Happy Holi
The trees smile with their sprout
of tender leaves and blooming flowers, 
Eternal nature with its transient expression. 
Hails spring with ecstasy and joy! 
Bewildering shades with so many tinge. 
The land of beauty and greatness, 
India, witnessing color of happiness and peace. 
Nation come alive to enjoy the spirit
A celebration of color- Holi! 
An experience of content, harmony and delight. 

Holika burns amidst merriment and mirth. 
Evil overpowered by love and devotion. 
A festival to commemorate 'Ras Lila'-
an enduring love saga of Radha and Krishna. 

Gulal - red, green, yellow and countless. 
A day's canvas - a riot of colors. 
Lively crowd running hither and thither, 
Rainbow of colors, dashing from every nook and corner. 
Disregarding their woe and despair fervent folks, 
rejoicing at the marvel of colors. 
A day filled with luster and gaiety, 
A day to smear our dreams-
With a splash of vibrant frenzy colors. 
Holi Hai! A spring of unbounded fun and frolic!!

Originally Posted by Miraver:

A very happy Phagwah to all those who are celebrating!

VB, I am the happy recipient of a few gojas, gulgulah, barfee, pera, and sugar cake If you were nearby, I would have gladly shared with you.

VBelle, Brought some Gulgoola and Goja today to work, dem love it, the ginger/sugar/currants combination in the Goja got them craving for more.

I like Goja, what is gulgoola again? Is that like the 'fat mithai'...I had some vegetable curry and dhollpuri yesterday and vermecelli (sp) for dessert.

Originally Posted by chameli:

Gulgoola is a mixture of Flour, milk, Bananna, Rainins, Cherry and a combination of spices fried like a Pholourie. Meh Pickney dem does call it sweet Phoolourie Poor Souls, Dem Baaaan ah Merika.

Nehru, not caz dem piknee born in 'meerica mek dem call gulgoola sweet phoulourie!!!

my kids born in TO and the (almost) 25 yr old can have a whole conversation like she born a leguan backdam or bubice

even my son (who is a coconut) does say, "ah wha dah?"  and dem kno all kinda food names...call dem cha-chas as cha-cha not uncles...nana/nani et all

nah blame po 'meerica

my fondest-earliest memories of phagwah is goin to all dem chowtaal singing wid me nana

Tomorrow, there will be lots of chowtal singing in the park. Lots of singing, dancing, and of course eating

Originally Posted by ksazma:

my fondest-earliest memories of phagwah is goin to all dem chowtaal singing wid me nana

That is what I used to do on Phagwah day. Sing chowtaals with my brethren.

Ksaz, you can still do it tomorrow at Larry and Penny Thompson. Or, Sunday in Ft. Laud. Not sure which park though.

That is what I used to do on Phagwah day. Sing chowtaals with my brethren.

Ksaz, you can still do it tomorrow at Larry and Penny Thompson. Or, Sunday in Ft. Laud. Not sure which park though.

Funny thing is that I can sing much better now than I did back then given that I had more time to learn how. We are going to Brian Piccolo Park I believe.

Tomorrow, there will be lots of chowtal singing in the park. Lots of singing, dancing, and of course eating

That is why my daughter needs the abeer. She bought the pellet like abrac and wants to make sure it stains. But I couldn't get any useful help from that drunken Nehru!!!

She is a going to have loads of fun. I try as much as possible to stay away from the colors and getting soaked with the abeer. Although I go to the park year after year, I'm still not used to it

That is why my daughter needs the abeer. She bought the pellet like abrac and wants to make sure it stains. But I couldn't get any useful help from that drunken Nehru!!!

She is a going to have loads of fun. I try as much as possible to stay away from the colors and getting soaked with the abeer. Although I go to the park year after year, I'm still not used to it

She does have lots of fun. Even the boy does running around pouring powder on people he does not know.

Funny thing is that I can sing much better now than I did back then given that I had more time to learn how. We are going to Brian Piccolo Park I believe.

Good for you! Enjoy

You enjoy your time in the park also.

I'll be the first to admit- I am an "odd" phagwah participant. I usually seek out an area under the shed with a few elderly women so that those who come to throw powder will be gentle. I don't throw powder, abrack, or abeer on anyone. Yet, I have a good time Yes, I do walk around and sample the sweets from my peeps.

Nothing odd about that at all.

Originally Posted by alena06:

The Phagwah Parade in New York was great this year.  Trimurthi Mandir had the best music on their float, the real live voice of Pandit Chunilall singing Holi songs.

My 10 year old had the most fun, covered in color...A very multicultural event, many whites this year covered in color. 

So why you did not visit me for refreshments??!!