Not sure how the APNU serial posters missed the opportunity to brag about this. Also why PriceSmart is viewed as an "investor" when all they want to do is sell to the Guyanese public, they are similar to Costco and BJ's wholesale. It seems that the only viable "investors" are retail/wholesale and raw material exploiters. The Chinese, Russians and Indian nationals are prime example of this type of "investor". 

PriceSmart expresses an interest in Guyana

Share on Facebook

Tweet on Twitter

From left , Brud Drachman, Executive Vice President, PriceSmart Incorporated, Andron Alphonson, the local contact, Leon Janks, Board Member, PriceSmart, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, Robert Price, Founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors and David Price, President of PriceSmart Incorporated during the meeting on Wednesday today.

-Government committed to creating strong investment climate -Minister Harmon

American warehouse firm, PriceSmart is exploring investment opportunities in Guyana.

According to the Ministry of the Presidency (MoTP), Minister of State,  Joseph Harmon on Wednesday received a courtesy call from Founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors of PriceSmart Incorporated,  Robert Price as well as other board members, who are in Guyana to explore opportunities for investment. 

Minister Harmon, who met with the team during a break from this week’s Cabinet meeting, in his welcoming remarks , said that Guyana remains open for business. He said that the Government will continue to ensure that the right conditions are put in place to promote Guyana as an investment destination. 

I consider this to be important because anytime we have foreign investors coming to Guyana, we consider that to be an important enough event for the Minister to disrupt his usual schedule to ensure that you understand that we welcome investment in Guyana and that we fully support your investment. It is important enough for me to take time off from Cabinet to meet with you. I want to welcome you and you will find that while we are not as advanced as the other countries where you operate, you will find a willingness on the part of our people to work with you and on the part of the Government to create favourable conditions for businesses to succeed,” Minister Harmon said.

Price, in an invited comment, said that the company is cognisant of the fact that Guyana is poised for a prosperous future and as such, consideration is being given to the setup of a location here.

“We are very, very interested in exploring the opportunity of locating PriceSmart in Guyana. We have to do our due diligence but we hope we can eventually have a PriceSmart in Guyana. We have PriceSmart in the English-speaking Caribbean and we think that given the future prosperity in Guyana, that it is time to consider locating here,” he said.

Price was accompanied by his son and President of the company, David Price, Executive Vice-President, Brud Drachman, Leon Janks, Board Member and their local contact,  Andron Alphonso.

The California-based firm  operates 40 membership warehouse clubs in 12 countries and one United States territory. The company recently entered the South American region with clubs in Colombia.

This is good news , but Guyanese have no money to spend. It’s a struggle for survival in the business sector . 

I can speak from experience about the business economy .Our family business is one of the largest importer of food products  in Guyana, we are struggling to survive. GRA living at our doors like leach. 

I believe the discovery of oil is misleading potential investors. Guyanese have no money to get from oil . It’s going into politicians pocket .

The Chinese have taken over the business community , especially on Regent street . Guyanese businessmen cannot compete with them . We buying from the same manufacturers  and the Chinese can sell cheaper .

We suspect a racket with the Chinese embassy and government officials in getting duty free goods, hence they can afford to sell cheaper .

Chinese would rent your bottom house 2000 sq ft for G $380,000. Per month to open supermarket . They have  Chinese financer with Cash - 6 months rent in advance to pay the home owner. They would employ 1-2 Guyanese because of the language barrier .

Property value has decrease in GT. 

Dave, look story na.

We Guyanese have been reduced to translators to Chinese businessmen under the AFC/PNC. Dem AFC/PNC boys especially the GNI bottom house AFC/PNC crew wanted to chase the Chinese out of Guyana.

Look today, they mek de Chinese taking over and reducing Guyanese to translators. 

Guyana gone fu dhall channa. Aaww me gaad.

Any foreign franchise that hopes to do business in Guyana will not be the first or the last. PriceMart will provide jobs for the locals, pay tax to the government and add to the economy.

Opening up a business and investing are consider the same since both are hoping to gain a profit and contribute to the local economy.

This is good news , but Guyanese have no money to spend. It’s a struggle for survival in the business sector . 

I can speak from experience about the business economy .Our family business is one of the largest importer of food products  in Guyana, we are struggling to survive. GRA living at our doors like leach. 

I believe the discovery of oil is misleading potential investors. Guyanese have no money to get from oil . It’s going into politicians pocket .

The Chinese have taken over the business community , especially on Regent street . Guyanese businessmen cannot compete with them . We buying from the same manufacturers  and the Chinese can sell cheaper .

We suspect a racket with the Chinese embassy and government officials in getting duty free goods, hence they can afford to sell cheaper .

Chinese would rent your bottom house 2000 sq ft for G $380,000. Per month to open supermarket . They have  Chinese financer with Cash - 6 months rent in advance to pay the home owner. They would employ 1-2 Guyanese because of the language barrier .

Bhai,alyuh should start producing food locally for retail.

That's a lot of dough US$1,900 a month,sometimes me thinks Guyana is little America,yet them say money nah flow.

This poster Reeper is not no newbie,it's just a new handle with old traits.

Dem does shame to be a man to post with their old handle.

Anyway why expose,let sleeping dogs lie.

What's your alternative?  Property was overvalued in GT anyway.

That's a lot of dough US$1,900 a month,sometimes me thinks Guyana is little America,yet them say money nah flow.

Bhai, we explore this opportunity and it’s not worth the investment .

1.Poor infracture .

2. Power outage constantly.

3.Fluctation of power that damage your equipment.

4. No tax incentative for local manufacture 

5. Unreliable workers .

i can go on with the list .

its cheaper to import, at least Guyanese can survive . 

Bhai, we explore this opportunity and it’s not worth the investment .

1.Poor infracture .

2. Power outage constantly.

3.Fluctation of power that damage your equipment.

4. No tax incentative for local manufacture 

5. Unreliable workers .

i can go on with the list .

its cheaper to import, at least Guyanese can survive . 

This one is true especially for Corentyne, Berbice.

Too much money going from Canada and USA to assist them. I remember visiting and doing some renovations and having to go look for the workers every single day. One of them wanted an advance before he could start working.

Any foreign franchise that hopes to do business in Guyana will not be the first or the last. PriceMart will provide jobs for the locals, pay tax to the government and add to the economy.

Opening up a business and investing are consider the same since both are hoping to gain a profit and contribute to the local economy.

Come on now Prince, you really expect us to swallow this pill, that retail big box store is an investor and not an exploiter? What is the total gain? Their profits will be at the expense of the closures of local businesses. They are not producing anything, just importing and dumping on the local market. Where are the investors who will invest in large scale farming, manufacturing etc, actually building something and not just selling imports or digging up natural resources and sending overseas with no value added? 

bgurdsee trying hard to reinvent himself

Alyuh please give the guy a break.