This is the first but the strongest indicator of the road this Government intends to go down.

Guyana exchanged some I Indian thieves for some Black thieves with a couple jabs fuh dem AFC Jaganites.

I cannot fathom the argument for such a large pension for ex-Presidents on the back of a poor country.

Guyana it seems has no future. It's more of the same.

Bhai, Why are you surprise. Obviously, you were not listening to Uncle Nehru.  You need a Lesson on " Burnhamite Ideology: Mo Fiah, Violence, Thiefing, DIctatorship and CONTROL "

TK,

The reports on the new bill only restrains the light, water, and telephone benefits to a limited subsidy. 

Not a single word about the USD $180,000 to  $200,000 per annum payout for life.

This is not a reform of the Presidential Pension package. We are witnessing an Animal Farm "revolution" here.

If that's the case it will be a major disappointment for me.

TK,

The reports on the new bill only restrains the light, water, and telephone benefits to a limited subsidy. 

Not a single word about the USD $180,000 to  $200,000 per annum payout for life.

This is not a reform of the Presidential Pension package. We are witnessing an Animal Farm "revolution" here.

you are a tribal PPP soldier dedicated to destroying the coalition government

you have no faith  "to lose" . . . so enough with the fakery

now, show me where the Presidential "pension" is USD180,000 - USD200,000 per annum . . . i say you lie!

The Former Presidents Benefits and Other Facilities Bill 2015 leaves the pension intact at $1.2 million per month. Bharrat Jagdeo will continue getting that amount, and Donald Ramotar will start getting the same $1.2 million per month.

Only the fringe benefits have been reduced and capped.

David Granger will not become a former president until 2020, most likely 2025 if APNU+AFC wins the next election. I am not worried about David Granger's pension today.

My Dear Anscale Fish,

Like a typical Jaganite you cannot read the tea leaves of politics unless they come in Akkabre College capsules.

This is about a new direction in Government. The PNC and the AFC spent countless days and nights decrying the pension as a wanton abuse of power. Now it doesn't seem so bad after all.

The Former Presidents Benefits and Other Facilities Bill 2015 leaves the pension intact at $1.2 million per month. Bharrat Jagdeo will continue getting that amount, and Donald Ramotar will start getting the same $1.2 million per month.

David Granger will not become a former president until 2020, most likely 2025 if APNU+AFC wins the next election. I am not worried about David Granger's pension today.

thank you!

it is the lavish and uncapped benefits that produced the outrage

If he chooses that road, then doan expect Tyrant Forbes Burnham's Constitution to be changed. These fellas are possessed with the aims of destroying Guyana and it citizens. 

This is the first but the strongest indicator of the road this Government intends to go down.

Guyana exchanged some I Indian thieves for some Black thieves with a couple jabs fuh dem AFC Jaganites.

I cannot fathom the argument for such a large pension for ex-Presidents on the back of a poor country.

Technically you cannot withdraw $$$ from a person if it was already committed to in law without their permission.

We can always ask, Sam, Bharat and Donald to reduce the $$$ amount.

Will they agree?

However, you can withdraw fringe benefits like light bills etc.

Morally it should be reduced, but this can end up into a huge case all the way to the CCJ.

This is the best way to conclude this matter.

So this translates to roughly  $72K annually. Where is that $200K US annually coming from? Is that what it amounts to with the perks?

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Gil,

I gathered this pension benefit issue was just a political football for the opposition forces trying to oust the gov't. They were not sincere about it.

Not really. While Jagdeo's pension is $1.2 million his electricity, water, telephone and other facilities were unlimited. All together, they added up to a monstrous amount. Read this:

"Last year, Former Minister of Finance, Dr Ashni Singh, in responding to a question posed by former A Partnership for National Unity parliamentarian Desmond Trotman, said that Jagdeo racked up in excess of $45M on transportation, security and electricity bills within 27 months..
The figures provided by Dr. Singh, represented the money the State spent for Jagdeo’s transportation, security and electricity from the time he demitted office in December 2011 up to February 2014.
Jagdeo’s total electricity bill for the duration amounted to over $9.8M. His average monthly bill was $365,766 at the time.
For transportation, Jagdeo utilized over $15.2M. The State spent over $20.3M for Jagdeo’s security over that 27-month period, an average of $752,649 monthly.
The number of vehicles and guards provided to the former President were not provided.
The monthly health expenses/claims met for Jagdeo and his dependents during the specified period were not provided.
Former Presidents will now be given $25,000 per month for electricity, a further $25,000 for water and another $25,000 for telephone." [Kaieteur News]

My Dear Anscale Fish,

Like a typical Jaganite you cannot read the tea leaves of politics unless they come in Akkabre College capsules.

