Harmon trip to China Major investors courted … says Chinese embassy had requested help for Bai Shan Lin

Minister of State Joseph Harmon Minister of State Joseph Harmon

Minister of State Joseph Harmon on Thursday cleared the air about his recent trip to China and his involvement in the halting of an exercise by the Guyana Revenue Authority’s (GRA) to seize vehicles belonging to Bai Shan Lin.In the statement, which was submitted to Cabinet but seen by this newspaper, Harmon said arrangements were made by China’s Ambassador to Guyana, Zhang Limin for him to visit four Chinese companies that intend to invest in Guyana. According to the statement, the Chinese Ambassador was in China at the time Harmon visited. The four companies he said were located in Beijing, Shanghai, Hebei and Heilong Jiang Provinces. As a result, it was necessary for the Minister of State to travel to those provinces by air. “…this required that I fly to those places having regard to the significant distances involved and time available. The Ambassador of China to Guyana in this regard, made arrangements for these companies to provide executive service, both air and land, for me to travel to their offices,” the statement said.

Additionally, Harmon named one of the four Chinese companies that have the intention of investing over US$500M in Guyana initially. That company, LongJiang Forest Industries Group, a state-owned company, has also acquired 55 per cent shares in Bai Shan Lin, the Chinese logging company here that is in the middle of the controversy with the Minister of State.

Harmon who visited that company on March 27 said LongJiang Forest Industries intends to “fully take over the company (Bai Shan Lin) by June, 2016.” The Minister of State said he was accompanied by two officials from that company along with two officials from Bai Shan Lin on the aircraft to the meeting. They travelled with him from Beijing to HeilongJiang Province.

“The Vice-Director of the company, Mr Wong Dong Xu, in the presence of officials of Bai Shan Lin, gave the assurance that the company will be in Guyana by May 2016 to complete due diligence for the takeover,” said Harmon in his statement.

The company that has since acquired 55 per cent shares in Bai Shan Lin also intends to expand on the obligations made by Bai Shan Lin. The Minister of State’s explanation of his trip to China and his presence on a private jet was not communicated in an initial statement by the Ministry of the Presidency. According to the Ministry of the Presidency, Harmon’s trip to China was in relation to money outstanding to the Government of Guyana for the purchase of 20 per cent of Shares in the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GTT).

“Minister of State Mr. Joseph Harmon and In-House Legal Counsel at the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL), Ms. Natalia Seepersaud, yesterday returned from an official trip to the People’s Republic of China. The purpose of the visit was to engage in discussions with regard to the payment of the US$5 million balance owed for the purchase of 20 percent of Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GTT) shares by Chinese company, Datang Telecom Technology and Industry Group from NICIL in 2012. This deal was entered into by the previous administration but only US$25 million of the agreed US$30 million was paid,” the statement read.

The statement by the Ministry of the Presidency followed much ruckus about Harmon appointing businessman Brian Tiwarie as Business Advisor to the Government; an appointment which was later rescinded by President David Granger. It also followed statements in the media that said Harmon had been accompanied to China by Tiwari.
Vehicle seizure

Meanwhile, Harmon informed Cabinet through his statement that he intervened in the matter of Bai Shan Lin’s movable property being seized by the GRA because he was contacted by the Commercial Officer of the Embassy of China here who was acting on behalf of Ambassador Limin. According to him, he was contacted on March 17, 2016 and was informed that “personnel of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) had gone to the premises of Bai Shan Lin in furtherance of a Tax demand of $1.5B by GRA. The GRA personnel were intent on seizing movable assets of the company.”

Harmon said he was informed that the principals of the company were not present in Guyana at the time and requested a “stay of execution of the GRA action pending their return to Guyana in 14 days, when they would go into GRA to settle their indebtedness.” The Minister of State told Cabinet that he was provided all assurance that none of the assets of the company would be removed and as such, “I requested of GRA the facility as required by the Chinese Embassy and this was granted.”

Harmon, an attorney by profession, said he believes that Guyana and China share an “important enough” relationship to request the stay of execution by GRA on appeal by China. Harmon has also been heavily criticised for his intervention in this matter. Additionally, the Alliance For Change (AFC), a member of the coalition government issued a statement calling for the power and responsibilities of Harmon to be trimmed. President Granger has however made it clear that there is no need for Harmon’s responsibilities to be lessened. When contacted on Thursday for a comment on his statement, the Minister of State told the Guyana Chronicle that he had not issued a statement as per the directive of the President and noted that the statement circulating via the media was leaked by someone within Cabinet. “I would like to know who did it… it was circulated to Cabinet…I will issue a separate statement for the media tomorrow [today],” he said.

The Ambassador of China to Guyana in this regard, made arrangements for these companies to provide executive service, both air and land, for me to travel to their offices,” the statement said.

I don't know that this would be allowed in countries like Trinidad - that is, for government officials to be treated to free air travel by companies from foreign countries as the implication is that reciprocal favors could be granted like circumventing administrative and legal hurdles to doing business with Guyana.

