More aircraft, boats for GDF; no place for low endurance soldiers- Granger

President David Granger addressing the opening of the GDF’s 2019 Officers’ Conference.

Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, President David Granger on Thursday announced that the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) would be getting more aircraft, including drones, this year.

Addressing the opening of the GDF’s 2019 Officers’ Conference, he said some of the GYD$14 billion allocated to the GDF this year would be used to purchase “light transport aircraft” as well as drones for border surveillance, inshore patrol vessels and engineering and transport equipment.

Two Britten-Norman Islander planes, he described as “light reconnaissance aircraft” were bought for the GDF last year.

Already, he said the number of GDF military intelligence agents has been increased. “The Intelligence Corps and the Signal Corps have been reformed to enhance intelligence, surveillance and communications. The personnel strength of the Intelligence Corps has been increased. The Signal Corps has benefitted from the acquisition of new radio equipment and personnel training,” he said.

The retired Brigadier declared that soldiers who could not withstand the rigours of long-range exercises deep in the country’s jungle and elsewhere should consider leaving the Guyana Defence Force.

“The GDF was never intended to be a ‘coastal’ force; it is, and will remain, a comprehensive national force. It must reach every corner of the country and must be competent in conducting long-range patrols, in any weather or terrain, by day and night and for long periods.

Officers and soldiers who cannot go on long-range patrols, in any weather or terrain by day or by night, for long periods have no place in the defence force,” he said in an address to the opening of the 2019 Annual GDF Officers’ Conference.

The retired Brigadier the two existing exercises codenamed “Greenheart” and “Ironweed” would be extended and the GDF has been also instructed to prepare ration lists that could last much longer.

Granger said the Engineer Corps has received equipment to enhance the Force’s agility, improve its responsiveness to eliminate climate hazards, promote greater stability within frontline communities and foster defence cooperation.

The Engineer Corps, in 2018, worked alongside the Brazilian Army’s 6º Batalhão de Engenharia de Construção to drill wells in the Rupununi Region in order to build greater climate resilience and provide a regular supply of water for frontline communities.

“I issued a directive for personnel to be brought up to authorised establishment levels, for operational readiness and infrastructure to be improved and for the technical corps to be upgraded and for equipment to be recapitalised,” he added.

He noted that the strength of the Reserve Force named the Guyana People’s Militia has increased from 125 members in January 2015 to nearly 1,500 in January 2019. He added that recruitment “must continue” until it is 50 per cent of the strength of the regular Force.
Officers, defence policy is aimed at The

In the area of youth development, he said  the Guyana National Cadet Corps (GNCC), which was resuscitated on 19th January 2018, has trained 364 young persons from six participating schools in five administrative regions.

This Corps’ recruits youth and is aimed at enhancing their skills and leadership abilities, building character and instilling the values and standards of civic responsibility.

Guyana continues to face security threats such as Venezuela’s ongoing claim of the Essequibo Region and its Exclusive Economic Zone as well as from armed Venezuelan gangs called Sindicatos.

Even as theborder controversy remains in the hands of the International Court of Justice, Venezuela’s Navy recently intercepted a seismic research vessel that was gathering data on the Stabroek Block offshore Guyana.

While piracy in Guyanese waters has been suppressed, it is still listed as a threat as is the unsettled dispute with Suriname over the New River Triangle in south-eastern Guyana.

• mceclip0

Sadly, Indos want their children to become businessmen, doctors, teachers etc. Army is not part of their vision for their children.

The army is good as is. We have aile and Uncle Sam seh, na ten worries.

Many Indos are professional thieves and murderers in Guyana. They are cowards and talk nuff skvnt like Yuji. Rum nah do fuh them. Many of them high like kite on cocaine. These are the things they graduated in.   

O rass bai, you are now a social commentator.

Take a look at the prisons and let us have an independent census on the prison population based on stats and we can have a chat then.

Many Indos are professional thieves and murderers in Guyana. They are cowards and talk nuff skvnt like Yuji. Rum nah do fuh them. Many of them high like kite on cocaine. These are the things they graduated in.   

Be careful ,Trump can charge you for plagiarism. But again he will excuse you for being a Jackass. Why did you show up, no one cares if you are dead or alive.

Take a look at the prisons and let us have an independent census on the prison population based on stats and we can have a chat then.

I don't know the prison situation, but what does that have to do with Indos not being in the army?

