WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT WHEN AFRICANS VOTE FOR THE PNC THEY ARE ASSERTING ETHNIC PRIDE BUT WHEN INDIANS VOTE FOR THE PPP IT IS RACISM

Dear Editor,

The ethnic issue has always played a major role in our elections. Both PPP and the PNC have in their own ways appealed to the ethnic sentiment of their base support. In every general election, excepting those between 1964 and 1992, which were blatantly rigged by the PNC, race was the deciding factor.

Perhaps the best example of ethnic loyalty was seen in the 1992 general elections. Even after years of atrocities against its own supporters, not to speak of the supporters of the other major party, the results showed that the PNC received almost 100% African votes.

Indians, too, voted race but it is they who have been denounced and have had to pay a heavy price for their choice. One top WPA leader who now resides happily and comfortably in the “belly of the beast” told me in strong theological language that Indians needed to be “rebuked.” To date, I have never heard a call to rebuke Africans the same “crime,” race voting.

Tragically, this mindset of blaming Indians for their “ethnic preference” has continued to the present time with many people berating Indians for their political choice at every election, the present election being no exception. Some columnists and commentators have made it a kind of industry to each single out Indians for abuse and have gone so far to advocate punishment for Indians. Some dehumanize and punish Indians with their pens in newspaper columns, while others do it on the streets.

The sum of what we are being told is when Africans vote for the PNC they are asserting “ethnic pride.” When Indians vote for the PPP, it is racism. This hegemonic narrative is dominant and widespread. The production, preservation, reproduction, propagation and inculcation of this discourse that grants carte blanche legitimacy and sanctity to African ethnic expression, paradoxically and simultaneously, seeks to demonise and delegitimize similar ethnic expressions of the Indian community.

One of the most perplexing phenomena of modern political life in Guyana, is that the authors and originators of this discourse of asymmetry, are lionized and praised for giving expressions to the African ethnic pride and aspirations, while those who seek to engage in an articulation, however erratically and unsystematically, of an Indian ethnic pride are devilised and denounced by the very propagators of the African ethnic discourse as Indian supremacists and diabolical racists. Virtue in one is vice in the other.

The outcome of this systematic intellectual and cultural indoctrination, hegemonisation and domination has been two fold. On the one hand it has led to the virtual total absence of an Indian discourse among Indian intellectuals and politicians. Where, for example, is the Indian counterpart of the view, “that my activism is dedicated to the defence and furtherance of African Guyanese interests?” Such an Indian, if he dares to speak will be vilified and ostracized, in part, by the very authors of the African ethnic discourse.

The second outcome of this hegemonisation has been the creation of a larger number of de-culturalised and de-ethnicised Indians who have long learned to “ignore their normal ethnic considerations,” who have internalized the oppression, who now place themselves in the forefront of the vilification of Indians and who are elevated and celebrated as “model Indians.”

Having declared their shame of being Indian, they make it their duty to humiliate, vilify, denigrate, demonise Indians who, in their view, fit the bill of being “Indian supremacists.” Silencing any Indian who entertains even the pretension of speaking about “ethnic honour,” “ethnic pride” etc., of Indian people is the pre-eminent duty of this class.

But above all, the worst crime of the Indians in this country is their “loyalty to the PPP,” for which no punishment is enough. Because Indians also choose to assert their “ethnic honour” in not abandoning the PPP, we are given an analysis of the “nature of the Indian psyche.” We hear of the “lacerated psyche of the Guyanese Indians.” And, to cap it all, we are informed that, “the nature of the Hindu religion has had a traumatizing effect on the Indian psyche.” The fallacy of equating Hindu and Indian does not dawn on this analyst.

Yours faithfully,

Swami Aksharananda

Here's a nice message for you Indians: pull up ayuh pants an dhoti and learn to be men.

There is no need to apologize for being Indian with the trite "I'm not Indian" nonsense.

Nigel Hughes didn't check his Blackness at the door when he joined the AFC. And good for him! That's a man!