Looks like the usual suspects d2, mitwah, gilly, warrior, redux, t, cain, caribj, kari and other afc/apnu supporters are quite as lambs on this new development. Previously they demonized the Chinese as parasites, now they are courting them as investory. Politics does make for strange bedfellows. 

Bannas, I dont spend too much time with SHAMELESS, immoral, selfish FOOLS.  They can jump like Crapo all they want. The good Book says, " THE TRUTH WILL PREVAIL" hOW MANY TIMES AM i GOING TO SHAME THE SHAMELESS!!

First of all, one Chinese logging company acquiring another logging Chinese company is like reshuffling the deck chairs. There is but one logging company formally created by the totalitarian rulers in china  and the others are branches of this same tree.

Further, BaiShanLin has failed in its commitment so this ruse to gain more time and concessions on the promise of more ghost money is bullox. The Chinese does this all the time. Note the farce of the president of BaishanLin claiming Guyanese citizenship and pretending his holdings are Guyanese in nature by that. Yet we have here the Chinese Embassy acting on his behalf and supporting Harmon travels gratis on his behalf! Guyanese are truly in deep crap with this new lot as they were with the last ones.

And why did it take a threat by GRA to get the Embassy to act? This is an infraction of our laws and our lines of authority governing these things should not be circumvented by an alien power. The embassy did the same with China Trading, after the fact an improper practice was in place ( Amerindian slavery and sexual abuse here). Now they do it with the neglect to pay taxes by BaiShanLin on time.

If this company failed do something of administrative concern to the leaders in chine the  chairman in a dungeon somewhere unknown to the world! The embassy did not come to answer they they failed in their commitment to us. This company thumbed its noses to its obligation to build a wood processing factory and and went into into mining ( largest lease holder). It then claimed it was short of cash due to the recession.

Note that it used its promises to invest in wood processing  to become  largest land owner in the nation! It missed its  obligation to invest 400 million by 3 years now but it did not stop shipping unfinished prized logs to the tune of 500 containers a month to China  for years. Environmentalist say china has the largest stock pile of prized woods in the world!

Harmon, is doing exactly what the PPP did. They were  lured by Chinese on a promise to invest . That turned to predation as usual and the usual Chinese fly trap with administrators and ministers in their pocket and the subsequent  giving away our land left and right for graft. The Chinese are only after the prize ornamental trees....greenheart, purpleheart and Wamara. Those are already stressed in the environment. Note the Chinese do not permit harvesting trees in China!

By this act this government has lost me as a believer they can make a difference. It is the same bullshit greedy opportunism matched by self important pretensions to knowing the mind of god and others be dammed mode as the PPP in operation here. We are truly...***.ked.

First of all, one Chinese logging company accuiring another logging Chinese company is like reshuffling he deck chairs. There is but one logging company formally created and the others are branches of this same tree.

Furter, BaiShanLin has failed in its commitment so this ruse to gain more time and concessions on the promise of more ghost money is bullox. The Chinese does this all the time. Note the farce of the president of BaishanLin claiming Guyanese citizenship and pretending his holdings are Guyanese in nature by that. Yet we have here the Chinese Embassy acting on his behalf

And why did it take a threat to get the Embassy to act? They did the same with China Trading, after the fact an improper practice was in place ( Amerindian slavery and sexual abuse here). Now they do it with the neglect to pay taxes by BaiShanLin on time. Why did the company fail do do what in china would have the chairman in a dungeon somewhere unknown to the world! And this company thumbed its noses to its obligation and went into into mining ( largest lease holder), Not that it used its promises to invest to become  largest land owner in the nation! It missed its  obligation to invest 400 million by 3 years but still shipped unfinish logs to the tune of 500 containers a month for years.

Harmon, is doing exactly what the PPP did. They were gulled by Chinese promise to investment turned to predation with administrators and ministers giving away our land left and right for graft. The Chinese are only after the prize ornamental trees....greenheart, purpleheart and Wamara. Those are already stressed in the environment. Note the Chinese do not permit harvesting trees in China!

By this act this government has lost me as a believer they can make a difference. It is the same bullshit greedy opportunism matched by self important pretensions to knowing the mind of god and others be dammed mode as the PPP in operation here. We are truly...***.ked.

Or is it possible that you were wrong in the first place about the PPP.  The Chinese seems to be the only investors interested in Guyana. The Europeans, Brazillians, Indians and Americans don`t see much opportunity there. What happened to all the big talk from the afc/apnu about courting other investors?

Bannas, I dont spend too much time with SHAMELESS, immoral, selfish FOOLS.  They can jump like Crapo all they want. The good Book says, " THE TRUTH WILL PREVAIL" hOW MANY TIMES AM i GOING TO SHAME THE SHAMELESS!!