I will assume that you are being facetious because if not this is completely obnoxious and out of order.  Social pathologies exist in all of the communities.

The issue isn't that each occupation must have equal ethnic representation.  The issue is whether there are barriers that restrict access of people from a particular ethnic group.  This is why I insist that an ethnic analysis needs to be done. 

Are Indians really not interested in joining this, or are there reasons of self perception, or perceived hostility which lead them to not join?  Indo Guyanese are well represented in the US armed forces.  Why not in Guyana, with Trinidad, and I suspect Suriname showing similar tendencies.

The same analysis must be done to see about African involvement in the private sector as owners, managers and professionals.  Afro Guyanese are well represented as professionals and managers in the private sectors of the majority black Caribbean islands and in the USA. What's happening in Guyana?   Do owners of businesses hire on the basis of ethnicity or merit?  Are they perceived to hire on that basis?

In fact an analysis of crime in Guyana has traditionally shown over representation of blacks in robberies and Indians in murders. Was true in the 1890s, the 1970s as well as today.

You will find the participation of Indians in robberies (with the victims almost always being other Indians) being much higher than it was 2 generations ago.   Contract killings see much Indo involvement even when the perps are blacks.

Honesty and not racism is the best solution to deal with social pathologies.  The mere fact that a man is married to a woman doesn't mean that a family is functional.  Family dysfunction, with attendant domestic violence and substance abuse, is very much existent within Indo families. 

There are those who will claim that the Afro woman, who can more easily toss out a useless man, is better set that an Indo woman, who exists within a patriarchal culture, so is less able to do so.

Now go crawl into your racist cesspit.  Its people like you who ensure that the PPP will be thoroughly demolished in GT and in Linden, New Amsterdam, and Bartica.

I don't know the prison situation, but what does that have to do with Indos not being in the army?

This is what you normally "don't see".  Hence the reputation of GNI among Afro Guyanese, the result being extremely low participation, and a reputation as being a nest for anti black vipers.  the PPP itself is seen as one and the same.  As they say not all PPP supporters are anti black, but the anti blacks find a haven within the PPP.

An honest person would talk about the fact that criminal behavior traditionally connected to blacks (robberies) is seeing increasing involvement by young Indians.  But the intent is merely to peddle the image of the savage black man, this being a core philosophy of the PPP and most of its support base. 

This is why Gilbakka looks foolish when he insists a "hug up" moment is all that the PPP should do to improve its image among non Indians.

O rass bai, like you drinking cheap rum again ? Show us a copy of the report from last year.

Still dwelling in your anti black nest.  Cannot help you, but continue.  The more you show this behavior the greater the probability that the PPP will lose.

See yuji in 1992 Indians were 49% of the population and maybe as much as 54% of the voters.  Now they are probably around 38% of the population and just over 40% of the voters.  This assumes that Indians continued to migrate at the same rate under APNU as they did under the PPP.

It will become more and more difficult for the PPP to secure a mandate if the black identified 45% (Africans and black identified mixed) continue to see them as being hostile.

Stop ! Don’t get ahead of yourself and tripping over with your blatant lies ! You are. A bare faced liar !

SHOW US THE PROOF OF THE STATS YOU ARE QUTOTING ABOUT CRIME FOR LAST YEAR OR THE YEAR BEFORE !

Until then shut your lying trap !

Stop ! Don’t get ahead of yourself and tripping over with your blatant lies ! You are. A bare faced liar !

SHOW US THE PROOF OF THE STATS YOU ARE QUTOTING ABOUT CRIME FOR LAST YEAR OR THE YEAR BEFORE !

You made the assertion of black criminality so why don't you show it?

Go and rest in your anti black nest.  Yes you and the rest of the Indo Nazis, AKA as PPP.

This is why Gilbakka looks foolish when he insists a "hug up" moment is all that the PPP should do to improve its image among non Indians.

Don't misrepresent Gilbakka. That so-called "hug up" moment is not Alpha and Omega. It should be given substance through concrete development programs for Afro-dominated communities and other measures.

I do not misrepresent Gilbakka.

1.  Does Gilbakka suggest that the PPP address why after more than 60 years of existence it is hated/feared by more than 90% of the black population?  He does not.

2. Does Gilbakka suggest that the PPP develops initiatives to assure blacks that their perspectives will be considered and their initiatives included to ensure that they derive benefits from oil?  He does not.

