Once, I had to visit a lawyer's office in Guyana. Not realizing, that day was a public holiday. Anyway, the lawyer was in his office for the appointment.  A brief conversation, "I did not realize today is a holiday." Of which he replied, "it is one of these Black people holidays."

Unity comes out of respect. 

The lawyer was not disespectful, the country is full of them and us thinking. It is natural reactions.

United Guyana is not possible. 

Last edited by seignet
@seignet posted:

Once, I had to visit a lawyer's office in Guyana. Not realizing, that day was a public holiday. Anyway, the lawyer was in his office for the appointment.  A brief conversation, "I did not realize today is a holiday." Of which he replied, "it is one of these Black people holidays."

Unity comes out of respect. 

The lawyer was not disespectful, the country is full of them and us thinking. It is natural reactions.

United Guyana is not possible. 

A united Guyana is possible. It starts with the people who wanted it to be. 

PRESS RELEASE A MESSAGE FROM THE PPP ON THE OCCASION OF EMANCIPATION DAY 2020 This year marks the 186th anniversary of the formal abolition of slavery in British colonies and the Peoples’ Progressive Party (PPP) takes this opportunity to salute our Afro-Guyanese brothers and sisters across the country and in the Diaspora on the occasion of Emancipation Day 2020. This anniversary provides yet another opportune moment to reflect on the sacrifices made by our African ancestors who were brought to these shores in chains and against their will. Stripped of their humanity and dignity and forced to toil long hours, to say that our African ancestors suffered at the hands of the sugar planters would be a gross understatement. During that genocidal period, many were tortured and brutally killed for standing up for their rights. In the long march to freedom, many battles were fought, including the Berbice Slave rebellion led by our National Hero, Cuffy. In the end, the resilient spirit of resistance, demonstrated by our African ancestors, prevailed and freedom was attained in August 1838. Their unwavering courage while experiencing the cruelties of slavery, not only led to their freedom but remains a beacon of hope for freedom-loving people in Guyana and around the world. Freed and successful in forging a society, having purchased a number of villages, there were attempts by the sugar planters to sabotage the slaves’ newly won freedom. However, their determination for success and peace resulted in their triumph once again. Our African ancestors and their descendants have and continue to make invaluable contributions to the development of Guyana. The foundations of our society and economy were firmly laid by them through hard work and commitment to their homeland. We recognize that due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the traditionally rich cultural expositions held throughout our country to celebrate Emancipation Day will be curtailed. While unavoidable, the spirit of what this occasion symbolizes cannot be subdued. The PPP remains proud of the fact that it remains the largest multi-ethnic political party and will continue to welcome all Guyanese into its ranks from all races and ethnicities – who, like our fore-parents, share our vision of a society grounded on justice and the principle of racial equality, and one where governance caters for each and every citizen regardless of race, colour or creed. Once again, Happy Emancipation Day greetings to all Guyanese, in particular our Afro-Guyanese brothers and sisters. People’s Progressive Party July 31, 2020

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kOFu6b3w6c0

Leaders perpetuating mental slavery in African Guyanese

If there is anything in published form in the arts that I find utterly preposterous is the choice of the Rolling Stone magazine of the best 500 songs of all time. The writer is hopelessly incompetent as a reviewer of music. What he included and what he left out will render you speechless.
But he was smart enough to include, Bob Marley’s β€œRedemption Song.” Any African in any part of the world that listened to Marley’s lyrics cannot, even at a superficial level, allow him/herself and their race to be used by African leaders obsessed with power. Sadly, and tragically, this has been taking place in Guyana since Clairmont Mingo attempted to rig the 2020 election and, through modern technology, the world saw him in action.
If there is anything I am absolutely sure about is that today, Emancipation Day, despite COVID- 19 restrictions, there will be emancipation limes where Redemption Song will be played. How can any person in Guyana who belongs to the African race listen to Marley’s words and grasp the conscious awareness that the PNC, an African-oriented party, is using them for naked power?
This party knew, as thousands of others connected with opposition parties and the election process in the early morning of March 13 that the PNC lost the election. From thereon, there has been a Herculean effort of frenzied consistency by this African party to lie, manipulate and abuse African Guyanese for the perverted reason of staying in power to have power for themselves and not for African Guyanese in general.
This tragedy can be seen in every part of Guyana and it becomes deeply sadder when you think that the lies have penetrated even the stratum of educated African Guyanese. There are educated people who believe with expanding conviction what the PNC leaders told them actually occurred. This includes the fiction that thousands of fake persons all over Guyana went and voted for persons who are dead or migrated. That thousands of ballots were tampered with by the PPP/C and other opposition parties. These hapless, helpless souls are going to risk their lives for a fortress built of sand but are told by their lying leaders that it is an edifice as strong as Fort Knox. And when they enter it, with passion and rage, they can be infected by the coronavirus. This is merciless exploitation of African Guyanese in the year 2020.
There isn’t space to describe the failure of this degenerate leadership of African Guyanese to liberate the low income classes of African Guyanese, and African Guyanese in general, since it came to power. I will pull up some examples from my memory from 2015 onwards. Almost 99 percent of youths incarcerated for possession of small amount of marijuana are Africans. Guyana has the most backward sentences for small amount of marijuana possession. This African party came to power and refused to amend the law. It was the multiracial AFC that spearheaded the change only to be stymied by an African president.
The entire public service and state sector are peopled by African Guyanese yet Guyana remains one of the few countries where retirement from state employment is at 55 percent. The pathetic failure of the PNC to raise the retirement age was cause for African Guyanese to vote them out in 2020 and many did not vote. The turnout of African Guyanese in Georgetown on March 2 was a stabbing knife blow to the PNC.
Most of the schools – nursery, primary and secondary – in Georgetown where African Guyanese predominate are in a dilapidated state. This was inherited from the previous government but the APNU+AFC hardly improved on the conditions in these buildings as they hardly improved on anything at the Georgetown Hospital. It should be noted that all of the prestigious private schools in Georgetown have a higher percentage of non-Africans than Africans.
Most taxi drivers are African Guyanese and they were the ones most hit when the APNU+AFC ruled that second-hand tyres are banned and all vehicular imports must be less than eight years old. African Guyanese constitute a majority of the students and staff at the University of Guyana. Yet look at how Granger’s personal choice for Vice-Chancellor used money.
Under Ivelaw Griffith’s tenure, more money was used for pomp and splendor while wages and salaries stagnated and basic infrastructural facilities remained in a state of decay. President Granger attended the first official installation ceremony UG ever held for a Vice-Chancellor, that of his friend, Griffith. The affair cost dozens of millions. Today, African Guyanese must listen with rapt attention to Redemption Song and then reject the monsters that seek to devour them.

