I took a quick look at the websites provided above and it appear that Maharaja serves Indian (from India) food - not Guyanese style curry. Maybe I am mistaken. And the German's restaurant serves creole food whcih is okay. I like cow heel soup which is served on Mondays. The location (near Tiger Bay it seems) would mean going for lunch. Nothing wrong with that. I can go for dinner elsewhere.

When you visit Guyana you want to eat Guyanese style food---not Indian Indian food.

Check out Coal Pot and then click on the link for more:

Coal Pot Restaurant
Address: Carmichael Street,
South Cummingsburg, opposite Bishop’s High School. 
The Coal Pot Restaurant is a landmark in the ‘eating out’ culture in Guyana. They serve mainly creole foods such as vegetable stews & rice, metagee, fried rice, sweet and sour pork, prawns fried rice, cook-up rice, pepper pot, soups, salads, stuffed red snapper in banana leaf, salt fish cakes, hot creole chutney and fried parsley dumplings.

Click on the link:

http://www.exploreguyana.org/WhereToEat

==========

Now, if you want real food---make friends with East Indians who live in the country areas---and let them introduce you to:

* Dhall and  rice and coconut choka

* Gilbaka curry

* Crab curry---sheriga or buck crab

Wash all that down with some coconut water or cane juice.

DESERT:

* Panoose and sapodilla.

Report back to the Rev when you have tried all of the above.

Originally Posted by Freaky:
Originally Posted by marty:

Are there any Guyanese restaurants in downtown GT that are open in the evening? I was looking for some curry food last July and all that was open in the evening was Chinese restaurants.

Thanks

Mar,

Try Maharaja Palace pon Sheriff St, it's authentic Indian cuisine and i've heard amazing recounts of how wonderful their menu selections are

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/R...emerara_Mahaica.html

there's also a place called Roti Hut, not sure if they serve dinner

Also German's just started serving dinner, heard there food is good too

===

The food is outstanding at Maharaja. You can get some good Guyanese fish meals at places like Pegasus and Grand Coastal. Hacks halal has perhaps the best Guyanese style mutton curry and dhal puri in GT. Back in my BOG days Palm Court had the best metem in town and excellent creole dishes. But I have not been there in years since the ownership change and I really can't take those pink/orange palm trees. 

Originally Posted by alena06:
Originally Posted by Riya:

I can attest to maharaja. The food was great and they were opened for dinner. Beautiful setting too.

I will try it when I visit, need my curry at least once a week.  We just got back from Jamaica and I had some good curry there.

The best curry I had though was from my relatives kitchen......in Berbice. Those people can cook! 

if you going back for a visit go in front of big market in the night and eat some antiman cookup with fried fish or fish ball with some local juice some of the best cook food in guyana is the street food around america street check out rocko and tell him i send you.and if you looking for some good curry parika market wild meat

There was a guy with the word "Warrior" across the back of his car ( I believe it was used as a hire car (taxi))he hung around that area,America St.

Is dat Ue?

Originally Posted by Prashad:

I am into Guyanese Indian food not India Indian food.  I could'n care two guyana cents for India Indian food. I like a plate with my okra and fried shrimps with my roti and a glass of five finger drink. What better than that.  That is heaven itself.

I made a bad salmon curry today, never tried that b4..but it was good.

There are so many varieties of Indian food, some are better than others.  North Indian cooking seems less spicy and more similar to our Guyanese food than the super hot South Indian dishes.

Originally Posted by alena06:
Originally Posted by Prashad:

I am into Guyanese Indian food not India Indian food.  I could'n care two guyana cents for India Indian food. I like a plate with my okra and fried shrimps with my roti and a glass of five finger drink. What better than that.  That is heaven itself.

I made a bad salmon curry today, never tried that b4..but it was good.

There are so many varieties of Indian food, some are better than others.  North Indian cooking seems less spicy and more similar to our Guyanese food than the super hot South Indian dishes.

u people will curry any and everything

Originally Posted by marty:

It seems there is a International Food & Drink Festival on Mar 30 @ 4:00PM at Everest Cricket Ground. At least that night I don't have to look for a place to eat.

Are you serious? There are tons of places to eat out in GT in the evening. Cruise along Sheriff St and take our pick or just go down Regent St., Albertown, Kitty and there will always be food at Stabroek Market - especially close to the Linden carpark (fresh off kero stove). I found a nice place in Durban St. that does soulfood.

One thing, I've never been in GT is hungry.