I will suggest that when she tells a majority black audience that the PPP is using "people who look like us and people who look like Bharat" she isnt discussing policy or about competency.

When this type of language came out of the mouth of Jagdeo I condemned it.

Question why she uses this language instead of outlining what plans that APNU (and maybe AFC) have to improve the lives of people of GT and how this is better than what the PPP can offer?

I know that you aren't that naΓ―ve.

I will suggest that when she tells a majority black audience that the PPP is using "people who look like us and people who look like Bharat" she isnt discussing policy or about competency.

Question why she uses this language instead of outlining what plans that APNU (and maybe AFC) have to improve the lives of people of GT and how this is better than what the PPP can offer?

stop your nonsense and address my simple question

Correct Caribny.

Your third sentence reflects the focus for people in Georgetown and also country-wide.

The fact that YOU refuse to understand what I said is YOUR issue.  This is my answer.  Now tell me what in these comments ensures that APNU expands its vote beyond its African base?

Correct Caribny.

Your third sentence reflects the focus for people in Georgetown and also country-wide.

As long as you understand that the PPP started this nonsense.  Jagdeo was full of this in the last election.  Clearly appealing to an ethnic base.

Question why she uses this language instead of outlining what plans that APNU (and maybe AFC) have to improve the lives of people of GT 

How can they improve their lives when they elected the same bunch of PNC crooks and thieves like the crooked mayor while GT smells like a latrine ?

The same way that Berbicians are suffering when they elected a bunch of PPP crooks and thieves.

And please dont deny this when the population of Region 6 declined by over 20% in the years when the PPP was in power. No other region suffered such a catastrophic decline.

Correct Caribny.

As long as you understand that the PPP started this nonsense.  Jagdeo was full of this in the last election.  Clearly appealing to an ethnic base.

Personal view, perhaps.

The fact that YOU refuse to understand what I said is YOUR issue.  This is my answer. Now tell me what in these comments ensures that APNU expands its vote beyond its African base?

interesting question [we likely agree on the answer] . . . but that’s not the subject of THIS thread

now focus, and stop meandering all over the place

Indos care about their brothers and sisters and are moving to prosperous countries like Canada and USA making us one of the most prosperous groups of immigrants. We sponsor our relatives, this is the biggest contributing factor. We are a people on the move and prosperity is not catastrophic for us.

PPP won the LGE with a 61 percent margin and moved into PNC strongholds and giving them shytings.

The PNC needs to worry at this time.

I agree that Guyana appears to be lost. Imagine the People of GT selecting the same bunch of crooked thieves to govern while it smells like a Latrine. Go figure. 

I am not meandering.  I am merely saying that reverting to ethnic appeals isnt the way for APNU to deal with the fact that it was arrogant with its base and the base responded by staying home.  So does APNU now think that they won their battle with the teachers and the vendors and others of the PNC base? Or dealt with the anger that many within the PNC feel when they see APNU officials dealing with the same corrupt oligarchs that also benefitted under Jagdeo?

So APNU resorts to open ethnic pandering to divert from these issues.

Volda's question should have been about querying why apparently the crowds were almost exclusively black.  Instead of pandering to them by talking about the PPP fielding "people who look like you" in order to fool them.  Also talking about "others who looked like Bharat".  The devout party base alone never wins elections, so their cheers dont matter.  Even David Hinds seems concerned about this.

I dont see how this differs from when Jagdeo, having defined the PPP as a party whose base is rural Indian, then screams "we gun tek back Guyana for us".

Indos care about their brothers and sisters and are moving to prosperous countries like Canada and USA making us one of the most prosperous groups of immigrants. e

Indo Guyanese are NOT the most prosperous of immigrants. Stop living vicariously through the success of Asian Indians. This elite group of South Asian immigrants look down their noses at you and this fact has been discussed over the past few days.

I am not meandering.  I am merely saying that reverting to ethnic appeals isnt the way for APNU to deal with the fact that it was arrogant with its base and the base responded by staying home.  So does APNU now think that they won their battle with the teachers and the vendors and others of the PNC base? Or dealt with the anger that many within the PNC feel when they see APNU officials dealing with the same corrupt oligarchs that also benefitted under Jagdeo?

Volda's question should have been about querying why apparently the crowds were almost exclusively black.  Instead of pandering to them by talking about the PPP fielding "people who look like you" in order to fool them.  Also talking about "others who looked like Bharat".  The devout party base alone never wins elections, so their cheers dont matter.  Even David Hinds seems concerned about this.

