I had hundred of 45s I bought from Docs Record Bar and took them wherever I went.  After I had kids, my son became fixated on the needle and sound coming out. Few times he pulled out the needle!  I sat him down and showed him the groves.  His  first lesson that sounds are vibrations!

Anyway, I replaced all with Limewire down loads.   Still have the records though!

I had hundred of 45s I bought from Docs Record Bar and took them wherever I went.  After I had kids, my son became fixated on the needle and sound coming out. Few times he pulled out the needle!  I sat him down and showed him the groves.

His  first lesson that sounds are vibrations!

Anyway, I replaced all with Limewire down loads.   Still have the records though!

One of my first detailed study of Audio Electronics , microphone vibrations  amplified to recording  on vinyl, playing back the vibrations of vinyl recordings amplified to vibrate speakers. Also magnetic tape recordings.

Thanks Alena. The younger generation are exploring and appreciating quality music. My son now spins my vinyl collection and bought a few of his own. 

My wifey will have a heart attack if she finds out the true cost of my Home Theater equipment. She is a gentle soul and assisted me for a whole day when I installed ceiling Dolby Atmos speakers. 

We sit down and listen to music or watch movies. She likes only Hindi music and movies. I like a combination of both Indian and Western music and Movies. 

700 is quite a collection. Those are worth quite a bit nowadays but every music lover knows that it’s about the love of music and he proves that he loves his music. What kind of Amp and speaker does he use ? 
I am sure that his turntable is a technics 1200. 

He has a Rega Plannar 3,he just told me he's now over 1000 vinyl. I came into 15 Beatles albums, one has a song in German, I gave them to him along with the posters that came with them. Not sure of the speakers, will ask when I speak with him next. You should get Hendrix (Band of gypsies) Buddy Miles was the drummer then.

Buddy Miles was a great drummer.  I like Hendrix other drummer Mitch Mitchell's drumming also.  I can distinctly hear the Jazz drumming influence in Mitch Mitchell's drumming.

Long and Mc Quade stocks a lot of stuff. I saw a store at Jane/Steels that stocks audiophile equipment. The funny thing is that I left a few mins after walking in. Some of dem speakers are $ 15,000 ! 

Some crazy audiophiles does buy into snake oil. I wanted to buy a Macintosh amp but the starter one was $ 5000. I told them no thank you and left.

Funny thing is that the store was quite busy. It’s at the North West corner of Jane and Steels. 

Thanks Alena. The younger generation are exploring and appreciating quality music. My son now spins my vinyl collection and bought a few of his own. 

My wifey will have a heart attack if she finds out the true cost of my Home Theater equipment. She is a gentle soul and assisted me for a whole day when I installed ceiling Dolby Atmos speakers. 

We sit down and listen to music or watch movies. She likes only Hindi music and movies. I like a combination of both Indian and Western music and Movies. 

what sense does it makes spinning vinyl on a digital unit? You need an old Tube Mac or Sansui or an old transistor carver to get the vinyl ambiance.

Also, it is a preference and a hew hipster thing to play vinyl. The digital amps these days are able to reproduce sounds hundreds of times better than vinyl. Plus, the tracks for the modern songs are all digital.  

Storm, you have it wrong. My turntable is 100 % analogue and it goes to a Cambridge phono preamp and then to a Solid State Cambridge Phono Amp. Analogue all the way to a set of very expensive stereo speakers.

I think you are confusing Tube Amp VS Solid State amp. 

There has been a great debate about Solid State Amp VS Tube. I tried a Tube amp and hated it due to the noise and each tube manufacturer makes different tubes and one can in fact one can argue that tube also add its own colouration to the sound. 

My home theatre with 4K Projector is a separate setup with Dolby Atmos 9 speakers including Subwoofer and height speakers. This is digital and separate from my Analogue stereo setup.

Storm, you have it wrong. My turntable is 100 % analogue and it goes to a Cambridge phono preamp and then to a Solid State Cambridge Phono Amp. Analogue all the way.

I think you are confusing Tube Amp VS Solid State amp. 

There has been a great debate about Solid State Amp VS Tube. I tried a Tube amp and hated it due to the noise and each tube manufacturer makes different tubes and one can in fact one can argue that tube also add its own colouration to the sound. 

My home theatre with 4K Projector is a separate setup with Dolby Atmos 9 speakers including Subwoofer and height speakers. This is digital and separate from my Analogue stereo setup.

