Harmon says “gov’t tackling corruption,” Jagdeo says gov’t lost right to speak on corruption

Minister of State Joseph Harmon says the coalition government met the country in a corrupt state, however, Opposition Leader Bharat Jagdeo argued that the government lost all right to speak on the issue of Corruption.

During his presentation on Budget 2016 in the National Assembly today, Minister Harmon stated that “Corruption eats away at the moral fabric of a society…this is the ranking we found when the APNU+AFC government came into office. The Transparency International Index for 2006- out of 166 countries, Guyana was at 121, in 2007; it was 123, in 2008, it was 126…in 2012, it was 133, 2013; 136, 2014; 124”

He noted that this was reduced to 119 in 2015 and is “going down” noting that the government is working to put measures in place to decrease corruption and encourage foreign investors to enter the economy.

He said “We trust that the measure we put in place will solve this perception and provide a quality of public service which can make us proud and say to all that we are a country serious about doing business.”

Speaking immediately after Harmon was Opposition Leader; Bharat Jagdeo who told the house that the coalition government has lost all moral to speak about corruption after voting down the Motion tabled by the PPP in the National Assembly to have Members of Parliament declare their assets to the Integrity Commission and file their income tax returns for the last ten years.

He told the house that “the members on the other side lost all moral to speak about corruption when they vote against the motion that we presented to this parliament to have the past ten years of tax records of the members of this parliament made public and would have seen the submission to the integrity commission.”

According to the Transparency International Corruption Index, corruption is defined as comprising illegal activities, which are deliberately hidden and only come to light through scandals, investigations or prosecutions.

A country or territory’s score indicates the perceived level of public sector corruption on a scale of 0 (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean).

http://gnngy.com/harmon-says-g...speak-on-corruption/

Only today I said the government has no right to tell the PPP about corruption when they failed to bring any solid evidence to indict them. They campaigned on a false corruption platform and embedded that idea in the people's mind. The corruption table has turned on the PNC government for squandering the taxpayers hard earned money in broad daylight. The burden of proof rest on their shoulders. Dr. Jagdeo is right to set the record straight, and Joe Harmon is absolutely WRONG in his statement. The coalition government spend the first 10 months in office making a firm foundation to held on to power beyond 2020. They spent $Billions on wasteful inquiries and investigations that leads to nowhere. What corruption are they tackling?  

Cobra posted:

I give people credit that can outsmart other and win them at their own game. There is only one Jagdeo that can put the coalition in its place.   

This is one of the few times I agree with you deh Cobra. Is because ah BJ an he stupidness the coalition is now in its place, the Govt.

Now, the first sentence is kinda lampy pampy, is what you really tryin fo say deh chap?

I believe Jagdeo knows what he is saying by asking for 10 years of tax returns.  People in the Association are just as corrupt as him.  They got the gun pointing at each other.

VVP posted:

I believe Jagdeo knows what he is saying by asking for 10 years of tax returns.  People in the Association are just as corrupt as him.  They got the gun pointing at each other.

Suh them bhais in the coalition was cheating GRA declaring less earnings,they were not in Govt prior May 2015 no stealing from the coffers.

Cobra posted:

Only today I said the government has no right to tell the PPP about corruption when they failed to bring any solid evidence to indict them. They campaigned on a false corruption platform and embedded that idea in the people's mind. The corruption table has turned on the PNC government for squandering the taxpayers hard earned money in broad daylight. The burden of proof rest on their shoulders. Dr. Jagdeo is right to set the record straight, and Joe Harmon is absolutely WRONG in his statement. The coalition government spend the first 10 months in office making a firm foundation to held on to power beyond 2020. They spent $Billions on wasteful inquiries and investigations that leads to nowhere. What corruption are they tackling?  

First, the PPP is sewer of corruption covering 23 years so there is hardly any comparison with others not yet in office a year. Secondly, how in the hell is there a "false" platform if not in the addled brained concoction of a moron? And please do yourself a favor,  in your foolish world, declarative statements accrue to statements of facts and the burden of proof lies always on the one declaring such statements.

Investigation of corruption by this administration is an act of corruption by itself when we consider how it's being done and amount of monies being spent with no impressive results. 

Have you asked yourself how come those impoverished, thread bared PPPites suddenly become cash laden when their salary did not exceed that of a MacDonald line employee? That alone in mind of a the curious merits investigation if for it novelty and of course in the eventuality they fabricated a phenomenal way of spawning legal cash; one might want replicate it!

Minister Harmon stated that “Corruption eats away at the moral fabric of a society".

Is this why Guyana was a decayed society from 1964 to 1992? Harmon should know better before he showed his ugly ass face to make this statement.