I believe that the Government is on the right path to developing the oil and gas sector

Apr 15, 2021 Letters, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-oil-and-gas-sector/

Dear Editor,

It is quite unfortunate that as a Guyanese, I had to sit and read the views expressed by International Lawyer, Melinda Janki regarding the prosperity of my beloved country. As someone with a keen interest in the budding oil and gas sector, I paid close attention to the points, which she stressed on in her expression titled “PPP/C, Coalition incapable of leading Guyanese to safe and prosperous future – In face of climate change… – Int’l Lawyer”. Most notably, she based her position on the fact that Guyana’s proposed petroleum production goes against President Joe Biden’s climate change aims and strategies. I found this to be interesting because a simple internet search would indicate that the Leader’s Summit on Climate is focused on underscoring the urgency – and the economic benefits – of stronger climate action. Such aims of the summit reflect Guyana’s steadfast commitment over the years in terms of advancing a low carbon development pathway. The Government of Guyana’s commitment in this regard is nothing unfamiliar and is public knowledge so I do not comprehend how Ms. Janki would posit that Guyana’s proposed petroleum production is in direct opposition of President Biden’s climate change aims and strategies.

In fact, I have done some research on Guyana’s petroleum production and that, coupled with several media reports over the years, indicate that Guyana will be able to strengthen its climate action from the benefits that will be derived from the petroleum production. At the same time, the October 30, 2020 edition of the Guyana Chronicle Newspaper covered His Excellency President Irfaan Ali’s address at a virtual Climate Change Conference with over 130 countries where he stressed on the importance of mitigation and adaption to climate change. The President also expressed commitment towards protecting the natural environment and called on the G-77 to focus on advancing development in the same regard. If the Government of Guyana was not committed towards improving its climate action given its petroleum prospect, why would the President have taken such a strong stance on climate change at the virtual meeting with the G-77? Also, why would the Government outline in its manifesto that it intends to retain its status as a carbon sink economy if it was incapable of doing so? The fact that such is the reality begs me to question the views expressed by Ms. Janki in her epistle.
Additionally, I found it alarming that Ms. Janki wrote that it appears that the production from the Stabroek Block is driven by ExxonMobil’s demands rather than the concern for the wellbeing of the Guyanese people. I know for a fact that such a budding sector would offer a host of advantages for Guyanese. Notably, in terms of climate action, the petroleum sector will also boost Guyana’s mitigation and adaptation efforts significantly. For instance, I know that the cost of transitioning to a net-zero economy will be very high. In order to achieve this without putting pressure on available resources, the petroleum sector will be able to allow such to happen easier. This is because Guyana will be able to make more major investments towards a new clean energy economy. Anyone can understand this so I am not sure why Ms. Janki is of a different view.

Lastly, Ms. Janki concluded her expression by citing Article 36 of the Constitution which states that the well-being of the nation depends on preserving clean air, fertile soils, pure water and the rich diversity of plants, animals and ecosystems. She stated that this article should be the basis for Guyana’s immediate transition to a prosperous blue-green economy powered by 100% renewable energy. However, I do not believe that Article 36 is applicable in this regard given the fact that it does not deal with the development prospect of the petroleum sector and climate action. In fact, natural gas is known to have one of the smallest carbon footprints. As the Government of Guyana is focused on developing the gas-to-shore project, I know that as Guyanese, there will be countless benefits heading our way. Therefore, the expression of Ms. Janki regarding the Government being incapable of leading Guyanese to a safe and prosperous future is misguided. I believe that the PPP/C Government is on the right path to developing the oil and gas sector and at the rate at which the sector is expanding, it is safe to say that prosperity is guaranteed.

Yours truly,
Erin Northe

PPP/C, Coalition incapable of leading Guyanese to safe and prosperous future – Int’l Lawyer

Apr 08, 2021 News, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-future-intl-lawyer/

n face of climate change…

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/04/Janki-275x300.jpg

International Lawyer, Melinda Janki.

Kaieteur News – When one considers the actions taken by the former coalition administration and the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C), to move at almost lightning speed with oil production offshore Guyana in spite of the polluting effect it will have on the environment, international lawyer, Ms. Melinda Janki, is convinced that both political factions are incapable of leading Guyanese to a safe and prosperous future. She noted as much in a recent letter to Kaieteur News.

In her letter to the Editor, Janki sought to inform readers that US President, Joe Biden, is expected to host a Summit on Climate Change come April 22 and 23. She noted that the summit would deal with urgent action to tackle this phenomenon plus the economic benefits of doing so. Prime Minister, Gaston Browne, of Antigua and Barbuda, and Prime Minister, Andrew Holness, of Jamaica, are among the 40 leaders selected to attend. Janki was keen to note that Guyana was not invited, even though it is a key State when it comes to climate change.

Expounding on this front, Janki reminded that Guyana is a world leader in combating climate change. She said that its forests and ocean make it one of the world’s few carbon sinks. In fact, Janki noted that Guyana does more every day to reverse climate change, than almost any other country on the planet. She stressed, however, that while Guyana is currently a climate leader, it has, by its very actions, transformed itself into a ticking carbon bomb.

