Lowe only recognizes one set of entitlements

Dear Editor,

I refer to a letter in yesterday’s SN by UG lecturer, Sherwood Lowe (`Election campaigning and columnists’).  His comments about Stabroek News’ need to remove its columnists who are anti-government are arrogant and dangerous because he arrogates to himself the use of an “invincible” methodology of deciding who is pro and anti.  

He singled out Tarron Khemraj as anti-government and said that he should be removed from Stabroek News’ pages. The danger with Lowe’s thinking is that if Khemraj sees the use of governance in Guyana as controversial and needing to be analyzed, he becomes anti-government. This is pathetic nonsense. Criticizing power has been the essential role of academics long before Socrates was executed thousands of years ago.   

I have known Sherwood Lowe a long time as a fellow academic at UG though I have never had a conversation with him and never cared to. I have always regarded Lowe as an unapologetic supporter of the PNC but unlike so many others who endorse political positions openly, Lowe would obfuscate his partisanship using what he, Lowe thinks is sophisticated language.

I don’t think anyone at UG was impressed. People in the unions and at UG, and readers know where his loyalties lie. I was never in doubt. Lowe it must be said was once a PNC parliamentarian. I doubt Tarron Khemraj was ever a member of a political party much less a parliamentarian.

There was no more graphic example of Lowe’s perennial double standards than during the UG’s unions’ confrontation with the recent, former Vice Chancellor, Ivelaw Griffith. Using what he believes is a style that can influence people, he resorted to every political stratagem to convince the unions on other directions. They didn’t work.

The unions knew what they were doing was non-political and in the interest of their constitution which they had an obligation to serve. That constituency was UG employees. During the four years of the PNC in government, Lowe has written dozens of letters on dozens of different subjects. But strangely, not one has ever been penned on terrible governance at UG.

When I read Lowe’s crude differentiation as to who is pro-and who is anti-government, I saw the usual arrogance and obfuscation. Why are columnists the only people prevented from expressing political stances? Why not UG lecturers who teach students who support different types of political parties?

Why not ministers who must serve the nation without political bias but use the nation’s resources to undertake political campaigns. The past year, money from the Treasury is being used under the guise of Cabinet outreaches to pursue political campaigns.

There are times when these outreaches caricatured into open party demagoguery as what happened in Bartica two months ago. Why not the Chronicle which under Lowe’s party has remained the same political footcloth it was under PPP presidents?  It would be nice to hear Lowe’s thoughts on these depravities.

Maybe now that he has moved away from his subtle hiding of his political determinism, Lowe can enlighten us on his attitude to Volda Lawrence who was recorded as saying that her ideological habit is to employ persons who are PNC because only PNC people she knows; only PNC people are her friends. Is Lowe telling us that Stabroek News must drop Khemraj because he is anti-government but Granger must keep Lawrence?

Readers obviously would know why Lowe picked on Khemraj. The latter exposed the dangerous thinking of Lowe in his column recently when Lowe justified the concatenation of unconstitutional actions of the government since the no-confidence vote.

Lowe contended that PNC constituencies felt they were being cheated out of their entitlements by the cutting short of the government’s term in office. So for Lowe, only one set of entitlements are recognized. Maybe sugar workers for Lowe don’t matter.

Yours faithfully,

Frederick Kissoon

© 1985 - 2019 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

ow labbaman

i wake up late with wuh feel like a cold tekkin hold, check meh phone and see that you callin pan me dis early weekend marnin

now, Freddie picking up fire rage as usual and his KN piece is wan real kaba kaba collection of random thoughts and bile

and bai, me din know FK did "hate" Tarron like duh, suh me can't comment now dat dem mek up and hug up

everything irie now that David De Caires no longer around

nah suh?

Readers obviously would know why Lowe picked on Khemraj.

Blame the lowlife coolie. Negroes can do no wrong. Just ask the Snowy boy and the Green Komodo Dragon.

PNC entitlement trumps the constitution!

ow labbaman

i wake up late with wuh feel like a cold tekkin hold, check meh phone and see that you callin pan me dis early weekend marnin

now, Freddie picking up fire rage as usual and his KN piece is wan real kaba kaba collection of random thoughts and bile

and bai, me din know FK did "hate" Tarron like duh, suh me can't comment now dat dem mek up and hug up

nah suh?

SN is de same SN like De Caries time. Yuh know ayoo does see jumbie, bacoo, ole higue, doppy, spirits behind every action...hey hey hey. Leme guess dem one love WPA/PNC/AFC bais tink de Persaud family wid PPP? Hey hey hey...

ow labbaman

nah suh?

SN is de same SN like De Caries time. Yuh know ayoo does see jumbie, bacoo, ole higue, doppy, spirits behind every action...hey hey hey. Leme guess dem one love WPA/PNC/AFC bais tink de Persaud family wid PPP? Hey hey hey...

banna, me nah know the "Persaud family" and frankly don't care wan rass about their politics. . . why should i?

i leave that kind of antiman race sh!t to the likes of you, baseman and the Sanata coven 'advising' Jagdeo

in fact, i don't know SN Editor-in-Chief Anand Persaud either but will continue to expose him based on the arrogance and unprofessional behavior he has cultivated in the pages of that newspaper

and juss fyi . . . insofar as i disagree with your rote, unedifying, head-in-the-sand defense of today's SN, my David de Caires reference was pointing to Freddie Kissoon's bilious, longstanding averment that he was [color]classist and racist

that's all

U forget Massacuraman.

Oh rass Sir Caine...me forget de Massacuraman. Abie use to go look foh Massacuraman up Demerara river by Timehri back in de day...hey hey hey.

ow labbaman

nah suh?

banna, me nah know the "Persaud family" and frankly don't care wan rass about their politics. . . why should i?

i leave that kind of antiman race sh!t to the likes of you, baseman and the Sanata coven 'advising' Jagdeo

in fact, i don't know SN Editor-in-Chief Anand Persaud either but will continue to expose him based on the arrogance and unprofessional behavior he has cultivated in the pages of that newspaper

and juss fyi . . . insofar as i disagree with your rote, unedifying, head-in-the-sand defense of today's SN, my David de Caires reference was pointing to Freddie Kissoon's bilious, longstanding averment that he was [color]classist and racist

that's all

Hey hey hey...

U forget Massacuraman.

Oh rass Sir Caine...me forget de Massacuraman. Abie use to go look foh Massacuraman up Demerara river by Timehri back in de day...hey hey hey.

Bai, ayoo used tuh look fuh moongazah too? 

U forget Massacuraman.

Abie village had wan moongazer foh true 

U forget Massacuraman.

Ayoo village had ole higue tuh? Or only de PNC gat ole higue? 

U forget Massacuraman.

Abie had ole higue too...she suck abie blood and de dankey and cow blood.

U forget Massacuraman.

Wan Time abie even had wan Churile!  But me thinks Obeah man Thomas on Coverden lang road tie she donk!

U forget Massacuraman.

Wan Time abie even had wan Churile!

We still gat some firerass in our hood....

U forget Massacuraman.

Wan Time abie even had wan Churile!  But me thinks Obeah man Thomas on Coverden lang road tie she donk!

Me taut abie gat two churile righ haay pon GNI? 

U forget Massacuraman.

Me taut abie gat two churile righ haay pon GNI? 

😁😁

sachin_05 posted:

U forget Massacuraman.

Wan Time abie even had wan Churile!

We still gat some firerass in our hood....

Even in cyber wurl GNI we gat firerass...hey hey hey. I is see nuff firerass a backdam too...hey hey hey.