sachin_05 posted:

I think the behavior of foreigners when dem visit - with their fancy accents, nike boots, cameras, fancy outfits with apparent unlimited spending power is causing today youths to want to go a foreign more than anything.

Back in the 80s I had 4 cousins  who were in the GDF. The money they earn  could barely manage a taxi fare to come home... always hungry. They eventually left mostly because they say they were bypass for promotion... 

But the cane cutters in the PPP say Indians don’t want to join.  Indians would join but these cane cutters were too lazy to address the issues in their 23 years.  All the think of was sitting at the cash register counting up money and building bigger and bigger house!  The Blackman tek he licks but kept his AK47.  Now is dem days again!

Being in the forces you have to take ORDERS. The Indians are independent people, be their own Boss.

Banna, shut yuh poke. India has the 2nd largest standing army in the world and highly disciplined. They don’t run around like cockroaches in the sunlight!

Is ayuh diss shit talk instill in the young Indian head that military is not for them!  That’s why the PNC can kick ayuh skont as the pleases!

How many Guyanese Indians come to the USA and join the military?

Tola posted:
antabanta posted:

The idea of abused Indos (for being Indo) in Guyana's military is utter BS. Nothing in the recruitment process disfavors Indos.

Are you nuts. Someone post the killing of the Indo Presidential guard for this fool.

Really? I was an Indo GDF officer when the PNC was in power. How stupid does that make you?

Some might feel its not beneficial for Indians to join the GDF and GPF, but there are benefits from  the training during service and afterwards. One of the first GDF Indian senior officer  who recently passed on in Florida,  was from our village. 

A retired GDF officer is also  with security at a business in NY and another is in charge for security personnel,   for a number of hotels in  the Virgin Islands.   

Are some Indians too 'soft', lacks self confidence and allows Africans to take advantage of them, so they are afraid to join Guyana security forces ?

Indians are not afraid of the army. In the USA lots of indoes join up. In Guyana, who wants to contend wid prejudices from the Blacks. It is stressful. When GDF was created a few Indians from the school I attended joined up. Some got promoted, but that was under a British Commanding Officer. After he left for England, Sattur displaced by Negro Officers, it became difficult for indian recruits. When Forbes visited the camps he was cordial to all but he knew what was the going on. 

In Guyana, who wants to contend wid prejudices from the Blacks. It is stressful. 

If is TOOOOOOOO stressful to deal wid blackman, how yuh gon handle de stress of training, the rigors of army life and not to mention facing down and physically fighting an enemy???? Banna, shut yuh old rass and stop talking sheer skont!

Alyuh all ova de place pan dis one. Some alyuh profess to be fighting men, yet most alyuh put down the military and seh business is better. Same thing happens in real life Guyana. Nothing is wrong with either. It's a matter of preference by the individual and what is better for them in life. Stop crying about every damn thing under the sun! God, alyuh kyan whine.

Always waiting or anticipating wid glee a beating from black man. Alyuh need SERIOUS help!

Being in the forces you have to take ORDERS. The Indians are independent people, be their own Boss.

Yep, like you, right free fried rice man? Yuh new found fren Pandit Sachin shoulda send he starving GDF family to you so yuh could show dem how to get some free duck curry LOL.

Finished serving you jail time, damn joke and robber. I tried coming to your house, but there was never food. Further more I am wasting time with you Low Lifer, gwan suh!!!

In Guyana, who wants to contend wid prejudices from the Blacks. It is stressful. 

If is TOOOOOOOO stressful to deal wid blackman, how yuh gon handle de stress of training, the rigors of army life and not to mention facing down and physically fighting an enemy???? Banna, shut yuh old rass and stop talking sheer skont!

Alyuh all ova de place pan dis one. Some alyuh profess to be fighting men, yet most alyuh put down the military and seh business is better. Same thing happens in real life Guyana. Nothing is wrong with either. It's a matter of preference by the individual and what is better for them in life. Stop crying about every damn thing under the sun! God, alyuh kyan whine.

Always waiting or anticipating wid glee a beating from black man. Alyuh need SERIOUS help!

Always waiting or anticipating wid glee a beating from black man. Alyuh good at that, yes.

Yep, like you, right free fried rice man? Yuh new found fren Pandit Sachin shoulda send he starving GDF family to you so yuh could show dem how to get some free duck curry LOL.

Finished serving you jail time, damn joke and robber. I tried coming to your house, but there was never food. Further more I am wasting time with you Low Lifer, gwan suh!!!