Here's a nice message for you Indians: pull up ayuh pants an dhoti and learn to be men.

There is no need to apologize for being Indian with the trite "I'm not Indian" nonsense.

Nigel Hughes didn't check his Blackness at the door when he joined the AFC. And good for him! That's a man!

YUh harsh on Moses the jumping Rabbit.

Moses is gonna lose the Indian vote because he doan understand Indians. A man who understands Indians will know that even though abbe weak kneed politicians and so-called "intellectuals" like to run away as far as possible from their identity and the very word "Indian", the average Indian of all stripes of all categories is generally proud of his heritage and asserts it as he can be no other. I'm not a whiteman (part time or full time), a Black man, an Amerindian, but an Indian. This is me!

I am not superior to anyone for any reason whatsoever but I am also no man's inferior.

Moses lost me and other Indians at "I'm not Indian." He ain't Indian so he doan need no Indian votes.

Moses is gonna lose the Indian vote because he doan understand Indians. A man who understands Indians will know that even though abbe weak kneed politicians and so-called "intellectuals" like to run away as far as possible from their identity and the very word "Indian", the average Indian of all stripes of all categories is generally proud of his heritage and asserts it as he can be no other. I'm not a whiteman (part time or full time), a Black man, an Amerindian, but an Indian. This is me!

I am not superior to anyone for any reason whatsoever but I am also no man's inferior.

Moses lost me and other Indians at "I'm not Indian." He ain't Indian so he doan need no Indian votes.

Poor Moses, he probably think Dark Skin Madrasi are not Indian but just MAD.

Who knows?

But to the point I can respect a man like General Granger who will never ever say "I'm not Black" or "I'm not African." I can never ever respect a man who insists on denying his core identity as a member of a particular tribe of the human family.

Look at dem Jaganite jaats hey who bray daily about Indian racism because Indians support the PPP. Anyone of them chastise PNC supporters for racism in their racial/tribal/ethnic voting patterns?

No sahib! I think not.

Who knows?

But to the point I can respect a man like General Granger who will never ever say "I'm not Black" or "I'm not African." I can never ever respect a man who insists on denying his core identity as a member of a particular tribe of the human family.

Look at dem Jaganite jaats hey who bray daily about Indian racism because Indians support the PPP. Anyone of them chastise PNC supporters for racism in their racial/tribal/ethnic voting patterns?

No sahib! I think not.

Tomorrow worg=d for discussion on the Moses Video will be RESPECT.  Hope you can join us.  Today's word was DIGNITY.

I am not here to bash Moses for saying that he is not Indian. The Presidential candidate, David Granger never denied that he is an Afro-Guyanese, or claimed to be an Amerindian. If what Moses said plays a negative factor in the election, he has no one else to blame than himself.

......the trite "I'm not Indian" nonsense.

Shaits, did you deliberately leave out the context here "I am not an Indian, I am Guyanese"? You cannot deny your physical characteristics and DNA, so it would be foolish to suppose when an Indian says "I'm not an Indian" that there is not a complete sentence that you're missing the other part of.

We call that being disingenuous BTW.

Caribny is your literary comrade-in-arms for his literal use of magic and Moses, as if we all render onto Moses some magical attributes. Now I see you run with the context-less quote.....hehehehe...

I see that Shaits engaging his intellectual peer Nehru

Did you have to bring yourself down a few notches to regale with Nehru over the magical Moses denial of being Indian?

Aaahhh...it's good to get a laff in a serious discourse now and then.

WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT WHEN AFRICANS VOTE FOR THE PNC THEY ARE ASSERTING ETHNIC PRIDE BUT WHEN INDIANS VOTE FOR THE PPP IT IS RACISM

Dear Editor,

Utter nonsense.  When Africans vote PNC they are voting their ethnic fears of ethnic exclusion, and when we see what has happened since 1992, these fears are not unfounded.

Africans vote PNC for the same reasons that the Indians vote PPP.