Pavi, you don't have to go running with your pants at your ankles every time someone writes about members whose postings you dislike. Druggie cannot show evidence where I and the others mentioned demonized Chinese companies in Guyana and are now courting them. Understand that in the PPP/C Administration the shouting was over the mis-use of Guyana's forest assets and the way investment go-ahead was awarded  with a lack of transparency. None of the people cited by Druggie are quiet over "developments". The APNU/AFC coalition was seen as a better alternative to the stagnation of the PPP/C. Other than laundered money putting up shiny tall buildings Guyana's economic structure was still in the 1960s. We are now seeing how the weaker partner in the governing coalition can assert its values on one of the two traditional parties. If they are not up to the task they will become like the UF or WPA and we'll be back to the PPP and PNC duking it out. So all this capitlaized letters of SHAMELSS and FOOLs, etc. really mean nothing, right Ppavi?

First of all, one Chinese logging company accuiring another logging Chinese company is like reshuffling he deck chairs. There is but one logging company formally created and the others are branches of this same tree....! It missed its  obligation to invest 400 million by 3 years but still shipped unfinish logs to the tune of 500 containers a month for years.

Harmon, is doing exactly what the PPP did. They were gulled by Chinese promise to investment turned to predation with administrators and ministers giving away our land left and right for graft. The Chinese are only after the prize ornamental trees....greenheart, purpleheart and Wamara. Those are already stressed in the environment. Note the Chinese do not permit harvesting trees in China!

Or is it possible that you were wrong in the first place about the PPP.  The Chinese seems to be the only investors interested in Guyana. The Europeans, Brazillians, Indians and Americans don`t see much opportunity there. What happened to all the big talk from the afc/apnu about courting other investors?

How could I since the PPP were in the pocket of these predators?

Looks like the usual suspects d2, mitwah, gilly, warrior, redux, t, cain, caribj, kari and other afc/apnu supporters are quite as lambs on this new development. Previously they demonized the Chinese as parasites, now they are courting them as investory. Politics does make for strange bedfellows. 

I am absolutely against the Chinese as investors in forestry, mining or goods. The idea of the Chinese investing is like going to a fortune teller. You are going to get robbed and for as long as you believe their crap.

As for the goods...does the useless cheap imitation crap at your favorite store you want to give me, "a dollar store" have any worth except to poor people? I would think you got the wrong set of people in your list  if I did not know your habit. You are always a dishonest broker.You lie out of habit. My posts against the Chinese investments are on the site. Do the search if the truth is what you want.

The PPP and PNC are two peas of the same pod [Nuff said that] The AFC came and made us believe they will put a check on two dinosaurs,unfortunately the Guyanese people are duped,50 years will come by soon and the political dunderheads cannot move the country forward,too much old farts twiddling their thumbs and the people suffering,Guyana gone fuh channa[quote from Nehru].

I am absolutely against the Chinese as investors in forestry, mining or goods. The idea of the Chinese investing is like going to a fortune teller. You are going to get robbed and for as long as you believe their crap.

As for the goods...does the useless cheap imitation crap at your favorite store you want to give me, "a dollar store" have any worth except to poor people? I would think you got the wrong set of people in your list  if I did not know your habit. You are always a dishonest broker.You lie out of habit. My posts against the Chinese investments are on the site. Do the search if the truth is what you want.

Chinese are not investors, they are parasites with the intent to strip the land of its resources and move on to the next opportunity. 

The fact remains that you and others were duped into believing that the afc/apnu had a solid development plan when all they had was a 3 card monte game going.

Looks like the usual suspects d2, mitwah, gilly, warrior, redux, t, cain, caribj, kari and other afc/apnu supporters are quite as lambs on this new development. Previously they demonized the Chinese as parasites, now they are courting them as investory. 

No doubt about it. According to Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index 2015, China is a very corrupt country, ranking #83 out of 167 countries surveyed. The same CPI says Guyana is more corrupt, ranking at #119. In 2015 the PPP was in power for 5 months and APNU+AFC was in power for 7 months. Bai Shan Lin got a big foothold in Guyana during the PPP regime.

International environmental groups say that wherever the Chinese go they wreak havoc with the host country's natural resources, leaving a swath of devastation of forests and minerals. In fact, those Chinese companies operating abroad would not dare to do the same kind of exploitation inside China.

Where have you ever seen me speak well of the Chinese, show me one post. They are parasites.

that dude lie as easily as Jagdeo when he said he had a wife.

Kari posted:

Pavi, you don't have to go running with your pants at your ankles every time someone writes about members whose postings you dislike................

So all this capitlaized letters of SHAMELSS and FOOLs, etc. really mean nothing, right Ppavi?

Oi man that banna don't read more than a few words in any post, I would have just left it at, "Why you doan shut yo sk*nt"

I said you demonized the Chinese. Now you quietly acquiesce to Harmon's courtship of the same.

YOU ARE STILL A LIAR.

Then prove me wrong and start speaking out against the pnc.

YOU ARE STILL A LIAR.

Then prove me wrong and start speaking out against the pnc.

This was already done regarding Harmon.