What Gilbakka suggests is that the PPP embrace blacks in a "kumbaya" moment with all its past sins forgiven.  This is why Gilly knows that the PPP will continue to be feared by most of the Afro population because the PPP doesn't plan to change its behavior that it embarked on 60 years ago.

Gilly until the PPP loses its "East Indian" face to most blacks it will continue to be the "coolie people party" when that assures blacks that they will be reduced to a conditional of semi slavery and charitable tokenism.

Guyanese Indians don't seem inclined to join the GDF or GPF. Nothing wrong with that. The GDF and GPF are not the only places where Guyanese can contribute to Guyana. People do what they like when they have the freedom to chose.

Gilly until the PPP loses its "East Indian" face to most blacks it will continue to be the "coolie people party" when that assures blacks that they will be reduced to a conditional of semi slavery and charitable tokenism.

Bai, the PNC has a black face so Indians can equally see it as the black people party. No body losing sleep over that. Blacks will vote primarily for the PNC and Indians will vote primarily for the PPP. The edge is on where the other races see more value. The PPP need not lose its East Indian face. I don't see you campaigning for the PNC to lose its black face. Why?

Guyanese Indians don't seem inclined to join the GDF or GPF. Nothing wrong with that. The GDF and GPF are not the only places where Guyanese can contribute to Guyana. People do what they like when they have the freedom to chose.

No Ksaz, the GPF got a whole lot of indos. Not more than Afros, but a good amount.

Based on my age and lack of military training excludes and exempts me from joining. Furthermore, according to AFC PNC, Guyanese with foreign citizenship cannot run for political office or vote in parliament. Taking these anti foreign Guyanese stand by the AFC PNC, Guyanese with dual citizenship are exempt. 

I understand that Prince has some National Service experience, he should join. 

Based on my age and lack of military training excludes and exempts me from joining. Furthermore, according to AFC PNC, Guyanese with foreign citizenship cannot run for political office or vote in parliament. Taking these anti foreign Guyanese stand by the AFC PNC, Guyanese with dual citizenship are exempt. 

Prince? National Service experience?  Drink lil coffee bai. And don't bother with the age thing. We need strong Patriotic indo like u to show the way. But don't worry, we'll send that die hard princess to back u up.

Sadly, Indos want their children to become businessmen, doctors, teachers etc. Army is not part of their vision for their children.

The army is good as is. We have aile and Uncle Sam seh, na ten worries.

As usual you think like a ruminant. The Armed forces of a state represents something fundamental to the state and the idea that one can say one has a choice to ignore it over other areas is base thinking. 

The Armed forces covers more than fighting for defense of the state as defense is more than fighting wars. The art of war means the art of  contemplating peace. Peace is guaranteed by guarding our waters and land and assisting our people in times of emergencies. As such the Army forces should represent a first echelon holistic system of the values of the  society. 

That ours has been neglected is a consequence of ignorance as your sand our divisive ethnic politics which sees the Army as a preserve of one group hence to be neglected or to formalize a culture of partisanship as in our politics. 

Why not chat about so you can gain some understanding and  before you misuse the stats

You must be one dumb skvnt. Let me know which coolie boy violently violate your crevice. I can ask him to apologize to you. Or maybe you liked it so much that you wanted more and he rejected you. One day some black man will brutalize you and there might be a coolie around who you will be begging for help. I do hope that day is not far away. There's a saying "what goes around comes around."

No one lies more than you...the supposed mogul yet a pedestrian mal educated bigot who ought to improve on areas of honesty and integrity, No one needs to bring you any statistics. You need to dredge them up and explain how they fit your ignorant bias that one group is more criminally bent. 

Only last week the Nobel prize winner and discoverer of DNA was scolded, and purged of all social and scientific commendations because his bigotry got  the better of him in mouthing the unscientific claims that there are genetic basis for claims of lesser than dispositions among groups of human specie.  

Even geniuses can be bigots,  but alas, your sin is ignorance if not chronic stupidity 

The PPP invented that rule per discriminating against dual citizens. If anything, the AFC is being opportunistic and illustrating the bad blood in using this PPP invidious rule.  The PPP is the disease agent hare and the AFC mere pathological expression.

The whole political culture in Guyana is diseased.

There is something definitely wrong with Indians not joining the Army. Previous to independence they Brits were keen to balance the force and at independence the forces had leadership as West Point trained Major Sateur (sp). Burnham began to discriminate actively against Indians joining. 