HEHEHEHEHEEEEEE.....look how old FFR (Free Fried Rice) getting vex. Bai ress yuh ole self and guh tek ah walk wid yuh wife befo ah mek yuh pressure bust LOL.

Indians handle the rigors elsewhere with no problems. They know the Blacks in Guyana is anti-indians, suh why bother. Your prejudice is showing.

Blackman only duz beat indian dey can manage, a badass coolie will chap he skont up. YUH doubting the Blackman duzz not beat up the timid cooolieman?

sachin_05 posted:

Back in the 80s I had 4 cousins  who were in the GDF. The money they earn  could barely manage a taxi fare to come home... always hungry. They eventually left mostly because they say they were bypass for promotion...

You should have encouraged them to stop drinking out their money before reaching home. Promotion is standard once certain prerequisite course are successfully completed and the individual does not lose seniority for offenses.

Anta wasn’t there for the money. He was there for the government boots πŸ₯Ύ πŸ˜€

Budday ... I used to make around three or four hundred at NBS before going on cadet course where my salary jumped to (I think) $640 a month. When I left as a first lieutenant I was making over $2G a month. That was damn good money in Gy in the late 80s. Not to mention, was the best time of my life.

sachin_05 posted:

I think the behavior of foreigners when dem visit - with their fancy accents, nike boots, cameras, fancy outfits with apparent unlimited spending power is causing today youths to want to go a foreign more than anything.

But the cane cutters in the PPP say Indians don’t want to join.  Indians would join but these cane cutters were too lazy to address the issues in their 23 years.  All the think of was sitting at the cash register counting up money and building bigger and bigger house!  The Blackman tek he licks but kept his AK47.  Now is dem days again!

The army in Guyana has been neutral in Guyana since 1992. Why are some people beating the race card with regards to the army ?

There has to a better effort to attract Indos to the army. What did the PPP do during their 23 years to balance the force ?

Tola posted:

Tola, I remember when I went to East Ruimveldt Sec, we had gardening as a subject and we learned about composting etc. Banna, my family and many families of the kids also, complained about how we are not going to school to learn how to plant. Dude, I wish they teach more of this in schools, teach em survival skills. Not everyone makes it in the business world.

Cain, In additional to my autobiography and other short stories, I just wrote a 'short story' for our kids about my certificates and employment starting with Albion primary school. 

Years later when I was taking pictures,  the school was still  doing gardening, composting, wood work, book binding, hammock making, painting, drama, etc. Displayed on what was called 'Arts and crafts day/night' every year to parents, who bought some of the stuff.  

The certificates and some photos became part of my story of 20 pages.

I just bought 6 large Rubbermaid tubs for my historical material and collectables. Rass, I might need a semi to move. This included special boxes for the kids designated stuff.

These Canadian born kids will know just about everything regarding my Guyanese/India  family, with pictures and video, including their young life.

I strongly believe every Guyanese parents should document their family history, so their 'overseas' children will know about their life in Guyana.  Because when  dem dead, who gun tell their children,  as adults.       

You just might be wasting your time, them kids ain't interested in the history of them ancestors unless you create a cliff notes version. 

antabanta posted:

Anta wasn’t there for the money. He was there for the government boots πŸ₯Ύ πŸ˜€

Budday ... I used to make around three or four hundred at NBS before going on cadet course where my salary jumped to (I think) $640 a month. When I left as a first lieutenant I was making over $2G a month. That was damn good money in Gy in the late 80s. Not to mention, was the best time of my life.

Some Guyanese  tend to look at the money in employment, which might be good.  But low wages and sacrifices have benefits later in life with job education and training.

I know someone who hated their first ten years in Canada with constant struggle at job/college/university in winter. But the qualification gave them a good job for the next 30 years with ongoing training, that benefitted them in retirement, with multiple pensions income. 

Some Guyanese I know tend to look  at things now, but seldom what that sacrifice might get them in the future. Especially if they screw up and don't plan for retirement, so they can have a part time job.     

sachin_05 posted:

The army in Guyana has been neutral in Guyana since 1992. Why are some people beating the race card with regards to the army ?

There has to a better effort to attract Indos to the army.

'What did the PPP do during their 23 years to balance the force ?'

Indians like to place blame on others for their misfortune.

But why did the PPP not balance the GDF/GPF during their 23 years ?

Maybe they were too busy building mansions and cared little about the voters who placed them in office.   

