#1 Not RinsΒ­ing Your Rice

RinsΒ­ing your rice unΒ­til the waΒ­ter runs clear reΒ­moves most of the outΒ­er starchΒ­es from the rice. StarchΒ­es are what preΒ­vent you from deΒ­velΒ­opΒ­ing light and fluffy rice. They’re the culΒ­prits that cause gumΒ­my, sogΒ­gy and slimy rice. We recΒ­omΒ­mend usΒ­ing a strainΒ­er to wash your rice unΒ­til the waΒ­ter runs clear. You will end up with more deΒ­fined and disΒ­tinct rice grains. Try not to agΒ­graΒ­vate the rice afΒ­ter, as that just deΒ­velΒ­ops more starch.

#2 ConΒ­stantΒ­ly StirΒ­ring It While CookΒ­ing

SpeakΒ­ing of deΒ­velΒ­opΒ­ing more starch, stirΒ­ring the rice as it cooks (deΒ­spite how temptΒ­ing it may be) is an abΒ­solute β€˜no-no’. AgΒ­graΒ­vatΒ­ing rice in any way, eiΒ­ther beΒ­fore or durΒ­ing cookΒ­ing, leachΒ­es even more starchΒ­es inΒ­to its cookΒ­ing liqΒ­uid and makes it gumΒ­my and thickβ€”baΒ­siΒ­calΒ­ly, everyΒ­thing you do not want your rice to be. You will know you’ve agΒ­graΒ­vatΒ­ed the starchΒ­es as the liqΒ­uid the rice is subΒ­merged in usuΒ­alΒ­ly beΒ­comes cloudy.

#3 CookΒ­ing It At A High TemΒ­perΒ­aΒ­ture

CookΒ­ing rice at a high temΒ­perΒ­aΒ­ture causΒ­es the rice grains to burst open. This causΒ­es the rice to reΒ­lease starch (#1 and #2 go inΒ­to deΒ­tail about why this is a probΒ­lem). AlΒ­so, the texΒ­ture of the rice is comΒ­pleteΒ­ly ruΒ­ined beΒ­cause it ends up turnΒ­ing inΒ­to a mushy potaΒ­to-like subΒ­stance. This is why it’s a good idea to use a rice cookΒ­er beΒ­cause that mainΒ­tains a conΒ­sisΒ­tent heat that isn’t hot enough to oblitΒ­erΒ­ate the rice. Even if cookΒ­ing on a stoveΒ­top, try to mainΒ­tain a conΒ­sisΒ­tent simΒ­mer inΒ­stead of a rolling boil for a perΒ­fect reΒ­sult.

#4 TreatΒ­ing Every Type Of Rice The Same

Brown, jasΒ­mine, basΒ­mati and white rice all have to be treatΒ­ed difΒ­ferΒ­entΒ­ly. Most perΒ­sons boil them in the same amount of waΒ­ter for the same length of time and hope for the best. HowΒ­evΒ­er, fraΒ­grant rice variΒ­aΒ­tions like jasΒ­mine should not be cooked with salt or oil as this would hinΒ­der its flavour. HardΒ­er grains like basΒ­mati rice should be soaked priΒ­or to cookΒ­ing in orΒ­der to help them exΒ­pand to their full length and size. Brown or wild rice usuΒ­alΒ­ly takes a lot longer to cook with a rice to waΒ­ter raΒ­tio of about 1:2.5.

ReΒ­gardΒ­less of which type of rice you are usΒ­ing, it’s a good idea to Google the type of rice in orΒ­der to cook it the right way.

#5 β€˜CheckΒ­ing’ On Your Rice

It may be temptΒ­ing but do not lift the lid of your rice pot or cookΒ­er. There’s a reaΒ­son you get a rice faΒ­cial if you lift the lidβ€”a lot of steam and heat is reΒ­leased if you even slightΒ­ly lift your pot covΒ­er. This does not onΒ­ly creΒ­ate an inΒ­conΒ­sisΒ­tent cookΒ­ing enΒ­viΒ­ronΒ­ment and messΒ­es up your rice to waΒ­ter raΒ­tio (reΒ­memΒ­ber, steam is waΒ­ter) but it alΒ­so deΒ­stroys any chances of you endΒ­ing up with perΒ­fectΒ­ly cooked rice. The rice knows what it’s doΒ­ing so, leave it alone.