(The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of this newspaper.)

Last edited by sachin_05

Yuh know when I read the shyte the PPP put out, dem duz really piss me off. Like these Indo fools forget the Split of 1955, the killings of Afro-Guyanese in large numbers, Wismar, Sun Chapman,village disturbances. Dem love to write about history but to actually do something to heal the country these mudda ****ers are DUMB. I want to hear them say to the Blackman, "Okay Bruddahs, you punish plenty, we gaon let you govern forever." That is what the Afro-Guyanese leadership wants to hear. Those words.

Fake Frigging People.

You sounding like Granger bai. The racist black in you is taking over. 

Let me remind you that there was a independent commission into the Sun Chapman incident and PPP was not implicated. Know your history. This was an PNC act to spread violence.

You black brudas are illegally squatting in office, we can talk when a democratically elected government is installed in accordance to the will of the people.

Shut you SK***. 

@seignet posted:

.......... I want to hear them say to the Blackman, "Okay Bruddahs, you punish plenty, we gaon let you govern forever." That is what the Afro-Guyanese leadership wants to hear. Those words.

Fake Frigging People.

Why should anyone be given free reign to govern forever?  Let us hope in time the smaller parties give the two dinosaur parties a run for their money.

@cain posted:

Why should anyone be given free reign to govern forever?  Let us hope in time the smaller parties give the two dinosaur parties a run for their money.

Once there is a lil black in a person dey is black. Even in such an individual with a marginal percentage of black, the memory of slavery is imbedded. In Guyana, they feel it is their right to govern. Read commentaries of Black writers. The PPP will hang onto their support for a long time. Since Jagan, there must be atleast two generations. The Indian man said, "since he ketch sense as a pickney, he knows only the PPP."

@seignet posted:

Yuh know when I read the shyte the PPP put out, dem duz really piss me off. Like these Indo fools forget the Split of 1955, the killings of Afro-Guyanese in large numbers, Wismar, Sun Chapman,village disturbances. Dem love to write about history but to actually do something to heal the country these mudda ****ers are DUMB. I want to hear them say to the Blackman, "Okay Bruddahs, you punish plenty, we gaon let you govern forever." That is what the Afro-Guyanese leadership wants to hear. Those words.

Fake Frigging People.

Siggy, Happy Emancipation Day. I suppose you're no longer eating carilla aka bitter melon because your blood is already saturated with bitterness. I regret that the PPP/C caused that. To counteract the bitters, yuh must wuk down sugarcake. πŸ™‚

If you are still wondering why Granger lost the confidence of the Guyanese less than one year after becoming President just read his speech today for Emancipation. It is grossly lacking in everything.

Emancipation is the single most significant event in our national history – President

Emancipation Greeting from Dr Mohamed Irfaan Ali.

It is with great optimism and a hopeful future I bring emancipation greetings to every Guyanese, particularly our African brothers and sisters. Emancipation came with great sacrifices, selflessness, struggle and commitment. The hardship our Ancestors endured for a better life, not only brought freedom but laid the foundation for nation building. The sacrifices they made for freedom , dignity and respect must be honored by all of us through leading lives that demonstrate these values. As we look to the future we must embrace each other in the spirit of emancipation which promotes a better, unified, free society in which all culture, beliefs and views can thrive regardless of ethnicity, social status, economic fortunes or political persuasion. We will honor the struggle of our Ancestors by committing ourselves to justice, fairness and respect and an abiding intolerance for oppression wherever it exists. Happy Emancipation to all Guyanese particularly our African brothers and sisters.

Siggy, Happy Emancipation Day. I suppose you're no longer eating carilla aka bitter melon because your blood is already saturated with bitterness. I regret that the PPP/C caused that. To counteract the bitters, yuh must wuk down sugarcake. πŸ™‚

Comrade, I am upset BCZ they are only humble when dem getting licks pan dem azz. I have been upset since 1992 when they had a perfect chance to be inclusive and turn the race relations around. That nonsense they were doing to Sam Hinds made them get wah deh getting today. The PPP power made a fool of the man to his people. Well, the PPP won the 2020 elections and dey cannot get their hands on a government.