Hog Island businessman attacked and robbed at Vreed-en-Hoop

A Hog Island, Essequibo River businessman was on Wednesday night attacked and robbed at Vreed-en-Hoop on the West Coast of Demerara.

The Police in a statement yesterday said that they are investigating the armed robbery on Thakoor Singh, 55, a businessman of Eastern Hog Island  which occurred at  9.30 pm at the Vreed-en-Hoop Stelling.

The police say that he was robbed of one Blu cellphone with sim valued $8000 and an undisclosed amount of cash.

Source:

In the 1960s I had  a penfriend at Hog Island whom  I visited.  Late one afternoon the ferry dropped me off at the Hogg Island Stelling and no one else was around.  I could have used my cell phone to make contact, but me feget it at home. It was getting dark when I heard the sound of an outboard motor and I was taken to  the other side of the island.  Their house was in the middle of the jungle  and the outhouse was a distance away,  with many snakes on the path.

This was the beginning of writing penfriends, that grew into dozens of people in the Caribbean and other countries. I visited many after I came to Canada and worked at sea.

Since Hog Island is so isolated, I wonder how safe and populated the island must be now. Its remoteness could be ideal for illegal activities.   

@Tola posted:

In the 1960s I had  a penfriend at Hog Island whom  I visited.  Late one afternoon the ferry dropped me off at the Hogg Island Stelling and no one else was around.  I could have used my cell phone to make contact, but me feget it at home. It was getting dark when I heard the sound of an outboard motor and I was taken to  the other side of the island.  Their house was in the middle of the jungle  and the outhouse was a distance away,  with many snakes on the path.

This was the beginning of writing penfriends, that grew into dozens of people in the Caribbean and other countries. I visited many after I came to Canada and worked at sea.

Since Hog Island is so isolated, I wonder how safe and populated the island must be now. Its remoteness could be ideal for illegal activities.   

You had a cell phone in 1960?

@seignet posted:

After 28 years since the change of the PNC Forbes government, the PPP still cannot get the crime situation under control. Are they capable?

You right. they don't seem to handle the criminals well because crime is centrally directed by the PNC.  When I go down there, I will teach those criminals a lesson they would never forget. I would kick their backside so hard that their hemorrhoids will come through their mouths.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You right. they don't seem to handle the criminals well because crime is centrally directed by the PNC.  When I go down there, I will teach those criminals a lesson they would never forget. I would kick their backside so hard that their hemorrhoids will come through their mouths.

You are like other big talk seniors who visit Guyana and come back in either a wheelchair or a box. One look at dem young bandit in Guyana and you gun run fa cova. In fact, it don't only happen to seniors. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Ramaji, dem boyz really scared of you. They would like to know which foot yuh gonna use? Have mercy! Please!