In this regard, she highlighted that ExxonMobil, which is the Operator of the Stabroek Block, claims to have discovered about nine billion barrels of oil. Unless that oil production is stopped, Janki said it would emit 3.87 billion tons of greenhouse gas. “That’s more than 250 years’ worth of emissions from Delaware, the state that President Biden represented in the Senate for 36 years,” the international lawyer expressed.

Further to this, Janki pointed out that President Biden plans to spend US$2 trillion to address climate change including US$650 billion on a clean energy transition and US$174 billion to switch to electric vehicles. With this in mind, Janki said that Guyana’s proposed petroleum production is in direct opposition to President Biden’s climate change aims and strategy.

Furthermore, she said that this petroleum production for the Stabroek Block appears to be driven by the demands of ExxonMobil, a struggling American oil company, and not by concern for the wellbeing of the Guyanese people.

In addition to the foregoing, Janki said one must not forget that the APNU+AFC and the PPP/C have acknowledged the threat of climate change. Last year, for example, the lawyer recalled that President, Irfaan Ali, had warned that Guyana is ‘particularly vulnerable’ to climate change. She said too that Vice-President, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, even called climate change an ‘existential threat.’

As for the APNU+AFC, she recalled that it had produced a draft Climate Resilience Strategy and Action Plan, which warned in 2015 that Guyana was already experiencing the ‘adverse and potentially catastrophic impacts of climate change.’

Despite the acknowledgement by both political parties, Janki asserted, “The PPP/C and their predecessors, the APNU+AFC Coalition, have shown repeatedly that they are too weak to stand up to ExxonMobil (and partners). The PPP/C and the APNU+AFC Coalition have squandered Guyana’s global political capital as a carbon sink. It is clear that the PPP/C and the APNU+AFC Coalition are incapable of leading the Guyanese people to a safe and prosperous future in the face of the existential threat of climate change.”

The international lawyer categorically stated that Article 36 of the Constitution states that the well-being of the nation depends on preserving clean air, fertile soils, pure water and the rich diversity of plants, animals and ecosystems. The lawyer stressed therefore that Article 36 ought to be the starting point for Guyana’s immediate transition to a prosperous blue-green economy powered by 100 percent renewable energy.

In conclusion, she said, “Guyana’s people can and must align now with the global movement to avert climate catastrophe, even while Guyana’s political elite remain stubbornly on the wrong side of history.”

I agreed with Ms Janki on the gas-to-shore project! However, Ms Danki.goes too far when she wants Guyana out of O & G.entirely! Where is the money for development, for solar, wind, etc. going to come from?

Climate change = we don't want you competing with us with.low cost labor, energy, etc! Know your place! We can't.all be.rich countries, y'know! What are.you, Cheddi Jaganites? You should know what we did to him!

Iz onlee naow de klimit chanjin?

@Mitwah posted:

@Ramakant-P, Jagdeo is moving faster that the speed of lightning.

Janki stated, PPP/C is incapable of leading Guyanese to safe and prosperous future.

Whuh she kno? Sheh onlee ah woemun! Shih rass full uh woe!

@Mitwah posted:

@Ramakant-P, Jagdeo is moving faster that the speed of lightning.

Janki stated, PPP/C is incapable of leading Guyanese to safe and prosperous future.

She said PPP/C, Coalition.

It doesn't matter what Janki wrote.  She cannot influence the PPP. What she wrote is stupid and you are the same.  You hate Indians.

Last edited by Ramakant-P
@Ramakant-P posted:

I agree with Erin Northe.

Janki iz ah Danki!

Dem hollorin bowt klimit chanje naow dem.dun deevelup! We gat cheep labur and wid de ile dem friken kumpetishun! Dem raadur dey develup mo wid dem.ile an we cheep labur! Dem soe smaat, dem owtsmaat demseff! Ms Danki iz no fren uv Guyana! Shih iz ah buhtrayin bichh wukin fuh de Yankee dallah lyk Jean'n Dinah! Iz wheh Sparrow deh, eh? E waarn bowt dese kine uh wimmen!

De klimit awlwayz changin!

@Ramakant-P posted:

In fact, Janki noted that Guyana does more every day to reverse climate change, than almost any other country on the planet.

Do you agree, griper?

Perhaps she is correct there but how about the rest, you only agree with that and not when she mentioned both PPP and the Coalition are both incapable of leading Guyanese people to a safe and prosperous future??

@cain posted:

Perhaps she is correct there but how about the rest, you only agree with that and not when she mentioned both PPP and the Coalition are both incapable of leading Guyanese people to a safe and prosperous future??

What the PPP/C has accomplished this past eight months, I have to ask, "what does she know about Guyana". 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Have you been sleeping for the last eight months or are you still drugged?

Neither! How. could I sleep when there's you.making an ass of yourself over and over again! Too.fascinating to miss!

If you stop being a jackass then you would be able to sleep.

@Ramakant-P posted:

If you stop being a jackass then you would be able to sleep.

