Minister Patterson-Yearwood with her husband, Godfrey Yearwood and President David Granger on their wedding day. [Ministry of the Presidency photo]

The husband of Valerie Patterson-Yearwood, the Minister within the Ministry of Communities responsible for the housing sector, has a current contract to build houses for the Ministry under a special housing programme.

The housing programme is being carried out by the Central Planning Authority (CH&PA), which falls under the Ministry of Communities and for which Patterson-Yearwood has direct oversight.

But she suggested that she does not intervene in the work of the Board or influence its decisions. The CH&PA is located at the Minister’s Brickdam, Georgetown office.

She denied knowing whether her husband was granted contracts after the two got married but said she knew of the fact that he has a current contract.

“It’s one contract; I think it’s for two buildings.

“I am not too au fait with the details, because I don’t deal with contracts,” she told the News Room in a telephone interview Wednesday.

The Minister married the contractor and Pastor Godfrey Yearwood on August 16, 2017, at her residence in Bel Air Gardens, Georgetown.

To the question of whether her husband was granted contracts after their marriage, she replied: “I am not aware; I do not deal with contracts at CH&PA.”

The Minister said her husband was given contracts in 2016 and early 2017, just before they were married.

The Minister declared that the CH&PA board “is the only authorising” agency to grant contracts.”

She said that her husband was not pre-qualified with housing for contracts in 2018, 2019 nor “any future engagement.”

• mceclip0

Yes but when it also occurred under Jagdeo you didn't care, so why is this suddenly a problem?

It was wrong then for you. How is it right now?

exactly what corrupt act(s) is this junior minister being accused of?

Bel Air gardens that is a very wealthy white man area in Georgetown. This woman may be very wealthy to live there.

Banna, most of my Guyanese relatives live there.  It’s wealthy but not like DIH estate!

When I visited Georgetown 50 years ago you would not find even fake white man Cain living there. It was very wealthy and white.

50 years ago!!!  Banna, Guyana change nuff!!

Yes but when it also occurred under Jagdeo you didn't care, so why is this suddenly a problem?

Cronyism, bypassing the procurement process to get contracts.

again, please point to something real

thanks

thanks

Hey hey hey...yuh mattie doing good bai. Bai is ayoo time. Yu gat right foh defend yuh mattie tekking contract. Hey hey hey...

thanks

Hey hey hey...yuh mattie doing good bai. Bai is ayoo time.

when you find something interesting, let me know

everything else from you is guaranteed wet dogsh!t

thanks

Hey hey hey...yuh mattie doing good bai. Bai is ayoo time. Yu gat right foh defend yuh mattie tekking contract. Hey hey hey...

Snowy was missing after the CJ upheld the NCV. After the appeals court voided the NCV, the man is back with a vengeance. Paycheck flowing again!

thanks

Hey hey hey...yuh mattie doing good bai. Bai is ayoo time.

when you find something interesting, let me know

everything else from you is guaranteed wet dogsh!t

Doh is interesting bai. Ayoo was barking hard when PPP dey do de same ting...hey hey hey. 

Folks, don't sound surprised like you just came out of Chruch. This "all in the family" business happened under Jagdeo PPP many folds over. There are no sins in political corruption. This is what happens when them deh pun tap. Jagdeo is hoping to get on top of Granger to continue where he left off. All you wait and see. 

Well, it is indeed PNC business as usual: Cronyism, Nepotism, Incompetence, Stupidity and Ignorance. All the ingredients to make Guyana Progressive

Do you think that they are taking a page out of Trump playbook?