Originally posted by asj:
Originally posted by The Judge:
VOTE PPP/C flag

Let the Progress Continues.....imagine myself and girlfriend in Guyana cosying and enjoying once again movies on the big screen with fantastic sound all around.

Bring it on. Wink

The Carrion Crows and Vultures of GNI gonna run in this topic with their negativity very soon
Originally posted by D2:
we want to see the deal! No cushy give aways! And they pay nominal taxes if local people have to pay 46%

You are into cushy tushy business right?
The deal is above board. Private investors appreciating Guyana's sound financial climate that has proven to be investor friendly. Such an investment should not come as a surprise.
Originally posted by albert:
Originally posted by D2:
we want to see the deal! No cushy give aways! And they pay nominal taxes if local people have to pay 46%

You are into cushy tushy business right?
The deal is above board. Private investors appreciating Guyana's sound financial climate that has proven to be investor friendly. Such an investment should not come as a surprise.
It is not the PPP's country. They are mere custodians. We do not want giveaways of the type given to the Indian furniture maker who got 4% of our land in some secret deal with Jagdeo. Transparency in all things has to be the norm to prevent insider deals of the kind that feeds the greet of these cheats.

Being crude will not gain you smarts. It simply highlights our prevailing concern that we have idiots guarding the barn.
Entertainment options expanding locally – MovieTowne Guyana unveiled - 800 to be employed

Georgetown, GINA, November 8, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo unveils the official plaque for MovieTowne Guyana in the presence of MovieTowne founder Brian Chin (right) other officials of the franchise and Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar

President Bharrat Jagdeo today unveiled the official plaque for the first ever MovieTowne, optimistic that the once vibrant movie theatre environment in Guyana will be revived in a more revolutionized fashion.

The plan was unveiled today at Georgetown Club in the presence of Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar, MovieTowne founder Derek Chin and other officials of the company including the architect and marketing manager.

MovieTowne a subsidiary of its establishment in Trinidad and Tobago is a chain of eight state of the art multiplex cinemas coupled with 30 local, regional and international stores, a bank area for dining and a parking space for over 700 vehicles. Movie options range from Hollywood, blockbuster regional and Bollywood movies

MovieTowne founder Brian Chin showing President Bharrat Jagdeo and Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar the MovieTowne Guyana plan

President Jagdeo said that the entertainment options and other services offered by MovieTowne are services badly needed in Guyana given the waning state of movie theatre in the country.

“We still do have a gap where a lot of our people are looking for entertainmentâ€Ķ good entertainment for the family and everyone and, I think MovieTowne will be able to fill that gap,” President Jagdeo said.

The entrepreneurs will be investing US$20M in the venture, anticipating employment opportunities for approximately 800 when the facility is complete. Construction is scheduled to commence in 2012 and expected to be completed in less than two years. The facility will be constructed on a ten acre plot of land at Turkeyen.

MovieTowne Guyana will be the fourth of its kind and first establishment outside of the twin island republic with the hope of “changing the lives of Guyanese far and wide, offering a level of recreational leisure never before experienced.”

The proprietors have assured that the investment will promote among other things, the evolution of a tourist attraction facilitating an indigenous modern world class environment that showcases the local culture people and enterprise of Guyana.

They also said that it will foster harmonious trade relations between Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago.

MovieTowne will add to the many elaborately designed facilities that over the years has significantly enhanced the aesthetics of the city and its environs. It is also a symbol of investor confidence in the Guyanese economy.

Only recently, Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh at a television panel discussion said that investor interest in Guyana is evident now more than ever before in the country’s history and credited the achievement to the policy environment created by the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) administration over the years.

Within months the new Marriott Hotel will be launched which President Jagdeo said will add to the stock of facilities that will significantly improve the level of services offered to Guyanese.

President Jagdeo said Guyana over the years has made tremendous progress in almost every field (economic and social) while Guyanese have been able to attain a higher incomes at the household level.
This is what they call the worse kind of globalism. Industries like fast food and Gambling and now this movie complex does not add one bit to the economic development. Apparently the PPP cannot get a toe hold in inviting productive industries to the society. When are we going to get a ceramic plant, a boat building entity, bottle making plant etc? At lease give us a small engine manufacturing plant.
Deh wtaching we watching we PPP/C for victory flag
having a movietowne is good for the guyanese people,but let me get this right,is that land not in dispute and in court.this just go to show how the government have no respect for the laws in guyana.they could not find another peice of land
Originally posted by warrior:
having a movietowne is good for the guyanese people,but let me get this right,is that land not in dispute and in court.this just go to show how the government have no respect for the laws in guyana.they could not find another peice of land
Did in not say it is bad. It is just fast food economics. I would like them to make a big fuss about building solar cells, or even pots and pans and even teacups and saucers!
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by warrior:
Did in not say it is bad. It is just fast food economics. I would like them to make a big fuss about building solar cells, or even pots and pans and even teacups and saucers!
i know what you saying and i think you is right.i too will like to see the milk plant back in guyana or a juice factory that can benfit the farmers