Granger wants more use of cassava flour in place of wheat flour

IMG0492A

July 27,2016

President David Granger has touted the use more cassava and other gluten-free flours as a mean of staying ‘healthier’.

And for the use of sweet potato and cassava flour to become more accepted the President, who was at the time speaking on the side-lines of a workshop for newly appointed ambassadors, said it should be used in hospitals, the Guyana Defence Force and the Guyana Prison Service.

However as reports of Granger’s comment went viral Guyanese commenting on social media reflected on the period when the Forbes Burnham led PNC government banned the importation of wheaten flour, split peas, onions, garlic, milk, sardines, corned beef and other food items and forcefully promoted the use of cassava, rice, plantain and corn flours. This led to an escalation of smuggling and also resulted in Guyanese having to endure shortages and long lines for basic food items.

The move to ban wheat flour by the Burnham government was also seen as an attack against the predominantly Indo-Guyanese supporters of the People’s Progressive Party who used the staple as part of their daily diet and for religious purposes.

IMG0492A

July 27,2016

President David Granger has touted the use more cassava and other gluten-..

The move to ban wheat flour by the Burnham government was also seen as an attack against the predominantly Indo-Guyanese supporters of the People’s Progressive Party who used the staple as part of their daily diet and for religious purposes.

So typical of a clannish and racist people. Flour was a staple for ALL Guyanese because bread is especially important to poor people.

I remember when Burnham had banned flour and Viola had once visited Line Path Secondary pushing the use of rice and cassava flour to students.

It was so funny to watch as these Hypocrites load up their vehicle with Wheat flour seized from Indos at Crabwood Creek from the same day and they loaded up Viola's vehicle with the same wheat flour.

The actions and deeds of the PNC were criminal and continues in a very criminal nature towards Indos.

This racist Carib wants to erase the crimes of the PNC from the history of Guyana.

Shame on Carib.

Django why don't you go back and eat the cassava flour instead of hiding behind your computer keyboard 3,000 miles away?  You are a hypocrite!!

Django Bhai's post appears to be headed in that direction.

Indos used to get white mouth. Carib wants to erase these types of injustices.

Yes, Granger and Harmon were Burnham's right hand men.

Django why don't you go back and eat the cassava flour instead of hiding behind your computer keyboard 3,000 miles away?  You are a hypocrite!!

Django isn't going anywhere.  He was there recently.  Ran back to his white neighborhood in Connecticut quickly and back to bashing Indians again.  Cowards die many times before their death.

He saw the madness firsthand and ran away. If he is true to himself, he would speak the truth. He hinted about it after his return but did a 360 on us today.

Django is deeply confused. Dementia is stepping in early. Django bhai, please, have someone take you to a doctor..don't go alone.

You don't know me i am no weakling and can't be pushed around easily.

Django is deeply confused. Dementia is stepping in early. Django bhai, please, have someone take you to a doctor..don't go alone.

Banna what wrong with you,I man don't reach that stage don't think it will,so far i am gud no meds that happens when you come from good stock,some of the generation is 80+ and tagging along.

Bhai every one doing what they have to do,well in my area i saw some stupidity where them fellas need lil pull up,i plan to go back on a regular basis.

In terms of health and nutrition, what is wrong with rice flour or cassava flour? During the 1980s I ate roti made from rice flour and survived. The increased demand for rice flour and cassava flour was a welcome source of income for rice farmers and ground provision farmers. 

However, as yuji22 correctly points out, there was manifest deception and hypocrisy by PNC leaders who preached one thing and practised the opposite. As a Principal Assistant Secretary in the public service, my uncle was at one time attached to the Civil Defence Commission and PNC Vice President Cammie Ramsaroop's office. One Sunday in 1983 my uncle accompanied Ramsaroop and some soft ball players to Leonora. He visited our Uitvlugt home and invited me to watch the game at Leonora Park. Lunch break came and we were invited to the home of a lumber dealer named Sukul, a known PNC man. There was wheat flour roti, channa curry and real split peas dhal. VP Ramsaroop knew full well what he ate but didn't raise an eyebrow. But his government was harassing poor people found with five pounds of wheat flour. Blatant hypocrisy and deception. 

Anyway, all of that does not negate the fact that rice flour and cassava flour are nutritious. 

"Lumber dealer named Sukul, a known PNC man."

Gilly,uncle Sukul was a great fella,another person to mentioned is Uncle Deo Mahadeo [still around] he encouraged me to start my own business in the 80's and helped a lot to get clients.

All these hypocrites are the same.  They ran away from the PNC hardships, now they wishing upon t Guyanese people the same medicine.  Sick people!!

In terms of health and nutrition, what is wrong with rice flour or cassava flour? During the 1980s I ate roti made from rice flour and survived. The increased demand for rice flour and cassava flour was a welcome source of income for rice farmers and ground provision farmers. 