This is about a new direction in Government. The PNC and the AFC spent countless days and nights decrying the pension as a wanton abuse of power. Now it doesn't seem so bad after all.

REdux is an ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!

My Dear Anscale Fish,

Mr Indiannite, spare de Jagannite insertion for today. Take a look at the former presidents actual fringe benefits that Jagdeo made claims for, and which the last government paid out of taxpayers money. See the figures in my other post to Billy.

thank you!

it is the lavish and uncapped benefits that produced the outrage

Please post the appropriate source to verify this. I thought that it was both the pension and the benefits. Uncapped benefits was highlighted after the dental expense issue when electricity spending was given.

Z

Guyana President’s salary rivals major world leaders

March 22, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

How possible is it for the leader of a developing country to rake in an annual CHARTincome on par with the major world leaders? Well if you are a native of Guyana the answer is very clear although it is not one that can be easily digested. The tenure of President Bharrat Jagdeo started in August 1999 and culminated in December 2011. During that time Jagdeo was able to put measures in place that saw him eventually being able to earn a whopping US$120,000 in salary and allowances annually, in addition to other substantial benefits. Of interest is that Jagdeo, even after demitting office, still benefits from an income earning scheme he ensured was crafted while in office. His successor, Donald Ramotar, will benefit in the same manner as his predecessor. Critics have pointed out that the high salaries are far-removed from the ideals of the Founder Leader of the PPP, Dr, Cheddi Jagan. The state of affairs became even more glaring when in mid-March the Business Insider reported on the earnings of 13 major world leaders. A perusal of that report places the President of Guyana in admirable standing despite the country’s lowly economic status. In fact if President Ramotar, based on his salary, were to be added to the Business Insider list he would sit comfortably as one of the highest paid world leaders. He would sit 12th with Brazil’s Dilma Rousseff. With a salary of US$1.7 million, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of Singapore is the world’s best-paid leader. But this is perhaps understandable since Loong’s Singapore is also the world’s most expensive city for a second year in a row, according to The Economist’s bi-annual Worldwide Cost of Living report. Following Loong on the list of highly paid major world leaders is United States President Barack Obama with an annual salary of US$400,000. And then there are Canada’s Stephen Harper who follows with US$260,000; Germany’s Angela Merkel at US$234,400 while South Africa’s Jacob Zuma earns US$223,500. The list continues with United Kingdom’s David Cameron who takes home an annual income of US$214,800 while Japan’s Shinzo Abe is paid US$202,700. Further down the list is Recep Tayyip Erdogan of Turkey whose annual earning as leader is $197,400. Just below him is France’s Francois Hollande whose earnings per year amounts to $194,300 as Russia’s Vladimir Putin takes home $136,000. According to the Business Insider earlier, President Putin announced that he and almost everyone working for him would take a 10 per cent pay cut because of mounting economic sanctions imposed on his country. “Whether Putin and his staff will actually feel the slash in their salaries is debatable, considering Putin says he is unaware of the amount printed on his paychecks,” reported the Business Insider. It went on to quote the Russian President as saying, “Frankly, I don’t even know my own salary; they just give it to me, and I put it away in my account.” He reportedly made this disclosure to a group of reporters during his annual Q&A session in December. But the Business Insider outlined that Putin’s official salary is chump change compared with that of a Prime Minister of an island nation smaller than New York City – Singapore’s Loong. His earning is 12Â― times as much as Putin. Loong’s salary is large enough to pay for the combined salaries of the leaders of India (Narendra Modi – US$30,300); Brazil (Dilma Rousseff – US$120,000); Italy (Matteo Renzi – US$ 124, 600); Russia, France, Turkey, Japan, United Kingdom, South Africa and Germany. But there is one fact that Guyanese ignore, that the per capita income of those countries makes Guyanese look like labourers in a large country. Guyana’s minimum wage is about US$2 per hour; the United States is US$11 per hour or US$88 per eight-hour day. The minimum wage for Canada is an average of US$10 an hour, while in Germany this translated to US$11 and US$6 per day hour in South Africa. In the United Kingdom the minimum wage earned amounts to US$10, in Japan it is US$8, Turkey – US$3, France – US$12, Russia – US$1, Italy – US$6, Brazil – US$2 while India records the all time lowest of US$0.28.