#6 Not LetΒ­ting It Sit

Even if you’re droolΒ­ing with hunger, you have to wait at least 10 minΒ­utes afΒ­ter the rice has finΒ­ished cookΒ­ing beΒ­fore eatΒ­ing. This is beΒ­cause imΒ­meΒ­diΒ­ateΒ­ly afΒ­ter the rice has finΒ­ished cookΒ­ing, most of the moisΒ­ture is toΒ­wards the botΒ­tom, and the rice at the top is dry. WaitΒ­ing 10 minΒ­utes gives the moisΒ­ture enough time to evenΒ­ly disΒ­tribΒ­ute around the rice so that you have one conΒ­sisΒ­tent dish.

Since when you became a chef?

I does watch plenty cooking shows...when I have time later in life, I want to make meals that are healthy and filling

I don’t know about all that.  I still strain my rice after boiling.  

Me too. I strain mine and rinse it good and proppa. This makes it nice and loose. Now that I have been eating brown rice, I find that I am not fond of parboiled (white) rice anymore although I will still eat it.

I have been eating Basmati rice. A 20-pound bag lasts me about 8 weeks.

Me too. I strain mine and rinse it good and proppa. This makes it nice and loose. Now that I have been eating brown rice, I find that I am not fond of parboiled (white) rice anymore although I will still eat it.

I thought parboiled rice is Brown rice, then you have white rice and then whole grain rice. I eat parboiled rice which is more of a yellow/brown in colour.

Do you buy any of these brands ?

The premium grain stacked up in American supermarkets under brand names like Calmati, which comes from California, and Texmati and Kasmati, which are marketed by Ricetec.

https://www.nytimes.com/2001/0...-mostly-settled.html

The premium grain stacked up in American supermarkets under brand names like Calmati, which comes from California, and Texmati and Kasmati, which are marketed by Ricetec.

I buy the one that is imported from India and grown at the foothills of the Himalayas(they say).

I thought parboiled rice is Brown rice, then you have white rice and then whole grain rice. I eat parboiled rice which is more of a yellow/brown in colour.

Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.

We get ours from the Indian store but I never bothered about the details. I think we use this one. 

• mceclip0

Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.

Kaz, they have parboiled Basmati rice, i tried a bag (Indian brand) not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.

Kaz, they have parboiled rice Basmati rice, i tried a bag not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.

I bought a bag of parboiled brown rice recently but my wife thinks it is probably not good for my health.  I thought it would have been a good idea since it is 'clean' compared to how brown rice looks similar to how parboiled white rice looks cleaner than regular white rice. Nonetheless, I have grown accustomed to the brown rice and doesn't like white rice anymore. Similarly, I don't like white bread as much as I like whole wheat bread although I don't care for all the nuts on the bread. Keep in mind I don't cook so all my input is in critique. 

Kaz, they have parboiled rice Basmati rice, i tried a bag not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.

I bought a bag of parboiled brown rice recently but my wife thinks it is probably not good for my health.  I thought it would have been a good idea since it is 'clean' compared to how brown rice looks similar to how parboiled white rice looks cleaner than regular white rice. Nonetheless, I have grown accustomed to the brown rice and doesn't like white rice anymore. Similarly, I don't like white bread as much as I like whole wheat bread although I don't care for all the nuts on the bread. Keep in mind I don't cook so all my input is in critique. 

How rice is processed and health benefits.

https://healthyeating.sfgate.c...oiled-rice-7618.html

How rice is processed and health benefits.

https://healthyeating.sfgate.c...oiled-rice-7618.html

So all those years when Burnham deprived us of that nice looking white rice, he was really doing us a favor.