I am not confusing anything. I said analog systems are needed to capture the ambiance of analog vinyl. for example I have a 1024 system and will have to chuck it to be compatible with 4k TV .  I am simply saying that the input and output have to be compatible 

You stated: "what sense does it makes spinning vinyl on a digital unit?" Dead wrong bai. A turntable is 100 percent analogue, and the phono inputs are all analogue. Analogue 100 percent all the way. I don't spin vinyl on a Digital unit as you claimed.  It is one hundred percent analogue.

Captured analogue and played that way.

Please be humble enough to admit that you are confused between analogue, Solid State and Tube amps. 

Tube amp vs Solid State is another debate altogether. We can engage on that, no problems whatsoever.

Yes, the Atmos Home theatre system is digital.

You have been caught lying again or totally ignorant of Atmos. Heres how Atmos works.

You said: "for example I have a 1024 atmos 9:2 system and will have to chuck it to be compatible with 4k TV"

Atmos is a multichannel sound system which also uses height speakers for sound. It has NOTHING to do with your TV. Zero. You don't have to "chuck"  it to make it work. 4K is just a Ultra High definition picture quality displayed on a TV. An Atmos compatible receiver and speakers handle the audio component.

A high UHD 4K signal is sent to the Projector screen in the case of a Projector or a TV projects a 4K UHD Image based on a 4K source. Atmos sound is best described here:

https://www.whathifi.com/us/ad...t-how-can-you-get-it

It is advisable to be truthful or you are usually caught with your pants down ! 

You stated: "what sense does it makes spinning vinyl on a digital unit?" Dead wrong bai  

You are what they called a glorified idiot.

I have three receivers here....VST 53, an SR 600 and an AVR-X6500H. The latter two are atmos. The first is the only multi room one which is 9:2  using a Dolby Atmos Cinema Processor CP850  with dac3201 connect interface which  makes legacy highend receivers  get the benefit of atmos. That is the system I am changing out dummy. It is over kill and more for film people I am getting a Denon AVR-X6500H which would do what this one does without the add ons. It cost just as much and is only one piece.

Sean, my son uses audio speakers

Oops!  Polk audio speakers

they are expensive speakers, had a mix if Polk and Boston acoustics in my old setup. The amp ( marantz) died and I scuttled the lot. I may still have the Bostons somewhere.

I use klipsch these days....cheap 

The latter portion of this thread is amp this and amp that, or this amp and that amp. But nobaddy want to know how much amp Zeenat Aman got!?

That’s because these people are discussing 1912 technology when the rest of the world is streaming music through iCloud wireless technology.  

Gd morning dawling!  Very different things they talking.  Cloud is Storage and retrieval, wireless is communication!

The latter portion of this thread is amp this and amp that, or this amp and that amp. But nobaddy want to know how much amp Zeenat Aman got!?

You are right...how an amp works is not the prolem in modern audio production. That has been worked out a long time ago. How it output sound to reproduce the natural environment is. They tried quadraphonic in the 60's with four massive corner speakers. Then they used 5 specialized speakers and a sub to cover the aural space. They tried enhancing the directional projection with different levels of dispersion and sound matrices ie Hall, stadium, Jazz, Concert with the Prologic dolby  That was not precise so Lucas's THX tried backward firing front speakers. Atmos is just another scheme and it relies on ( literally) bouncing sound off the ceiling. 

A caveat was that they created a protocol on a chip called HDMI to manage and control copyright. They never release the specs. It is a copying of music and video prevention scheme. It means they have a built in obsolescence in all of these very expensive and really powerful amps. HDMI 1 outputs 1024 video. Hardly any of these amp have a composite video/audio out to overcome this "to the trash heap" problem. We now have 4k video coming on stream.

These AV systems that managed all audio/vidio switching from cable set top boxes, blue ray, phone, game machines etc cannot out put 4k if the have the older HDMI ports. The new ones are designated HDMI 2. You have the same problem with computer ports these days. USB is a protocal and that is migrating and diverging in function via different strategies ie thunderbolt, USB C and USB 3 which uses different port shapes and protocols. We have no governing body as in the old days that standardized the output ports

For analog music no modern digital amp will out perform a 4 channel  analog amp, with  a well designed speaker boxes consisting of efficient Woofers, mid range speakers, tweeters and crossovers , music should be listened in a special room designed for acoustics.

Home Theater Digital  amps, it's is easier to fake, to produce sounds as if you are in a special room built for acoustics,or at a live event, hence the different modes of selection ,like Hall ,Jazz..etc.

