Wheelchair-assisted Isurdeen walks again

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Uttamkumar Isurdeen

UTTAMKUMAR Isurdeen, 34, a father of one, has been living with a disability after he was involved in a vehicular accident in 2010. He suffered tremendous damage to his spinal cord, and has been using a wheelchair ever since to assist with mobility.

But of late, things have been changing for the better for him. On Friday, Isurdeen confidently testified that he took his first step in nine years.

This was after an intervention was made, through the collaboration of the Ministry of Public Health with the PAHO/WHO and ProsthetiKa, an international agency on a mission to restore mobility to persons without it.

Collaborators started work at the Ptolemy Reid Rehabilitation Centre to provide orthotics by utilising multi-disciplinary measures to address spinal injuries and abnormalities.
A prosthetic brace was made to support Isurdeen’s hips, knees, ankles and feet to assist with relative movement. He remarked that the intervention has changed his life, “and it is only the beginning”.

Isurdeen recalled the accident when he was in the front passenger seat of a minibus, which was being driven at a reckless rate, causing the vehicle to flip several times, seriously injuring the passengers onboard.

“Since then, up until now, I thought it was a huge setback. However, I didn’t think about giving up, despite there was no advanced technology which would help me to walk again. But, today is the day, after nine years, I took my first set of steps. It was a breakthrough for me to get a brace, to stand up,” he said.

Isurdeen walking with orthosis support which has restored his mobility (DPI photo)

Jon Batzdorff, President of ProsthetiKa, said, “We made this HKAFO (hip, knee, ankle and foot orthosis), and it was a big job; everybody worked on this job. So he put it on and was ready to try it; to stand up independently. He stood and waved; that was another victory.”

According to Batzdorff, the project changes people’s lives, and ProsthetiKa is happy to have given Isurdeen the opportunity to be mobile again. This service offered by ProsthetiKa is provided free of charge to beneficiaries, as these braces could amount to hundreds of thousands of Guyana dollars.

Batzdorff said he never expected Isurdeen to be walking on the very first day after trying the brace, and that minor adjustments will have to be made to allow him to walk more ably with support from the orthosis.

Isurdeen said he is soon to begin a new job in an administrative capacity, and is quite excited to be working again, since the orthosis will play a major role in his new job. He shared that while using the wheelchair to get around, he kept himself active by being heavily involved in sports, particularly in 5k and 10k races that are hosted around the country, along with other athletic activities.

Isurdeen said his wife and his nine-year-old son remain his source of support and motivation.
“I want others who might have been injured to be able to join this programme and be more improved than I am,” Isurdeen said. (DPI)

There is more than one wheel chair bound poster on this forum.  And another one has the markings of a patient with a recent stroke. Maybe we should post more threads with treatment and rehab information. Living with a disability requires a lot of support from the community.  Not everyone can afford to pay women to sleep over to help cook their meals.

Does Guyana have a safety driving course for drivers like we do in the US?

If they don't then it is time they do.  Drivers should be educated about the dangers of driving and the personal disasters it cause in the so many lives. 

There are kids driving cars in Guyana now. Early this morning an 18 year old killed himself at Land of Canaan, EBD. 

Government and the insurance companies have to work together to help reduce accidents on the roads.  To do this they will have to require drivers to take a safety driving course to keep their license and keep their insurance premiums down.  If the don't adhere to the law then the insurance companies should increase their premiums sky high or the dept. of motor vehicle could also suspend their licenses. It's about time to get drivers to be disciplined and responsible.  

Druggie would still have a problem with where to store his goads as he moves around. 

Nah, bai, no problem as ah would put de goads in yuh mouth. Ah hear yuh can suck good good and might bring am down. 

I hope DrugB is well and he is not really in a wheelchair.   

I think Drugb been on a joy ride on the wheelchair for the longest while it's his way of drawing sympathy while he gets impunity to degrade and insult his enemies.  Smart game being played on G NI. This is no different than posters pretending to be the best of which they are no where close.

I know a soldier girl who got injuries in Iraq. She now has some type of robotics attached to her legs and she can walk again. So there is hope for Drugb.

Do they make prosthetic lolo too?  some of dese pnc chaps hey can do with a little help in that regard since viagra cyant help dem. 

I think Drugb been on a joy ride on the wheelchair for the longest while it's his way of drawing sympathy while he gets impunity to degrade and insult his enemies.  Smart game being played on G NI. This is no different than posters pretending to be the best of which they are no where close.

Druggie don't need sympathy. Wheelchair life is what you make it, you can either embrace it or run mad. Don't overthink too much or yuh might tun psychologist fuh bmh. 

What are you Drugb or Druggie or bgurd.  Your wheelchair novelty has expired, how about being Blind?

Prash, with your vast knowledge of everything, do you have any info on a goady machine...somethin perhaps in titanium for manouverability?

Ah know a man who need one. We could perhaps do a GofundDagoads?

What are you Drugb or Druggie or bgurd.  Your wheelchair novelty has expired, how about being Blind?

Ah like da one hehehe.

Prashad got stump there.  I don't know anything about goady machines because I never saw a soldier with a goady but I am certain that the man's braces cost between 8 to 10 thousand dollars US for the pair because I saw similar pairs made for injured soldiers and that was the price that the US government had to pay.

Some real idiotic and insensitive comments on this thread.  

This thread brought out the goodness of our members, we are pulling together for one goal, to make it easier for those afflicted to enjoy their lives and be independent. What part you got problem with?