I dont see how this differs from when Jagdeo, having defined the PPP as a party whose base is rural Indian, then screams "we gun tek back Guyana for us".

too much personal shyte (and ambition) coloring reason and important input from intelligent people intra-coalition

schadenfreude of David Hinds, et al front and center

that the Volda Lawrence β€˜plan’ is opportunistic and cynical, granted . . . doomed to fail, sure

but FUNDAMENTALLY different from the screamings of Rohee/Jagdeo!

your stuff about race appeal is counter-intuitive . . . nuff waste talking fuh talk sake

too much personal shyte (and ambition) coloring reason and important input from intelligent people intra-coalition

schadenfreude of David Hinds, et al front and center

that the Volda Lawrence β€˜plan’ is opportunistic and cynical, granted . . . doomed to fail, sure

but FUNDAMENTALLY different from the screamings of Rohee/Jagdeo!

your stuff about race appeal is counter-intuitive . . . nuff waste talking fuh talk sake

Can you skt write fo we understand.. Jeeesss man 

Hey hey hey...we one lover ronan daub and project he racism pon coolies dat he cyant see am when he mattie do same. Hey hey hey...dis is why dem one lovers and chuch goers is hypocrite. Hey hey hey...

show where i have demonstrated β€œracism” to daub and project "pon coolies” or shut up

Volda now says "she gun only hire she friends and is only PNC friends she gat".

Now explain, given ethnic politics, in Guyana how this isn't ethnic pandering?  What is her goal in saying this?

And importantly, how are those who are known AFC supporters (much of GT's middle class) supposed to take this?

I think we remember what happened the last time that the PNC blatantly played the party card.

Indos care about their brothers and sisters.....

Shut yuh fake Brahma patacake!!  Yuh evva gi wan push-toe slippers πŸ₯Ώ to a lil hungry belly, barefooted coolie school Pickney in Guyana?

Why should he?  I have been saying this since I arrived on GNI.  Finally he is honest about one thing.

Now why is he angry when Volda screams that she learned her lesson and will now do the same thing?

Jagdeo said "we gun tek back Guyana" and many, including Ralph Ramkarran, understood the ethnic implications.  Especially when Jagdeo screamed that "we" means rural Indians (notably not urban).

Volda says about the PPP using people "who look like you" and then says she gun only hire PNC people. Now who "looks like you" when the crowd as almost exclusively black?

I am surprised that you do not see in Guyana how both politicians aren't playing the same game of ethnic pandering to garner greater support from their ethnic base.

The reality is that Indians are now just over 40% of the vote and blacks around 32% and we can add those mixed identified people whose political behavior is like that of blacks. 

Fact is that neither add up to more than 50% so such blatant ethnic appeals do not work.  APNU just left room open for Jagdeo to pull his stunts.

Now explain, given ethnic politics, in Guyana how this isn't ethnic pandering?  What is her goal in saying this?

And importantly, how are those who are known AFC supporters (much of GT's middle class) supposed to take this?

I think we remember what happened the last time that the PNC blatantly played the party card.

Ronan,

With all due respect,

Carib is right about what he is saying, Re: "stoking ethnic fears".

I have said before that words matter, especially when its coming from top political leaders who

a) do not think about what they are saying because they get all emotional and speak from their heart rather than their head and

b) do not take into consideration how their rhetoric is being received by the "others"

Now, Jagdeo at Babu John was a more extreme case, but Volda, a PNC leader (possible president) is going to be carefully monitored (as old man Granger becomes more like a "Lame Duck" president) and her narrative are going to be amplified when it is perceived to contain "coded words". 

If anything it is adding fodder to the PPP's arsenal.

Dont forget that the country is already divided and those in power seems to believe that "we in charge now". 

Politicians in Guyana are not known for "rising above the fray" or even pretend for a minute to speak on behalf of ALL GUYANESE....the tribalism rears its ugly head ....I am telling you it will get worse...and dont think for a minute that when the cameras are not running that politicians will be talking about "ONE LOVE" and "ONE NATION".

This referenced excerpt is quite telling:

"people who look like us and people who look like Bharat" 

I would suggest you take a step back, pretend you are Jagdeo or a PPP supporter, and try and analyze Volda's statement from the perspective of an Indo...

Ronan,

With all due respect,

Carib is right about what he is saying, Re: "stoking ethnic fears".

I have said before that words matter, especially when its coming from top political leaders who

a) do not think about what they are saying because they get all emotional and speak from their heart rather than their head and

b) do not take into consideration how their rhetoric is being received by the "others"

Now, Jagdeo at Babu John was a more extreme case, but Volda, a PNC leader (possible president) is going to be carefully monitored (as old man Granger becomes more like a "Lame Duck" president) and her narrative are going to be amplified when it is perceived to contain "coded words". 

If anything it is adding fodder to the PPP's arsenal.

Dont forget that the country is already divided and those in power seems to believe that "we in charge now". 

Politicians in Guyana are not known for "rising above the fray" or even pretend for a minute to speak on behalf of ALL GUYANESE....the tribalism rears its ugly head ....I am telling you it will get worse...and dont think for a minute that when the cameras are not running that politicians will be talking about "ONE LOVE" and "ONE NATION".

I would suggest you take a step back, pretend you are Jagdeo or a PPP supporter, and try and analyze Volda's statement from the perspective of an Indo...

What is probably more troubling and what may fall in the realm of "stoking" is the fact that she is not telling the largely black audience how they intend to get back these seats, but her concern seems to be geared at removing and rolling back the gains made by the PPP. 

