just throwing this for a discussion . 

1. Did Guyana voting against Trump and US at the UN recently have repercussion against Guyana with its border issue which will be going to UN .

2. Why didn’t Guyana abstain from voting as  Trinidad did.

1. Did Guyana voting against Trump and US at the UN recently have repercussion against Guyana with its border issue which will be going to UN .

Smart ppl is not Guyanese politicians. Dem can hardly feed themselves without the USA and dem wan bore de plate.

Since when US helping Guyana with border dispute?

Keep dreaming....even if they do, they have to see some benefit (oil)

Eventually money talks...

Riff posted:

Since when US helping Guyana with border dispute?

Keep dreaming....even if they do, they have to see some benefit (oil)

Eventually money talks...

Thanks for your response, what did you  smoke today ... no wonder your pagleness show all day .

Politically this looks good for the PPP come 2020 election, remember ABC countries put the APNU/AFC in government with Carter's direction. Just suppose them ask back for the $18M US bonus, do they have it to repay? Trump's America needs LOYALTY, Haley took notes at the UN and Guyana was not invited to the friendship party.Jagdeo and the PPP just have to say they will support Trump at all cost and America will secure victory for the PPP.

Guyanese should be proud that their Govt did the moral thing and not give in to the US. 

So I guess you are not a proud Canadian now ...

canada abstain

Come 2020, Indo Guyanese will also abstain. 

Guyanese should be proud that their Govt did the moral thing and not give in to the US. 

I doubt whether Guyana fully undersatnds the reason for the vote and the implications for voting against it rather than abstain. 

Guyana is known to back controversal causes. And they can't do anything other than vote which they planning to deny voting in Guyana by rigging. 

Last edited by seignet

Politically this looks good for the PPP come 2020 election, remember ABC countries put the APNU/AFC in government with Carter's direction. Just suppose them ask back for the $18M US bonus, do they have it to repay? Trump's America needs LOYALTY, Haley took notes at the UN and Guyana was not invited to the friendship party.Jagdeo and the PPP just have to say they will support Trump at all cost and America will secure victory for the PPP.

It is very easy to cap oil wells. Tillerson has big contact with ExxonMobil.

Dey already dragging their feet on Liza 2. And nobody else is finding oil other than ExxonMobil. 

Trump is not the USA and he ain't gonna be around to make a difference to the countries that voted against his bullshit.

Shut yuh backside, you is not even American, worry about Canadian issues. 

Guyana should vote with the US, just like the smart people of Kiribatty. Leh we see wuh Maduno guh do when that Black man Granjah get invited to the White House to meet the Orange orangutan.   

I doubt whether Guyana fully undersatnds the reason for the vote and the implications for voting against it rather than abstain. 

Guyana is known to back controversal causes. And they can't do anything other than vote which they planning to deny voting in Guyana by rigging. 

What implications?

You second paragraph is of no relevance.

Guyana should vote with the US, just like the smart people of Kiribatty. Leh we see wuh Maduno guh do when that Black man Granjah get invited to the White House to meet the Orange orangutan.   

Like Kiri--batty ?? 

Why you don't rest your ass?

Smart ppl is not Guyanese politicians. Dem can hardly feed themselves without the USA and dem wan bore de plate.

Poor does not mean that you cannot stand up to a bully!

Trinidad is a wuss!

Every Guyanese Government be it PPP or PNC stood and voted on the side of what is right!

Poor does not mean that you cannot stand up to a bully!

Chiefsta, cyar yuh rass da side.  Dem Wahabs hoodwinked da Trumpsta.  Why you think Saudi ask Abbas to shut up and sit donk!  US/Israel using the Sunni/Shia divide to consolidate Israel.  Trump gon give Saudi more weapons to go after Iran.  For that the Wahabs sold out the Palestinians.

Divide and conquer.  Real time in our faces!  Trump is wickedly ingenious!!

Trinidad is a wuss!

Every Guyanese Government be it PPP or PNC stood and voted on the side of what is right!

But Guyana is the beggar nation, not TT!!  I agree with TT. Please the mighty USA!!   Jagan prapa screw up alyuh coolie people head!!

Trinidad is a wuss!

But Guyana is the beggar nation, not TT!!  I agree with TT. Please the mighty USA!!   Jagan prapa screw up alyuh coolie people head!!

Jagan stood up for Justice.

I am surprise to see the PPP boys staying away  from this thread.

PPP reformed Commies will never do that. PPP needs a new set of leaders with a non-ideological pragmatic mindset.  They need to get real and think PPP power over all else and do what it takes to accomplish that.  For a lil beggar bowl nation, they have too much mouth.  The PPP always screw themselves over. I wished this was one of Jagan legacy the had shed.  Instead they shed the good and still hold to the bad!

