Guyanese Girls Rock Movement (GGRM) stepped into the spotlight with the launch of Guyanese Girls Rock Foundation during a lavish reception at Zen Hibachi Lounge in Queens. The four-year-old organization proved that it was a force bigger than the stormy weather on Oct. 29, attracting many patrons who showed support for the non-profit focused on igniting passion in Guyanese girls to become the next generation of global leaders.

The red carpet event attended by New York State Senator Roxanne Persaud and Guyana Consul General to New York, Barbara Atherly raised much needed funds via its Silent Auction and raffle, to provide leadership capabilities in young women to empower and help the youth, to reach their full potential through enrichment programs, scholarships and exposure to exceptional female role models.

Letitia James

Sen. Roxanne Persaud, lauded Founder and President Harris-Stoute for her vision and commitment to launch the Guyanese Girls Girl Rock foundation, adding, “we are showing people how progressive we are and how committed we are.”

The Senator of the 19th Senate District in Brooklyn, in acknowledging Harris-Stoute, an entrepreneur and someone who continue to inspire women through her organization, offered congratulations and called on attendees to continue their support of Guyanese Girls Rock, the foundation.

“Remember, when you have a vision, write it down. When Cloyette started her blog for year ago, she knew she wanted to launch a foundation, so today it is here.”

“On behalf of the New York City State Senate, and the people, we applaud you for the hard work you have done, and we will work with you as you continue this journey,” said Sen. Persaud.

“When we think of a leader, we think of someone who is committed, someone who has drive and someone whose resolve is to move things towards a singular unified purpose — like the Guyanese Girls Rock Foundation — breaking conventions and developing new products and service,” declared Consul General Barbara Atherly.

The diplomat applauded GGRF for its efforts to raise awareness, and educate “our young women in confidence building, leadership skills, proper etiquette and college readiness,” noting that women empowerment will ensure equal rights.

“Let the resilient character of a Guyanese woman be applied positively and let us all commit to our girls who have the right to let their voices heard; to be empowered and to take up leadership roles in our community,” added CG Atherly.

Siricos

Vice President of GGRF, Rhonda Binda, Esq., reiterated the importance of the foundation’s trust, which is to inspire, motivate and celebrate the brilliance and achievement of Guyanese girls and women across the globe, during her welcome note.

Young author, Anaya Lee Wallabies, cemented the foundation’s vision in her poem “She Believes In Me” that said “Women of courage, you are not a hero but a She-Ro, nothing can stop you but yourself, as I watch your compassion for others.”

The excitement in the room was further amplified by the infectious rhythm of “GT Woman,” a new release performed by lyricist Courtney Noel which rocked the event.

Harris-Stoute said that she felt Guyanese women were not adequately recognized for their contributions and was inspired to launch Guyanese Girl Rock Movement.

Updated 4:12 pm, November 2, 2017

Senator Roxanne Persaud (left) of the 19th Senate District of Brooklyn, presents Founder and President of Guyanese Girls Rock Foundation, Cloyette Harris-Stoute with a citation from the New York State Senate, at the launch of the foundation at Zen Hibachi Lounge in Queens.

Cloyette-1

Here is another pic.

Me thinks this fella is a member of GNI.

Was this a PNC thing????

How you arrive at this question? Is it because you see an African girl in the picture?

The event was Guyanese Girls Rock Foundation, why would they invite a Man?? Vish don't feel bad, Chief was not invited.

Neither was BiBi or Lena. 

No invitation needed.  $20. Gets you in the door.  My purse didn't have that much.  Thing bad.  The economy going down bai.

The event was Guyanese Girls Rock Foundation, why would they invite a Man?? Vish don't feel bad, Chief was not invited.

No invitation needed.  $20. Gets you in the door.  My purse didn't have that much.  Thing bad.  The economy going down bai.

So how do you compare yourself to Gina Miller? She is a member. Vena Mookram is one of their Sheros. 

Bai me staying in me lane.  I can't measure up to those Sheros!   Abbey poor people know abbey corner.

You ladies should form a similar org to help the young ones in Guyana. I will support it. You are educated and not poor.

Bibi and Alena, you know this guy?    Looks like he bought that suit in Switzerland. I guess he'll be getting Charity millions through this organization!

It is my hope that this charity works out as the others have failed.  Is that the suit Tola was talking about?

Bibi and Alena, you know this guy?    Looks like he bought that suit in Switzerland. I guess he'll be getting Charity millions through this organization!

You prappa wutlis.  He is friends with my nephew. Please don't knock his organization. 

Rhonda

Suh this fella is Base.

Nice to see he found a beauty finally. Let's wish them well. 

So you're saying that the girl he was running after on GNI is not a beauty?

I see he posing wit nuff gyal. How you know dis one is he own?

If that is truly Base, then it proves that all those who like to label others like they labeled him do not know what they are talking about.

Wuh dem guys say, he doan have a brown suit?

Several people have reported back to me that he was at an event yesterday slandering my name.  Saying that I am bipolar, I have a low life job, and I owe him money.

Woman, let me make it clear, I have no interest in talking about you, as you seem, about me.  This is all BS, you are not that important to me any longer, time wasted, move on. You getting old and barrel shaped, and it ain't gon get better.  Get rid of them sexy 6, 8, 10 dresses and go visit Ashley Stewart!

A common acquaintance opened up a bracket on you after receiving the "two robbers" text which he shared with me.  It was totally unsolicited and I was caught by surprised.  It was a great day until my "pimple" Bibi erupted!  I was about to leave with a new acquaintance whom I needed to bring to Jersey City.  So we spoke telephonically after I returned home.

He is still in awe at the lies you told at another earlier event where you vented, which is diametrically opposite to substantiated facts.  He told me all what you said and thought something was off and lots of missing pieces.

People are not that gullible!  They listen, nod in agreement, then process...and the gaps show themselves.

I still don't know why he felt the need to open up to me!

And why you so obsessed with my ex and her pretty face and size 6 body?  She has no interest in you!

Waiting to see pics. of this famous GNIer in his Brooks Brothers outfit at the GGRF luncheon yesterday!

Was this a Fund raising luncheon?  

It was, and first ever awards.  Eight young ladies received awards for college.

Waiting to see pics. of this famous GNIer in his Brooks Brothers outfit at the GGRF luncheon yesterday!

Was this a Fund raising luncheon?  

It was, and first ever awards.  Eight young ladies received awards for college.

Thanks. That's cool. Keep up the good works.