What is probably more troubling and what may fall in the realm of "stoking" is the fact that she is not telling the largely black audience how they intend to get back these seats, but her concern seems to be geared at removing and rolling back the gains made by the PPP

"stoking" . . . huh?

this is the illegitimate/out-of-bounds stuff that Volda Lawrence is being nailed to the cross for . . . banna, are you for real?

weird people posting here

the woman is telling the Afro party faithful that the PNC needs to recruit Indians, i.e., "people who look like Bharat" to win back the lost LDCs

your consternation/horror at that which should be celebrated is indeed "quite telling"!

smfh

Jagdeo said "we gun tek back Guyana" and many, including Ralph Ramkarran, understood the ethnic implications.  Especially when Jagdeo screamed that "we" means rural Indians (notably not urban).

Taking it back for the people.  Your party is more interest in self gratification, fat salaries and free food.  They have upset the apple cart and left the sugar workers, teachers, civil service etc to fend for themselves!

Are you ok with the PNC way of doing business?

the woman is telling the Afro party faithful that the PNC needs to recruit Indians, i.e., "people who look like Bharat" to win back the lost LDCs

your consternation/horror at that which should be celebrated is indeed "quite telling"!

smfh

No one's crucifying Volda...your heroine...she is perceived as a "President in waiting"

...as such her words can have the potential of inflaming passions, not necessarily causing a backlash from Indos, but her own supporters...who are inclined to believe that "invaders" must be removed from the "PNC house".

Volda knows that her supporters are aware that they have to do better at the 2020 election...so instead ...why not focus on why the PNC lost seats and how they plan to do better.

Here is a novel idea...instead of speaking to the faithfuls...why not  ask Volda to do a 360 and go into a predominantly Indo area and articulate  a national program her government will implement to benefit all Guyanese.

If she can do this and pull off a Rodneyite kind of multi-cultural support, and avoid invoking the "Bharrat bogey man", then she may be credited for cultivating a new kind of political culture in Guyana....one in which the benevolent victors are willing to share the spoils with the "others"...and their screams of "social cohesion" might be taken seriously.

smfh

Volda...your heroine...

you are useless . . . g'wan suh

smfh

Volda...your heroine...

Banna,

Dats all you gat?

now yuh sound like Volda...loss for words...your water-powered gun now going into "drip drip" mode...

smfh

Volda...your heroine...

Banna,

Dats all you gat?

now yuh sound like Volda...loss for words...your water-powered gun now going into "drip drip" mode... 

apparently you expecting me to validate your idleness and stupidity

i decline

smfh

Volda...your heroine...

Banna,

Dats all you gat?

apparently you expecting me to validate your idleness and stupidity

i decline

Stuuuppptttsss!   

(I believe in the Guyanese parlance it means sucking one's teeth in disbelief...according to my uncle)

....sigh. Read the woman's remarks in context. She is telling her supporters (albeit crudely) that it is time to recruit people who "look like Bharat", meaning it is time to attract Indian candidates to the PNC. Just as the PPP got candidates "who look like us", meaning the PPP got black candidates.

What the hell is wrong with that? Rant and rave about her tone and handing out jobs to "PNC friends" but you're actually going to criticize her wanting to attract Indians to the PNC?

Your party is more interest in self gratification, fat salaries and free food.  They have upset the apple cart and left the sugar workers, teachers, civil service etc to fend for themselves!

you come here every day and indulge yourself in all kinds of battyshaking unreality on behalf of Jagdeo and the permanent GT race fringe

then backflip and present yourself in fresh clothes as some kind of rational interlocutor to those unfamiliar

you got issues banna

Your party is more interest in self gratification, fat salaries and free food.  They have upset the apple cart and left the sugar workers, teachers, civil service etc to fend for themselves!

you come here every day and indulge yourself in all kinds of battyshaking unreality on behalf of Jagdeo and the permanent GT race fringe

then backflip and present yourself in fresh clothes as some kind of rational interlocutor to those unfamiliar

you got issues banna

Batty boi, did I tell something that was incorrect?  Please read what the teachers union and PSU says about the current regime!  Keep up this shyte up, no AK47 and hand grenades will keep you in power!

you got issues banna

bipolarism?  

....sigh. Read the woman's remarks in context. She is telling her supporters (albeit crudely) that it is time to recruit people who "look like Bharat", meaning it is time to attract Indian candidates to the PNC. Just as the PPP got candidates "who look like us", meaning the PPP got black candidates.

What the hell is wrong with that? Rant and rave about her tone and handing out jobs to "PNC friends" but you're actually going to criticize her wanting to attract Indians to the PNC?

Yo Iggy,

whats up?

ok...i gon withhold my comments and hold my breath until de lady tell us how she gon attract Indos, and until i see her addressing a fairly large Indo audience

....i am willing to ignore her crudeness for now...Guyana got too many crude politicians (except for ole man Granger who carries about himself with grace and dignity).

you got issues banna

Batty boi, did I tell something that was incorrect?  Please read what the teachers union and PSU says about the current regime!  Keep up this shyte up, no AK47 and hand grenades will keep you in power!

i will leave those sex fantasies of weaponry and Black man to you, your antiman cohort, Jagdeo, sundry PPP tap dawg criminals serving US jail time, and others soon within reach