Frankly, I don’t think the US wants the Jagdeo cabal in power again. In 2020 the PNC will be heavy handed and steal the election and the US will turn a blind eye. 2025, that’s a long way off!!

Merry Merry Christmas and a happy New Year Chief , on Christmas  day a baby was born call Jesus ... some say Trump represent Christ .

BTW did Trump Tax law benefit you and  your business , I didn’t recall you cuss Trump about his new tax law  😂

Trinidad is a wuss!

Jagan stood up for Justice.

Maybe, while everyone else fall down. He did not really, he was just anti-USA. Anyway, They should have abstain!

I believe Trump has an out of the box plan.  Will wait and see!

Guyana joins global defiance of US’ recognition of Jerusalem despite threat of aid cut

Guyana was Thursday among seven member-nations of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) that defied the United States’ (US) recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), despite threats by American President, Donald Trump to cut aid to opponents.

Guyana voted along with Belize, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Suriname to support the resolution by an overall vote of 128 (yes), nine (no) and 25 (abstentions).
The resolution, which was drafted by Yemen and Turkey, demanded of the US to rescind its December 6 declaration on Jerusalem, the contested holy city, as Israel’s capital.
However, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Haiti, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago abstained. No vote was cast by St. Kitts and Nevis, and St. Lucia.
The United Kingdom, with which Guyana and all English-speaking Caribbean nations have historical ties, also voted in favour of the resolution.
Canada abstained. Venezuela voted ‘yes’.
Other nations with which Guyana enjoys very good diplomatic relations that voted to support the resolution were Brazil, China and India.
The non-binding vote came against the background of Trump indicating very strongly that aid to countries that voted against his stance on Jerusalem could see a reduction in aid flows. “All of these nations that take our money and then they vote against us at the Security Council or they vote against us, potentially, at the Assembly, they take hundreds of millions of dollars and even billions of dollars and then they vote against us,” Mr. Trump said Wednesday. “Well, we’re watching those votes,” he said. “Let them vote against us; we’ll save a lot. We don’t care.” he was quoted by the New York Times as saying.
Moments before the vote, US Ambassador to the UN, Nikki Haley echoed Trump’s position, suggesting that nations that vote against the US would not receive American funding and support. “The United States will remember this day in which it was singled out for attack in the General Assembly for the very act of exercising our right as a sovereign nation. We will remember it when we are called upon to once again make the world’s largest contribution to the United Nations. And we will remember it when so many countries come calling on us, as they so often do, to pay even more and to use our influence for their benefit,” she said.
The Trump administration’s position is in contrast to many UN Security Council resolutions that have stated Jerusalem’s status remains unresolved, that Israel’s claims of sovereignty must be settled in talks between Israelis and Palestinians.
President Trump announced earlier this month that the US recognises Jerusalem as Israel’s capital, marking an end to an estimated 70-year old American foreign policy position and the commencement of plans to move the US embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.

Guyana joins global defiance of US’ recognition of Jerusalem despite threat of aid cut

Guyana was Thursday among seven member-nations of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) that defied the United States’ (US) recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), despite threats by American President, Donald Trump to cut aid to opponents.

Guyana voted along with Belize, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Suriname to support the resolution by an overall vote of 128 (yes), nine (no) and 25 (abstentions).
The resolution, which was drafted by Yemen and Turkey, demanded of the US to rescind its December 6 declaration on Jerusalem, the contested holy city, as Israel’s capital.
However, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Haiti, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago abstained. No vote was cast by St. Kitts and Nevis, and St. Lucia.
The United Kingdom, with which Guyana and all English-speaking Caribbean nations have historical ties, also voted in favour of the resolution.
Canada abstained. Venezuela voted ‘yes’.
Other nations with which Guyana enjoys very good diplomatic relations that voted to support the resolution were Brazil, China and India.
The non-binding vote came against the background of Trump indicating very strongly that aid to countries that voted against his stance on Jerusalem could see a reduction in aid flows. “All of these nations that take our money and then they vote against us at the Security Council or they vote against us, potentially, at the Assembly, they take hundreds of millions of dollars and even billions of dollars and then they vote against us,” Mr. Trump said Wednesday. “Well, we’re watching those votes,” he said. “Let them vote against us; we’ll save a lot. We don’t care.” he was quoted by the New York Times as saying.
Moments before the vote, US Ambassador to the UN, Nikki Haley echoed Trump’s position, suggesting that nations that vote against the US would not receive American funding and support. “The United States will remember this day in which it was singled out for attack in the General Assembly for the very act of exercising our right as a sovereign nation. We will remember it when we are called upon to once again make the world’s largest contribution to the United Nations. And we will remember it when so many countries come calling on us, as they so often do, to pay even more and to use our influence for their benefit,” she said.
The Trump administration’s position is in contrast to many UN Security Council resolutions that have stated Jerusalem’s status remains unresolved, that Israel’s claims of sovereignty must be settled in talks between Israelis and Palestinians.
President Trump announced earlier this month that the US recognises Jerusalem as Israel’s capital, marking an end to an estimated 70-year old American foreign policy position and the commencement of plans to move the US embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.

