Immigrated, most certainly. I came from the land of mud and that mud seepd into the brains of Burnham, Jagan and Granger. Two blackman and wan kulie. Jagdeo is de only Guyanese, de man love black wimen like he forefathers of 1838. Granger is a bigot, for that reason I dun wid Guyana, no moh langings. Even the nice nice food gat no more taste.

Canada, bestest country in de whole wide world. Only Trudeau and he late faddah have/had an issue wid America. Contrary Francaphones. English speaking ppl understand the Yanks.  Never would live in dat country America though, too many tribes. And the policemen are too trigger happy. Dem muslims over there love to convert Trump rednecks. Licks going pass in 2020, the posse on here are so tasty. And I duz wander at dem postings on the Trump. Wan guy on here want to have the Missus in a forced coitus situation. He doan like foreplay de woman, he rather ram it in as a punishment/hatred for the Trump. 

Man, deh weather is cold bad bad. I looking fuh a warm place since I had dem bypasses. Leslie seys Spain is perfect for me. Suh, gweing wan day soon.

Alienation and loneliness, not really. I like the GNI discussions, keeps me thinking all the time. And wuk keeps me busy too, I am like the old Hindu, geometric shape and mathematical application keeps me brains cells active.

Never worry about prejudices, hate or racism. Mars, Antabanana and D2 are replicas of what I experienced wid black hatred in Guyana. Only fools think that prejudices can be wiped out by mankind. Only The Lord Jesus Christ can change the attitudes of mankind. No man made laws can mek those three chaps tolerate EAST INDIANS of Guyana.

Gan fuh now.

Quantum posted:

Please share your views and personal experiences on this topic.  Do you still experience a longing for "home".  Do the long and cold winters bother you?  What about alienation and loneliness?  Is prejudice in the personal or work spheres an issue? Do you feel validated in your decision to immigrate?

Quantum,

I used to long for home in the early years (30 years ago). No more longing as we become more adjusted and grounded in North America. I am now more Canadian than I am Guyanese but still love my motherland.

Winter takes getting used to, especially our brutally cold Canadian winters. I now go for my walks even during the colder days. It is good for the mind and health.

I never get lonely because I have my family and 99.99 percent of my relatives live in the Good Old USA.

Never had any issue with prejudices in Canada. God bless our beautiful and tolerant country.

If I were to do it again, I will still immigrate to Canada. Zero regrets. I visit USA and see a totally different country. 

Home is where the heart is. The US has been my home since 1987 although at first there were elements in Guyana that still drew my mind back to it. That has not been the case for more than two decades now as the one of the two major elements in my live came into this world in 1995. Today, had it not been for my constant visit to GNI, I wouldn't even remember that Guyana exists. It means nothing to me anymore and I don't foresee it ever again. I am not like Desmonds whose dream was to return home when he dies and indeed was returned home after he died. My cathedral now is that space which my wife and two children occupy.

Guys, I really appreciate how open you have been with your answers.  For me, the big negative of Canada is the long and very cold winter. It is not just the cold, it is the CONFINING effect of the cold.  I mean, for about 6 months you can't go outside without wearing 20 pounds of clothes.  Skies are grey.  Can get pretty depressing.  I have found that going to the mall and walking around helps, as one sees people, bright lights etc and the temperature is controlled.

That said, there are many pluses to Canada: 

* The 'free' medical care, which one needs and appreciates more as one ages.

* Physically, it is a clean, relatively safe and beautiful country.  Spring is nice and Fall / Autumn is SO beautiful.  I mean the leaves on the trees are a riot of colours!

* Canadians are generally polite and friendly.  Racism here is not virulent.  Where it exists it is generally subtle, systemic and restrained, not 'In your face' like in the US.

All of that said, I still miss Guyana at times. But what I miss is a long gone Guyana.  That country has changed and, sadly, in many ways, not for the better. Frankly, all the massive immigration has affected the social fabric of Guyana.  It seems that most of the more refined people left and those there now are a different breed, so to speak.  Of course, there are many good people still there too.

Quantum posted:

All of that said, I still miss Guyana at times. But what I miss is a long gone Guyana.  That country has changed and, sadly, in many ways, not for the better. Frankly, all the massive immigration has affected the social fabric of Guyana.  It seems that most of the more refined people left and those there now are a different breed, so to speak.  Of course, there are many good people still there too.

That is the only part I miss.

Amral

Thanks for the responses.  I guess the answer really does depend on who you are speaking to.  The other day a Guyanese guy who has been in Toronto for about 45 years told me he still doesn't feel like he belongs.  Not that he had very bad experiences with the 'mainstream' mind you.  Something that seems to make a difference is if someone has a lot of family members here, who also immigrated from Guyana - AND they family members are close and get along well.  Then, it is like they have portable roots (their family) and that helps them to feel much more settled here and they don't miss Guyana at all - or very little anyway.  They have recreated their world right here.

They are conspiring and they don't want to resolve the racism maybe because the aliens are racist for a good reason

The change of seasons is good here in the Bronx of NY. Social life is bad because you have to fight to get a fine girl. It is like the police support this lifestyle because they don't discuss it or resolve it.

The US government is oppressive with war and taxes. They say the Russians know something about Trump and that is why he says that Russia did not tamper with elections. Maybe Trump and Putin had sex.

Doubletalk in America!!!

Maybe oil money will allow us to return to Guyana. Evil hands are delaying a good outcome and they may never admit that oil is there to me and you.

Just hope Aliens will help to resolve the inconceivable.

Videos (1)
My opinion on Social issues
Ronald Anthony Arjune