However, as yuji22 correctly points out, there was manifest deception and hypocrisy by PNC leaders who preached one thing and practised the opposite. As a Principal Assistant Secretary in the public service, my uncle was at one time attached to the Civil Defence Commission and PNC Vice President Cammie Ramsaroop's office. One Sunday in 1983 my uncle accompanied Ramsaroop and some soft ball players to Leonora. He visited our Uitvlugt home and invited me to watch the game at Leonora Park. Lunch break came and we were invited to the home of a lumber dealer named Sukul, a known PNC man. There was wheat flour roti, channa curry and real split peas dhal. VP Ramsaroop knew full well what he ate but didn't raise an eyebrow. But his government was harassing poor people found with five pounds of wheat flour. Blatant hypocrisy and deception. 

Anyway, all of that does not negate the fact that rice flour and cassava flour are nutritious. 

Pure sh1t.  You ran your rass away because of the hardships, now let the Guyanese go back to the PNC 80's of hunger, desperation and destitution. Racism and Apartheid already becoming the norm.  Well thanks but no thanks..  YOU go back and hack it out.

The PPP moved Guyana forward out of that darkness of the PNC, but that is not exciting enough, lets get some action, right!!

You people are a bunch of shamelss scoundrels!!

ba$eman posted:

Pure sh1t.  You ran your rass away because of the hardships, now let the Guyanese go back to the PNC 80's of hunger, desperation and destitution. Racism and Apartheid already becoming the norm.  Well thanks but no thanks..  YOU go back and hack it out.

The PPP moved Guyana forward out of that darkness of the PNC, but that is not exciting enough, lets get some action, right!!

Bhai is Uncle Tom friend NEEMAKARAMISM is the common link!!!!

Mr.T posted:

Didn't you boast once that he is a close family member of yours?

UH???????????  Ease up on the dope.

Mr.T posted:

Didn't you boast once that he is a close family member of yours?

UH???????????  Ease up on the dope.

Bai I am positively sure that you are a Neemakar as well.

ba$eman posted:

All these hypocrites are the same.  They ran away from the PNC hardships, now they wishing upon t Guyanese people the same medicine.  Sick people!!

Who the r....s you calling hypocrite,have I ever labeled you ?

I .

This racist Carib wants to erase the crimes of the PNC from the history of Guyana.

Shame on Carib.

Vishmahabir comment on this.  I ALWAYS say that the PNC was as racist as the PPP was.  I ALWAYS say that BOTH Indians and blacks suffered racism.

Do you think that this moron yearns for a free Guyana?  NO he wants a return to the days when he used to scream "ahbe pan tap, black man time done" and boasting that Guyana would never again have a black president as the PNC is a "40%" party!

And the things is his attitude reflects that of the MAJORITY of Indians in Guyana.  Let any Indian start any honest discussion of racism in Guyana, with a notion that BOTH major groups are guilty of this, and BOTH major groups suffered, and that person is called all sorts of epithets.

This thing that you wish that Granger should "convince" Indians is just a ploy to divert discussion away from the fact that Jagdeo is guilty of the SAME racism that he condemns, and if he returned to power he would continue with this SAME racism!

ba$eman posted:

Baseman in between 1991 and 2012 the Indo population fell from 49% of the total to 40%.  The population of Region 6 fell by 25%.

Why if the PPP era brought back glories?  Now one would think that those who fled during the Burnham era would have returned, especially given that many had merely fled over the Corentyne River to Suriname.

But no!  Why?  Apparently washing toilets and cutting grass for middle class blacks in Barbados, Tortola or  Nevis was preferable to living in Jagdeo's country.

July 27,2016

I do not know in what context it was used but the above reporting is pure crass racist garbage. Wheaten flour is not healthy. It spikes blood glucose   more than sugar It is the reason for much of our diabetics, over weight among other associated illness.  Since we  rely heavily on it as our primary food source we need to change our habits to be more healthy. It means using less wheat flower by introducing other grains. It means eating rotie twice a week instead of every day.  using rice noodles instead of standard flour noodles and cutting back on pastries.  Instead on accepting a health fact this article instead proceeded directly to the stupid racist bilge.

ba$eman posted:

Pure sh1t.  You ran your rass away because of the hardships,.. [BIG LIE. I ran away in 1996 during PPP time.]

Google rice flour and you'll see its benefits. EXAMPLE

ba$eman posted:

You ran away from PNC hardship, no food, no medical, no electricity, lawlessness, racism, hatred, destitution and hopelessness.  Now you wish upon the people of Guyana just what make you run, no hope.  That is, by definition, hypocrisy!

ba$eman posted:

You ran away from PNC hardship, no food, no medical, no electricity, lawlessness, racism, hatred, destitution and hopelessness.  Now you wish upon the people of Guyana just what make you run, no hope.  That is, by definition, hypocrisy!