I was speaking to one instance of the diseased and its expression.

I see that. However, you did not look at the other side. PPP is not the only government that is being accused of thefts.

. The PPP need not lose its East Indian face. I don't see you campaigning for the PNC to lose its black face. Why?

Do you see me denying that the PNC has a black face? No!  I respond to those who deny that the PPP isnt an Indian party.  You need to go chat with Gilbakka. 

Also note that who are the "other races" is a grey area, given that most of them self identify as mixed and therefore have very fluid identities, and their voting tends to parallel that of blacks.

independence the forces had leadership as West Point trained Major Sateur (sp). Burnham began to discriminate actively against Indians joining. 

While Burnham did discriminate the disciplined forces in Guyana were always predominantly black and in fact the British wanted it that way as part of their "divide and rule".  That pretense of balance was a result of the PPPs complaints that the police were biased against their base because it was predominantly black.

During the colonial era the British put in place standards based on height and weight, knowing full well that in the early 20th C this effectively meant that Indians couldn't meet the requirements.   The role of the police was to control the estate workers and how better if they were of different ethnicities.  Once the ethnic composition became boiled in to the psyche then it almost became cultural, so in Guyana blacks didn't aspire to own groceries and Indians didn't aspire to become policemen.

. The PPP need not lose its East Indian face. I don't see you campaigning for the PNC to lose its black face. Why?

Do you see me denying that the PNC has a black face? No!  I respond to those who deny that the PPP isnt an Indian party.  You need to go chat with Gilbakka. 

Also note that who are the "other races" is a grey area, given that most of them self identify as mixed and therefore have very fluid identities, and their voting tends to parallel that of blacks.

You don’t confront them either like you do here. I am still waiting for you to pronounce that ‘the PNC has a black face and that is wrong’. Are you going to say it? 😀

independence the forces had leadership as West Point trained Major Sateur (sp). Burnham began to discriminate actively against Indians joining. 

While Burnham did discriminate the disciplined forces in Guyana were always predominantly black and in fact the British wanted it that way as part of their "divide and rule".  That pretense of balance was a result of the PPPs complaints that the police were biased against their base because it was predominantly black.

During the colonial era the British put in place standards based on height and weight, knowing full well that in the early 20th C this effectively meant that Indians couldn't meet the requirements.   The role of the police was to control the estate workers and how better if they were of different ethnicities.  Once the ethnic composition became boiled in to the psyche then it almost became cultural, so in Guyana blacks didn't aspire to own groceries and Indians didn't aspire to become policemen.

So why yuh didn’t tell Vish this?

You don’t confront them either like you do here. I am still waiting for you to pronounce that ‘the PNC has a black face and that is wrong’. Are you going to say it? 😀

Indo Nazi what you want me to do I will NOT do.

I have said MANY times, BOTH have been racist.  Yes I have said that the PNC has been racist and that it has a black face.

What you want me to do is to say that ONLY the PNC has been racist.

Well Indo Nazi go stuff yourself down that nest of racism as you wish I will NOT do this. I will NOT allow you to criminalize black people while letting you let Indians go free!

So why yuh didn’t tell Vish this?

Colonial days ended long as did limitations based on height and weight and in addition Indian physiques are now different from what they were 100 years ago. 

Vish asked about patriotism and I gave my answer.

But you told Vish exactly as I did.  I said that a black Guyanese is a Guyanese who happens to be black and that an Indian Guyanese is an Indian who happens to be Guyanese.

Ask yourself this. Why was the PPP so effective in misrepresenting Nagamootoo's response that he was a Guyanese and not an Indian, when he received an award from the GOPIO?  Clearly a large % of PPP supporters do in fact root their identity more in being Indian, as defined by a connection to India than they do in an identity rooted in Guyana.

If someone tried to campaign on a "Granger isnt an African" the afro Guyanese response would have been, well he is a Guyanese and not an African.

The difference is obvious even to YOU and you cannot deny this as you gave an example of ho you typify this.

And here is your response. You lambaste black Guyanese as lost souls because they aren't interested in Africa and have developed a Caribbean based identity.  You see no value in a Caribbean base identity and root yours in India. When last I checked Bollywood wasn't Guyanese, it was from India.

So quit your hysteria.  You have nothing but contempt from anything created in or of Guyana!  Not worth a damn to you unless created in India.