Last edited by Tola
Tola posted:

Tola, I remember when I went to East Ruimveldt Sec, we had gardening as a subject and we learned about composting etc. Banna, my family and many families of the kids also, complained about how we are not going to school to learn how to plant. Dude, I wish they teach more of this in schools, teach em survival skills. Not everyone makes it in the business world.

Cain, In additional to my autobiography and other short stories, I just wrote a 'short story' for our kids about my certificates and employment starting with Albion primary school. 

Years later when I was taking pictures,  the school was still  doing gardening, composting, wood work, book binding, hammock making, painting, drama, etc. Displayed on what was called 'Arts and crafts day/night' every year to parents, who bought some of the stuff.  

The certificates and some photos became part of my story of 20 pages.

I just bought 6 large Rubbermaid tubs for my historical material and collectables. Rass, I might need a semi to move. This included special boxes for the kids designated stuff.

These Canadian born kids will know just about everything regarding my Guyanese/India  family, with pictures and video, including their young life.

I strongly believe every Guyanese parents should document their family history, so their 'overseas' children will know about their life in Guyana.  Because when  dem dead, who gun tell their children,  as adults.       

You just might be wasting your time, them kids ain't interested in the history of them ancestors unless you create a cliff notes version. 

Wha rass you know, when dem reading and asking questions.

Go grow some balls to build a bridge, instead of a wall.  

Tola posted:
sachin_05 posted:

Maybe they were too busy building mansions and cared little about the voters who placed them in office.   

The PPP lost their morale compass during the last couple of terms. They did a lot for Guyana compared to the basket case economy that the PNC left the country with. 

Their recent defeat was a kick in the nuts for them. They acted too big for their pants. 

But look at what we have today. That was just an exchange. Moses and Ramjattan are also crooks. They promised change.

The current administration led by Granger and Moses are insulting Guyanese by acting like thugs and dictators. What is your opinion of Moses and Ramjattan ?

Tola posted:
sachin_05 posted:

The PPP lost their morale compass during the last couple of terms. They did a lot for Guyana compared to the basket case economy that the PNC left the country with. 

Their recent defeat was a kick in the nuts for them. They acted too big for their pants. 

But look at what we have today. That was just an exchange. Moses and Ramjattan are also crooks. They promised change.

The current administration led by Granger and Moses are insulting Guyanese by acting like thugs and dictators. What is your opinion of Moses and Ramjattan ?

I know Moses since 1963 when I photographed his controversial high school in Berbice. He also assisted us during a project in GY, but he changed in politics. Seems to care little about the ordinary person.

Regarding Ramjattan. It is not appropriate for an Indian minister to head the mostly African GPF. It looks like it was an appointment of failure, because he had no control of the GPF.    

antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

You should have encouraged them to stop drinking out their money before reaching home. Promotion is standard once certain prerequisite course are successfully completed and the individual does not lose seniority for offenses.

Right now I have nephews was in US army and air force, they both finish their four year contract and move on to free college that comes with the four years service. They certainly does not come home hungry or with taxi fare.

What advice you have  for them?

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:
antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

Right now I have nephews was in US army and air force, they both finish their four year contract and move on to free college that comes with the four years service. They certainly does not come home hungry or with taxi fare.

These are some of the benefits I mentioned, if a person join or stay with the GY military.  Even if they don't have free college, they will acquire some knowledge to go forward in their career. 

Tola posted:
sachin_05 posted:
antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

These are some of the benefits I mentioned, if a person join or stay with the GY military.  Even if they don't have free college, they will acquire some knowledge to go forward in their career. 

My brother became an ER surgeon on the GI bill!  He came out of Medical school almost debt free!

sachin_05 posted:
antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

Good thing they're not like the rest of your family. Convey my compliments to them.

Tola posted:

Chief of Staff Patrick West has implemented an extra year of training for officer cadets to be done at UG after which they students receive an associates degree. This new program is a big step in the right direction. Are you sure if GoG enhanced benefits for the military there would be no objections and backlash from the opposition?

Tola posted:

I know Moses since 1963 when I photographed his controversial high school in Berbice. He also assisted us during a project in GY, but he changed in politics. Seems to care little about the ordinary person.

Regarding Ramjattan. It is not appropriate for an Indian minister to head the mostly African GPF. It looks like it was an appointment of failure, because he had no control of the GPF.    

So Power changed Moses ? He rass used to to talk about Cheddi and Humility. He never practises what he preaches.

Regarding Ramjattan, are you saying that an Indo cannot hold a ministerial position that involves heading up security in Guyana ? I beg to differ, he is just simply incompetent. 