Dolby Atmos is the new technology used in Movie Theaters and home ,more channels can be added for sound, the ceiling speakers produce sound like rain and helicopters , if there are scenes of such in the movie. Dolby Atmos processing of digital audio, give you a more real live atmosphere of the movie scenes.

For analog music no modern digital amp will out perform a 4 channel  analog amp, with  a well designed speaker boxes consisting of efficient Woofers, mid range speakers, tweeters and crossovers , music should be listened in a special room designed for acoustics.

Home Theater Digital  amps, it's is easier to fake, to produce sounds as if you are in a special room built for acoustics,or at a live event, hence the different modes of selection ,like Hall ,Jazz..etc.

Dolby Atmos is the new technology used in Movie Theaters and home ,more channels can be added for sound, the ceiling speakers produce sound like rain and helicopters , if there are scenes of such in the movie. Dolby Atmos processing of digital audio, give you a more real live atmosphere of the movie scenes.

these "inside rooms" are mimicking all outside spaces like Wembley, the Greek etc. or the grand halls across the world.  Real music has always happened in outside spaces in natural amphitheaters. Movie sounds are all about mimicking this world. 

I live next to an outdoors venue 'Stratmore" and it is simply great to listen to any music there from unplugged to plugged. BTW,  professional guitar amps rarely have any built in sound matrix ( except those that amateurs like me use ) beyond a gain, tone or delay controls.  Musicians are particular about their sound and like clean amps which they "dirty up" with their special pedals etc and way of playing. Acoustic guitarists are especially picky with their amps. As I said, there is no place better to listen to music as outdoors. Just saw Santana a few months back playing outdoors and he sounded better than on vinyl or CD.

Regarding outdoor sounds, I still remember getting out of the vehicle at the National Park back in 1980 and walking towards the entrance for the Lata Mangeshkar concert. We were slightly late and she was already singing. Her melodious voice was just piercing through the night air. No one can match Lara’s soulful singing.

I have a Peavey  Bandit115 Trans tube guitar amp, a sound test couldn't tell the difference. Modern equipment does some wild stuff. I do however have an old Philco player where I could spin a 78, now that is ambience.

I have a couple of Bollywood 78’s and they sound amazing, ambiance for real. Some newer Turntables are not made to handle 78’s. 

That’s why most music lovers have two amps. One for analogue music and one for home theatre Atmos. I made that choice because you just cannot replicate analogue sound. I love British amps for analogue hence the Cambridge audio stuff. A separate phone preamp also makes a Huge difference. At the end of the day, it’s about what makes you happy. It doesn’t matter if it’s a $ 50 system or a $ 10,000 dollar system.

Amral posted:

In the early days, you can always tell when someone buy a new album, is bad showing off. Same record keep playing in the house and full blast rass, especially coolie people use to prappa show off with them latest indian music

True dat. One of my neighbour had relatives abroad who sent Vinyl to Guyana in the 70’s. They were always blasting it. 

That’s because these people are discussing 1912 technology when the rest of the world is streaming music through iCloud wireless technology.  

Gyal Bibi, music and sound is about what makes you happy. Yes streaming is what has become the norm but there are still music lovers who appreciate good sound and steaming just can replicate the ambiance and dynamic range that  physical hardware outputs. A good set of speakers are also very important.  
Companies like Tidal and a few other are even offering Better than MP3 music from streaming and trust me, it still ain’t the same as Vinyl, CD, FLAC, DSD or SACD. 
A whole generation don’t even know what high resolution music sounds like. 

You stated: "what sense does it makes spinning vinyl on a digital unit?" Dead wrong bai  

You are what they called a glorified idiot.

I have three receivers here....VST 53, an SR 600 and an AVR-X6500H. The latter two are atmos. The first is the only multi room one which is 9:2  using a Dolby Atmos Cinema Processor CP850  with dac3201 connect interface which  makes legacy highend receivers  get the benefit of atmos. That is the system I am changing out dummy. It is over kill and more for film people I am getting a Denon AVR-X6500H which would do what this one does without the add ons. It cost just as much and is only one piece.

Bai, I don’t want to derail a nice thread with your BS. 

When last anyone here saw one of those old-time juke boxes that used to be hired at wedding houses up to the 1970s, I think? The box was oblong, wooden, a round cutout in front for the speaker, and some had diamond shaped mirrors mounted around the speaker for decoration. A standalone amplifier and a car battery completed the music system.