Britain as a whole has erased Guyana from its past. Guyanese helped to build Britain now they have to get visas to visit.

Actually Guyana played a minor role in all of this. Credit Jamaica, Barbados and the Leeward Islands which began sugar earlier.  Its that surplus that built Britain into a global power and financed his 19th century expansion of its interests in Africa and India.

By the time Guyana came on stream Britain's Caribbean colonies were of minimal importance.  This being why slavery ended.  It was no longer useful for them.

It's ok. Base is busy and probably doesn't want to return here.

It is important for the Base to return. We need all hands on deck to pressure the despotic PNC to do the right thing.

Maybe Granger gave him a nice job, and he found a good and pretty woman, then said to hell with GNI.     

So yuh sehin all abee who deh heah don't have nice jobs and pretty ohman? 

Not saying that at all. Base and his brothers married some real beauties. One brother is a Doctor in Atlanta, very distinguished guy. His sisters were in Diwali contests and one was crowned. We stopped at their house on our way to Timehri in the early 70s. 

My apologies then. I thought you were say that those were the circumstances why he said to hell with GNI. 

I have no doubt that the Base is drawn to beautiful women. He and I seem to have that in common. 

But it is very important that he returns as we need all hands on deck to address the despotic PNC shenanigans. 

By the way, speaking about doctors, me kid's gifted advisor told him that he is Ivy League material. To that effect, he thinks that he would like to be a Neurologist. It would be good if he does become a Neurologist as I can have someone figure what the heck is wrong with me.  

Britain as a whole has erased Guyana from its past. Guyanese helped to build Britain now they have to get visas to visit.

Actually Guyana played a minor role in all of this. Credit Jamaica, Barbados and the Leeward Islands which began sugar earlier.  Its that surplus that built Britain into a global power and financed his 19th century expansion of its interests in Africa and India.

By the time Guyana came on stream Britain's Caribbean colonies were of minimal importance.  This being why slavery ended.  It was no longer useful for them.

Slavery ended because produce from India flooded the British Market place. Way before the Indentured of 1838, Thomas Clarkson, the abolistionist called upon the Anglo Indians at the conference of Manchester to petition the Raj for the export of similar West Indian products to Britain. His intent was to force the West Indian planters into freeing their slaves due to insolvency.

That plan never got off the ground, the planters were well connected to the House of Commons.

A twist of fate eventually made the Clarkson plan enacted after several decades later when it was first pitched to the Indians at the conference.

The Demerara Slave Revolt was the catalyst for the ending of Slavery in the British Colonies. Reports reaching Britain of the beheadings and public display at the Parade grounds, also the the killing of Rev. John Smith and the Deacon Quamina sent chills among the British Public. The Abolitionists campaigned for the boycott of West Indian commodities. Not to deprive the British Public of food commodities, a petition of signatures was presented to the House of Commons to allow Indian commodities to enter into the British Market place. 

Indian commodities were purchased on a large scale, tariffs went up of West Indian products. The Planters strapped for cash, settled for a payoff for their slaves. In the end, the Apprenticeship program ceased as well due to refusals to follow instructions-hanging of Damien was the last straw.

Consolidation of Sugar estates, required large workforces. Indentureship which was around for centuries in the British Isles was the Gladstone model in re-equipping the sugar industry with workers. Gladstone is of Scottish Heritage.

My apologies then. I thought you were say that those were the circumstances why he said to hell with GNI. 

I have no doubt that the Base is drawn to beautiful women. He and I seem to have that in common. 

But it is very important that he returns as we need all hands on deck to address the despotic PNC shenanigans. 

By the way, speaking about doctors, me kid's gifted advisor told him that he is Ivy League material. To that effect, he thinks that he would like to be a Neurologist. It would be good if he does become a Neurologist as I can have someone figure what the heck is wrong with me.  

Aye! I adore nice beautiful wimen too. I love to look at dem, admire dem and even try to personally in-ves-tigate.

DNA say I have 3 races in me.  Two I knew of, the third one was a shocker.

I would like to see the three races because I believe every East Indian Guyanese should have some west African in them.

Most Guyanese East Indian don’t have west African in them.  I know a few very dark skinned curly hair Guyanese Indians who did the same test as mine and the results said South Asian.