Indians handle the rigors elsewhere with no problems. They know the Blacks in Guyana is anti-indians, suh why bother. Your prejudice is showing.

Blackman only duz beat indian dey can manage, a badass coolie will chap he skont up. YUH doubting the Blackman duzz not beat up the timid cooolieman?

Yuh mo likely to chap up yuh wife fuss befo any black man. Yuh won't try dat shit, no matter how DRUNK you are (which is usually the case before the chopping up).

So if Indians can handle it and simply want no part of the military then what the Fck is alyuh problem? Why all the screaming, whining and shit talk about not enough Indians in the military?????

Joe Singh is Indian. Indians posting here were in the military and by their account did fine. So WTF is the problem? Look, just admit - the whole  lot of antiman, pu***y Indians posting here (and you know who you are KP, Dave, Seignet, Nehru and all the other shit talkers) are a bunch of WEAKLINGS whining about nothing!

Tola posted:

So Power changed Moses ? He rass used to to talk about Cheddi and Humility. He never practises what he preaches.

Regarding Ramjattan, are you saying that an Indo cannot hold a ministerial position that involves heading up security in Guyana ? I beg to differ, he is just simply incompetent. 

Regarding Ramjattan. Respect is earned and based on politics and racism in Guyana, African might have difficulty taking orders from an Indian.

I don't condemn a person for not doing a job properly. Most people mean well. Given proper tools and training they can accomplish any task.

Dealing with financial institutions in Canada, where a junior person causes delay and inconvenience, but decisions are made by a senior person. I have cautioned  managers to GO PUBLIC with  the matter, if the junior person is terminated, but given training to do their job properly.

I don't see Ramjattan or Rohee as incompetent, but given a tough job to do. So tough that officers in the NYPD/RCMP are committing suicide.   

I believe in any job position, relationships must first be established, before collaboration takes place. Most important is race relationships  between Guyana Indians  and Africans.   

antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:
antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

Good thing they're not like the rest of your family. Convey my compliments to them. 

The boys in Guyana, just like in the US moved on from army career but for different reasons. You may have stuck around longer but like my cousins you still end up migrating. It probably just take you a bit longer to see the glass ceiling...

sachin_05 posted:

The boys in Guyana, just like in the US moved on from army career but for different reasons. You may have stuck around longer but like my cousins you still end up migrating. It probably just take you a bit longer to see the glass ceiling...

No. I left after four years and only because I was coerced into it. There is no glass ceiling up to the rank of major. Ranks above Major are by political appointment. However, there is no such restriction for ORs who can be promoted up to WO1. There are many, I repeat, many, Indo WO1s in Guyana's military who are extremely well respected. Your argument is BS.

antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

No. I left after four years and only because I was coerced into it. There is no glass ceiling up to the rank of major. Ranks above Major are by political appointment. However, there is no such restriction for ORs who can be promoted up to WO1. There are many, I repeat, many, Indo WO1s in Guyana's military who are extremely well respected. Your argument is BS.

You don't have to believe argument. If you happen to visit Guyana, stop by John Fernand rice mill in Fairfield Mahaicony and talk to the security guard. He is one that was a career soldier never migrate - family man dose'nt drink, proudly riding his lifetime achievement big ben bicycle to his security job..

I wonder what percentage of GDF personnel suffered from PTSD like some of those p ussies who were in the armed forces over here?

Banna, Don’t apply civilian standards to military.  Military personnel are hardened up to withstand combat, killing, capture, torture, etc.  So they are put through the most rigorous test of mental and physical stress!  

I don’t support any type of actions which cause physical harm!  But the training must be to the edge.  They should also be put through the rigors of extreme mental stress as that will be needed in combat.

antabanta posted:
sachin_05 posted:

The Indian/African socializing I photographed at GDF weddings and friendships of both races I know,  don't seems to indicate a racial problem in the GDF.

In your opinion, what seems to restrict more Indians from joining the GDF ?  

Last edited by Tola

I wonder what percentage of GDF personnel suffered from PTSD like some of those p ussies who were in the armed forces over here?

Banna, Don’t apply civilian standards to military.  Military personnel are hardened up to withstand combat, killing, capture, torture, etc.  So they are put through the most rigorous test of mental and physical stress!  

I don’t support any type of actions which cause physical harm!  But the training must be to the edge.  They should also be put through the rigors of extreme mental stress as that will be needed in combat.

No argument here. Just saying some are too much of a p ussy to handle it so they develop PTSD.