As to 1992 the only alternate that Africans had was the WPA, which by then was a shadow of its former self.  Africans were not going to vote PPP. Why they they when we see how the PPP treated them in 1957-64 and since 1992?

BTW most mixed Guyanese also vote PNC out of a fear of the PPP and its racism towards them.  Are they too expressing "ethnic pride" or just plain paranoia towards a regime which they see as Indocentric and exclusionary of all who arent?

FACT

The PPP has made NO concessions to African paranoia towards them.  They appoint a few black tokens, few of whom have any real clout within the PPP.  NONE of whom have displayed any tendency to defend Africans against racist elements within the PPP. 

In fact one of them presided over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs when it refused to appoint blacks as heads of mission.  Another one, when asked why blacks were totally under represented in top leadership positions opined that he didnt know and offered the explanation that maybe Africans were unqualified.  So why would Africans have any reason to believe that these characters would defend their interests in an Indian dominated regime?

FACT

APNU has conceded to a party which has now been transformed to an alternate Indian party 40% of the cabinet positions, a role in appointing heads of state controlled entities, and also in determining the structure of the ministries. It will have within its portfolio, the Ministries of Agriculture and Home Affairs, to areas of Indian concern.

No one thinks that the AFC will bring more than 20-25% of the votes that the coalition will obtain, and indeed there is the risk that they might well fall far short of that. 

The PNC accepted the premise that it needed not only to demonstrate in a real sense that it was aware that it was distrusted by most Indians, but it also needed to develop a plan to prevent the likelihood of an African dominated PNC gov't resulting in monoracial African rule.

The PNC has given the AFC the ability to virtually destroy its gov't if they, the AFC, feel that they are unhappy with the relationship.  Given that no one is predicting that the PPP will only win 20 seats, if the AFC leaves the coalition and then pushes for a MONC then APNU crumbles.

I look forward to hearing from the PPP as to measures that it will take to allay the fears that blacks have towards the PPP.  They have lived for over 22 years under PPP rule and still see it as racist towards blacks.

The swami has gone off the deep end. I used to have tremendous respect for the guy and I still do to some extent.

But I think he has become a bit jaded and listens to his friend Ravi Dev way way way too much.

The other issue at hand here with Swami who BTW changed his name he may want to address that with Ramotar. Since ramotar think all people who change dem name are criminals.

But the other issue at hand here is that the swami is usually very silent on all the atrocities of the PPP. Did he comment or condemn nandlall? no.

Has he stood up and condemn the criminal and corrupt activities of the PPP no. So guess what swami on the credibility factor you are near a zero and the fact that you are so tight with the PPP and dev these days your statements are playing right into the race baiting game jagdeo is peddling.

So thanks but no ****ing thanks.

even though abbe weak kneed politicians and so-called "intellectuals" like to run away as far as possible from their identity and the very word "Indian", the average Indian of all stripes of all categories is generally proud of his heritage and asserts it as he can be no other.

Its interesting what Ravi dev said of black politicians like Hoyte and Trotman. He asserted that these people were afraid to openly assert that they were African.  Indeed Trotman describes himself as "mixed".  Granger is proud of the multi ethnic nature of his family, given that his wife is Chinese.

Here is the deal Shaitaan.  One can be an ethnic leader, and there is clear space for that.  But to be a NATIONAL leader one has to rise above ethnicity. Is Moses only to be an "Indian" leader?  Then why should the 80% of African/mixed people who will vote for APNU AFC trust him? 

Would they not see every move that he makes through the prism of his advocacy for Indian interests, given his role as an "Indian" leader"  Would they therefore not feel compelled to defend their interests, as people of predominant or part African ancestry, to prevent Moses from engaging in this behavior.

How can the PPP get away with openly describing itself as a "coolie party" and then be surprised when the vast majority of non Indians reject them.  If they are a "coolie party" then they have no interest in those who arent "coolie".  Note that when Jagdeo told his lie about Africans being woken up by drums telling them to "vote out dem coole", he didnt assert that the PPP was multi racial.  He couldnt because his aim was to disturb Indians about the prospects of African rule.

