they can do right now is ensure that the conditions, including the food and water supply that the prisoners are receiving on a daily basis, are up to standard.

“I have given instruction to the DoP [Director of Prisons Gladwin Samuels] but he has indicated that they have been getting good food and water. We will try to better the water and of course we gave them the pallet on which to rest the mattresses for sleeping during the night and they have burned about half the amounts of mattresses we’ve given them and the pallets,” Ramjattan related, while adding that the situation is “an extraordinarily difficult” one and that he doesn’t have any other suggestions that could ensure the safety of the prisoners and the citizens at the same time.

“So look, this thing gives me headache every night… Unless somebody come up with an idea that we bring in a boat and we can hire it for, I don’t know how much thousands US dollars per day, and the boat is so made that it can hold these people [prisoners] inside and we can have it out in the ocean. But we don’t get money for those kinds of things and people must understand the predicament,” Ramjattan added.

Bai GT, I am no fan of Ramjattan but frustration is setting in for these chaps who conned and fooled Guyanese. I am sure that he can to a better job than Donkey Williams. 

He can also  save himself further embarrassment by resigning since he can do a lot better as a lawyer which is his designated profession. 

Minister of security is not the correct fit for him. He remains a square peg in a round hole. 

Requests to fund prisons rejected by international bodies – Ramjattan

—says “not much can be done”

October 18 2018

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, has said that not much can be done at this point to rectify the situation at the Lusigan Prison and added that though he sought help from various international agencies, he was turned down.

At an Alliance for Change (AFC) Local Government Elections (LGE) press conference yesterday, Ramjattan spoke on the steps being taken to improve the conditions at the Lusignan Prison, which fuelled recent rioting and saw the escape of three prisoners who are still on the run.

“We can’t put them in circumstances outside of Lusignan…Its 558 prisoners we are talking about and that is caused, of course, by the inmates burning down Camp Street. But, as best as possible, in the circumstances, we are trying. We did facilities at the Lusignan holding bays to ensure their security and of course it is not the best. It is, at most, a half-scald situation but in my circumstances, I don’t know what better I can do,” Ramjattan said.

He further explained that he has reached out to many international organisations and has made them aware of the circumstances but said his funding requests for the construction of prisons were rejected.

“We know the difficulties we have… I went internationally too to ask for a loan. [The] IMF (International Monetary Fund) said they don’t give loan for prisons. World Bank said they not giving loans for prisons, IDB (Inter-American Development Bank) said no way they don’t give loans for prisons. So I had to tell them, you are making my police force better to increase the people that we arrest and put in prisons and you are not helping out by giving me a loan for prison,” he added, while highlighting that they had to take money out of the treasury to fund the Mazaruni Prison repairs, despite having other more important priorities to attend to, such as the severance payment for sugar workers and the increasing of teachers’ salaries.

Ramjattan said that the Mazaruni Prison, once completed, will increase inmate capacity, while the Camp Street Prison, with its steel cells, will be able to accommodate another 140 prisons once rehabilitated.

Ramjattan admitted that the situation is very difficult but said the only thing they can do right now is ensure that the conditions, including the food and water supply that the prisoners are receiving on a daily basis, are up to standard.

“I have given instruction to the DoP [Director of Prisons Gladwin Samuels] but he has indicated that they have been getting good food and water. We will try to better the water and of course we gave them the pallet on which to rest the mattresses for sleeping during the night and they have burned about half the amounts of mattresses we’ve given them and the pallets,” Ramjattan related, while adding that the situation is “an extraordinarily difficult” one and that he doesn’t have any other suggestions that could ensure the safety of the prisoners and the citizens at the same time.

“So look, this thing gives me headache every night… Unless somebody come up with an idea that we bring in a boat and we can hire it for, I don’t know how much thousands US dollars per day, and the boat is so made that it can hold these people [prisoners] inside and we can have it out in the ocean. But we don’t get money for those kinds of things and people must understand the predicament,” Ramjattan added.

Django, in all seriousness what f**king simpleton in a ministerial position "has no idea" what to do, is "scared" because the structures are wooden, is waiting on International Funding and is blaming prisoners for burning walls and mattresses? This chap should be in the pasture minding cattle.

One by one, Guyanese are finally seeing that these AFC boys are useless fakes. Moses is another one, is he still living in Guyana ?

Django, in all seriousness what f**king simpleton in a ministerial position "has no idea" what to do, is "scared" because the structures are wooden, is waiting on International Funding and is blaming prisoners for burning walls and mattresses? This chap should be in the pasture minding cattle.

There is no international funding,the government have find the money.

The prisoners have become brazen since the first jail brake.Serious measures have to be taken,these incidents are getting out of hand.

Why are the prisoner are allowed to have matches and other implements  ? time to restructure the prison service,less talk,more action needed.

Khemraj is a down to earth guy,time for him to get tough.

The prisoners have become brazen since the first jail brake.Serious measures have to be taken,these incidents are getting out of hand.

Why are the prisoner are allowed to have matches and other implements,time to restructure the prison service.

There you go. It doesn't take a frigging Rocket scientist to address those problems but this jackass has "no suggestions". Give me a damn break. Desperate times call for desperate measures. The prison system needs to be reformed. It's too damn lax. These people are drinking and smoking and fraternizing like they are on holiday with their friends.

Why are the prisoner are allowed to have matches and other implements,time to restructure the prison service.

There you go. It doesn't take a frigging Rocket scientist to address those problems but this jackass has "no suggestions". Give me a damn break. Desperate times call for desperate measures. The prison system needs to be reformed. It's too damn lax. These people are drinking and smoking and fraternizing like they are on holiday with their friends.

Agreed.

Khemraj is a down to earth guy,time for him to get tough.

Perhaps, then you should be removed from being a minister.