India group eyes Guyana gold, diamond fields

JULY 10, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…preparing to construct hotel

An India-based company, Sun and Sand Group of Companies headed by Rajesh “Lucky” Satija has made a whopping US$54M investment in Guyana’s hotel industry.

Director of the Sun and Sand Hotel, Bhushan Chandna, presented President Donald Ramotar with a plan of the hotel project.

But even though it plans to start construction of the multimillion dollar five-star hotel this month, it is quite eager to venture into Guyana’s gold and diamond sector.
The sod for the hotel was turned yesterday at Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara to launch the ultimate luxury hotel project. But the event left media operatives with many questions unanswered.
Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Irfaan Ali, was present at the launch as were a number of persons from the local business world.
Ali used the opportunity to criticize the media for promoting negative headlines instead of those which highlight the country’s tourism potential.
He was also critical of some sections of the private sector for belittling his Ministry’s investment in the hospitality sector.
Ali said that the $800M allocation in this area is intended to transform Guyana’s human capital, so that a different approach to international standards can be had. This will improve the country’s ability to provide quality hospitality services.
He told the Director of the Sun and Sand Hotel, Bhushan Chandna, “You have targeted the right market and we want to say to you that your investment in this country is secure. We are going to work with you to ensure the success of your venture.”
President Donald Ramotar who was also present at the event said that the US$54M investment shows the tremendous confidence that the international investors have in our country.
Chandna in his presentation extended heartfelt thanks to President Ramotar and Minister Ali for their support.
“I acknowledge their blessings and I thank all those who worked behind the scenes.”
Former President Bharrat Jagdeo, who was there declined photo opportunities with the group for the media and made it pellucid to media operatives that he was not entertaining any questions.
The Director then proceeded to give a brief background of his company. The India-based company, he said, is under his Chairman. He said that the Company is into housing, real estate, manufacturing metals, mining, hotels and casinos in various parts of the world.
With the support of the Guyana government, Chandna said that his company will ensure that this private project will be a very successful venture for both parties.
As for its contribution to the economic growth of the country, the Hotel Director explained that his company will definitely start in the field of mining as soon as it acquires its licence.
Initially, he said, when asked about BK International being the contractor, “We have not yet decided because all the materials will be from India or China and from various parts of the world…”
The Director was then asked how selection of a contractor could start so late since construction is expected to begin later this month. Chandna said, “My team is also coming from India and it is waiting on us but the local contractor will be Mr. Brian (Tiwarie).”
“The Team is not only coming for construction but we will also take senior staff from Guyana like engineers and architects for the project. We have built three hotels so far in India.”
As it relates to its interests in mining, the Director explained that the Company has already applied for a prospecting licence, but would be unable to answer any other question on it because it is not his “baby.”
“The people responsible for it will be coming soon; one of them is the Chairman. That is a separate business all together. We are going to bring a lot of investment into this country and under the leadership of the Chairman, we are growing by leaps and bounds,” Chandna said.
Both Minister Ali and President Ramotar were given the plans of the hotel yesterday.
The cost of the land, while unknown, is part of the contract agreement. “That is a part of the US$54 deal.”
Chandna said that he is working in more than 19 countries but that he comes to Guyana every month for 15 days.

These Indians can do what they want, provided that they aren't supported by taxpayers, as are the Chinese owners of the Marriott.

But Idiot Ally is just living up to his name by babbling about tourist potential, when ALL of Guyana's tourist assets are in the INTERIOR where the PPP is doing NOTHING to develop.  As it is G/town hotels are half empty most of the time.  They can build a 7 star hotel at Liliendaal, and that will not attract tourists, because they go to a DESTINATION, not a hotel!

Minister Ali look like a dulaha deh, and uncle Donald is the dulaha daddy. 

Ali is one star bai.

He also dances like Sharukh Khan, remember the New Years party pictures ?

Can someone repost please.

Minister Ali look like a dulaha deh, and uncle Donald is the dulaha daddy. 

Ali is one star bai.

He also dances like Sharukh Khan, remember the New Years party pictures ?

Can someone repost please.

Do you know why he never invited Priya Devi to swim in his pool?