Caribny is your literary comrade-in-arms for his literal use of magic and Moses, as if we all render onto Moses some magical attributes. Now I see you run with the context-less quote.....hehehehe...

Kari opens up a thread on the "magic of Moses" and then credits him, and no one else, for what we hope will be a transformation of Guyana.

Then he claims, "oh it was not literal".   It couldnt be that Kari could have credited the various factions of the APNU and the AFC for overcoming their intra party and inter party conflicts for the greater good of the ridding Guyana of the PPP.  Oh no.  Its that Moses Magic.

kari, please..please, for our sake, please make a post about Granger...ah beggin you. Maybe the heading could be something like ahhhh...ammmmm...The Magic of Granger. There you go ah had to think hard to come up with something like dat bai.

He comes up with the magic of Granger and I will attack him again.

Guyanese must evolve away from the cult of personality, or in 6 months we will then express dismay that the APNU AFC gov't has adapted the same crony type behavior of the PPP.

As Vanessa K said , this election is NOT only about David and Moses.  Its about the full swathe of Guyanese working together to rid Guyana of a crony corrupt kleptocratic regime.

Now can you understand that, or has that Janet Jagan, Forbes Burnham Bharrat Jagdeo cult so informed you that Guyanese must always blindly follow leaders and that functional institutions shouldnt be developed?

Look at Trinidad.  Patrick Manning was booted out, by none other than members of the PNM.  In their thinking the PNM was greater than Manning's empire building ego.  In Guyana the culture of cultism ensures that this will never happen.

Oi man I tryin to even out the argument. I give credit to both Moses and Granger, this is how I see them as a team and not as individuals. This is a very new beginning for all Guyanese.

And that is better than your buddy who credited all things to Moses, rather than seeing him as being a co head of a partnership.

Note my emphasis on partnership as it is the joint activities of many people which will account for the success of may 11th.  If it works.

Good talk deh bai.

All praise be to Brother Caribny, that sage, learned Statesman who educates us to not be beholden to a cultist disposition; who wants us to be equal-opportunity in our punishment of Indians as racist to blacks as we shout how blacks are racists to Indians.

Quick....did I miss something?.....Oh yes, Granger has shown astute leadership to imbue Moses with the desire to come to him to form a coalition and he has had the far-sighted instincts to "guarantee" 12 seats to this junior partner whose significance in this elecyion is, well,....a forgotten one.

Ah, me lord Caribny. I  dutifully summit to your higher wisdom and understanding of the human condition, and who is always 100% correct.

Whah...where are my emoticons???

Dear Editor,

Utter nonsense.  When Africans vote PNC they are voting their ethnic fears of ethnic exclusion, and when we see what has happened since 1992, these fears are not unfounded.

Africans vote PNC for the same reasons that the Indians vote PPP.

As to 1992 the only alternate that Africans had was the WPA, which by then was a shadow of its former self.  Africans were not going to vote PPP. Why they they when we see how the PPP treated them in 1957-64 and since 1992?

BTW most mixed Guyanese also vote PNC out of a fear of the PPP and its racism towards them.  Are they too expressing "ethnic pride" or just plain paranoia towards a regime which they see as Indocentric and exclusionary of all who arent?

FACT

The PPP has made NO concessions to African paranoia towards them.  They appoint a few black tokens, few of whom have any real clout within the PPP.  NONE of whom have displayed any tendency to defend Africans against racist elements within the PPP. 

In fact one of them presided over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs when it refused to appoint blacks as heads of mission.  Another one, when asked why blacks were totally under represented in top leadership positions opined that he didnt know and offered the explanation that maybe Africans were unqualified.  So why would Africans have any reason to believe that these characters would defend their interests in an Indian dominated regime?

FACT

APNU has conceded to a party which has now been transformed to an alternate Indian party 40% of the cabinet positions, a role in appointing heads of state controlled entities, and also in determining the structure of the ministries. It will have within its portfolio, the Ministries of Agriculture and Home Affairs, to areas of Indian concern.

