Guyanese woman cutting US trip short after gun pointed at baby

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – A brazen gunman held up a woman and a 1-year-old baby outside a home in Queens.

The robber entering the yard.

The traumatised woman is in New York on vacation and spoke with CBS2’s Hazel Sanchez.
She was terrified to show her face, and asked CBS2 not to share her name after the gunpoint robbery with her 1-year-old niece in her arms.
“I didn’t scream because I didn’t even know how to scream. I just hold the baby and didn’t want her to look anywhere,” she told Sanchez.
It happened just after 6 p.m. Friday night.
The 34-year-old victim is visiting from Guyana. She was standing on the steps outside the baby’s home on 135th Place in South Ozone Park, Queens.
Surveillance video shows the gunman opening up the front gate and walking up to the house. He heads up the steps and pushes the victim inside.
“When he pushed me in the house, he took the gun out and said, ‘Give me the bag. Give me what’s in the bag.’ I said no,” she said. “And he keep putting the gun to my rib when I say no and then he put the gun to the baby. And at that point, when he put the gun to the baby, I just give him what he wanted.”
Video shows the man taking off down the street with the victim’s purse. Inside it was her passport, $7,000 in cash including her personal spending money and rent, plus cash to buy luxury items for a friend in Guyana. She had that friend’s two Rolex watches in her purse too, which she planned to hand-deliver.
Police say the suspect took off in a dark-coloured car.
“I just been traumatised. I can’t sleep. I keep thinking over and over what if, like, I didn’t call for the baby or, like, if I’d done things differently,” she said.
The victim says the day before the robbery, she was with casual acquaintances who knew what she was carrying in her purse.
Her family is convinced she was targeted.
“I think she was set up. How you gonna be like ‘What’s in the bag?’ So you knew what was in the bag,” one family member said.
“I just feel depressed. I get anxiety and panic attacks. I just feel scared all the time,” the victim said.
She planned to go back to Guyana next month, but is now cutting her trip short.

$7,000 cash, TWO Rolex watches, RENT money and other money to purchase Valuable Items--- This shit don't add up, she got more than Pointblank. She is looking for insurance pay day, this is all set up, she is robbing the person that gave her cash to make purchases and owner of the Rolex, if really that was true. PNC Pointblank bought Rod, cork and sinker, I wonder if he was buggered in NY would he call the police??

Pointblank posted:

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – A brazen gunman held up a woman and a 1-year-old baby outside a home in Queens.

The traumatised woman is in New York on vacation and spoke with CBS2’s Hazel Sanchez.
She was terrified to show her face, and asked CBS2 not to share her name after the gunpoint robbery with her 1-year-old niece in her arms.
“I didn’t scream because I didn’t even know how to scream. I just hold the baby and didn’t want her to look anywhere,” she told Sanchez.
The 34-year-old victim is visiting from Guyana. She was standing on the steps outside the baby’s home on 135th Place in South Ozone Park, Queens.
Surveillance video shows the gunman opening up the front gate and walking up to the house. He heads up the steps and pushes the victim inside.
“When he pushed me in the house, he took the gun out and said, ‘Give me the bag. Give me what’s in the bag.’ I said no,” she said. “And he keep putting the gun to my rib when I say no and then he put the gun to the baby. And at that point, when he put the gun to the baby, I just give him what he wanted.”
Video shows the man taking off down the street with the victim’s purse. Inside it was her passport, $7,000 in cash including her personal spending money and rent, plus cash to buy luxury items for a friend in Guyana. She had that friend’s two Rolex watches in her purse too, which she planned to hand-deliver.
“I just been traumatised. I can’t sleep. I keep thinking over and over what if, like, I didn’t call for the baby or, like, if I’d done things differently,” she said.
The victim says the day before the robbery, she was with casual acquaintances who knew what she was carrying in her purse.
“I think she was set up. How you gonna be like ‘What’s in the bag?’ So you knew what was in the bag,” one family member said.
“I just feel depressed. I get anxiety and panic attacks. I just feel scared all the time,” the victim said.

I have to say that this woman is not operating on all cylinders...its stupid...she is putting the baby’s life in danger also!

She said NO to a guy holding a gun...

And she carrying ROLEX? What is that about? Guyanese have some expensive taste....oil money must be on the horizon...

Pointblank posted:

I have to say that this woman is not operating on all cylinders...its stupid...she is putting the baby’s life in danger also!

She said NO to a guy holding a gun...

And she carrying ROLEX? What is that about? Guyanese have some expensive taste....oil money must be on the horizon...

It's a PNC set up . Pointblank knows who did the crime.

I think it's an exaggeration of what she had in the bag. Maybe she got renter's insurance and thinks insurance will pay for the losses. She is not honest. She carried too much in her purse being in New York.

Some of you talkin shit, let someone hold a Gun to Al yuh friggin head see what you will do.

I agree carrying 7000 in cash is stupid and buying Rolex watches( fake version) is their business!!

Something smells fishy about this ... 

when I was reading the article, I thought it happened in Guyana lol . 

Watch for the back lash. She should know is not Guyana police doing the investigation. 

Some of you talkin shit, let someone hold a Gun to Al yuh friggin head see what you will do.

I agree carrying 7000 in cash is stupid and buying Rolex watches( fake version) is their business!!

Eh eh a how you talking so .. like U drink some of Prince Piss or wah . 

This woman is not smart enough to be carrying the things she claimed were in her purse. People in Guyana are trained from birth to conceal their valuables. This is obviously a big woman and would know that while she is not expected to see Queens as Guyana, one still doesn't tell others that they have that kind of value on them. Who is she going to pay the rent to? If she is making up the story to con someone in Guyana, she better stay her entire planned time here or even longer. People in Guyana don't take kindly to people conning them. If she is doing it to defraud insurance, she should be told pronto that insurance fraud is a felony.

The whole story doesn't add up.

I would say “take it” instead of “NO”.

Dis is wan stupid “binni”

You might think it's stupid. Why do you think she allowed the man to get into the house? I can see insurance money floating in the air. Hope she has receipts for the 2 Rolex watches and a receipt for she cash she withdrew.

She has NOTHING, it's all FAKE, Pointblank is part of the action.

I’ve been wondering how he know all dem thief man in America.

Typical, he open he mouth and story jump out.

That woman has $7000 us in cash in a purse.  That woman should have stayed in a nice hotel in long island or Harlem then she would have been safer.  That is Queens New York for you.  Over priced and over rated.