Guyana to get $50M debt write-off from Russia

May 17, 2012 By

Nikolay Smirnov

Guyana is set to get a GUY$50M debt write-off from the former Soviet Union, Russia before the end of 2012, Russian ambassador in Georgetown Nikolay Smirnov announced on Thursday.

Smirnov while addressing a Guyana manufacturing and Services Association Luncheon made the announcement and pointed out that GUY$16M of Guyana’s debt was written off back in 2007.

“I would also say that recently we finalized and I can also say in specific terms that a very important issue for Guyana about writing off debts, which previously was done in the bulk and not many people may be know but we have written debt of Guyana to former Soviet Union which was GUY$16M and we finalize these process, so it means that debt to Guyana to our country which is more than GUY$3B was written off in 2007, so the rest of it about GUY$50M, we hope will be written this year and certain specific proposal are done at bilateral level and we are finalizing this process” Smirnov said.

Russia will also be lobbying for further debt write-off for developing countries at the upcoming G-8 Summit, where Russia will propose its ideas and highlight that it has written off in excess of GUY$3T to developing countries. Between 2005-2011.

The Russian diplomat said his country views with satisfaction the efforts of Guyana and other Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries efforts to tackle trans-national criminal activities.

“There is a positive trend in the region in the fight against terrorism, drug trafficking, organized crime including within the context of the framework of CARICOM and other regional organizations, in this regard I would like to make a special notice that recently in February, 2012 we signed with Guyana bilateral agreement in fight against illegal drugs ” he noted.

The diplomat added that,: ” Russia is ready to provide to the respective law enforcement agencies in Guyana and the framework of caricom, technical and training support in this regard.”

He also lauded Guyana’s global fight on climate change which according to the diplomat has given not only this country, but small island states a prominent place in the global climate change fight.

” Guyana in particular has made the concerns of small countries heard on the issue of climate change and pioneering its partnership with Norway….” Smirnov said.

The Russian diplomat also outlined his country’s plan s to work with Guyana in other areas of cooperation including ICT, agriculture and energy.

Wah dah, quata millian dalla, tanks bais.  See how dem peeple love abie, dem a rite aff quata millian dalla wenn abie ex-prezzy new Prado 2 house fence caass quata millian dalla.

Alyuh up deh gwan soa, abie prapa popula all ovva dah world.  PPP put abie pon di map, everybady a run fuh rite aff abie debt.  Evan Gadaffi wah tinkin bout riting aff dem debt to abie bu look laka he geh rite aff fuss.  PNC cyan nevva manage dah, dem only gi abie Jones Town.

An dah Russia man name Smirnov, dozz dah mean nuff nuff free vodka?  Coolies moo rum fuh abie.  Abie pon tap.

.. so it means that debt to Guyana to our country which is more than GUY$3B was written off in 2007, so the rest of it about GUY$50M, we hope will be written this year ..

Looko dah, coolies prapa great peeple.  Abie pon tap.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

It might be a good idea if you take the time to consider your responses in your specific personal form of creolese.

muss come leh abie dance and prance nah.

Simple matter.

1. You use your personal style of "creolese".

2. The late Dr. Richard Allsopp, a Guyanese, authored numerous books on the creolese communication, a few with specific usage in Guyana.

3. A few individuals pursued the understanding of creolese for their thesis. I have assisted and advised individuals on this topic plus referred one graduate to Dr. Richard Allsopp.

4. On GNI, I presented articles on a few individuals who visited Guyana and were specifically involved with the use of creolese.

Simple matter.

1. You use your personal style of "creolese".

2. The late Dr. Richard Allsopp, a Guyanese, authored numerous books on the creolese communication, a few with specific usage in Guyana.

3. A few individuals pursued the understanding of creolese for their thesis. I have assisted and advised individuals on this topic plus referred one graduate to Dr. Richard Allsopp.

4. On GNI, I presented articles on a few individuals who visited Guyana and were specifically involved with the use of creolese.

Abie gah abie own style crolese bai donk hay.  Mi nah knoo wah paat guyana yuh from, bu weh me come fram, dah abie crolese.  Alyuh deh up deh tink alyuh moo smaat dan abie.  Now, yu gwan soa wid yuh prapa crolese.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmA_iVkg39E

.. so it means that debt to Guyana to our country which is more than GUY$3B was written off in 2007, so the rest of it about GUY$50M, we hope will be written this year ..

So you think its time beg them to give us some more dough so we can save NCN and GINA?

BURNHAM BORROWED ALL THESE MONIES AND NOW FINALLY WE ARE STILL PAYING FOR IT. SWISS BANK OVERFLOWING AND VAN WEST AND HIS WIFE LIVING LIKE ROYALTY. KFC = PNC. DECIDE GUYANESE WHAT YOU WANT.

Da tru da tru, abie muss keep datt pon abie mine.  Mi hear V-WC gat Canada resident fuh geh socialize med.  Da prapa look laka wan swiss bank tycoon.  Abie mekking nuff nuff sacrifice donk hay bai.