CountriesLeaders’ Salaries

(US$$$)

GDP per capita

(US$$$)

Minimum Wage per hour (US$$$)
USA$400,000$53,000$11
Canada$260,000$52,000$10
Germany$234,000$46,000$11
South Africa$223,000$66,000$6
United Kingdom$214,000$41,000$10
Japan$202,000$38,000$8
Turkey$197,000$11,000$3
France$194,000$42,000$12
Russia$136,000$14,000$1
Italy$124,000$36,000$6
Guyana$120,000$3,700$2
Brazil$120,000$11,000$2
India$30,000$1,500$0.28
China$22,000$7,000$1.2
Originally Posted by VVP:
If I remember correctly, the Guyana president salary is the 8th highest in the WORLD!!!!!??

You don't remember correctly, sir.

The then opposition had added up Jagdeo's actual pension plus benefits based on his bills submitted to the government. They worked out to an approximate total of $3 million per month, which is equivalent to approx US$14,285 depending on the exchange rate. The then opposition compared that figure with the pension package of other world leaders.

What about the article above?  Says he was 12th highest.

If I remember correctly, the Guyana president salary is the 8th highest in the WORLD!!!!!??

You don't remember correctly, sir.

The then opposition had added up Jagdeo's actual pension plus benefits based on his bills submitted to the government. They worked out to an approximate total of $3 million per month, which is equivalent to approx US$14,285 depending on the exchange rate. The then opposition compared that figure with the pension package of other world leaders.

What about the article above?  Says he was 12th highest.

Yes, that sums it up. Not 8th highest.

Why?? The president pension is tied to the sitting President salary.  The President salary MUST be reduced too.

redux, why did you delete your post?  I repled to it.  You said that the article was on the wrong thread.

We're getting mixed up. I deleted one post, the one you had already answered. But I'm slow typing with only one finger. Don't worry.

His average monthly bill was $365,766 at the time. For transportation, Jagdeo utilized over $15.2M. The State spent over $20.3M for Jagdeo’s security over that 27-month period, an average of $752,649 monthly

How ridiculous. Imagine a canecutter or a public servant who barely makes $50,000 is paying for this luxury.  CAP IT...yes CAP the benefits.

. . . The president pension is tied to the sitting President salary.  The President salary MUST be reduced too.

all these things are related . . . the matter at hand, however, is the presidential pension

please focus and stop running interference for Jagdeo

Originally Posted by Gupta:

His average monthly bill was $365,766 at the time. For transportation, Jagdeo utilized over $15.2M. The State spent over $20.3M for Jagdeo’s security over that 27-month period, an average of $752,649 monthly

How ridiculous. Imagine a canecutter or a public servant who barely makes $50,000 is paying for this luxury.  CAP IT...yes CAP the benefits.

also the monthly pension should be reduced,Guyana

can't afford that amount.

. . . The president pension is tied to the sitting President salary.  The President salary MUST be reduced too.

all these things are related . . . the matter at hand, however, is the presidential pension

Do you know how the pension is determined?  Dememara Guy said to go do some research.

i refuse to waste time following y'all lameass red herrings

tell D_G that rather than pelting wan shit balls in my general direction while hiding behind shrubbery, his time would be better spent reading up on ceramic proppants before posting stupidness about "smelting" . . . see here:  https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/de...4#448144700169115994

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Technically you cannot withdraw $$$ from a person if it was already committed to in law without their permission.

Why is it that GNI always has experts on something where even experts would disagree?

There are two equally valid opinions about the Pension Act. Ex post facto laws are not expressly forbidden by the Constitution (the Guyana one). However, it does create a property right. The issue here would be whether or not Parliament has the right to amend it's own statute governing presidential pensions. Pension rights do not come under some absolute guarantee to private property. And the statute governing presidential pensions and benefits and facilities has some of the most vague language I've ever seen in a Commonwealth statute which I suspect is by design. So a bill to clarify the previous Act's imprecise language would not necessarily fall under the label of "ex post facto."

I do not claim to have an authoritative opinion on the issue as it is a very complex legal/Constitutional issue in which good legal arguments exist for both sides. I am however, in the camp that would cut the baby in half so to speak. The original Act created a right to a pension that parliament is free to adjust upwards or downwards according to its whims and fancies. So Parliament can technically avoid the issue by granting former Presidents $1 per annum if that be the argument the "right to property" crowd wanna advance.

The Bill should be renamed "The Former and Future Presidents Benefits and Other Facilities Bill 2015. By not doing so David Granger is protecting his future pension and can change the amount at any time by bringing in a separate Bill called "Future President's Benefits and Other Facilities Bill.

What about the Opposition's Leaders Pension package. Does it need reform as well. My recollection is that that package is also very rich.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

My personal feeling is that former and future Presidents of Guyana shouls be stripped of any and all benefits. Their Pension is enough for them to cover their expenses. The people who are their employer have to pay for their own benefits. What makes them so damn special?