I would like to see the three races because I believe every East Indian Guyanese should have some west African in them.

Most Guyanese East Indian don’t have west African in them.  I know a few very dark skinned curly hair Guyanese Indians who did the same test as mine and the results said South Asian.

Ok I understand, why the third one was a shocker for you. 

Is that so. Post your results then so we can see it. 

I don't think Base wants to return here; he needs to move on with his life. Don't know why he downgraded recently from a beauty queen wife to NY con artists.

His Dr. brother's son is at Harvard mixing with the children of the world's high and mighty. Maybe he'll be a Neurologist too.  

I don't think Base wants to return here; he needs to move on with his life. Don't know why he downgraded recently from a beauty queen wife to NY con artists.

His Dr. brother's son is at Harvard mixing with the children of the world's high and mighty. Maybe he'll be a Neurologist too.  

You know fully well he is reading every line here and doing back flips and climbing the walls waiting to come back on GNI and rant his lies all day.

Slavery ended because produce from India flooded the British Market place. Way before the Indentured of 1838, Thomas Clarkson, the abolistionist called upon the Anglo Indians at the conference of Manchester to petition the Raj for the export of similar West Indian products to Britain. His intent was to force the West Indian planters into freeing their slaves due to insolvency.

That plan never got off the ground, the planters were well connected to the House of Commons.

A twist of fate eventually made the Clarkson plan enacted after several decades later when it was first pitched to the Indians at the conference.

The Demerara Slave Revolt was the catalyst for the ending of Slavery in the British Colonies. Reports reaching Britain of the beheadings and public display at the Parade grounds, also the the killing of Rev. John Smith and the Deacon Quamina sent chills among the British Public. The Abolitionists campaigned for the boycott of West Indian commodities. Not to deprive the British Public of food commodities, a petition of signatures was presented to the House of Commons to allow Indian commodities to enter into the British Market place. 

Indian commodities were purchased on a large scale, tariffs went up of West Indian products. The Planters strapped for cash, settled for a payoff for their slaves. In the end, the Apprenticeship program ceased as well due to refusals to follow instructions-hanging of Damien was the last straw.

Consolidation of Sugar estates, required large workforces. Indentureship which was around for centuries in the British Isles was the Gladstone model in re-equipping the sugar industry with workers. Gladstone is of Scottish Heritage.

Slavery ended because the oligarchs were heavily British West Indian slave owners.  The industrialists, who were developing British interests in India and later Africa, wished to undermine the power of the oligarchs and decided that ending slavery was the fastest way to do so.  They allied with the abolitionists and the testimonies of the brutality of the slave trade and of West Indian plantations was a catalyst. 

The main export from the British West Indies was sugar which the UK was able to obtain more cheaply from slave plantations in Cuba and Brazil, and from German and French beet sugar.  They no longer had a need for the more expensive British West Indian sugar. Cotton was the main Indian export and it competed against the slave grown cotton from the Southern US states.   Cotton was needed to feed the UKs textile mills.

There were slave revolts all over the Caribbean and I bet the one on Jamaica had most impact given that oligarchs with interests in Jamaica would have been wealthier and more connected than those in Guyana.  All one needed to do was to compare the size of the slave populations by the 1820s.   Jamaica by then had imported 1.2 million enslaved peoples direct from Africa while Guyana a scant 80k.  

Jamaica was a larger sugar exporter than was Guyana until the late 1960s when a more diversified economy led to reduced exports.  In 1960 Jamaica exported 500k tons of sugar, way in excess of any from Guyana.

Guyana became a factor when it was about finding alternate labor.  Jamaica had an excess population and therefore no labor shortages.  Guyana's industry was still in the initial growth stage and there were labor shortages as a result.  In addition mortality rates were higher in Guyana as the slaves were more over worked and also malaria more of a factor. 

Those who came from the earlier waves might have some West African ancestry as few Indian females came then.

Of course it all depends on which direction these mixed off spring went.  I know of several blacks who have East Indian ancestry as the descendants of these early mixed arrangements integrated among blacks.  There are others who integrated with Indians, and yet others who didn't with either, given that both were extremely stigmatized in the 19thC.