If the PPP is smart , they can make the move ... dance to Trump.

i have not seen the speech by Nikki...if this is true , Guyana is a dead meat for US 

Regardless of who is in government in Guyana, it has always objected to the illegal Israeli occupation of Palestinian lands so it is not surprising that they will object to Trump's nonsense. We are indeed the greatest country in the world but as the Turkish Minister stated, "being strong doesn't necessarily mean being right" and it is clear that Trump made that announcement as a deflection since his eldest son Don Jr. was being questioned by Congress at the same time.

So I guess you are not a proud Canadian now ...

canada abstain

I am a US citizen and always want the US to be successful as a successful America is good for my children's futures. Plus I believe that while no one is perfect, more times than not, the US does the right and noble thing. Except for Israel where they have almost always stood on the wrong side of justice. Being proud of America does not have to mean accepting the few times that they have made the wrong decisions. The same could be said about Mitwah and Canada. Plus abstaining virtually means siding with the 128 countries objecting to the US' decision as opposed to those 9 supporting it because if Canada didn't have a problem with Trump's decision, it would have supported it. Even America's strongest ally, the UK objected to Trump's nonsense. Plus South Sudan which was virtually created by America's Evangelicals abstained which is almost just like objecting like Canada did.

Merry Merry Christmas and a happy New Year Chief , on Christmas  day a baby was born call Jesus ... some say Trump represent Christ .

BTW did Trump Tax law benefit you and  your business , I didn’t recall you cuss Trump about his new tax law  😂

Actually, Jesus was not born on Christmas day. The DOB of the Greek Sun God was December 25th which was changed to Christmas Day although Jesus' DOB was five to six months apart from December 25th. Lots of folks fall for the Christmas Day birthday of Jesus just like they fall for the scam of Santa. 

I believe Trump has an out of the box plan.  Will wait and see!

Trump has no plan. He was just deflecting because his son was currently being questioned by Congress. Trump does not care for Israel anymore than he care for the Palestinians or anyone else. Everyone is firewood when Trump needs to be warm. He is just able to fool some people that he really care for anyone whose name isn't Trump or Jared Kushner.

i have not seen the speech by Nikki...if this is true , Guyana is a dead meat for US 

Actually, Nikki looks a lot uglier now than she did in early 2017. Doing wickedness have a way of showing in one's face and her face is showing a lot of wickedness, stress or guilt. That is what happens when you work with the devil. She should have stayed in Carolina.

Do you want to see Guyana go into madness come 2020, let say Exxon Mobil decides to cap all the oil wells and wait for the price to climb. Well Granger and boys  will have to eat coconut because they are banking heavily on oil revenue. $18 M US is peanuts to this oil giant, that's a tax write off. Trump and Rex Tillerson have a lots of influence on the oil industry, remember Trump never wants to lose and Halley has all the names, they will first squeeze the smaller nations.

Last edited by kp

Actually, Jesus was not born on Christmas day. The DOB of the Greek Sun God was December 25th which was changed to Christmas Day although Jesus' DOB was five to six months apart from December 25th. Lots of folks fall for the Christmas Day birthday of Jesus just like they fall for the scam of Santa. 

His return is more important than the time of His coming into the world. He did say the whoe world would know of His arrival. This age has live streaming moment by moment at the fingertips.

Do you want to see Guyana go into madness come 2020, let say Exxon Mobil decides to cap all the oil wells and wait for the price to climb. Well Granger and boys  will have to eat coconut because they are banking heavily on oil revenue. $18 M US is peanuts to this oil giant, that's a tax write off. Trump and Rex Tillerson have a lots of influence on the oil industry, remember Trump never wants to lose and Halley has all the names, they will first squeeze the smaller nations.

That has been the case from the beginning of time. The powerful always abuse the weak. If it hasn't changed in over 4 billion years, it isn't going to change now or ever. So Guyana being amongst the weak will have to endure any abuse from the strong. But Guyana being weak should not influence them doing what is right and moral. That said, the normal haplessness of this current administration in sitting on their hands and waiting for the oil to flow is a complete different issue.

His return is more important than the time of His coming into the world. He did say the whoe world would know of His arrival. This age has live streaming moment by moment at the fingertips.

You might see him when you die...and if you go to heaven. If only Christians go to heaven, then I don't want to go there. I would not know anyone. I would be too lonely and all by myself.

He ain't coming back bai. According to the scriptures, he was supposed to come back even before his disciples cross over the hill. Well, 2000 years have gone by, his disciples have already crossed over that hill and they have also all passed one and still no sign of him. Waiting for him is the biggest con job ever orchestrated on gullible people.