Listen banna i left in 1996,the PPP was in gov't i voted for  them in 1992 and also assisted using my own resources to get the voters to the polling station.I did not run from PNC you got all wrong.I stop supporting them after the party became undemocratic.

You seem to think labeling individuals will keep them quiet,that's typical of the current PPP crew.

Gilbakka seh he run away fram Guyana in 1996. Django seh he run away fram Guyana in 1996 too. Two West Demerara coolie run away fram PPP Guyana de same year. Are they fo real? Look out: somebaddy go seh Gilbakka and Django are two nicks of one individual becaz de same kinda ideas coming fram botha dem.

If Granger said that Guyanese must start to ear dogs and cats, you will definitely make a case for him. No surprised in my corner. Everyone knows you're in the losing league.

ba$eman posted:

Please do not project your suffering on everyone.  Also for most of the PPP era had the same condition and movement of people took place. Even today, decades after independence we are not far from the that era because despite all your big mouth about the PPP doings we still have high mortality rates for children, little or no post and pre natal care and no trauma center.  Note that is hypocrisy.

BTW The PPP our performed the PNC on every metric. They stole more, they killed more, they had more contempt for us. Imagine how shameless your racism is. You give the PNC poor marks for everything. They do not have the smarts for even a cake shop per your evaluation. Yet the have enough smarts to our perform the gargantuan theft of the PPP in your pathetic mind!

Interesting how radically  people change their political views when they choose to support another party.  The contradict everything they said before and pretend as if they were never that person they once was. 

Never say "I'll never be a nemakharaan". Never say Never.

Interesting how radically  people change their political views when they choose to support another party.  The contradict everything they said before and pretend as if they were never that person they once was. 

Never say "I'll never be a nemakharaan". Never say Never.

That is because most of you pretend you are for our people, justice and Guyana but in your mind that means a exclusivity on the hold of power. While in office most here were blind to the apportionment of state office by race; they were blind to the nepotism and marganialization of Africans. Well don't cry when that is being torn down.

I .

Shame on Carib.

Vishmahabir comment on this.  I ALWAYS say that the PNC was as racist as the PPP was.  I ALWAYS say that BOTH Indians and blacks suffered racism.

Do you think that this moron yearns for a free Guyana?  NO he wants a return to the days when he used to scream "ahbe pan tap, black man time done" and boasting that Guyana would never again have a black president as the PNC is a "40%" party!

And the things is his attitude reflects that of the MAJORITY of Indians in Guyana.  Let any Indian start any honest discussion of racism in Guyana, with a notion that BOTH major groups are guilty of this, and BOTH major groups suffered, and that person is called all sorts of epithets.

This thing that you wish that Granger should "convince" Indians is just a ploy to divert discussion away from the fact that Jagdeo is guilty of the SAME racism that he condemns, and if he returned to power he would continue with this SAME racism!

"say that BOTH Indians and blacks suffered PNC racism"You were saying that from day one 1992 even before PPP came to power. By the way the US white people been using the same line "both blacks and whites suffer equally under US law enforcement..." Saying something over and over dose not mean its true...

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:

"say that BOTH Indians and blacks suffered PNC racism"You were saying that from day one 1992 even before PPP came to power. By the way the US white people been using the same line "both blacks and whites suffer equally under US law enforcement..." Saying something over and over dose not mean its true...

Guyana didn't begin in 1964.  The PPP was in power and it discriminated against blacks between 1961 and 1964.  The PYO assaulted blacks and their property, so yes prior to 1992 both blacks and Indians suffered.

Funny that you equate blacks in Guyana with whites in the USA.

Now tell me all about all the wealth that is in the hands of blacks in Guyana. Describe the total domination of the Guyanese economy by blacks.  Discuss the fact that most CEOs of major Guyanese corporations are black.  

In Guyana blacks are by no means a dominant group, so your comparison with white Americans is laughable.

I see that you just want me to scream with you that all of the racism in Guyana is generated by blacks, and that only Indians have suffered, and that if I don't agree with you I am racist.

BTW thanks for acknowledging that I have blamed both blacks and Indians for racism since I began posting on GNI.

Cobra posted:

If Granger said that Guyanese must start to ear dogs and cats, you will definitely make a case for him. No surprised in my corner. Everyone knows you're in the losing league.

Hey cobra, you're not intelligent and upstanding as your cousin Prince. I prefer to interact with him. This is my final response to you.

Cobra posted:

Hey cobra, you're not intelligent and upstanding as your cousin Prince. I prefer to interact with him. This is my final response to you.

Prince, Cobra, Scorpian King etc are the same...Paul Jairam aka Jay Pooran aka Girly Man.

You sure, Stormy? Prince told me in no uncertain terms that Cobra is his cousin just like Shaitaan. I gave him the benefit of the doubt. Now, with the reliable info you've just provided, all I can say it that that individual is a scoundrel, plain and simple.