As your brain is defective I don't really have to put in any time demolishing you! You will eventually self-destruct! I can ass ure you!

Demolishing? WOW! You? I don't think so.  Had it not been for helplessness, I would kick your backside so hard that your hemorrhoid would come to your mouth.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Demolishing? WOW! You? I don't think so.  Had it not been for helplessness, I would kick your backside so hard that your hemorrhoid would come to your mouth.

As soon as I'm better I'll be looking for you, empty boaster! Don't be absurd, dalit dog!

I changed my mind! Come now! I want to see you eat with a big hole in your belly!

Typical monkey who climbs a high tree and jumps down and then wants to turn back when it reaches the halfway mark. You cannot change rules when the game is halfway. Donald Trump and Granger tried to do that and look at what happened to them.

Janki iz ah Danki!

Dem hollorin bowt klimit chanje naow dem.dun deevelup! We gat cheep labur and wid de ile dem friken kumpetishun! Dem raadur dey develup mo wid dem.ile an we cheep labur! Dem soe smaat, dem owtsmaat demseff! Ms Danki iz no fren uv Guyana! Shih iz ah buhtrayin bichh wukin fuh de Yankee dallah lyk Jean'n Dinah! Iz wheh Sparrow deh, eh? E waarn bowt dese kine uh wimmen!

De klimit awlwayz changin!

Guyanese labour is not cheap bro. So much of labour time is wasted for not being well organized.

Guyanese, on the corporate level is not productive.

Guyanese, on the individual level is extremely productive.

Just examine where Jagdeo lives in Pradoville and all the wealthies, entering the posh enclave, one can see unmanicured bush ridden shrubs, streets unpaved with no drainage. Looks like no urban planning was intended. Just build a fancy building and put up a fancy fence to shut realties out.

There is a building going up at Republic Park, fifteen thousand square feet. A private residence with its own mandir. The man must have tons of money. The gate is real fanciful, reminds of me of my visit Abuja, Nigeria-the more fancy the gate it demonstrates the wealth of the house owner.

Well, the streets in Republic Park is worse than perhaps the streets in Leonara. There is no drainage.

That is Mohammad Irfaan Ali's housing program. If rich people cannot get developed housing schemes, then how will poor favour.

SN had a piece on Ali housing schemes when he Housing Minisiter. Shit, the Re-migrant housing scheme is like a lil jungle.

This all tells me what kind of facilities of gas to shore will look like.

@seignet posted:

Guyanese labour is not cheap bro. So much of labour time is wasted for not being well organized.

Guyanese, on the corporate level is not productive.

Guyanese, on the individual level is extremely productive.

Just examine where Jagdeo lives in Pradoville and all the wealthies, entering the posh enclave, one can see unmanicured bush ridden shrubs, streets unpaved with no drainage. Looks like no urban planning was intended. Just build a fancy building and put up a fancy fence to shut realties out.

There is a building going up at Republic Park, fifteen thousand square feet. A private residence with its own mandir. The man must have tons of money. The gate is real fanciful, reminds of me of my visit Abuja, Nigeria-the more fancy the gate it demonstrates the wealth of the house owner.

Well, the streets in Republic Park is worse than perhaps the streets in Leonara. There is no drainage.

That is Mohammad Irfaan Ali's housing program. If rich people cannot get developed housing schemes, then how will poor favour.

SN had a piece on Ali housing schemes when he Housing Minisiter. Shit, the Re-migrant housing scheme is like a lil jungle.

This all tells me what kind of facilities of gas to shore will look like.

I'd like to go back to see for myself and to see.where.my.sister and.mother are buried but, with.the lawlessness there, it might be just a waste of my life! I have a.responsibility for my handicapped daughter! The living, not the dead!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Typical monkey who climbs a high tree and jumps down and then wants to turn back when it reaches the halfway mark. You cannot change rules when the game is halfway. Donald Trump and Granger tried to do that and look at what happened to them.

Go stifle yourself jack. ass!

I wonder how much kickback will be anticipated and involved in the g-t-s!

Keep wondering! There isn't going to be any. Sorry to disappoint you.

The Police are still investigating all of the APNU/AFC thefts, kickbacks, corruptions, lawlessness, illegal protests, illegal use of government funds, and nepotism.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Keep wondering! There isn't going to be any. Sorry to disappoint you.

The Police are still investigating all of the APNU/AFC thefts, kickbacks, corruptions, lawlessness, illegal protests, illegal use of government funds, and nepotism.

PPP more able at these things?

The PPP is not in question here. They are not being investigated.

When we finished with Granger's and the Coalition, we would turn our attention to Burnham/Hoyte major misdemeanors.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The PPP is not in question here. They are not being investigated.

When we finished with Granger's and the Coalition, we would turn our attention to Burnham/Hoyte major misdemeanors.

Yeah? Then you'd better send the.message now to Channarass to beg Modirass for help! Or you rass.gun hav all de fake bravery kicked outa yuh dalit rass! They won't.bother about kick.down door! Your saft belly mo fun!