No one thinks that the AFC will bring more than 20-25% of the votes that the coalition will obtain, and indeed there is the risk that they might well fall far short of that. 

The PNC accepted the premise that it needed not only to demonstrate in a real sense that it was aware that it was distrusted by most Indians, but it also needed to develop a plan to prevent the likelihood of an African dominated PNC gov't resulting in monoracial African rule.

The PNC has given the AFC the ability to virtually destroy its gov't if they, the AFC, feel that they are unhappy with the relationship.  Given that no one is predicting that the PPP will only win 20 seats, if the AFC leaves the coalition and then pushes for a MONC then APNU crumbles.

I look forward to hearing from the PPP as to measures that it will take to allay the fears that blacks have towards the PPP.  They have lived for over 22 years under PPP rule and still see it as racist towards blacks.

Red herring Caribj.  Afros (PNC) held power, absolute power, for most of the 28 years.  They controlled the political, somewhat the economy and the biggest instrument of torture against Indians, the military, para-military.  They had all the "ethnic security" needed, they were well defended, well protected.  Through all this, what Afros chose to do?  Use this advantage to further oppress, abuse, exploit, brutalize, etc the Indian masses.

You talking pure shyte.

Dear Editor,

The ethnic issue has always played a major role in our elections. Both PPP and the PNC have in their own ways appealed to the ethnic sentiment of their base support. In every general election, excepting those between 1964 and 1992, which were blatantly rigged by the PNC, race was the deciding factor.

Perhaps the best example of ethnic loyalty was seen in the 1992 general elections. Even after years of atrocities against its own supporters, not to speak of the supporters of the other major party, the results showed that the PNC received almost 100% African votes.

Indians, too, voted race but it is they who have been denounced and have had to pay a heavy price for their choice. One top WPA leader who now resides happily and comfortably in the “belly of the beast” told me in strong theological language that Indians needed to be “rebuked.” To date, I have never heard a call to rebuke Africans the same “crime,” race voting.

Tragically, this mindset of blaming Indians for their “ethnic preference” has continued to the present time with many people berating Indians for their political choice at every election, the present election being no exception. Some columnists and commentators have made it a kind of industry to each single out Indians for abuse and have gone so far to advocate punishment for Indians. Some dehumanize and punish Indians with their pens in newspaper columns, while others do it on the streets.

The sum of what we are being told is when Africans vote for the PNC they are asserting “ethnic pride.” When Indians vote for the PPP, it is racism. This hegemonic narrative is dominant and widespread. The production, preservation, reproduction, propagation and inculcation of this discourse that grants carte blanche legitimacy and sanctity to African ethnic expression, paradoxically and simultaneously, seeks to demonise and delegitimize similar ethnic expressions of the Indian community.

One of the most perplexing phenomena of modern political life in Guyana, is that the authors and originators of this discourse of asymmetry, are lionized and praised for giving expressions to the African ethnic pride and aspirations, while those who seek to engage in an articulation, however erratically and unsystematically, of an Indian ethnic pride are devilised and denounced by the very propagators of the African ethnic discourse as Indian supremacists and diabolical racists. Virtue in one is vice in the other.

The outcome of this systematic intellectual and cultural indoctrination, hegemonisation and domination has been two fold. On the one hand it has led to the virtual total absence of an Indian discourse among Indian intellectuals and politicians. Where, for example, is the Indian counterpart of the view, “that my activism is dedicated to the defence and furtherance of African Guyanese interests?” Such an Indian, if he dares to speak will be vilified and ostracized, in part, by the very authors of the African ethnic discourse.

The second outcome of this hegemonisation has been the creation of a larger number of de-culturalised and de-ethnicised Indians who have long learned to “ignore their normal ethnic considerations,” who have internalized the oppression, who now place themselves in the forefront of the vilification of Indians and who are elevated and celebrated as “model Indians.”

