AFC to begin local govt election campaign, no agreement yet with APNU

Left to right: Executive members of the Alliance For Change, Audwin Rutherford, party Chairman Khemraj Ramjattan, Catherine Hughes, David Patterson and party Leader, Raphael Trotman.

The Alliance For Change (AFC) on Saturday decided to begin campaigning for local government elections expected to be held during the last quarter of this year, but there is no agreement yet with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) on contesting jointly, party sources said.

“The negotiations with Coalition partner A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) with regard to contesting the LGE on a joint platform will continue,” the party later said in a statement.

Party Chairman, Khemraj Ramjattan declined to comment on the actual outcome of the talks that were held at the Amerindian Village complex, Sophia Exhibition Site before an official party statement is issued, but said he was pleased with the outcome. “It was fantastic what we had… the quality of the decision-making and the decision itself,” he said when asked how he would describe the meeting.

Party insiders said former AFC Chairman, Nigel Hughes delivered a 15-minute presentation on his perspectives for the party’s preparedness for local government elections. Efforts to contact Hughes were not immediately successful.

The Party, having already commenced its Local Govt Elections campaign, has started with the identification of candidates in each Municipality and Neighbourhood Democratic Council.

The AFC explained in its statement that the National Executive Committee meeting mapped out a pre-campaign plan of action and the broad outlines of strategic plans for the campaigns in each of the nine administrative regions in which LGE will be contested. The processes for identifying candidates, issues of concerns to citizens, campaign structure, methodologies, organization and funding and other matters were discussed.

Senior AFC sources said that party could not await an agreement with APNU before starting its campaign. A major sticking point in the talks, a source said, was APNU’s insistence that the two political organisations campaign separately and then they divide the seats based on the results.

FLASH BACK: Attorney-at-Law, Nigel Hughes on the campaign trail

However, some AFC executives believe that if they contest the local government elections that would automatically constrain the party representatives from being outspoken on certain issues if a decision is taken that nothing should be said or they should stick to one position.

A number of AFC executives are also said to believe that their party would perform better in Georgetown if they contest separately. AFC has been stridently objecting to the metered parking contract between City Hall and Smart City Solutions, citing an absence of transparency.

That party and APNU have also been at odds over the softening of penalties for the possession of small amounts of marijuana for recreational or religious use.

In the 2016 local government election, AFC had complained bitterly that APNU did not respect the 60-40 formula that was used for the 2015 general elections even as a gentleman’s agreement, and essentially wanted to dominate the process.

http://demerarawaves.com/2018/...ement-yet-with-apnu/

You are 7 days late with the article,there is a saying "it's better to be late than never"

Going alone is no big deal for the AFC.Who ever parroting the phrases from FH, the party is dead meat etc, needs introspection.

Who the hell do you think you are by presenting yourself at GNI's editorial chief ?

It funny that you are still backing a Dog Shyte, Dead Meat party.

Dem Berbice Sugar Workers have their cutlass in hand.

Ha Ha Ha !!!!

Who the hell do you think you are by presenting yourself at GNI's editorial chief ?

It funny that you are still backing a Dog Shyte, Dead Meat party.

Ha Ha Ha !!!!

Frustration stepping in.

AFC is DEAD, let's keep Wake on GNI. The only support it has is on GNI and that's Plenty.

Dj wants to bring back the Dead. Wishful thinking on his part, he ain't no Jesus. He is still drinking the Moses snake oil.

When madness was being distributed Dj begged and took it all.

AFC is DEAD, let's keep Wake on GNI. The only support it has is on GNI and that's Plenty.

Dj wants to bring back the Dead. Wishful thinking on his part, he ain't no Jesus. He is still drinking the Moses snake oil.

When madness was being distributed Dj begged and took it all.

The above depicts madness of the writer.

Guyana maintains Tier one placement in US TIP report

Jun 29, 2018

Guyana’s fight against Trafficking in Person (TIP) has seen it maintaining its Tier one status in the US State’s Department of State’s TIP report for 2017.

The recently released report shows that Guyana has been making significant strides in the fight against trafficking in persons. Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan said the increased efforts of anti-TIP agencies have resulted in much success.

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

read more

The only thing left for these AFC koolie traitors to get is a good beat up.

Indos will kick them good and proper so they are in hiding.

Only Dj is left drinking Moses Pee Pee. Dj should go sing Moses praises in Berbice and watch dem Indos give him a good trashing. He is an embodiment of a dirty Indo.

Look at the Dog shyteMoses hiding from Berbicians. The cane cutters have cutlass in hand waiting for this liar and con man. 

AFC = Alliance For Conmen

Most are die hard PPP-ites,unfortunately the numbers aren't there for their party to win.

They have to change their ways and recognize that Guyana is a multi-ethnic nation.

Berbice cane cutters are waiting for the Alliance For Cooks to show up:

Unknown-2

Shame on the PPP,they wanted the East Indians to be cane cutters for life,keeping them less educated to control their minds.

You are a Dirty Indo. You should not be using the term Indo, it is a disservice to our oppressed people.

That's the best you can come up with.

There are many East Indians in multi-racial societies who don't see themselves as superior to others in the human race.They co-exist and make the world a better place.

Unlike in 2015 APNU will not share power with AFC 60-40. Many APNU supporters and others believe AFC contributed less than 10% votes to coalition victory in 2015. PPP performed exceedingly well in its traditional strongholds that AFC wanted to poach  votes from. This time AFC will have to earn votes on its own, then APNU will see the true picture and decide in 2020 whether to contest with AFC.

APNU will lose the 2020 elections if they choose that route.

Bhai, Gilly i felt sad to hear about your health,hang in there bro.I wish you all the best.

Unknown-2

Shame on the PPP,they wanted the East Indians to be cane cutters for life,keeping them less educated to control their minds.

How do you come up with this idea.

You are a Dirty Indo. You should not be using the term Indo, it is a disservice to our oppressed people.

There are many East Indians in multi-racial societies who don't see themselves as superior to others in the human race.They co-exist and make the world a better place.

No race is superior or inferior.

Stop this race superiority/inferiority BS and get with the facts man. Granger's PNC is more racist than Burnham's PNC and this clown plans to rig just like every other Black President in Guyana before him did.

your 'posture' du jour

how much longer you think we should wait for you curl your lip, strap on your dunce belt and aver the exact opposite?

Huh quite interesting,form your writings it says otherwise.

Prove where I said otherwise.

Your screwed mind only attack Indos who speak for Indos rights. On the other hand, Blacks who speak for Black rights are seen by you as freedom fighters.

Get a life man.

Eh Eh, Antie Ronan dancing again. Dance Antie Ronan, dance.

Brahmin bai, how much time till you get a dunce fit and start belch how Indo cool and blackman retrograde, eh?

tell abie nah . . . or, you can go coward and claim that you does share yuh handle 

smh

Unknown-2

PNC brainwashed the Dirty Indo so he parrots their Congress Place lines. Pay per Post for the banna.

Unknown-2

PNC brainwashed the Dirty Indo so he parrots their Congress Place lines. Pay per Post for the banna.

Are you sure you are straight,yuh slip showing.