Having declared their shame of being Indian, they make it their duty to humiliate, vilify, denigrate, demonise Indians who, in their view, fit the bill of being “Indian supremacists.” Silencing any Indian who entertains even the pretension of speaking about “ethnic honour,” “ethnic pride” etc., of Indian people is the pre-eminent duty of this class.

But above all, the worst crime of the Indians in this country is their “loyalty to the PPP,” for which no punishment is enough. Because Indians also choose to assert their “ethnic honour” in not abandoning the PPP, we are given an analysis of the “nature of the Indian psyche.” We hear of the “lacerated psyche of the Guyanese Indians.” And, to cap it all, we are informed that, “the nature of the Hindu religion has had a traumatizing effect on the Indian psyche.” The fallacy of equating Hindu and Indian does not dawn on this analyst.

Yours faithfully,

Swami Aksharananda

Why did Swami not voice this opinion 12 months ago?  Why wait until we are this close to an elections?

Swami spoke nuff truth here but the timing is BAD.

When i hear the name Granger i remember Idi Amin. He too brought change to his country, Uganda. He was so loved by the Indians that they called him  Dada (Big Brother). We know how it ended for Indians in Uganda. We know that General Idi Amin Dada practiced cannibalism on his own Africans. In Guyana they call David Granger uncle. Is the same faith awaiting Indians in Guyana? Be care full what you wish for people. We came to the bring of starvation under Burnham and the PNC.

Where, for example, is the Indian counterpart of the view, “that my activism is dedicated to the defence and furtherance of African Guyanese interests?”. . .

Yours faithfully,

Swami Aksharananda

can wan acolyte of the great Hindutva "Swami" [that means u Shaitaan] source de quote deh . . . thanks

Why did Swami not voice this opinion 12 months ago?  Why wait until we are this close to an elections?

the so-called swami's 'reasoning' is tendentious bullshit . . . the legerdemain of ethnic con men

but then again, of course u would find his nonsense compelling

Originally Posted by simple:

When i hear the name Granger i remember Idi Amin. He too brought change to his country, Uganda.He was so loved by the Indians that they called him  Dada (Big Brother). We know how it ended for Indians in Uganda. We know that General Idi Amin Dada practiced cannibalism on his own Africans. In Guyana they call David Granger uncle. Is the same faith awaiting Indians in Guyana? Be care full what you wish for people. We came to the bring of starvation under Burnham and the PNC.

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,

Swami Aksharananda

Swami is 1,000 Percent accurate. Kudos to him for standing up and speaking the truth.

I also with to add the Afros make up 30 Percent of the population by the PNC has Afros taking 75 Percent representation on their list.

That is blatant racism on the part of the same old PNC.

Dear Editor,

Swami Aksharananda

Timing, impeccable.

When i hear the name Granger i remember Idi Amin. He too brought change to his country, Uganda.He was so loved by the Indians that they called him  Dada (Big Brother). We know how it ended for Indians in Uganda. We know that General Idi Amin Dada practiced cannibalism on his own Africans. In Guyana they call David Granger uncle. Is the same faith awaiting Indians in Guyana? Be care full what you wish for people. We came to the bring of starvation under Burnham and the PNC.

what more worse the indians can go through more is being kill today than when burham was ruling 

Why is the timing bad? Are Hindus not entitled to an opinion whenever where ever he wants to express it. Or should Hindu men of the cloth be excluded at election time and be denied freedom of speech? Swami is entitled to campaign if he so chooses.

not when he preaching race hate 

Can you show me where that is so in his letter?

almost every word is race hate,and why must indian be loyal to the ppp these people robing the treasury and incapable to protect the indian people  

Dear Editor,

Swami Aksharananda

Timing, impeccable.

Perfect timing.

Why give your pearls to the hogs ?

Dear Editor,

Swami Aksharananda

Timing, impeccable.

Perfect timing.

Why give your pearls to the hogs ?

the hogs already have the pearls they live in pradoville